LionOfFlanders
Share LionOfFlanders's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
LionOfFlanders's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    58
  • Helpfulness Votes
    36
  • First Review
    10 March 2010
  • Last Review
    21 April 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    2
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    17 April 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    01 February 2016
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    466
  • Helpfulness Votes
    145
  • First Answer
    15 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    33
 
 
LionOfFlanders's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
The award winning POC Octal AVIP MIPS helmet is engineered to be the next step in road bike helmet safety. It includes MIPS technology to reduce the rotational forces to the brain as well as utilising attention grabbing AVIP colourways.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
a hater to a lover
Posted21 April 2015
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Pro
Gender : Male
"When I first saw the Poc Octal helmet I didn't like it.
Since then, it has grown on me. The aesthetics slowly found a place in my heart from the first glance and now it is a helmet of mine that I often find myself wearing.
It's very comfortable on, and a nice retention system that I have found to work with all sunglasses.
the added feature of the MIPS system in this helmet really appealed to me having had a serious crash last year.
The helmet is also very light, it looks like it wouldn't be. but it is a surprise once it's in your hands."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Hope Pro 2 Evo Tech XC Wheelset
Hope Pro 2 Evo Tech XC Wheelset
Designed for cross country use, the Hope Tech XC 26" wheelsets are light and durable with Hope's Tech XC rim featuring a rim width of 19.5mm. Using Pro 2 hubs with the rear featuring a 40 tooth ratchet ring and 4 pawl engagement for a faster drive.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BRILLIANT
Posted11 March 2015
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Pro
Gender : Male
"Hope have done it again!
produced a top quality product at a great price.
their hubs are simply brilliant. I've been pretty rough with these wheels, and no sign of going out of true at all.
keep up the great work Hope."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Etixx Magnesium Absorption Plus (3 Tubes - 30 Tablets)
Etixx Magnesium Absorption Plus (3 Tubes - 30 Tablets)
Magnesium Absorption Plus Effervescent Tablets from Etixx - Magnesium contributes to a reduction of tiredness & fatigue and supports normal muscle function. Supplementing with Magnesium can assist in oxygen delivery and protein synthesis.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted10 March 2015
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Pro
Gender : Male
"When I popped the first tablet from the tube I was amazed at how big it was! you certainly get your moneys worth.
it quickly dissolved in the glass of water, but required a quick stir too fully mix with the water. there was a thin layer on the bottom of the glass.
I am a big fan of magnesium and have been using supplements for many years.
taste is good too!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
GORE-TEX® Active road cycling cap with peak that can be flipped up. Worn under any helmet it offers a perfect fit and protection from rain and gives extra insulation in cold weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Brilliant, just brilliant
Posted10 October 2014
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"It's rare you can say something is flawless, but this one size fits all waterproof hat ticks all the boxes. kept my head free from rain, allowed it to breath as well as a cotton cap. full circumference sealed too. this is great."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Knog Kabana 74cm Cable Lock
Knog Kabana 74cm Cable Lock
A 74cm cable lock with a 11mm stainless steel shackle and with a cable diametre of 17cm.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
nice and flexible and soft to the touch
Posted24 July 2014
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"it's a great lock to take with you and the lovely rubbery coating will mean that it wont scratch your pride and joy when locked up!
three keys come supplied which is great. can give a spare to the wife"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Professional ASV Bib Shorts
dhb Professional ASV Bib Shorts
Light and aerodynamic, the ASV Bib Short combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the ultimate racing apparel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
impressed!
Posted15 July 2014
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"the short match the top quality of the jersey.
dhb have upped their game it seems. the shorts are very good and certainly reflect the input that they've had from the Wiggle Honda riders.
keep up the good products of late.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Professional ASV Short Sleeve Cycle Jersey
dhb Professional ASV Short Sleeve Cycle Jersey
Light and aerodynamic, the ASV Jersey combines branded, highly technical fabrics and refined striking graphics for the ultimate racing apparel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best so far from dhb
Posted15 July 2014
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Without wanting to waffle on and on. I will cut it short.
This is dhb's finest range of products yet. I've seen nearly every product and when wearing this kit it really was a massive improvement on other products I had used.
well done dhb, good job.
"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 De Rosa Protos Super Record EPS 2014
De Rosa Protos Super Record EPS 2014
The De Rosa Protos represents the pinnacle of technology, performance and beauty in cycling. Equipped with Campagnolo Super Record EPS for instant, effortless shifting, and Fulcrum Racing Speed XLR wheels, the Protos is a formula fit for the Grand Tours.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
the best frame i have owned
Posted23 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've owned a fair few bikes, in over 25years of racing I've seen lots.
However, this frameset is by far the best. Its the flagship for De Rosa and certainly turns heads everywhere I go.
On the flat, uphill and downhill, it goes where I want it too. The box section downtube draws everybody in. I don't really know where to start or finish this review, but, to put it simply. It's not going to be beaten by anything else I ride."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-18points
1of 20voted this as helpful.
 
