LeisurelyMonkey
Top 250 Contributor
Share LeisurelyMonkey's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LeisurelyMonkey's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    43
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    28 March 2010
  • Last Review
    13 March 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    08 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
LeisurelyMonkey's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 Body Paint 2.0 Speed Suit
Body Paint 2.0 Speed Suit
The ultimate in aerodynamic cycle wear, this is the speed suit to aspire to. Crammed full of cutting edge technologies to make it the sleekest, fastest and lightest, this suit is nearly totally seamless for a fantastic riding experience.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
A serious skinsuit
Posted13 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is a high end skin suit, that should only be worn during time trials. It is designed to be very tight and if you size correctly it is exactly that - I am writing this review with this in mind. Ignore any sizing advice re how tall you are and go purely on chest an then waist measurements (in that order). I'm 6'3" with a 98cm chest, if I were to use the height sizing I'd be in the XXL range, instead I went for a Large, based on the chest measurements, and it fits me exactly as a skinsuit should.
It is very comfortable during a TT, the legs and arms don't slip at all and you should not have to adjust anything once you are in the start house.
I can't comment on the durability of this skinsuit, however it does appear to be well made - time will tell I guess.
I can't stress enough, this is a pro level skinsuit and needs to be very tight to be of any advantage."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It works, just too big for me
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This headband works well, blocks the wind and keeps your ears warm. The issue I have with it is that it is slightly too big for my head (I take a medium helmet) and I find that it will slip while I am riding.
The range of colours is great and if they offered different sizes I'd be giving this 5 stars."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Roubaix Liner Glove
dhb Roubaix Liner Glove
Stretch Polyester Roubaix (fleece) glove with Silicone print detail on the palm helps to keep you warm and maintains excellent dexterity.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A no-fuss liner glove
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This liner glove works well as a liner under another (in my case wind proof) glove. the fabric is probably a bit too thin for my liking as I do get cold hands, but it will probably be ok for most people.
The fit is in line with most other glove manufacturers so no need to go up or down a size from what you currently have."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: too thin
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Top of the range Dura-Ace Super narrow 7901 chain is a lightweight 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best chain for Shimano components
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is the best chain I've ever used for 10 speed Shimano. It works perfectly on all 10 speed Shimano components (not just Dura Ace).
Very smooth and lightweight means that gear changes are crisp."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Comp 3/4 Cycling Socks - 2012
Comp 3/4 Cycling Socks - 2012
High cuff cycling socks with a Polypropylene Dryarn construction. Comp socks are quick drying and have an antibacterial action, ideal in hot, humid conditions. A graduated construction offers maximum support to the ankle with less pressure on the calf.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent socks if you like long socks
Posted15 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I love these socks!!! Before I dive into the positives I will stress that these socks are long, fortunately I like this look.
The material is very comfortable and somehow resists stains from road grime picked up in the rain.
The only down side is that I now want to throw out all my other cycling socks and replace them with these Santini ones."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Evoc Road Bike Adaptor for Bike Travel Bag
Evoc Road Bike Adaptor for Bike Travel Bag
A protective adaptor for transporting road and track bikes in the Evoc Bike Travel Bag. The Road Bike Adaptor fits over your forks and lifts them to provide clearance, support and a snug fit against the sides of the bag.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Essential for a road bike
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is needed for a road bike in the Evoc bike bag. I packed my bike without this once (using tons of bubble wrap) and the bike didn't sit well in the bag.
It is easy to install and is very light weight so won't impact on the airport weigh-in.
I still believe that this should come as a standard part with the bag, it seems strange that you need to purchase an essential part separately."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: not a standard item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Elsted Wheel Bag
dhb Elsted Wheel Bag
The Elsted range - bags and luggage which are robust, resilient, durable and affordable
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very good wheel bag
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought this wheel bag for my disc as I wanted a padded bag and didn't want to pay close to A$100 for a wheel bag with the manufacturer's logos all over it. I am very impressed with the padding and internal skewer pocket. The only criticism I have of it is that the handles are very close together meaning that it is a bit awkward to handle when the zipper is undone - this is a minor issue though.
It fit's a road wheel or disc perfectly."
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Essential for an indoor trainer
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I used to use old tyres on my indoor trainer. I then bought this tyre out of curiosity and what a difference it made!!! There is no longer any squeaking with each pedal revolution and no fragments of tyre peeling off onto the floor. Absolutely essential for a smooth and quieter trainer experience."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Token TK9741-2 Aero Clip On Bars and Pads
Token TK9741-2 Aero Clip On Bars and Pads
Clip on aero bars and sponge pads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great clip-on at the right price
Posted14 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I bought these clip-on bars for my road bike. They are easy to set up and offer adjustable pad and bar lengths. The material of clip-ons won't impact on your performance, only the position they put you in. The bars can put you in a very aero position and offer great value for money."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 PowerBar Ride Bar Box Of 18 55g Bars
PowerBar Ride Bar Box Of 18 55g Bars
Tasting just as good as your favourite chocolate bar but without the high fat content, ride provides long lasting energy through a combination of complex carbohydrate and fibre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best of all the energy bars
Posted12 March 2012
LeisurelyMonkey
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Of all the energy bars I've tried, these ride bars are the best tasting (didn't give if 5 stars, as a full-sugar/fat chocolate bar still tastes better).
I use these either as a pre-ride feed or a snack after about 30 mins into a ride. I've never had them a few hours into the ride as I'm concerned that the chocolate won't last that long.
For me they do what they are meant to, i.e. give you enough energy to keep riding. I prefer these much more than gels."
Pros: good taste, good energy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LeisurelyMonkey's Questions
 
