Racing18
Share Racing18's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Racing18's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    29 December 2012
  • Last Review
    02 September 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    29 December 2012
  • Last Answer
    02 September 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Racing18's Reviews
 
 Garmin Swim
Garmin Swim
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good performance and functionality, at a price
Posted02 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Have been using my Garmin Swim for a few weeks now. It logs my swims pretty accurately (it has only missed one length to date, which is at least as good as my previous Swimovate). Upload is usually done automatically via the ANT+ but on a couple of occasions I've had to 'prompt' it. All in all, a very good product if you lose count easily (as I always do) of your lengths and especially if you want to compare swim sessions over time. A bit pricey though."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Short Finger Summer Gloves
dhb Short Finger Summer Gloves
Minimal cycling gloves with a pre-shaped anatomic fit and a high stretch back panel for cooling and aerodynamic performance. The dhb Short Finger Summer Glove features a grippy micro PU palm, a velcro cuff closure and an absorbent thumb wipe panel.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value gloves but quality not the best
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No quibbles with performance or comfort, and these gloves are good value. Slight disappointment with how difficult they are to remove, and the fact that stitching is starting to come adrift on a couple of fingers. The latter may of course be related to the former..."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Wears Out Easily, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos Skin Repair Gel
Assos Skin Repair Gel
Assos Skin Repair gel for relieves discomfort and accelerates the healing of skin damage caused by friction against the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Another great, if pricey, product from Assos
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this as I rate the Assos Chamois cream as the best out there. Not disappointed - does exactly what it says on the, er, tube. Used it on a 6 day 770 mile ride this Spring and it made getting back on the bike every morning possible. Enough said!"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Wiggle Dragon Ride Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey - 2013
Wiggle Dragon Ride Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey - 2013
Race fit short sleeve Jersey, manufactured by Italian company LeMarq, with elegant graphics and detailing inspired by the Wiggle Dragon Ride sportive (9th June 2013). Please note this is a unisex jersey.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Classy, stylish & great performance
Posted23 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This jersey is a bit pricey, and you definitely need to be honest with yourself when sizing as they are designed to be a snug fit. But the quality is great and I love the design - it's my current favourite jersey, and reminds me of the brilliant (if tough) Dragonride event every time I wear it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos Chamois Cream
Assos Chamois Cream
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best. Enough said.
Posted17 April 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The only thing that would make this better would be availability in a tube as well as a tub to enable you to take it on longer rides when required."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant value, high performance item
Posted29 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As ever, DHB provides a solid value for money product which is as good (I venture to suggest) as most cyclists will ever need. Very comfortable over rides of 2-3 hours, and certainly warm enough for riding down to temperatures of around 2-3 degrees"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product for those in between days
Posted29 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Racing18
fromAlvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent value as usual from DHB, these do exactly what they purport to. Wear them when you set out on those Autumnal / Spring chilly mornings, then take em off and stuff them in your jersey pocket when it warms up. No more shorts / tights dilemmas!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Racing18's Questions
 
Racing18 has not submitted any questions.
 
Racing18's Answers
 
 Garmin Swim
Garmin Swim
Stop counting laps. Let Garmin do the maths with Garmin Swim. It's the swimming watch designed for pool use that tracks your distance, pace, stroke count and more.
 

Do you get individual lap information?

I've a poolmate pro which only gives an average. So if I swim 100 lengths I can't see how fast I did the 23rd length for example. I was thinking of getting the garmin if I could look at individual laps to see how fast I did each length.
Yes - once uploaded to Garmin Connect you can view times for each individual lap / length. The quality / volume of data available over that provided by the Swimovate product , in my opinion, is one of the main benefits (plus the fact it uploads automatically).
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Racing18
Alvechurch, Worcestershire, UK
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Leg Warmers.)
 

Do they have zips at the ankle?

I was just wondering if they have zips at the ankle so you can take them off without removing your shoes
No they don't - they are very stretchy, I've not tried to remove them with shoes in place but suspect it's not a wise move!
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Racing18
Alvechurch, Worcestershire, UK