IanFromBath
Share IanFromBath's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
IanFromBath's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    28 July 2011
  • Last Review
    18 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    09 September 2013
  • Last Question
    09 September 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    05 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    18 June 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
IanFromBath's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
TA only make their chainrings from the best 7075 T6 heat treated aluminium sheet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Super smooth gear changes
Posted18 June 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This was the final piece of the puzzle to transform my Cannondale CAAD8's gear ratios - I now have a super-flexible 28/40/52 on the front (original was 30/39/50), and a closer ratio 11-23 on the back. Similar range to the original in the lower gears but about 10% higher at the top end.
This particular cog was an exact swap out for the old one - but with it being a triple I had to slide out the bottom bracket and so I did the granny ring at the same time.
Easy to fit - it only goes on 1 way - and no gear shift tuning was required (hurrah!)
Along with the new chain, I now have super silky smooth gear changes on all 3 front cogs (although the jump from 28 to 40 is sometimes a big ask if you're in the "wrong" gear at the back)
In terms of wear and tear, I cleaned it yesterday and it now looks good as new and also works as if it was new!
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Adjustable torque tool with 1/4" drive and features a click-mechanism to indicate when torque setting is reached.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good but tricky to use first time
Posted18 June 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Small, compact, easy to use, adequate leverage.
Click mechanism might be tricky to master - if you miss the click there's a risk that you could over-tighten things.
case is good, enough room to accommodate a couple of extra bits that you'll invariably accumulate over time.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Adjustable
Cons: tricky to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deda elementi bar tape is available in a wide palette of colours to match any colour scheme from understated to outrageous. The PU construction gives a realistic cork feel with excellent grip and cushioning.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works just fine
Posted18 June 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nicely padded, goes on easily, bar plugs included.
And in case you're not sure, you do get 2 pieces of tape in a pack (one for each side!)
I got the red, which looks quite nice with the red on my Fulcrum wheels.
It's been on for about 6 months now, so has survived the Winter and about 1000 or so miles.
It's starting to get a bit tatty after this time, but in my opinion that's to be expected.
I'd also note that lighter colours would tend to mark more easily, and the matt finish on this tape (for better grip) also means that dirt also sticks to it more easily, which means when it's 6 months old, it will look 6 months old.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A performance sports nutrition program for endurance events. The High5 Race Pack includes everything you need to stay fuelled, hydrated and focussed on race day.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A good selection
Posted11 June 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Plenty to keep you going through your training and a couple of races.
I like the these drink bottles because they are quite flexible, so you can squirt the drink into your mouth rather than having to suck.
"
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedo Lzr Racer short is a high spec entry level short great for racing or training, with many added features such as UPF Protection, foam padding and moisture wicking fabric.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent racing shorts
Posted28 May 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have used these for 2 short triathlons with no problems at all.
They are tight enough to not flap around, and the leg grips stop them from riding up.
The padding dries quickly and I did not encounter any discomfort on a 45Km ride.
If you can't afford a tri-suit, these and a compression or tri top are the next best thing.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Front Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Front Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted28 May 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to use, excellent product
Clips round bike frame and rubber bands hold it fast
Lasts for about 10-20 hours on a set of batteries
Keeps going in the wet
Ideal as a "be seen" device, particularly when flashing, but not so good if you need something to help you see in the dark!
Recommended.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to use, excellent product
Posted28 May 2014
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Easy to use, excellent product
Clips round bike frame and rubber bands hold it fast
Lasts for about 10-20 hours on a set of batteries
Keeps going in the wet
Ideal as a "be seen" device, particularly when flashing, but not so good if you need something to help you see in the dark!
Recommended.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Race Tyres
Posted29 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought on the back of magazine review that said they had the best rolling resistance and light weight, with good puncture resistance.
Used in several triathlons throughout the Summer plus all my training.
Bright colour makes spotting your bike in transition a bit easier.
No punctures, lots of PBs, highly recommended.
Downside - maybe not so grippy in the wet, but not bad.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Winter Tyres...and for Summer!
Posted29 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought these for the Winter because they have a bit of tread on them, unlike my Summer race tyres.
To be honest, I couldn't tell much difference - they pump up as much as the race tyres, seem to go as fast (I'm still hitting PBs on Strava#, and the back wheel still locks up occasionally.
According to my kitchen scales, they also weigh the same as my race tyres #Schwable Ultremo#.
No punctures through the whole of the Winter #except for half a mile after I first installed them, which I think was more user error than the tyre's fault)
In terms of wear, they still look new after 6 months' use, even the back one.
The only downside is that they don't come in sexy colours...but the black still looks OK!
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it's meant to do
Posted22 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
IanFromBath
fromBath, England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Seems to lubricate as well as any other, and is a reasonable price.
Has the additional benefit that it's white when it goes o the chain so you can see which bits you've done.
I use the "wet" lube in the rain, but can't really tell the difference as I re-lube the chain after most rides.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IanFromBath's Questions
 
A highly-flexible, one-piece base with a super-light foam top, encased with a durable and waterproof microfibre cover.
 