LeisurelyMonkey has not submitted any questions.
 
LeisurelyMonkey's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
dhb Windproof Windtex Headband
Enhanced thermal protection from cold wind for your head.
 

Is this product adjustable?

The description says it is, the reviews say it isn't. Thanks.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No it is not adjustable
2 years ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Shimano Dura Ace 7901 10 Speed Chain
Top of the range Dura-Ace Super narrow 7901 chain is a lightweight 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer.
 

Is this chain compatible with my 50/39 chainset and 11-28 10 speed cassette? thanks

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Assuming your chainset and cassette are Shimano, yes it will work no problem. You'll probably find that you'll need to remove a few links to make it short enough.
2 years ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

will it fit

I have 39/53 on the fron and am looking at moving from a 12/25 to 11/28 cassette will 116 links in the chain fit ?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You can use the same chain length for your 12/25. You'll probably need to cut down the 116 link chain.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

I want to buy a chain link for this chain

Do they exist, can they be bought.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I use the KMC 10 speed chain links - works well for me.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

Ultegra compatible with 105?

I am looking to buy ultegra 10 speed cassette and an ultegra chain as mine need replacing, however would they be compatible with a 105 compact crank set?

cheers
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yep they will work. Just watch the maximum number of teeth on the cassette. The manuals on the Shimano website will tell you the maximum number of teeth.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Shimano Ultegra 6701 10 Speed Chain (116 Links)
Super narrow lightweight Ultegra 6701 10-speed directional chain for optimum cassette and chainset interaction and maximum power transfer (recommended for use with double systems only).
 

Hi, is the connection for this chain a clip or pin?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The chain comes with a pin, its pretty easy to install with the right chain breaker.

You can also buy clip chain links to use with this chain, however you'll need to find ones that are compatible with Shimano directional chains.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Ergo 2 Carbon Lite Vernice Road Shoes
Ergo 2 Carbon Lite Vernice Road Shoes
For 2011, the Ergo 2 comes fitted with the new Carbon Lite Sole. The shoe is made from Vernice Microfibre for an extremely comfortable fit.
 

When purchasing the sidi 2 ergo road vernice shoes do you need to buy cleats as well and can you use the shimano 105 pedals with those shoes?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes you will need to buy Shimano cleats. It is easy to fit the cleats to the shoes, you just need an allen key.

As long as you have the proper Shimano cleats, you will be able to use these shoes with 105 pedals
3 years, 2 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Super lightweight 10-speed cassette with a rigid alloy carrier for excellent shifting even under the most demanding gear changes.
 

BELOW

HI, WOULD AN ULTEGRA SL 10SPEED DRIVE TRAIN FIT WITH DURA ACE CS-7900 11-28T OR 12-27T? OR WITH CS-7800?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The maximum ratio you can use is 11-27. I've had my bike set up this way and it has worked smoothly. This info is on the Shimano website
3 years, 11 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Super lightweight 10-speed cassette with a rigid alloy carrier for excellent shifting even under the most demanding gear changes.
 

What is the best cassette ratio for a Road Bike Hill training and long distance endurance riding?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
This really depends on how fit and strong you are, what your goals are and what you define as "hills".

FYI - I use 11-23 on all all distances where the climbs are less than 5km and 5% or less

I use 11-27 on rides where there are multiple long (over 5km) climbs and the gradients are over 5%.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney
 
 Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Shimano Dura Ace 7900 10 Speed Cassette
Super lightweight 10-speed cassette with a rigid alloy carrier for excellent shifting even under the most demanding gear changes.
 

can i keep my ultegra chain if i get the dura ace 7900 cassette

i have a 6700 chain and cassette and everything else is dura on the bike but want to upgrade the cassette with a new pair of wheels
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, I currently have an Ultegra chain running on a Dura Ace cassette, I've had no issues
3 years, 11 months ago
by
LeisurelyMonkey
Sydney