RCC28
Top 100 Contributor
Share RCC28's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
RCC28's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    67
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    26 May 2010
  • Last Review
    12 November 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    10 March 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    16 March 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    26 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    07 August 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
RCC28's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>>
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix 4000S II Folding Road Tyre Twin Pack
The Grand Prix 4000S has had a facelift. The 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb tyres
Posted12 November 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I really like Conti's so I suppose that makes a review biased. However, I used to use Force/Attack but having switched to GO4000II's I reckon they're faster. Anyway, extremely good tyres, just wish they did tubeless road tyres."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos LS.skinFoil_fall Long Sleeve Base Layer
Assos LS.skinFoil_fall Long Sleeve Base Layer
A mid weight base layer with a seamless tubular micro-fibre construction for an abrasion free fit in the cycling position. With targeted thickness and Push Pull effect fabric, the LS.skinFoil is the ideal first layer in your Assos autumn/winter outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I really can't enthuse enough...
Posted12 November 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"...about Assos. Their kit is expensive I agree, but buy cheap, buy twice. Assos just fits, does what it's supposed to and when you're on the bike the it fits like a glove. The clothing doesn't get in your way at all. Just buy Assos."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedplay Grease
Speedplay Grease
Pack of grease containing 1 x 3oz tube.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well this made me smile...
Posted02 September 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"… an email from Wiggle says "Thank you for your recent order.
Now you've had some time to enjoy your recent purchase, how about sharing your thoughts about it with other Wiggle customers." And we're talking about grease for Speedplay pedals!! lol"
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 KMC X10-EL Silver 10 Speed Chain
KMC X10-EL Silver 10 Speed Chain
KMC's 10 speed chains are compatible with all major shifting systems, it is NON directional so will work with both Shimano's mtb and road 10spd.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great chain
Posted11 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a really good chain, and now I'm filling space to reach the minimum review length"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Finish Line Ceramic Wet Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Finish Line Ceramic Wet Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Ceramic Wet is so unique and leading edgeits been patented! Breakthrough ceramic-bonding technology that coats your chain to prevent wear and corrosion and then cushions it chain with a blanket of pure synthetic racing oil.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Rude looking oil
Posted11 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"THis stuff just looks very odd and it separates so needs to be shaken prior to use. However, it works beautifully."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedplay Grease Gun
Speedplay Grease Gun
Grease injector gun with industrial quality tip and 1 pack of grease.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Grease gun
Posted07 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've seen some people greasing Speedplay pedals using a syringe, but WTF! Good pedals need a good grease gun and there I shall leave it."
Pros: Rugged
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Speedplay Coffee Shop Cleat Covers
Speedplay Coffee Shop Covers snap over the cleats to make walking easier & to protect your cleats. They keep dirt & mud out of your Light Action, Zero or X-Series cleats when you are off the bike, & give you traction when walking on uncarpeted surfaces.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cleat covers .....
Posted07 August 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"....are essential for the obligatory coffee shop stop. Why buy expensive pedals only to wreck them at the coffee shop - do yourself a favour and buy these covers."
Pros: Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Alloy Tyre Levers
Lezyne Alloy Tyre Levers
Pair of Beautiful forged and polished aero-space grade aluminium construction.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tyre levers
Posted22 July 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well, it's just a tyre lever but they are nicely made and finished. However, being metal they do tend to scratch the wheel rims more than plastic ones."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Park Tools Double Ended Cone Wrench
Park Tools Double Ended Cone Wrench
These cone wrenches are designed for the home mechanic or occasional user.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love Park Tools........
Posted26 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
".......their stuff is generally very good and high quality. No complaints here."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful here
Posted26 March 2014
RCC28
fromCambridge
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Be carfeful when tightening the fixing screw on the braze-on version as I stripped the thread even though I was double-checking and going slowly. Had to buy another unit :("
Pros: Great Value
Cons: fixing is easily damaged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RCC28's Questions
 
RCC28 has not submitted any questions.
 
RCC28's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Speedplay Grease Gun
Speedplay Grease Gun
Grease injector gun with industrial quality tip and 1 pack of grease.
 

As you don't sell this product anymore, do you have an alternative product (for both the gun and grease) for purchase?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Hi Anonymous of Adelaide

I have just bought a Speedplay grease gun from Wiggle (within the last week in fact). Maybe they don't ship to Australia, but that would be strange. I hope you manage to get sorted :S
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Is this one suitable for 9Sp or 10Sp?

Running currently on a old Ultegra 6501 9SP with 3 Chainrings in the front (3rd never used). Wondering if i can replace the broken derailleur with this model

Thanks for your help.
Cheers.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
10 speed
8 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

This can work with shifters 105 5700 Sti double and Sti 4600 tiagra double?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
I have this working with 105 STI levers, so no problem

Ce, no problem
8 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Can this be fitted without breaking the chain?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No it can't. You'll need to punch out a rivet to open your chain.
8 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
Shimano Ultegra 6700 Braze-On Front Derailleur
For Double and Compact Chainsets. Completely redesigned Ultegra front derailleur for use with Ultegra 6700 shifters only for optimum shifting performance.
 

Bit worried about 'Brazed on'' versions V 'plated versions'.

About to buy a Ultegra 6700 front derailleur - some are brazed on and 2 others are clamped on (I guess by a tube ring). Wiggle sell the braze-on.

My Giant Defy's current 105 front derailleur is secured to down-post by a 25 mm clamp secured by 2 screws. I'm guessing it's a 'brazed' version and Wiggle's is right for me ? Appreciate any help please..
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Sounds like your fitting is a clamp and not a braze-on
8 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 CycleOps Aluminium Rollers
CycleOps Aluminium Rollers
See your fitness-and your bike handling skills-improve when you add CycleOps rollers to your training program.
 

How much do these rollers weigh?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Just over 8lbs. I recently put them into the luggage hold of a plane coming out to the Middle East and they arrived completely unscathed and didn't cost me a thing in excess luggage - they're great.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 CycleOps Aluminium Rollers
CycleOps Aluminium Rollers
See your fitness-and your bike handling skills-improve when you add CycleOps rollers to your training program.
 

What's the longest wheelbase?

I'd like to use these rollers with my TT bike and also my touring bike. The touring bike has quite a long wheelbase - 111.5cm - is this going to fit?
Best answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes. The front roller has several adjustments so should be fine
2 years, 3 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 K-Edge Chain Catcher (Double)
K-Edge Chain Catcher (Double)
The K-EDGE chain catcher is a precision component that enhances the overall function of your drive train while protecting your valuable frame.
 

Will these fit / work on a 2011 Scott CR1 with Ultegra Triple??

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
No reason why it should't as long as your front changer is a braze on.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Shimano SPD SL Cleats
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

look compatability SPD SL CLEATS

Are these cleats compatable with the Look Keo classic pedals as I already have these on my other bike

many thanks S.P.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Not as far as I know. I think you'll need some Look cleats
2 years, 7 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge
 
 Assos Summer Skinweb Cycling Socks
Assos Summer Skinweb Cycling Socks
Hot summer rides can be tough on your feet, staying dry and cool is crucial. Summer Skinweb socks feature a ventilating mesh construction for airflow and moisture transport and a light compression effect to enhance blood flow.
 

What size for UK 10 shoe?

Size what does this refer too. For a UK size 10 = 45 so therefore I would need the largest size?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
There's a sizing chart on the Assos website
2 years, 7 months ago
by
RCC28
Cambridge