Are the Charge Scoop and Charge Spoon the same shape?

11 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
IanFromBath's Answers
 
The 2013 Racing Quattro CX Wheelset boasts a deep section clincher profile of 35mm, probably the best value aero wheel available.
 

What is the maximum tire width these wheels can accomodate?

I would like to fit 700x38c tires on these wheels.

Thanks in advance
I have 23 on mine. 25 would be fine.
I suspect that 38 might be pushing it a bit, but since the CX bit in the name refers to cyclo cross maybe you can.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
The 2013 Racing Quattro CX Wheelset boasts a deep section clincher profile of 35mm, probably the best value aero wheel available.
 

What's in the box? (Quick release skewars, wheel bag, brake pads) also will I need to purchase rim tape?

I got my LBS to fit mine, so that they'd fit a new cassette and tune the gears, but they returned my old wheels with QR skewers so I presume the fulcrums arrived with their own.
Wheel bag - no, unless you count the flimsy disposable packaging.
Brake pads - no
rim tape - sorry not sure, but my LBS didn't charge me extra for any???
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
TA only make their chainrings from the best 7075 T6 heat treated aluminium sheet.
 

is this ring ramped and pinned?

Not sure exactly what you mean by "pinned", but it has small ramps on the inside (ie from small to middle) to help lift the chain during gear changes.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
The 2013 Racing Quattro CX Wheelset boasts a deep section clincher profile of 35mm, probably the best value aero wheel available.
 

sram/shimano

Are these suitable for a Specialized Ruby Sport 2014 model with a Shimano Tiagra, 10-speed, 12-30. Anything else needed to get these on the bike (except tyres obviously).
I don't know the answer for your specific model, but they are great for my tiagra 9 speed.
My only comment would be that if you are going to spend £££ (or $$$) on wheels, do consider getting a new chain and back cogs (and maybe front ones too).
If you do this, you can swap your old rear wheel back in for Winter training or to use on a turbo trainer, and maybe gear your race wheel differently if you need to.
3 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 

What is the minimum diameter of tubing this will attach to? I'd like to attach it to the horizontal tube on a rear rack which is dimater 13mm.

I think that this would be OK
3 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
 Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Knog Frog Strobe LED Rear Light
Water-resistant, flexible silicone body, integrated clipping feature, quick-release mounting. Visible up to 600 metres. 12 HOT colours (look out for random special colour releases).
 

Burley Nomad

I cycle towing a burley nomad and am looking for a light fit the upright on the optional cargo rack so the back of the trailer is marked. Would this work for that?
I reckon any piece of frame over about 1cm diameter would be OK
3 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 

How much do I apply and how often?? What is best way to apply as well??

Best answer
You should lubricate the chain after cleaning it.
You should clean it when it gets dirty (very subjective - for some that's after every ride, for others it's once a year)
You need as small an amount as possible on each chain link and then spin the peddles slowly to spread it round and then wipe off any excess with a rag.
If you put too much on it will (1) fly off over the frame and over you and (2) collect dirt and grit and act like a grinding paste.
Note that this is DRY, ie for dry weather, if it rains it will probably wash off.
4 months ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
IsoGel is a great tasting sports fuel for a burst of instant energy. It has a lighter drink-like consistency for easy consumption and absorption. The classic sachet with a rip-off top makes it ideal on the move for cyclists and runners alike.
 

Nutritional Info - Whats' the level of carbs in each gel?

Ideally, what are the numbers, kCal, Carbs, Prot, Sodium
Per 60g sachet:
88 Cals
22g carbs (10g sugar)
0 protein
0.03g sodium
3 years, 1 month ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England
 
 Vista Goggles aw07
Vista Goggles aw07
The new look of comfort.
 

Starting to leak? Do goggles have a lifespan?

I bought a pair of these a year ago, fantastic, not a drop of water getting in. Now they are starting to leak. Does the seal become less effective as the product is used? Haven't used them all that much to be honest.
I have a pair of aquasphere seal goggles that are now 3 years old. I have used them regularly in pool and OWS and they are starting to leak a bit now - I have to drain them every 500m or so.
I expect any flexible material that gets the ttratment that a pair of goggles gets would deteriorate over time, and I also think that 3 years is pretty good for the price!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
IanFromBath
Bath, England