Murphy1
Share Murphy1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Murphy1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Review
    27 March 2010
  • Last Review
    05 September 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    04 May 2010
  • Last Question
    08 July 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
Answers
  • Answer Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    None
  • Last Answer
    None
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Murphy1's Reviews
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Life saver
Posted05 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Read my review on KMC missing link. This little tool done a top notch job yesterday. No problem breaking the chain to remove a damaged link. Good tool to have with you in an emergency. Highly reccommended as part of your saddlebag repair kit."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release link for Campagnolo, Shimano, KMC, and Sram chains.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quick and lasting repair link
Posted05 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Got me out of a spot of bother yesterday. It took me about five minutes to remove a damaged link and put this on and be back in the saddle on my way home from town. I can't say it would work with just any chain? But as part of the KMC range, it is a handy piece of kit to have with you when your about five miles from home and a link goes.
Well done KMC, a novel piece of kit!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Wear Tool
Chain Wear Tool
Easy to use chain wear checker.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Must have tool
Posted05 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"If your considering one of these? DON'T! just get it! it's a must have tool as part of your tool kit. I'm a novice, and I tried it out and could not believe how much my chain had worn. When I put this unto the chain it dropped staight in and I could move it over and back at least another 1-2mm. I changed the chain straight away. It's a fantastic little tool but a bit expensive for what it is, that is why the four stars for value.
Well done Wiggle for top class service as ever.
"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Chain Wear Tool
4.7 out of 5(251)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Bulls-Eye pin: The unique KMC bulls-eye pin riveting provides unsurpassed side plate retention. X-SP treatment: KMC's extreme stretchproof treatment of pins and plates makes this chain less susceptible to wear caused by sand or other exterior material invading into the chain bearings. Drasticall...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Replacement chain
Posted15 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I'm a novice, and this is the first time I've had to replace a chain.
What a doddle, this missing link setup makes this so easy to do.
Went out for a ride today, the difference it made in gear shifting was amasing! The reason for 4 stars in performance is I don't know how long it will last? The KMC Z chain that came with my bike done 1200 miles. I do not know if this is about right? I'm hoping that I get some more miles out of this one. I have put another one on my wish list.........
Buy one and give it a try, you'll be amased at the difference in performance.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit, easy to assemble, gear change performance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
TL-LD610 LED White Lens Rear Light
A must-have for urban night riding. The new TL-LD610 is slimmer and brighter than its predecessor, with five LEDs and three modes that maximize your visibility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Replacement light
Posted14 April 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Needed a good rear light that could be seen from a good distance. Some areas I have to pass through commuting to and from work have little or no street lighting. Have had to use it only a couple of times in early March, do not know if it has made any difference to what distance it can be seen, but when I compared it to my old lights in a darkened garage it most certainly outdone them for intencity of the beams (so much so that I had to look away) I love the Cylon mode.
The bracket worries me a little as I have to cover some very rough terrain and I keep checking to see if the light has come off (would not hear it hit the floor as it is so light), so far so good but I will let you know if I do lose it (won't be happy-pricy piece of kit) Will review again mid winter.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL020 Hybrid Solar Front Light
HL-EL020 Hybrid Solar Front Light
Sustain your ride with CatEye's Hybrid renewable energy design. Conscious design and innovative technology generate this unique dual-battery design.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Back up light
Posted14 April 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Needed a secondary back up light for my bike. on a couple of occasions my batteries have run out on the way home. Saw this on Wiggles site and thought that solar powered would save me having to keep replacing standard batteries that lose power whether used or not. I've only used it twice in early March and seems adequate for the job. I would not recommend it for out of town night riding as it does not have enough candle watt power to light up the road ahead. Will update this review mid winter."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
CG-2 Chain Gang Chain Cleaner Set
A dirty drivetrain causes poor shifting and unnecessary wear to expensive parts. The ChainGang contains everything needed to quickly and easily clean the chain, freewheel cogs, and chainrings. The ChainGang includes a CM-5 Cyclone: Chain Scrubber, a GSC-1 GearClean Brush, and an 8 oz. (237 ml) bottl...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
CG-2 - Brilliant tool
Posted27 March 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Murphy1
fromCoventry
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Commuter
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Heard all the tails about the nightmare of having to clean your chain with a toothbrush! I was dreading having to do this and kept putting it off. I checked out Wiggle's website and come across the CG-2. I read all the reveiws (pro's and con's included) and decided to take a chance with this piece of kit (it arrived within 30 hours - greath service) No nightmares for me, after 10 mins (this included mastering the tool) yesterday afternoon I had a sparkling new chain. My advice, throw away the tooth brush and buy this kit. It will be money well spent.
One bit of advice if anyone is interested that is? Take the tool apart and put it in a bucket of luke warm soapy (a little washing up liquid) water and leave it to soak while you finish cleaning the rest of your bike. Just rince it under the tap when your ready and wipe dry. Job done! happy day's.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
 
Murphy1's Questions
 
The original archetypal high quality touring tyre has now been completely revised. Designed to fit MTB machines if riding in and around town etc. Options included all 26" (MTB) sizes and also childrens bike tyre options (16", 20", and 24").
 

what size inner tube (presta valve) should I buy with schwalbe marathon greenguard 1.25 rigit MTB city tyre? Will these fit standard MTB 26" rims?

 
Products related to my question
 
3 years ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
Deore XT rear derailleur delivers reliable and precise shifting with a stiff and lightweight open design.
 

I'm upgrading my cassette to a HG40 11-34 8 speed, my front chain set is 28-38-48. Which XT M771 should I use, long or medium?

I am also changing my front derailleur to XT M771.
I will be making these changes as soon as the rear XT M771 is back in stock in late September.

Thanking you in advance for your assistance.

Best regards
John M.
 
Products related to my question
 
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
Deore XT rear derailleur delivers reliable and precise shifting with a stiff and lightweight open design.
 

Which should I use on my 8 speed, long or medium?

Have converted my ALX MTB to a hybrid
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 

Will this be OK for my 3 x 8 speed? Large chain ring 48T

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
 M442 Mega9 Tapered Chainset
M442 Mega9 Tapered Chainset
Tough JIS square tapered off-road chainset, compatible with 8 or 9-speed drivetrains, at an extremely competitive price.
 

could I use this as a replacement for my triple chain ring (damaged) on my 7 speed

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
 HG40 8 Speed Cassette (11-34)
HG40 8 Speed Cassette (11-34)
Hyperglide sprockets have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load
 

Can I use the HG40-11-34 to replace HG30-11-32 on my ALX 2010? I upgraded the front chainrings to 28-38-48.

Changing chainrings improved speed on the flat but still struggling with hills (some nasty ones on my way to work) Will the HG40 help, or can you suggest something better?
I'm new at this, only started cycling late last year at the ripe old age of 53 and loving it.

Thank you and best regards
John
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 

Is the hose connector on the Topeak Smarthead1/4 inch BSP?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Murphy1
Coventry
 
Murphy1's Answers
 
Murphy1 has not submitted any answers.