 Multipower Fruit Power 24 x 40g
Multipower Fruit Power 24 x 40g
Containing just 1.5gm of fat per bar Fruit Power provides you with fast carbohydrates and nutrients to fuel your activity. With its natural fruit content of 48-65% (depending on flavour) this bar has a wonderfully fresh and fruity taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very nice
Posted23 April 2014
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"these are lovely. they are not very chewy so ideal to almost dissolve in your mouth.
highly recommended. the flavour is not false and artificial.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Clear Fluro Race Jacket
dhb Clear Fluro Race Jacket
Emergency shower protection and increased visibility in low light conditions. With a hi-viz colour, weatherproof membrane, ultralight construction and a compact pack size, the dhb Clear Fluro Race Jacket helps keep you warm, dry and safe on the roads.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted20 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
LionOfFlanders
fromSouth England
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Firstly the colour, it’s bright and certainly hi-viz! The jacket stands out very well in daylight, and at night does a fantastic job of helping you be seen. There are reflective strips that aid visibility for other road users in low light or at night. Car headlights pick these up well, I decided to test this with a friend to double check the effectiveness.
The sizing is good and true to scale. I’m generally a medium in cycling clothing, and this test product was sized medium and fitted perfectly over a long sleeved jersey.
What was instantly noticeable when I first put this jacket on was the arm length. They are long enough! Many long sleeved items have sleeves that are not long enough for me. A big thumbs up to dhb for thinking about sleeve length. I’ve never met anybody who has complained about sleeves being too long on a jersey/jacket. However, I’ve met plenty of riders who complain about sleeves being too short.
The dhb Clear Race Jacket Fluoro is made of a very lightweight fabric that allows it to be scrunched up (or folded) into a tiny package and stored in a jersey pocket with ease. Nobody wants to carry a bulky jacket in a pocket that irritates and makes you rethink taking it on your next ride.
The size factor is very important for me as I am someone who doesn’t like pockets that swing around from side to side when riding out of the saddle.
More on the fabric. In the cycling world it’s called a membrane. It’s difficult to explain the texture of the fabric. It’s very thin but not fragile – in-fact it’s very flexible! Hopefully that makes sense.
You will have to buy one to see for yourself!
Protection from the elements is the aim of this jacket, and it certainly provides that. With the ever changeable UK weather this has been tried & tested and has had a great deal of use in recent weeks on my rides. The jacket has been in and out of my jersey pocket more times than a teenagers mobile phone in their jeans pocket!
The jacket is constructed in such a way that it provides warmth but still allows limited breath-ability. It’s not a specialist waterproof (see here for waterproofs), it’s what I like to call shower resistant. It’s helped me on evening rides when the temperature has rapidly dropped and I needed an extra layer for chilly descents but without overheating on the flat roads – The mesh armpit vents help any excess heat escape.
On a few occasions I’ve been caught out in a sudden downpour of rain, this jacket was quickly put on and provided excellent protection from the rain. It will not keep you bone dry through a solid 4 hour “raining cats and dogs” ride, but it will help when you can’t predict the weather and don’t want to get totally caught out.
A small note, but worth mentioning: The zip is easy to engage whilst riding along or with gloves on. The “zip garage” is also a lovely addition to the product, combined with the nice high neck on this jacket it erases the chance of irritation on your neck/chin.
Oh, and the membrane is designed so that the layer beneath can be seen. So it’s fine if you have a number on the rear of your jersey or wish to show off a kit beneath the outer layer, this jacket allows you to do so.
What are my overall thoughts on the dhb Clear Race Jacket Fluoro?
This type of jacket is my must have – that says enough for my thoughts on it. It’s always in my pocket during Autumn/Winter/Spring rides. It’s like an emergency service against the weather in your back-pocket.
In-case you were wondering for summer use, there are these available to keep in your back-pocket or saddlebag: membrane type gilet.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
LionOfFlanders's Questions
 
LionOfFlanders has not submitted any questions.
 
