Brucesw
Share Brucesw's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Brucesw's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    08 January 2010
  • Last Review
    04 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    01 March 2010
  • Last Question
    30 November 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    11 March 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 February 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Brucesw's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
EnergySource X'treme contains the most potent stimulant formulation available to competitive athletes: L-Carnitine, Bitter Orange Peel (Citrus Aurantium), Taurine and Caffeine.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rocket fuel
Posted04 April 2014
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"Easy on the guts and helped the last 30km of London Ride 100 fly by!
This stuff is rocket fuel.
"
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM's unique, tool-free PowerLock connecting pin is light, quick, and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A day saver
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"the power link on my KMC chain broke and this link in my saddle bag had me going again in no time. Worth having a couple handy on long rides.
It was a little rusty coming out of the saddle bag but with the Winter we've had, everything is damp...always...
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: slight rust before use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chain Cleaner is an active cleaner/degreaser suitable for the chain and drivetrain components.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A bit oily
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"This cleaner works fine but then so did the plain bike cleaner used in a greater concentration (I use Muc-Off). I'm not sure I needed a seperate oil based cleaner.
nothing wrong with it but I don't believe it is exceptionally better than water based.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Mountain Kings spiky intermediate design suits many riding conditions, wet or dry.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
good tyres
Posted05 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"first time using these off road on an old hybrid. grip was fine for pushing forward and great for steering. easy mounting etc."
Pros: Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This is a thick glove for worst winter conditions. An integrated waterproof membrane, makes sure you stay dry inside. Hollow fill insulation provides fantastic warmth. Articulated cut helps to reduce bulk.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good gloves
Posted05 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"Ridden to zero degrees and comfortable. Good grip, feel etc. Order a size or two over what you think."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Caution with the clip
Posted05 February 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"First bag's swivel broke after very few rides. Wiggle very helpful for return and replacement. It's worth attaching a light chord in case it breaks (just like the picture on the packaging). Don't set the hinge tight and you'll be fine.
I really like being able to simply remove the bag when fixing a flat.
"
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
careful of the hinge
Posted09 November 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBuckinghamshire
"Love this saddle bag as I can remove it when fixing a puncture but first one broke the hinge while riding. As suggested on the package a light tie around the saddle is sensible and don't have the hinge too tight. Top marks to wiggle for quick replacement of the faulty first one."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: risk of breakage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does what it is supposed to
Posted21 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBerkshire
"Does what it is supposed to.
Did rub inner thigh when out of the saddle on climbs though. Worth the small hassle to have food there plus a good spot for sunnies on long climbs.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Designed to be used on a daily basis and for training purposes. An great product offered by Fulcrum® that guarantees an excellent performance/price ratio.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dependable wheels
Posted15 July 2012
Brucesw
fromBerkshire
"If there are better wheels for the money, please tell me...for rough roads and a heavy rider, I'd hate to be on expensive wheels. Have stayed very true. would like to learn how to replace bearings to keep them longer still. Have bought a second pair..."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Single spoke version which fits all cateye computers including cordless.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a magnet...
Posted11 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Brucesw
fromBerkshire
"Bought this so I had magnets on both trainer and road wheels. Slightly different from the original but designed for blade spokes too."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Brucesw's Questions
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Please recommend a front wheel support

Hi, please recommend a front wheel support for this trainer. I'm sure I read that some click into the trainer for better storage.
Thanks, Bruce
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Brucesw
Berkshire
 
 Raytech Light Txn Waterproof Jacket SS2010
Raytech Light Txn Waterproof Jacket SS2010
With a focus on the rigours of road racing, Campagnolo constructed the Racing Wind Light jacket from textran fabric for it's light weight, breathability, elasticity and weather-proof properties. Textran thermo Developed exclusively by Campagnolo through years of innovative technological research, Textran Thermo offers optimum windproofing, waterproofing, breathability and comfort. The windproof and waterproof membrane is bonded to a breathable, two-way stretch fabric to shield against the elements and provide form-fitting comfort with ease of movement. IQseen IQseen silver reflective material fulfils the requirements of the European standard, making the wearer visible at a distance of over 160 metres.
 

What colour is "glass"Campag jacket?

Campagnolo Raytech Light Txn Waterproof Jacket SS2010

Hi, what colour is the 'glass' jacket? i can figure black, fire, white and I assume lake is blue but glass???
Thanks in advance,
3 years ago
by
Brucesw
 
 Microflate Nano Tyre Inflator
Microflate Nano Tyre Inflator
The only CO2 inflator that works with disc / aero wheels and also pram wheels,the Nano uses simple Twist-To-Inflate technology for fast, controllable CO2inflation.
 

Can the Genuine Innovations Microflate Nano inflator be used with non-Genuine Innovations cartridges?

The bike radar review says you can only use Genuine Innovations CO2 cartridges. Is that correct?
Thanks,
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Brucesw
 
Brucesw's Answers
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

¿Vale para una Trek Domane con ruedas 700x25c?

I use 700x25 Ok. They rub the same as for 23mm because they are close fitting guards.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Brucesw
Buckinghamshire
 
The perfect compliment to a Fizik or Selle Royal saddles featuring the new ICS integral clip in system. The bag features reflective detailing and an LED light loop for added safety.
 

In the box there is a picture showing an elastic that helps fixing the bag to the saddle. Is the bag supplied with the elastic?

No! Not mine.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Brucesw
Buckinghamshire
 
 Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Racing 5 Clincher Wheelset 2012
Designed to be used on a daily basis and for training purposes. An great product offered by Fulcrum® that guarantees an excellent performance/price ratio.
 

do i require any other components other than a cassette if i buy these wheels

The wheels came to me with rim tape and skewers. You just need cassette and rubber.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Brucesw
Berkshire
 
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

Do these fit to Campag rims very easily?

I currently have Michelin Pro3's and although I love the tyre, fitting them Campag rims is a nightmare! So tight!!! I've been on a few web forums and I'm not the only one that's had this problem.

I have a long race in September and the thought of fixing a puncture at the side of the road and trying to refit it with cold, tired thumbs brings me out in sweats!!!
I think you'll find the Campag/Shimano difference is limited to the hubs. I and many friends use GP4000s tyres and every rim is a little different. I currently have Fulcrum 5s and the tyres go on easier than my old Fulcrum 7.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Brucesw
 
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 

Having major problems getting my medium Look 566 frame to fit in and the case to be able to close properly. Any suggestions?

The cases are tricky to close but it will go. A friend has the same case plus your frame.
You'll need to remove the wheels, seatpost, pedals and remove the handlebars from the stem. It should all fit in nicely. Add some padding to keep the bike in good nick.
Good luck,
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Brucesw