Poolstorm
Share Poolstorm's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Poolstorm's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    24
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    06 July 2010
  • Last Review
    24 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    27 August 2012
  • Last Answer
    24 May 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Poolstorm's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A must for those 'suffer' rides
Posted24 May 2014
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I took a number of these to Italy recently and after lots of climbing rides which made me suffer and plant my feet after I got of the bike, these were my saviour. They are easy to mix and really help you recover quickly in order to get out the day after. I've had chocolate and vanilla previously and it is a toss up between which is my favourite suffice to say I will be using them much more"
Pros: tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
EnergySource 4:1 is an advanced fuel for use by endurance athletes. It's Europe's first state-of-the-art carbohydrate-protein energy and hydration drink - for use DURING exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
If you need energy - this could be for you
Posted04 May 2014
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you are like me and need to eat and drink a lot whilst exercising then this could be for you. I'm sure there are plenty of technical reviews as to why however for me they really work. I did the test of ride a route without this and ride a route with this and I didn't feel the onset of fatigue with it as I did without it. Obviously there are plenty of other factors that could have affected this but a run into Wales which normally mullers me was made a bit more bearable using these. They have a 'funny' consistency somewhere between water and milkshake, but it isn't unpleasant. Summer fruit is my preferred one"
Pros: tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality at a great price
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I already had the bib shorts and knee warmers so purchasing the leg warmers was a no brainer. Great quality material, good grippers and nice fit. I'm 33inch inside leg with not the widest legs and I bought the medium and they fitted fine. As with all DHB items, medium seems to fit me better whereas other brands it tends to be large."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Elan 210 Carbonium is made from a Cordura material with 0.21 litres of storage for an inner tube and multi-tool. A simple velcro fitment means you can also switch it from bike to bike in seconds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for my needs
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"If you want a small saddle bag that can hold a tube/lever/small multi-tool and a rescue box then this is for you. Military precision required in packing this in but it can be achieved. It fits well under the saddle and the appearance doesn't spoil the bike aesthetics. Not much more to say really."
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Garmin GSC 10 Wireless Speed/Cadence Sensor
Most cycle orientated Garmin GPS's have a speed and cadence feature, you will need this Garmin GSC10 Speed/Cadence Sensor to make use of this.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
When it works it is great...
Posted03 March 2014
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace two GSC10's that failed within a week of each other. Common factor-they don't like wet conditions and obviously this winter was very wet so be warned. Prior to this I'd been using them daily for 2 years without any problems-so when it is dry(ish) they work fine. It would be useful if Garmin could change the mounting system so it could be swapped amongst bike more easily - others are doing this. I guess I'll just have to stock up on zip ties."
Pros: Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zecto Drive LED light-set, sets the new standard in rechargeable, high-visibility lighting and brings added safety to every cyclist at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright light, bright light
Posted30 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great set of lights with a number of modes. Very bright and allow you to be very visible. You get about 5hrs usage on the flashing mode. As usual - great build quality with Lezyne products and the coloured led around the edges that shows battery level is a nice touch which also enables you to be seen from side on. The only grumble I have is with the front light and fitting it - it s a bit fiddly if like me you run your bar tape very close to your stem and have gear and brakes cables to manoeuvre around"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice compact saddle bag
Posted30 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"You can fit a tube, multi-tool, tyre lever, emergency kit and key. Don't need to fit much else in a saddle bag so it's the right size for me. My only gripe which stops it getting a full 5 stars for performance is that it isn't entirely waterproof!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It's light and it's a light
Posted28 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed a small light rear light that could attaché to my saddle bag and after much mulling I opted for this. And I'm not disappointed. It has 5 modes and can be attached in a variety of places and the feedback I've had from fellow riders is that it is nice and visible despite its size."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Prevent damaging friction irritations before they begin. This balanced blend of botanicals helps your skin repair itself after damage, but more importantly prevents long term friction irritations before they start.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does the job
Posted21 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having experienced some 'sores' from other products I've been trying to find a cream that does the job - this does. Did a century ride the day after receiving it and bingo it worked perfectly. I've used it on two other 50m rides since and it hasn't let me down. Not much more to say really."
Pros: works
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Breathable perforated bar tape with foam padding for a dry, cushioned and grippy feel on the flats and drops. Fizik Performance bar tape is ideal for endurance riding in hot conditions and is available in a range of colours to match your kit theme.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality tape
Posted21 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Poolstorm
fromLiverpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I needed to replace my bar tape on my commuter and opted for this due to the 3mm thickness. Suffice to say I took the Skins DSP tape off my good bike to put on my winter bike and this now adorns my good bike. It is the right thickness for me - looks and feels good. I have used it for 2 +50m rides and it grips well when your hands are beginning to sweat (I don't use gloves/mitts). I will not be buying another bar tape again. Good sizing too. Bought in glossy black."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Poolstorm's Questions
 
Poolstorm has not submitted any questions.
 
Poolstorm's Answers
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Sizing Advice for a 6ft tall 33" waist freak please ...

I'm bang on 6ft tall and have a 33'' waist, i'm worried if i order a large the fit will be too loose and if i go for a medium the straps will be too tight, which would be the best compromise??
So I'm 6ft and have a 33inch waist also and I have 2 pairs of mediums. I've never noticed the straps being too tight to be honest.
5 months ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

will this saddle bag fit any saddle or is it just for fizik saddle?

It will only fit saddles with ics connections. Majority of fizik saddles and some selle royals
11 months ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

Do I need to use the trainer skewer, can't I just pop my bike on?

Best answer
Yes you will need to use the skewer that is provided.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Poolstorm
Liverpool