Poolstorm
Share Poolstorm's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Poolstorm's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    06 July 2010
  • Last Review
    03 May 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    27 August 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Poolstorm's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Shimano RS81 C35 carbon clincher wheelset is a highly functional road racing wheelset that meets the demands of today's amateur riders. The Carbon and alloy clincher rim is both light weight and rigid whilst delivering top-end performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Roll well and look good
Posted03 May 2016
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted a set of reliable wheels for my 'best' bike so opted for these based on reviews. I have to say that I'm not disappointed. They roll well once upto speed. I wouldn't say they feel the quickest uphill but then again I'm not a mountain goat. They also look the part and I'm happy that I opted for them"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lezyne's Road Caddy is a compact saddle pack that tucks nicely under the saddle. A large nylon strap secures the caddy to the saddle rails. Clamshell design opens to provide easy access with an elastomer internal pocket for storage.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A good compact saddle bag
Posted08 November 2015
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed another after my other brand had ripped. The Lezyne is slightly more pricey but well worth it. Robust and a good strap to secure in place. I can fit a tube, multitool (Lezyne also), a rescue pack and a tyre lever. I know saddle bags divide opinion but I don't like carrying stuff in my jersey - that's for food and cash and I always need two bottles - I'm a thirsty one so this is ideal."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Active Short Sleeve Base Layers
dhb Active Short Sleeve Base Layers
A technical first layer for light insulation. The dhb Active Short Sleeve Base Layer has a wicking construction and odour-resistant polygiene treatment.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A Good Baselayer
Posted08 November 2015
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed another short sleeved base layer after dropping a size and opted for this as it was on sale. However it has quickly become my go to one for all occasions. Good wicking and warmth - fits well - not much more to say really other than a great product at a great price."
Pros: Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Pave CG Open Clincher Road Tyre
Vittoria Pave CG Open Clincher Road Tyre
The clincher version of the Pavè CG tubular is hand-made and provides excellent grip and performance, thanks to the "open tubular" construction. It's a tyre well suited for Autumn/Winter riding both in wet and dry conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tyre
Posted25 October 2015
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great performing tyre. Grip the road well but still have good rolling resistance. Haven't punctured yet with 500m of riding and seem to be wearing well. Will definitely be my tyre of choice for the Flanders sportive next year"
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A must for those 'suffer' rides
Posted24 May 2014
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I took a number of these to Italy recently and after lots of climbing rides which made me suffer and plant my feet after I got of the bike, these were my saviour. They are easy to mix and really help you recover quickly in order to get out the day after. I've had chocolate and vanilla previously and it is a toss up between which is my favourite suffice to say I will be using them much more"
Pros: tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If you need energy - this could be for you
Posted04 May 2014
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you are like me and need to eat and drink a lot whilst exercising then this could be for you. I'm sure there are plenty of technical reviews as to why however for me they really work. I did the test of ride a route without this and ride a route with this and I didn't feel the onset of fatigue with it as I did without it. Obviously there are plenty of other factors that could have affected this but a run into Wales which normally mullers me was made a bit more bearable using these. They have a 'funny' consistency somewhere between water and milkshake, but it isn't unpleasant. Summer fruit is my preferred one"
Pros: tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality at a great price
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I already had the bib shorts and knee warmers so purchasing the leg warmers was a no brainer. Great quality material, good grippers and nice fit. I'm 33inch inside leg with not the widest legs and I bought the medium and they fitted fine. As with all DHB items, medium seems to fit me better whereas other brands it tends to be large."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Elan 210 Carbonium is made from a Cordura material with 0.21 litres of storage for an inner tube and multi-tool. A simple hook and loop fitment means you can also switch it from bike to bike in seconds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for my needs
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want a small saddle bag that can hold a tube/lever/small multi-tool and a rescue box then this is for you. Military precision required in packing this in but it can be achieved. It fits well under the saddle and the appearance doesn't spoil the bike aesthetics. Not much more to say really."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
When it works it is great...
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace two GSC10's that failed within a week of each other. Common factor-they don't like wet conditions and obviously this winter was very wet so be warned. Prior to this I'd been using them daily for 2 years without any problems-so when it is dry(ish) they work fine. It would be useful if Garmin could change the mounting system so it could be swapped amongst bike more easily - others are doing this. I guess I'll just have to stock up on zip ties."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
Lezyne Zecto Drive LED Light Set
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright light, bright light
Posted30 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great set of lights with a number of modes. Very bright and allow you to be very visible. You get about 5hrs usage on the flashing mode. As usual - great build quality with Lezyne products and the coloured led around the edges that shows battery level is a nice touch which also enables you to be seen from side on. The only grumble I have is with the front light and fitting it - it s a bit fiddly if like me you run your bar tape very close to your stem and have gear and brakes cables to manoeuvre around"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Poolstorm's Questions
 
Poolstorm has not submitted any questions.
 
Poolstorm's Answers
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Short
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Short
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Sizing Advice for a 6ft tall 33" waist freak please ...

I'm bang on 6ft tall and have a 33'' waist, i'm worried if i order a large the fit will be too loose and if i go for a medium the straps will be too tight, which would be the best compromise??
So I'm 6ft and have a 33inch waist also and I have 2 pairs of mediums. I've never noticed the straps being too tight to be honest.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool
 
 Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Small
Fizik PA:K ICS Saddle Bag with Clip - Small
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

will this saddle bag fit any saddle or is it just for fizik saddle?

It will only fit saddles with ics connections. Majority of fizik saddles and some selle royals
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

Do I need to use the trainer skewer, can't I just pop my bike on?

Best answer
Yes you will need to use the skewer that is provided.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool