PackerPark
Share PackerPark's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
PackerPark's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    08 November 2010
  • Last Review
    15 May 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    08 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    04 April 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
PackerPark's Reviews
 
 TA 144 PCD Shimano/Campag Track Chainring (50-52T)
TA 144 PCD Shimano/Campag Track Chainring (50-52T)
TA Track chainring that is adaptable to Shimano and Campagnolo track.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value track chain ring
Posted15 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
PackerPark
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Attractive, well made. Good value alternative for training and racing."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Veloflex Corsa 23 Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Veloflex Corsa 23 Clincher Folding Road Tyre
The Veloflex Corsa 23 all-purpose tyre will give you more than you can expect from a clincher tyre. Built with the same 320 TPI casing of their tubular tyres for low rolling resistance and incredibly supple ride feelings.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great road race tyres
Posted15 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PackerPark
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Excellent tyres.
Very high thread count. Good puncture resistance for a high performance tyre.
Light and fast."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Veloflex Record Clincher Folding Road Tyre
Veloflex Record Clincher Folding Road Tyre
A time trial open tubular that will give you incredible feelings second only to its correspondent tubular version Record 28".
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best track clincher
Posted15 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
PackerPark
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have used Conti Suoersonics exclusively until now. Supersonics are great - Veloflex Records are simply the fastest tyre.
I suspect they would wear out quickly on concrete but on boards they have no peer.
About the lightest HP tyre on the market. They take 150psi for Loads of grip at the top of the 44 degree banking
If you ride clincher track wheels these are #1!
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
Corsa CX has proved successful in road races all over the world, but the new EVO version is bound to even greater success.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Tyres
Posted04 April 2011
PackerPark
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Crazy fast tyres, probably second only to Conti Supersonics.
A bit hard to get on (I run 20C not 23C) but its worth it and very close to tubulars.
Light with some puncture resistance, excellent for road racing and triathlons.
It may not be as durable as other tyres but they are light weight racing tyres NOT training tyres!
Awesome price from Wiggle - two tyres, delivered to Melbourne for less than what the shops here can sell one of them for. Sorry guys, but a saving of over $130 Australian is worth it.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
 
Products related to my review
Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic Folding Road Tyre
4.6 out of 5(69)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Value Cassette
Posted08 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
PackerPark
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"SRAM cassette provides a good spread of ratios at a reasonable weight with excellent performance. Smooth gear changes and quiet running.
An excellent option for SRAM and Shimano running gear.
Running on a full SRAM Red set up for Junior Racing. Is SRAM Red really worth the extra $$??!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality
 
Products related to my review
Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic Folding Road Tyre
4.6 out of 5(69)
 
 
 
Profile T2 Plus Cobra Aerobar Extensions
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Profile T2 Plus Aerobar Extensions
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
PackerPark's Questions
 
PackerPark has not submitted any questions.
 
PackerPark's Answers
 
 

Are these tyre suitable for Mavic CXP22 rims?

Yes mate. I have these on one of my kids bikes on the same rims.
Great racing tyre. If you are looking for longingevity, go for Gator Skins but these are awesome racing/training tyres
 
Products from my answer
Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic Folding Road Tyre
4.6 out of 5(69)
 
 
 
Grand Prix Folding Triathlon Tyre
4.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
4.3 out of 5(177)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne
 
 Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic Folding Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix SuperSonic Folding Road Tyre
Fit the Grand Prix Supersonic, coupled with a Race28 Supersonic tube and you've got the lightest and fastest tyre combination on the market at just 200g.
 

Is Continental Supersonic tube 18/25 -622/630 tube suitable to use with Grand Prix Supersonic tyre 23-622 ?

Yes.
I use the same tubes in my 700x20C Supersonics with no problems.
Use - Track and Triathlon
3 years, 8 months ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

SRAM v Shimano

I presently have Shimano Ultegra 6600 groupset with a 12-27 rear cassette which I really like. Shimano have stopped making this casssette.

Will the SRAM cassette 12 - 27 be compatible with my present set up? Is this SRAMs 'equivalent' to ultegra range.

(I don't much want to change to the new Shimano 6700 range 11- 28 casette - too wide - and there is some doubt re compatibility anyway I believe)
You should have no issues!

I run RED and FORCE gears on our bikes and have wheels with both 5600 (105) and 1070 cassettes and have not issues.

Interestingly, I borrowed a wheel at a race a while ago with a 6700 cassette and it ran fine.

As far as "what is the equivalent' - FORCE and RiVAL are very close in quality to Ultegra - if you are a weight kind of person, they are very close (the new APEX is probably closer to 105), with RED.

I use 1070 with RED as I can't see the justification for the price and the performance that it offers for an amateur!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

Will this cassette (either 11-28 or 12-27) work with an SRAM Red short cage rear mech and a FSA compact chainset (50-34) ?

Will this cassette (either 11-28 or 12-27) work with an SRAM Red short cage rear mech and a FSA compact chainset (50-34) ?

thanks!
Nick
Best answer
I have both FORCE and RED set ups on our bikes with 34-50 chainsets (SRAM) and short cage mechs both. I have 11-28, 12-27 and 12-25 cassettes on our wheels and they all work perfectly fine with no noticeable difference.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

If I change from 11-25 to 11-28 or 12-27 do I need to adjust the chain length?

You should not need to.

I have 11-28, 12-25 and 12-27 cassettes (SRAM 1070 and Shimano 5600) running on our bikes (SRAM Red and SRAM force and the chain is fully accommodating.

The limiting factor is the cage length, so a 28T is as big as you can go.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne
 
 SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
SRAM PG1070 10 Speed Cassette - Road
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

Shimano Ultegra Compatibility

I have an Ultegra 6600 groupset currently with a 12-25 cassette. Are the 11-28 and 12-27 cassettes compatible with what I have? I know that the 11-28T 6700 cassette isn't.
I'm surprised that the 6700 11-28T cassette is not compatible - it could only be due to the size (length) of the rear derailler (spelling, I know!).
All SRAM and Shimano 10 Speed cassettes are fully interchangeable with the only limiting factor being cage length.

I have both SRAM Red and SRAM Force short cages so the maximum sprocket is a 28T.

I currently have a Shimano 5600 12-25T (10S) and SRAM PG1070 12-27T and 11-28T cassettes running on our bikes and the wheels are fully interchangeable with no performance difference or need to re-calibrate the shifting mechanism.

Further, I have provided my spare wheel on occasion to other parents with 10S Shimano needing a quick rear wheel spare at a race events with no issues.

Hope this helps
4 years, 1 month ago
by
PackerPark
Melbourne