IanFromBath
Share IanFromBath's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
IanFromBath's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    28 July 2011
  • Last Review
    22 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2013
  • Last Question
    09 September 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 July 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
IanFromBath's Reviews
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it's meant to do
Posted22 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Seems to lubricate as well as any other, and is a reasonable price.
Has the additional benefit that it's white when it goes o the chain so you can see which bits you've done.
I use the "wet" lube in the rain, but can't really tell the difference as I re-lube the chain after most rides.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 2013 Racing Quattro CX Wheelset boasts a deep section clincher profile of 35mm, probably the best value aero wheel available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Looks good, sounds good, and goes good!
Posted14 May 2013
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I bought these basd on a magazine review of sub £600 all-rounder wheels for racing and training. These were rated better than wheels that were hundreds of pounds more expensive.
I completed this year's first race last weekend, after having put these wheels onto my Canondale CAAD 8 the previous week.
I managed achieve my fastest average speed this year, and also one of my fastest triathlon average speeds ever, which suggests that these aero-ish (35mm) wheels not only go faster but hold their speed quite well too.
I got the CX wheels because of my weight, and I am using the wheels with Schwable Ultremo tyres, at about 110PSI (I weigh 16 stone). The ride may be slightly harder than my old Maddox 3.0 wheels, but the braking is much better.
The wheels also make an intresting humming noise over a certain speed!
The only downsides that I can see is that (1) a cross-wind can catch the front wheel if you aren't careful, and (2) you need long valve tubes, so you have to get a whole new set of spares too.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: neet to get long valve tubes, watch out for cross-winds
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value!
Posted08 March 2013
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I find these gels rather expensive, but in a 2-4-1 offer, they're affordable.
However, I used them in the Bath Half Marathon in combination with Powerade, and found that the recomnmended 1 per 20 mins was a bit much and I was fed up of both after 90 mins. Maybe I should run faster!
On the practical side, they're easy to open, and fit into any pocket or number belt easily, although as I mentioned, you'll need quite a few to get you through a longer event at a rate of 3 per hour."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vista Goggles aw07
Vista Goggles aw07
The new look of comfort.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Even better...
Posted28 July 2011
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"I had some of the old model Aquasphere goggles that were getting a bit battered after 3 years' use, and thought I'd try these...I'm glad I did because they are so much better - they seal better and visibility is excellent. I haven't yet tried them in open water, but in a pool over 1500m there was no leakage and no fogging at all.
The strap adjustment mech is good too, very easy to use.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good bulk purchase
Posted28 July 2011
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These sachets are excellent - they do their job, don't taste horrible and don't make you thirsty like some others do.
On the negative side, they're really expensive individually, but as a bulk purchase are reasonably affordable, although at the recommended rate of 3 per hour of exercise, you can still burn through your cash (and cache of sachets) fairly rapidly.
I'd like to also see bio-degradable sachets so that I can just throw my empties into a hedge rather than having to put them back into my pocket.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IanFromBath's Questions
 
A highly-flexible, one-piece base with a super-light foam top, encased with a durable and waterproof microfibre cover.
 

Are the Charge Scoop and Charge Spoon the same shape?

7 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
IanFromBath's Answers
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 

Nutritional Info - Whats' the level of carbs in each gel?

Ideally, what are the numbers, kCal, Carbs, Prot, Sodium
Per 60g sachet:
88 Cals
22g carbs (10g sugar)
0 protein
0.03g sodium
2 years, 8 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
 Vista Goggles aw07
Vista Goggles aw07
The new look of comfort.
 

Starting to leak? Do goggles have a lifespan?

I bought a pair of these a year ago, fantastic, not a drop of water getting in. Now they are starting to leak. Does the seal become less effective as the product is used? Haven't used them all that much to be honest.
I have a pair of aquasphere seal goggles that are now 3 years old. I have used them regularly in pool and OWS and they are starting to leak a bit now - I have to drain them every 500m or so.
I expect any flexible material that gets the ttratment that a pair of goggles gets would deteriorate over time, and I also think that 3 years is pretty good for the price!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England