Zarikoff
Share Zarikoff's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Zarikoff's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    26 August 2010
  • Last Review
    26 March 2011
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 August 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Zarikoff's Reviews
 
Traditional version of the B17 with copper rails and chamfered sides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love my Brooks
Posted26 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is my second Brooks saddle (my first was lost on in air transit... go figure...). Before I tried a Brooks, I was told by a salesman "Brooks saddles polarize riders... you either hate 'em or love 'em". I fall into the later category.
As far as having to break them in is concerned, I found I had zero break in time for either saddle. But I'm sure that this is down to individual physiologies."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bang on value
Posted26 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I only give it 4 for performance because the vents are a tad chilly for my taste. This is my first foray into hard-soled cycling shoes, as I tended towards a more walk-friendly mountain bike sole before (for touring and commuting purposes) This shoe is nice looking, comfortable, inexpensive and a perfect introductory shoe."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bordo 90cm Folding Bike Lock - 2010
Bordo 90cm Folding Bike Lock - 2010
The new foldable Bordo lock uses a unique link construction to offer maximum flexibility when fastening your bike to a lamppost or railings. The clever design allows the Bordo to fold right up into its own compact frame mountable case.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact and versatile
Posted17 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I haven't had the chance to see this lock in action yet (I've seen a lot of mangled and destroyed u-locks, but I'm still unsure what a mangled Bordo would look like). But from a day-to-day perspective, it's brilliant: very compact form on the bike, extends out to attache to locking points and even small trees. I've got one for my wife as well, and she loves it. As far as security goes, so far I trust the line that the weld points are very hard to break, so a welding torch is the minimum to get through... if anyone knows different, please post here."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant
Posted17 March 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I just had to replace my last saddle bag as I lost it during a spin. This one justifiably gets it's high rating. Very secure fastening, large size, and adjustable sizing gives a bit of wiggle room. I'm very happy with this one."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Traffic 2.0 2010
Traffic 2.0 2010
Street smarts pure and simple.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice commuter/short tourer
Posted23 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Solid GT product. The small touches are very nice for the product as a whole (pinhead locking skewers, etc). For years, we've had to resort to building our own commuter bike in this style; at least, there weren't many options in this price range. Having an internal hub that isn't attached to a cruiser seems to be a rarity in the market, which this product fills quite nicely."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality pump for the road
Posted26 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Zarikoff
fromMaynooth
Country : Irish Republic
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've used this pump only a few times so far, but so far so good. The only critique is that the foot stand seems a bit flimsy, and I'm concerned that if you torque the pump a bit while pumping you might snap it out."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Zarikoff's Questions
 
Zarikoff has not submitted any questions.
 
Zarikoff's Answers
 
A lightweight road frame pump which morphs into a mini floor pump. Extra long high pressure barrel and integral gauge.
 

Is this suitable for french valves common to most road bikes?

I have been told portable pumps tend to bend the valves on road bikes. Is there any truth to this?
My last pump definitely tended to do this, but I believe it part to do with the manufacturing of the pump, and part to do with the speed with which you want to pump up your tube (if you're careful, you might avoid bending the valve stop).

That said, my last pump connected directly to the valve, and so the pumping action was directly transferred to the tube valve. The Topeak road pump has a flexible tube, and so there is some buffer between your pumping action and the valve. I would think this would alleviate almost all possibility of bending the tube valve.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Zarikoff
Maynooth