LionOfFlanders's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 ... 47 >>>
 
 FP Uno Tiagra 2012
FP Uno Tiagra 2012
For 2012 the Pinarello FP1 has evolved into the FP Uno and built using Hydroformed Asymmetric tubing. Complete with Shimano Tiagra groupset, with a compact chainset, this bike is ideal for the rider just starting out in cycling.
 

I am 178cm with roughly a 32cm inside leg, what size would i be?

56/58cm
4 years, 1 month ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Rhigos.01
Rhigos.01
The Verenti Rhigos.01, finished in black with stunning red carbon fibre lugs, has been designed to give you the ultimate sportive performance road bike.
 

Do you supply the rear mech hanger?

I would like a spare for when i'm travelling
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/verenti-mech-hangers/
thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Mech Hanger
Mech Hanger
Please consult table to find the mech hanger for your bike and make sure it matches the picture. If in any doubt please email us with the model and serial number of your bike.
 

Which mech hanger do I need for a Focus Cayo Expert 2008? The old one has a code - D1916 - does this mean anything?

please see the size guide and description tab on this page. it may help:
http://www.wiggle.co.uk/focus-mech-hanger/
thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Make the most of every ride with Edge® 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

Do I have to have maps

I just dropped and broke my garmin 500. I think I will step up to the 800. I travel a lot around the world. With the 500 I could fly to China and upload to garmin connect, fly to the US and do the same, fly to Japan do the same etc.

I will buy maps, but what happens when I fly to a country that I don't have maps for? Am I just out of luck or can I use it like the 500? (meaning just turn it on and go, obviously without seeing any maps)
yes, you can use it without a map, just like the Edge 500.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Garmin GB Discoverer™ 1:50k All of Great Britain Card
Garmin GB Discoverer™ 1:50k All of Great Britain Card
Full 1:50k scale Ordnance Survey coverage for the whole of Great Britain on a single preprogrammed microSD™/SD™ card
 

I want to buy this product

But is it the correct choice for cycling and is it compatable with the garmin edge 705?
yes, this is suitable.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Make the most of every ride with Edge® 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

ironman cycle routes

Is it possible to download ironman cycle routes onto the device? If i look at a map on a website can it be downloaded so i can ride the route later.
Hello
yes, that's possible. there are many websites that allow routes that other users/companies have created so users can download and follow the routes.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer
Make the most of every ride with Edge® 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

Can I use City Navigator from 705 unit bought in 2009 with the current 800 unit or do I need to purchase that separately?

the micro sd card will work fine.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Hope Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Front Wheel
Hope Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Front Wheel
The all new Pro2 EVO SP hub now sits in the range to run alongside the standard Pro2 EVO and gives riders the option of a straight pull design. These have been built on to a range of 26" rims from Mavic and Stans to offer a outstanding wheel package.
 

Do the Flows come already rim taped i.e. tubeless ready?

no they do not.
thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Rear Wheel 2013
Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Rear Wheel 2013
The all new Pro2 EVO SP hub now sits in the range to run alongside the standard Pro2 EVO and gives riders the option of a straight pull design, but with a conventional 32 hole drilling.
 

Can you ship this with a 150x12mm rear hub?

Hi, we want to get it with a 150x12mm, thanks
hello
currently only the listed sizes.
thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England
 
 Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Rear Wheel 2013
Hoops Pro2 Evo SP MTB Rear Wheel 2013
The all new Pro2 EVO SP hub now sits in the range to run alongside the standard Pro2 EVO and gives riders the option of a straight pull design, but with a conventional 32 hole drilling.
 

Does the Crest 29er Rim come taped?

As above; does it come with tape and valves or do I have to get them seperately?
you would need to purchase those parts separately thanks
4 years, 10 months ago
by
LionOfFlanders
South England