RCC28
Top 100 Contributor
Share RCC28's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RCC28's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    72
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    26 May 2010
  • Last Review
    09 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    10 March 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    16 March 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Answer
    26 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    11 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
RCC28's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
Protect your Edge® 800/810 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Also available in other colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does a fine job
Posted09 January 2015
RCC28
fromDoha, Qatar
Country : Qatar
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Here in Qatar the main enemy is dust - it gets everywhere when you're riding. After one ride your cables are coated on the leading edges, so this silicon cover for my new Garmin 810 was a no-brainer. Does exactly what is required whilst still allowing buttons to be used and screen to be seen. Ideal."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
I held off for so long….
Posted09 January 2015
RCC28
fromDoha, Qatar
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"…to buy a GPS as I really couldn't see why I'd need so much data, or even why I would need mapping when I generally know my routes. Ha, little did I know. Why didn't I buy one of these ages ago? I considered the Edge 1000 but the reviews indicated some problems so I plumbed for this Edge 810 and it's a really good piece of kit. Coupled with Strava Premium it's been a game-changer. Do yourself a favour and buy one of these."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 10 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on the tin
Posted29 December 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not much to say really is there - they're Conti's so the quality is a given."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted29 December 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These lights will blow your socks off - or the eyeballs of on-coming motorists! They are incredible. I'll be using them on the road but it would equally be awesome on the dirt trial. Very well made and a quality piece of equipment."
Pros: Durable, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Just like the original Exposure Axis, the new MK2 provides big power from a small package. Now with a more focused 850 lumen beam and TAP technology, helping you hit your favourite trails even faster and for longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Incredible..
Posted29 December 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This light will blow your socks off - or the eyeballs of on-coming motorists! It is incredible. I'll be using it on the road but it would equally be awesome on the dirt trial. Very well made and a quality piece of equipment."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb tyres
Posted12 November 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I really like Conti's so I suppose that makes a review biased. However, I used to use Force/Attack but having switched to GO4000II's I reckon they're faster. Anyway, extremely good tyres, just wish they did tubeless road tyres."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A mid weight base layer with a seamless tubular micro-fibre construction for an abrasion free fit in the cycling position. With targeted thickness and Push Pull effect fabric, the LS.skinFoil is the ideal first layer in your Assos autumn/winter outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I really can't enthuse enough...
Posted12 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"...about Assos. Their kit is expensive I agree, but buy cheap, buy twice. Assos just fits, does what it's supposed to and when you're on the bike the it fits like a glove. The clothing doesn't get in your way at all. Just buy Assos."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of grease containing 1 x 3oz tube.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well this made me smile...
Posted02 September 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"… an email from Wiggle says "Thank you for your recent order.
Now you've had some time to enjoy your recent purchase, how about sharing your thoughts about it with other Wiggle customers." And we're talking about grease for Speedplay pedals!! lol"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
KMC's 10 speed chains are compatible with all major shifting systems, it is NON directional so will work with both Shimano's mtb and road 10spd.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great chain
Posted11 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a really good chain, and now I'm filling space to reach the minimum review length"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Ceramic Wet is so unique and leading edgeits been patented! Breakthrough ceramic-bonding technology that coats your chain to prevent wear and corrosion and then cushions it chain with a blanket of pure synthetic racing oil.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rude looking oil
Posted11 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"THis stuff just looks very odd and it separates so needs to be shaken prior to use. However, it works beautifully."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RCC28's Questions
 
RCC28 has not submitted any questions.
 
RCC28's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Protect your Edge® 800/810 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Also available in other colours (sold separately).
 

Are silicone cases compatible with the out front mount?

Just got an 810, and wanted to know if the silicone cover is still compatible with the Garmin out front bike mount, or only with the bar / stem mount? Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Sure it works with the out front mount
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

Russia maps

Does this 810 contain Russia maps? And (due to Europe preinstallation) only up to Ural mountains (Europe ends on Ural mountains) or Siberia and Sakhalin are available as well?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi Vladimir. As far as I know the Europe maps end at the border with Russia/Ukraine/Belarus. As you say, Europe actually ends at the Ural's so I don't know why Garmin take a different view!
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

Uploading a pgx file

How easy it is to load a gpx file onto the device?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi, sorry I've not done this yet but friends have advised that it's no problem. The manual indicates a very easy procedure so it should be fine.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

Does this come with the new speed/cadence sensor as on the 1000 or is it the older version

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It comes with the older style sensors
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 

Is rear light's flash 'on/off' or does it keep constant light plus blink?

In other words, when it's on 'flash' mode are there intervals between the flashes where the light is not on at all or is a constant light maintained with the flash on top of this?

I believe the Exposure Flare has the 'constant + flash' mode.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Constant with the flash on top. This is a very good light, buy it.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 

Do these attach to an Aero seat post

Hi I have an Aero seat post that is tapered, will these rear lights attach?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
My seat post is aero too and the fixing strap works fine. It's a little bit tight, but so far it seems to hold the light in the correct rear facing position.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

Can you just type in an amount of hours e.g 4 hours and it will plan a route for you or not and if not does the 1000 do this?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I'm not too sure the 810 will do this - for sure the 1000 will.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
The touchscreen Edge 810 is designed for the cyclist who wants it all — navigation and advanced training capabilities in 1 device. Supplied with the premium heart rate monitor, speed/cadence sensor and City Navigator Europe NT.
 

HRM compatible yes(not included)

why with the GARMIN 810 performance and navigation bundle is the heart rate monitor stated as compatible but then not included when a HRM comes in the box?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
If you've purchased the Performance Bundle then the HRM and chest strap should be in the box - if not then I suggest you get back to Wiggle or whoever you have purchased the equipment from.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Doha, Qatar
 
See your fitness-and your bike handling skills-improve when you add CycleOps rollers to your training program.
 

What is the shortest wheelbase and how easy is it to change it?

My current road bike has a wheel base of 930mm which I think is OK from what I read (but isn't for other rollers I was considering), but my new road bike looks like it could have a wheel base around 900mm. Would that be OK?

I also use a hybrid bike (wheelbase 1040) - how easy is it to change the setup of the rollers to change bikes?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I use these with a road bike and they're fine. They are set to the second-to-last width setting, so if you get a bike with a 900mm wheelbase you should be fine to reduce the roller distance.
2 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
Grease injector gun with industrial quality tip and 1 pack of grease.
 

Can a flexible hose be attached to this gun?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I doubt it as there's no thread cut into the nozzle end - I suppose you could use a jubilee clip?
2 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge