Hedders504
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Hedders504's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Hedders504's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    22
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    13 April 2010
  • Last Review
    20 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    20 June 2011
  • Last Review Comment
    29 June 2011
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    17 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    20 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Hedders504's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Fi'zi:k MicroTex is super tough, stretch resistant and breathable. Best looking, most comfortable tape of its kind.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Always buy this now.
Posted20 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Looks good, lasts a year, feels nice to the touch (black version only). Don't get white version. The only downside is that it absorbs water and can feel soggy for a while after a wet ride. After a eyar the Fizik logo writing gets dirty or wears off to, but for most of it's life it looks great. I always get this product."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Water Bottles
Water Bottles
Pop your sports nutrition powder into a bottle or shaker, comes with a screw cap, for a convenient way of mixing your drinks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap and squeezy- no point buying anything else
Posted13 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These look good on the bike, they squeeze OK so you can get the drink out, they are large capacity and they are cheap. Don't expect them to look good in a year (as with most bottles) but I'd buy them again. Also, being clear, you can see exactly how much liquid you have left."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Jurassic Beast Sportive (Road) - Standard
Jurassic Beast Sportive (Road) - Standard
The Jurassic Beast Sportive is set along Dorset's historic Jurassic Coastline. The Jurassic Beast arguably has some of the best Vistas out of all the UK's sportives, with breath-taking views of, Corfe Castle, Lulworth Cove and Poole Harbour.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tough sportive (based on 2011 event)
Posted07 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Did the event last year- bought for this year. Organisation was superb, feeding stations well stocked, the route was scenic and the hills were challenging. Even the standard route had me aching at the end- so even if you are an advanced cyclist think hard before trying the 4.5/5 difficulty long route. Great event."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Team Jersey
Team Jersey
Turn heads while out on the road in this stylishly designed dhb Team Jersey. It is made from the innovative DM48 fabric which absorbs sweat and rapidly channels it away from the body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality for money
Posted07 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Plenty of pocket space in the rear, does away with the need for a saddle bag, nothing has fallen out. Looks good - although for us gents with a larger then usual belly size it does tend to show this, but that is the same with all cycling tops. Had to exchange the "L" for an "XL" as it was too snug. Difficult to get off in the wet, but again this is the same with all tight cycling jerseys. Would recommend, would buy again."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 800ml Water Bottle
800ml Water Bottle
Wiggle's very own 800ml water bottle
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Practical
Posted08 January 2012
User submitted photo
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Not a lot to say about this. Bought two in Christmas sale at £2 each. Good capacity (800ml), look OK on the bike. Not sure how long the rubber nozzle will last but hey, for this price you could have bought a coke bottle. And they are light. On rides under 40 miles I use one for water and the other for repair kit etc. Over that I use both for water."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers
The dhb Vaeon Lycra Leg Warmers are designed to offer warmth, high breathability and a greater resistance to cold conditions. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Cheapest option, but not for very cold weather
Posted25 December 2011
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These are better than nothing and they are cheap. When you put them on they don't initially appear to grip very well or stay up, but once your Lycra shorts are over the top they stay up just fine, and look OK too. They are quite comfy (forgot to take them off once!) however whilst they are far, far better than going out bare legged, in proper cold weather they aren't enough and you feel the cold air on your legs. This does mean, however, that if you want to supplement the insulation of your existing bibtights these are perfect. Cannot really comment on durability yet, but they appear to be holding out."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, supplements bibtights for extra insulation
Cons: not much cold insulation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bright and basic!
Posted02 November 2011
User submitted photo
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like the fact that this uses AAA batteries and not the fiddly little ones you find in e.g. watches. As soon as I got this device I threw away the generic batteries and put in some decent known-branded ones. Although I haven't used it that much yet I can certainly vouch for it being bright, and I like the idea of being able to mount it either vertically or horizontally. The plastic bracket it came with is a little of the fiddly side, but once fitted the light clips in and out quite easily and securely and I haven't had any problems. This is quite an old style CatEye unit but I believe the design is so good that it performs it's job really well, hence why it is still selling by the bucketload. Seems robust enough to last a nice long time too. You have a good selection of flash modes (do we really need this?) but the standard off/on flashing mode is certainly enough to grab driver's attention."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, bright
Cons: fiddly bracket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Not very durable
Posted06 September 2011
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Rode less than 150 miles and had 2 punctures and one blowout, had to replace (checked pressures etc). Looked good on the bike though."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
For MTB owners who ride on the road, not wishing to lose the "off road" look of their bikes. These tyres come with a reflective sidewall for higher safety.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
First product I'd recommend
Posted05 September 2011
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am a road cyclist with a road bike, but in the darker, winter evenings I prefer to use my MTB on the roads and the occasional gravel/mud path. These have low rolling resistance, good durability and actually hold their own off-road to an extent. Certainly recommend if you use your MTB on the road a lot- and run them at a good pressure. Nothing bad to say about them- the price is good too. I suppose, if you are going to be hopping over tree stumps and darting down technical trails I would go for a proper offroad tyre, but for everything else these are good all-rounders."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Made from real leather and comes with high performance adhesive. Includes two frame patches which help prevent cable rub.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good looking
Posted05 September 2011
Hedders504
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Looks good, does the job, durable and light. I actually cut mine in half and used them on two bikes!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Hedders504's Questions
 
Hedders504 has not submitted any questions.
 
Hedders504's Answers
 
Is there a brighter rear light available?
 

How do I get the battery cover off?

Is there a trick to it or am I just a weakling?
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Slide the cover off. If it doesn't budge, try pushing it in slightly at the same time.
11 months ago
by
Hedders504
 
 Bournemouth Sportive (Road) - Epic Route
Bournemouth Sportive (Road) - Epic Route
Sun, sea, southern England’s beautiful countryside and cycling – the Wiggle Bournemouth Sportive takes you from close to the bustling sandy beaches of Poole and Bournemouth to ride and enjoy the 3 counties of Dorset, Hampshire and Wiltshire.
 

Where exactly is the start? Other sites show it as Poole Grammar School

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Jurassic Beast starts/finishes at Bovington Tank Museum.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Hedders504
 

Do the threaded cartridges work on their own straight onto the tyre or do they require some form of additional adapter?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You need a pump/attachment to use these cartridges, they are just refills.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Hedders504
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Clincher.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Hedders504
 
High quality replacement inserts for all Shimano cartridge brake road blocks.
 

Will these fit an ultegra 6600 brake?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have the 6700 and they fit OK. Not sure about 6600 but I'd imagine they will fit.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Hedders504
 
 Cayo 2.0 Ultegra Compact 2011
Cayo 2.0 Ultegra Compact 2011
The Cayo 2.0 from Focus is ideal for the road rider looking for the next level of performance from their bike but still represents logic-defying value for money too.
 

How many spokes are there on the DT Swiss R1900 wheelset?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
24 front, 28 rear
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Hedders504
 

Please advise if the weight quoted is for 1 tyre or 2?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I believe each tyre weighs 300g.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Hedders504
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

are these folding or wire bead?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
My GP4000S are folding although I am not sure whether a beaded version is available. This also means they are lightweight but strong (I am very heavy and they support me just fine).
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Hedders504
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000S Road Tyre
The Continental Grand Prix series of racing clinchers is the top choice of serious race bike specialists all over the world, and has been for many years. The latest incarnation is the Grand Prix 4000S.
 

Whats the difference between GP4000s and the GP4000?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The GP4000S has the "black chilli compound"- basically a better gripping, better rolling tyre compound. This is only available in black (whereas the GP4000 is available in many colours) but the couple of extra quid is definitely worth it.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Hedders504