smilercycle
Share smilercycle's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
smilercycle's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    20 July 2010
  • Last Review
    05 July 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 April 2010
  • Last Question
    13 January 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    20 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 August 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
smilercycle's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Power 2.0 Bib Shorts - SS13
Power 2.0 Bib Shorts - SS13
Classic summer bib shorts with a ventilated mesh back and a multi-panel short contruction for a close fit that follows the body without abrasion. The Gore Power Seatpad provides cushioning and comfort, ideal for everyday training rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great comfortable shorts
Posted05 July 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I wore these for the tour of wessex sportive-3sportives of 106,112,119 miles -comfort,no chaffing excellent pad and great fit...may be worth considering the next size up if you re a larger guy"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tri-Elite Wetsuit
Tri-Elite Wetsuit
The Speedo TriathELITE range harnesses the Speedo Aqualab ®’s R&D expertise and understanding of the human body, performance materials and the environment.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
apart from the word "elite"-Great suit
Posted14 August 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Great comfortable suit!
Plenty of flex in the arms,bouyancy just right not over board! Not convinced regarding the catch panels technology.However considering the price not a bad suit overall-time will tell regarding wear and tear
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fizik Technogel pads offer features not available in other brands. Shock absorbing, gel cushioning that won't harden, break down or migrate. Plus you can cut it to shape to fit on any bar.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Look after your Joints
Posted22 June 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"For those longer rides this is a great product.Ive completed several century rides in comfort.For maxium comfort ,although be prepared for a spongey effect if you use all the gel inserts.
This is the 2nd time Ive purchased this product its easy to apply and I only had to replace mine due to a road accident,Im sure it would have lasted for several years as the previous lasted 3 years...what more can I say?
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great hydro
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This a great product for electrolytes replacement.You will need to consider carbs thoiugh on those longer rides as it will not provide you with sufficent energy,but it does replace prevent you from dehydrating.I have used it on several century rides."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL320 and TL-LD610 Light Set
HL-EL320 and TL-LD610 Light Set
A great little light set for getting you seen when commuting to and from work.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
value for money
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This is a great set.I have more expensive lights however for the price I cant grumble,great vision,the rear light can be seen from a distance and you have a choice of settings to enhance visibility.
The front does feel a little to plastic but for the price what can you expect.The beam is sound .
"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Grand Prix 4000 Folding Road Tyres (2) and Tubes
Grand Prix 4000 Folding Road Tyres (2) and Tubes
New highly awaited top of the line road tyre from Continental. 2 tyres and inner tubes at an outstanding price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
brilliant
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I always use continental tyres ,Ive used a variety of their tyres so I have no qualms regarding their use-please see their website for spefic functions of tyres ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
just brilliant
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"It took me a while to convert to cartridges-however once you have the knack they are so quick.These are as good as any others Ive used-I connect them to a specialised connector.Always use a rag or gloves to prevent you from sticking your hand to the cartridges!
Also semi inflate your tube prior to fitting either by lungs or pump."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value for money
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I ve worn many tights and these are a great winter training tight that will keep you warm and comfortable.Well done wiggle."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 World Class Recovery Kit - Use by May 2012
World Class Recovery Kit - Use by May 2012
Experience the Recovery Revolution with this complete kit. Includes 8 sachets in mixed flavours + 750ml Water Bottle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
good but there are better
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This product definitely works however there are better protein products which enhance a speedier recovery."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
Continental Grand Prix Attack/Force Road Tyre Twin Pack
New and redesigned for 2008, the front and rear specific tyre set from the tyremeisters Continental. Now using the ultimate Black Chili compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great combination
Posted30 April 2011
smilercycle
fromdevon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I was slightly cynical when I 1st read about the "force" and "attack",however they are a great combination.The rear almost sticks to the tarmac when accellerating
Easy to roll on to your clincher.
Not as hard wearing but if you follow continentals web site guidance when purchasing their tyres you wont go wrong.
I tend to use a variety of continental tyres depending on the event and thier function
"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
smilercycle's Questions
 
 Frog LED Twinpack
Frog LED Twinpack
Twinpack containing 1 x Frog front light and 1 x Frog rear light.
 

can these lights fit on the forks-rather than handlebars or seat post?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
 Dragon Ride Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey 2010
Dragon Ride Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey 2010
 

SIZING ADVICE PLEASE

Hi having read the review I am confused re the sizing as the person states he will reorder xl when he is 5ft 11.
I am 6ft 2 with wide shoulders 36-38" waist(trousers are usually 36").What size do you advise?
 
Products related to my question
Dragon Ride Short Sleeve Cycling Jersey 2010
4.6 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 4 months ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
smilercycle's Answers
 
 Tri-Elite Wetsuit
Tri-Elite Wetsuit
The Speedo TriathELITE range harnesses the Speedo Aqualab ®’s R&D expertise and understanding of the human body, performance materials and the environment.
 

Which Speedo Wetsuit?

I compete in triathlons and and a fairly good swimmer. Am faster without a wetsuit so probably not in need of too much buoyancy, & like freedom of movement for my arms. Would need it for speed and long distance swims.
Am looking at the Speedo Tri Elite, STR Elite, and Thin-Pro. Please could you tell me the difference between the Tri Elite and STR Elite? Also is the Thin Pro suitable for long distance swimming?
Thanks
Hi I cant answer your question however from my experience this suit isnt over bouyant ,it is very flexible and feels great on the arms.I use it for sea awims approx 1-2 miles and will be using it for my 1st tris
3 years ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I add Zero to my sports drink (usually Torq)? Will doing this help to reduce cramp?

I always use this product to enhance energy drinks and to ate Ive not experienced cramps
3 years, 4 months ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
A sleek, lightweight aero shaped wedge pack with the easy to use Topeak quick-release mounting system.
 

Which adaptor is required for a San Marco saddle

Hi, I bought this bag but the bracket supplied will not fit my San Marco racing saddle - the saddle rails are too close together under the seat.
Which bracket do I need to purchase ?
Aidan
Hi I have just returned mine as Im not aware of alternative fixings,please let me know if you find any as It is a great bag
3 years, 5 months ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Shorts
Our Pace Roubaix Bib Shorts are made from the finest brushed Italian 235g lycra and offer the highest level of comfort afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 

I'm 6' 6", 38 inch waist and 48 inch chest. Please advise which dhb roubaix short and bib would fit. Your size chart says xxxl but for a 47 waist ?

Hi I would go for the XXL if you want a tight fit with no wrinkles.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

Are the lenses polarised?

The description doesn't state whether some, all, or none of the lenses are polarising. I find this a key feature for cutting glare with sunglasses, so would be keen to know either way before deciding whether these are the sunglasses for me.

Thanks for your help.
Thats a good question!I assumed they were!Ive worn them in glaring sunshine with no eye strain
4 years, 1 month ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

How wide is the bridge on these glasses and are the nose pads adjustable?

Thre is an adustable nose piece that slides up and down preventing movement
4 years, 1 month ago
by
smilercycle
devon
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 

How does one change the lenses?

Unfortunately there is no explanation or notice that comes with the glasses.

Can someone explain how one changes the leses?

Thanks.
If you slightly apply pressure to the ends while levering down with your fingers it will clip out .Once youve done it ,it happens naturally.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
smilercycle
devon