Surreyvaluesseeker
Share Surreyvaluesseeker's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Surreyvaluesseeker's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    10 August 2011
  • Last Review
    07 April 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    07 January 2016
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    10 August 2011
  • Last Answer
    10 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Surreyvaluesseeker's Reviews
 
Form fit, breathable, multi-panelled dhb Pivot Padded liner shorts fit discretely under unlined baggy shorts providing greater comfort so that you can spend longer in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
At last something that is comfortable
Posted07 April 2016
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Firstly as all other reviews go for the size above the one on the size guide. I am 34" waist 5'11" tall and 80kg weight and XL fits perfectly.
I have tried numerous padded cycling shorts, both cheap & expensive and have been more comfortable after long rides having ridden with unpadded shorts.
These are the first shorts that are padded in the right place for me - on my sit bones. Most others are heavily padded further forward. Also I can walk wearing these without feeling like I'm wearing a nappy or looking like I am growing a tail.
I am not in the Brad Wiggins category so find no extra drag caused on my road bike wearing these under reasonably snug fitting ordinary (not cycling specific) shorts that don't flap about in the wind. The other plus is not looking like the archetypal MAMIL.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer tyre features a special compound and tread pattern for better heat dispersion and noise reduction whilst on the turbo or rollers. A must for the year round rider when outdoor conditions are unfavourable.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value and quality
Posted20 January 2016
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Works quietly and efficiently with my turbo trainer. Bit tough to fit in the first place as it is hard wearing compound but I would assume all such tyres will be the same as they need to be hard compound to reduce wear."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sporting the new grey anodised finish, the Shimano Tiagra 10 speed rear derailleur (long cage) carries the chain across the sprockets with ease delivering high performance gear changes and operation all at a low price.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Beware of Incompatibilty
Posted19 January 2016
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought with Tiagra 4700 11-34 cassette to fit on Giant Defy 1 which has 105STI 10 speed shifter.
This derailleur is not compatible with these shifters despite both being 10 speed Shimano road components. Set high & low limits then connected cable to set indexing. Shifted fine for top 3 gears, hesitant on 4th and wouldn't shift to 5th. Tightened cable to make it shift the remaining gears but then jumps 2 gears on way back up gears (down cassette) and kept jumping out of top gear at bottom of cassette. Took to excellent LBS and they had same problem. Solved by replacing with Shimano Alivio RD - despite theoretically only being suitable for 9 gears it shifts same distance as 10 gear shifters and indexing works perfectly with 105 10 speed shifters and 10 speed Tiagra cassette.
"
Cons: incompatible with 105 shifter
-4points
10of 24voted this as helpful.
 
The greatest value HP hand pump equipped with the versatile ABS Flex Hose. The pump barrel and shaft are made of lathe-turned aluminum with Composite Matrix handle and end caps.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent pump
Posted28 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to fit with same bolts that hold bottle cage. Works well and achieves high pressure (80 psi). Lightweight."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ergonomic Lock-On Grips
Ergonomic Lock-On Grips
Commute / leisure ergonomic lock-on grips that are a great all-rounder and designed for general cycling use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great improvement on factory fitted grips
Posted28 August 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fitted on Charge Mixer 8 (bought from Wiggle). Much more comfortable than those fitted by Charge, which slightly bruised the heel of my hand. Very quick and easy to fit and adjust as they are Lock-On Grips."
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Plus Smartguard City Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Marathon Plus Smartguard City Tyre 2013
The Marathon Plus will master the challenge of everyday cycling life.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
So far so good
Posted28 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No punctures to date and rolling resistance feels pretty good. Have used these tyres before on a Brompton (different size) and ridden them till they are worn out, with no punctures. Previously I was getting one puncture a week."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted10 August 2011
Surreyvaluesseeker
fromLeatherhead Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Good quality product, easy to fit and stays in place well over Surrey's rough roads."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Surreyvaluesseeker's Questions
 
The Shimano WH-RS010 rear wheel is their new entry level wheel that when paired with the matching front wheel, makes for a durable, quick and versatile wheelset. Features include, 24 crossed spokes, asymmetric 24mm deep rim and great black styling.
 

Spacer for 10 speed cassette?

As this wheel is compatible with 8, 9, 10 and 11 speed cassettes is a spacer required for a 10 speed cassette and if so is it supplied with the wheel?
8 months ago
by
Surreyvaluesseeker
Leatherhead Surrey
 
10-speed 105 wide link rear derailleur (short cage SS) using the Advanced Wide Link design which increases rigidity and shifting performance. Super stiff for fast and accurate changes across the cassette.
 

Can I use with 11-34 Tiagra cassette?

I have a Giant Defy with compact chainset 50/34, shimano 105 shifters, and Tiagra 12-30 rear cassette. The bike has a short cage 105 rear mech with quoted max 30 teeth capacity. By my calculations the overall no. of teeth is right on the quoted capacity of 34 teeth, but it works perfectly.

I would like to fit a Tiagra rear cassette 11-34 which exceeds the official 32 max largest cassette ring size for the 105 medium derailleur (I am getting on a bit and live very near the steepest of the Surrey Hills). However I believe the overall no. of teeth would be 39 and the mech is quoted as having a 40 tooth max capacity.

I know the Tiagra medium/long cage derailleur works with 34 teeth but would rather not downgrade from a 105 mech.

Can you advise? Would I notice any difference if I had to downgrade to a Tiagra mech to fit the 34 tooth cassette?
9 months ago
by
Surreyvaluesseeker
Leatherhead Surrey
 
 Insight 105 - 2013
Insight 105 - 2013
The Insight is the new carbon platform from the 2013 line, and the 105 equipped model is the foundation of the range. Verenti 2013 - A new Range, a new Vision.
 

Geometry and sizing

I have read a lot about bike geometry. I am 61 years old but fairly fit (cycle 100 miles per week) and have read I probably need relaxed geometry with a reasonably long head tube. Not sure the Verenti Insight falls into this category.
Also I am just over 5'10" (1.78m) with inside leg just over 32" (82 cm). Would a small be better for me than medium?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Surreyvaluesseeker
Leatherhead Surrey
 
Surreyvaluesseeker's Answers
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 

Can the seat post bracket be fitted without removing the post and will it fit a 32.4 diam post?

Yes
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Surreyvaluesseeker
Leatherhead Surrey
 
Lightweight, slimline, offering all round mud control. Great for use on hybrid / trekking bikes as well as mountain bikes.
 

Are these ok for a flat-bar hybrid road bike.. to stop water splash?

Yes
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Surreyvaluesseeker
Leatherhead Surrey