Rocketmailboy
Share Rocketmailboy's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Rocketmailboy's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    30 January 2010
  • Last Review
    18 July 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    03 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    03 May 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Rocketmailboy's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A high quality, low cost, full length mudguard set with high quality, stainless-steel fittings from the producers of the World's finest mudguards 3.0 mm twin-parallel, stainless-steel stays are light and strong and provide secure support.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value
Posted18 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rocketmailboy
fromCumbria
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these for my old steel road bike as I'm sick of getting a wet backside (it never seems to stop raining at the moment). I didn't want to spend a fortune, but wanted something that would give good coverage and stop all road spray.
Fitting was ok, but there were no instructions with the product so novices to bike maintenance might struggle a bit. After one ride one of the bolts that attaches the mudguard to the stay came off #my fault for not tightening properly I suspect), but this didn't affect the ride at all and the mudguard stayed well away from the tyre and I was able to ride home without an issue.
Overall, a great value product and I would recommend them to anyone.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention. X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drastically en...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
As good as Shimano
Posted09 June 2011
Rocketmailboy
"A great, cheap replacement for my Shimano chain. I don't believe in spending silly money on bling chains when modern 9 speed set-ups need replacing so frequently, plus this has a snap-link (unlike shimano). This does the job very well, why pay more?"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Special center square "digger" tread for hard-pack speed with excellent traction
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
OK I think
Posted03 May 2011
Rocketmailboy
"A bit too early to tell yet. I'm trialing these for a bit of a speed advantage of my usual knobllies on the front, while running my trusty semi slick at the rear. So far, so good and no punctures yet either, although the casing does seem a little thin. Since the weather has been so nice recently, they have not really had a true test, but seem to roll well on both hardpack and tarmac. I have only had one encounter with mud and to be honest, I wasn't that impressed, but there again, there are not really designed for slop. They also seem very narrow for a 2 inch tyre and so don't give the confidence on more technical terrain that you might get from a fatter tyre.
Overall a reasonable first impression and after three rides now, they offer a good compromise between a full-on knobblie and a slick central tread."
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: a bit thin/ narrow
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
The flagship model in the Brooks range. Best seller for decades!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bum Magic
Posted03 May 2011
Rocketmailboy
"I was in two minds whether to get this saddle, mainly because it was for my mountain bike, which is the bike I ride the most. I thought it would add to much weight, detract from the looks of the bike and be too slippery to grip to when hammering down singletrack or tackling technical climbs.
Wrong.
All I can say is, I don't care about a few grams, or whether it looks wrong. I couldn't be parted from this saddle now. I love it so much, I haven't ridden any of my other bikes since I fitted it. Proofed it and waited a few hundred miles. It now fits like a nice warm bed. Mmmmmmmm
Get one, your bum will love you for it."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit, bum hugging
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mid Light Waterproof Socks
Mid Light Waterproof Socks
Dry Feet, no insulation
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
toasty toes
Posted03 May 2011
Rocketmailboy
"These have been very effective for over a year, however have stopped being waterproof since March this year. I still wear them on cold mountain rides/ walks but they no-longer do their intended job. Might try overshoes and wolly socks next, as these are a bit pricey to keep replacing every year and I prefer to change my socks daily on a tour too. They did work brilliantly for a year however and I had mile after mile of toasty warm and dry toes. Fine for day rides/ walks and about a year of constant wet weather use."
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mars 3.0 LED Safety Rear Light
Mars 3.0 LED Safety Rear Light
Named after a bright red planet visible from afar, the Mars 3.0 rear light has seven super-bright red LEDs inside a sleek water-resistant case, and has a no-quibble lifetime warranty.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted03 May 2011
Rocketmailboy
"Still working brilliantly. Bright as ever despite being subjected to a life of abuse and pain on my mountain bike. Get's hosed, rained on, snowed on and bathed in mud and has never missed a beat."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Velo 8 Cycle Computer
Velo 8 Cycle Computer
Ideal for the recreational rider seeking to improve their fitness, the redesigned Velo 8 provides 8 of the most popular functions including a useful estimated calorie expenditure.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does its job
Posted14 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rocketmailboy
"I bought several cheaper computers and they have all failed. This one seems like it is far more rhobust. I dont need loads of features and I've found that wireless models don't tend to work too well with suspension forks, so this fit one the bill. A month on and several mud baths and snow-slides later and all is well. Setting up was a doddle and sensor worked straight away, unlike other horrors I've had."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new neoprene mudguard called NeoGuard™ is specifically designed to prevent mud and spray from getting in your face and eyes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just what I needed
Posted14 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rocketmailboy
"My MTB gets used for pretty much everything, all of the time. Full length guards would last two minutes on off-road shortcuts and would be a pain to keep taking on and off. With just the Crud-guards I was still getting a face-full of farm juice every ride. I considered a fender type front guard, but they are too ugly/ bulky, so I gave this a go. Brilliant. What a revelation! No more splattered face. It keeps the spray out of my eyes, is light, simple to fit and unobtrusive. Bit pricy, but will probably last years."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, bling
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vision 1 LED Front Light 2012
Vision 1 LED Front Light 2012
This fantastic little light may just be the best addition to your night riding you can make as it a single high powered LED that pushes out 240 lumens on max power!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great little lamp
Posted21 March 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rocketmailboy
"I've had this product just about three months and despite changing the batteries quite frequently, it has been great. Compared to my old Cateye, it's a revelation on unlit roads and can even cope with some off-roading on full power as long as you keep focused on the trail. The light comes with two mounts for helmet or handlebars and is easy to swap between my road bike and MTB due to the excellent QR on the handlebar mount. My main gripes with this light are the fact that it eats batteries for breakfast, dinner and tea, and also the mounting to the QR can shake it'self lose when using the light off-road a lot.
Also, be sure to have a spare set of batteries with you or a back-up light, as once it runs out of juice, it will just turns off without warning!
It's flipping bright though, which is just what I need.
"
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: thirsty, can vibrate lose
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A do almost anything tyre
Posted16 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Rocketmailboy
"I've had these tyres on my mountain bike for 7 months now and they really are incredible. I bought them initially for road and towpath work with the aim of swapping them for any serious off-roading. I was initially a little wary as they were quite a bit heavier than my knobblies, but during the first few rides, all my preconceptions went out of the window. These are seriously good tyres that roll very well both on and off road, grip in virtually anything apart from muddy uphill climbs and have so far proved completely resilient to punctures. Having now shelved my knobbly tyres, these beauties have coped with snow, ice, floods and regular excursions into the Lakeland fells. They may not give the sure footedness of a true knobbly in the loose stuff, but for a real world all-rounder at less than a tenner, you can't lose."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
 
Rocketmailboy's Questions
 
Rocketmailboy has not submitted any questions.
 
Rocketmailboy's Answers
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

What size Schwalbe MTB tyres will fit my 26" x 1.95 whels

If that is your current TYRE size then yes. Absolutely. Go for it. They are brilliant tyres for everything apart from mud. Can't recoment them enough. (I'm on my second set).
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Rocketmailboy
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Will the Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre fit my mountain bike wheels? The current off road tyres on my mountain bike read 26 x2.25.

I would say yes.The will fit nearly all standard trail/ cross country rims but not Downhill/ Jump/ Street trial rims that tend to be too wide (i.e. over 2.5" tyres) or narrow hybrid type rims (less than 1.5" tyres)
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Rocketmailboy