Trist
Share Trist's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Trist's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    20 April 2010
  • Last Review
    16 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    07 December 2010
  • Last Question
    31 December 2010
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    20 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    11 January 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Trist's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
 Zefal Lock NRoll QR Antitheft Seatpost Skewer Set
Zefal Lock NRoll QR Antitheft Seatpost Skewer Set
Award winning innovative new protection for your bike! The Lock N'Roll security skewer system from Zéfal is as astoundingly simple as a strong deterrent and security proposition.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Good concept, if it worked.
Posted16 October 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"Was too tight for my 28.6 mm seat post and ended up having to remove the rubber washer to make it fit, but then it didn't open and close smoothly. After a couple of days the locking mechanism no longer worked. After a couple of weeks someone stole the clamp and skewer."
Cons: Low Quality, Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Alfine chainset is a light weight sleek 2-piece design using the proven external bottom bracket system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good upsize from 39T.
Posted16 October 2013
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"Upgraded from the 39T to this and it gives that extra bit of power that has extended the gear range nicely on my Charge Mixer."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Power Studs XS Bar Ends
Short, alloy stubby bar ends especially popular with city riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I love these bar ends.
Posted16 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"Short, stubby bar ends - perfect length fits the hands well."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The spoon saddle is the perch of choice for all XC, Enduro or Road riders.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Love it.
Posted16 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"My original Spoon saddle was stolen. Bugger!
Spent a long time searching for a new saddle so I was happy when I found this on Wiggle for such a good price. Much better value than the other saddles I was looking at, but it is still comfortable and good quality (although I think they've changed the material since the original).
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The seat post clamp is designed for aluminium seat posts. Made from 6061 TT aluminium.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Rubbish
Posted16 October 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"First time tightening it up the bolt pulled the thread out of the clamp."
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Double-looped cable for use with all Kryptonite U-locks, disc locks and padlocks. Braided steel cable has greater core density than twisted cable, increasing cut resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value security
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"In combination with a D lock, with this threaded through front and rear wheels I think it would be a major effort to try and steal anything secured by this cable. Just be aware that it is much thicker than the 10mm diameter of the steel cable due to the plastic outer coating."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Brute LS 26cm Bike D Lock
Brute LS 26cm Bike D Lock
One of the tougest locks from Onguard This one'll take up to ten tons!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid lock, great value
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"Yes this lock is a brute, but thick and heavy = strong. Only professionals would have a chance of cracking this lock. Carry it with you on your ride and improve your fitness!
Excellent value compared to competitors, I did my research and believe that this lock provides the best bang for your buck.
"
Pros: Great Value, Rugged, High Quality
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar R1 Rear Light
Lunar R1 Rear Light
The brightest 1 watt rear light on the planet just got even brighter.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Blindingly bright rear light
Posted13 January 2011
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"This is a REALLY bright light in a small package - just what you want. I recommend not shining it in your eyes to check just how bright! (But you know you will anyway).
I feel safer with this light broadcasting my presence to everyone within about 1 km of me, day or night. Highly recommended.
"
Pros: Great Value, very bright
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Padded carrying system for Ortlieb panniers with ergonomic shoulder straps and reflective stripes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Handy commuter accessory
Posted13 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"Handy for turning your pannier into a backpack.
With my laptop in the pannier the carry strap would cut into my shoulder, but with the backpack attachment the weight is much better distributed and thus more comfortable for carrying heavier items.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Increased safety and visibility for night running, the Ronhill Vizion Snapband snaps easily and conveniently to your wrist, arm or ankle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Cheap, very effective hi-vis
Posted09 November 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Trist
fromSydney
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Gender : Male
"These are excellent - hi-value, hi-visibility, easy on, easy off.
I bought four to light up my arms and legs, which they do very well, making me feel much safer. Every cyclist should own some. The only problem is have to fight my toddler for them - she loves them.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: my 2yo loves playing with them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Trist's Questions
 
 Mixer 2010
Mixer 2010
Tange Prestige double butted cro-mo frameEccentric BBCharge Whisk Prestige cro-mo disc forkShimano Alfine Hollow Tech II cranksetShimano hydraulic disc brakesContinental City Contack tyres
 

Vavert Hybrid Mudguards not for disc brakes?

Hi and Happy New Year!
I recently purchased a Charge Mixer together with the Vavert Hybrid Bike Fixed Mudguards as I was told they were the best option (since I couldn't order SKS Chromoplastic from Australia). I see they have also been recommended to other Charge Mixer buyers. However, on the packaging there is a warning that the mudguards are NOT suitable for bikes with disc brakes. Is there a version for disc brakes? If not, what next? Are the mudguards able to be fitted to the Charge Mixer despite the warning?
Trist
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
 Mixer 2010
Mixer 2010
Tange Prestige double butted cro-mo frameEccentric BBCharge Whisk Prestige cro-mo disc forkShimano Alfine Hollow Tech II cranksetShimano hydraulic disc brakesContinental City Contack tyres
 

Chromoplastic mudguards - link doesn't work???

Clicked on the link you gave for SKS Chromoplastic mudguards, but the link doesn't work! Chromoplastic mudguards do not appear anywhere in the product list which is why I asked about an alternative. The only SKS Chromoplastic product listed is fitting bolts, which aren't much good without the guards. My bike, which I use to commute, was stolen so I want to order a replacement bike asap, but as I am OS I want to order everything together.
While I think of it, I had a TorTec Ultralite Rear Rack, will this also be suitable for the Charge Mixer? What about the Topeak Super Tourist Rear Rack?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
 Mixer 2010
Mixer 2010
Tange Prestige double butted cro-mo frameEccentric BBCharge Whisk Prestige cro-mo disc forkShimano Alfine Hollow Tech II cranksetShimano hydraulic disc brakesContinental City Contack tyres
 

Mudguards to suit Charge Mixer?

Hi, I see this question has been asked before, but the recommended mudguards, SKS Chromoplastic, are no longer avaiulable on Wiggle. Are you able to recommend other suitable front & rear guards?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
Trist's Answers
 
 Mixer 2010
Mixer 2010
Tange Prestige double butted cro-mo frameEccentric BBCharge Whisk Prestige cro-mo disc forkShimano Alfine Hollow Tech II cranksetShimano hydraulic disc brakesContinental City Contack tyres
 

Do these bikes come with fenders?

Do these bikes come with fenders as speced on the Charge website: http://www.chargebikes.com/products/bikes/detail.php?id=24
No, fenders or guards are not included with the Charge Mixer.
SKS Chromoplastic guards are probably the best option, but I couldn't buy them from Australia. Bought some Vavert Hybrid guards instead, but had to bend the struts a bit to make them fit around the disc brakes.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
Increased safety and visibility for night running, the Ronhill Vizion Snapband snaps easily and conveniently to your wrist, arm or ankle.
 

How many in the package?

There's only one per pack - so I bought 4 in total.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Do the 'Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers' fit standard pannier racks?

Yes, they are very adjustable so should be able to fit majority of racks.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney
 
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Which rack for Trek 7.5FX with these?

Hi, I have a white Trek 7.5FX and need panniers. However am not sure which rack would go with my bike and the panniers. Which rack can I buy to go with these panniers (bike frame is 17.5")?,
Thanks
I bought the TorTec Ultralite Rear Rack and the panniers fit perfectly. The rack is one of the cheaper ones on Wiggle, but it is light and sturdy and I haven't had any problems. It is rated to 25 kgs and I can't see myself putting more than that in the panniers - if you can't carry that much weight on a plane then you probably shouldn't be putting it on a bike.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
Trist
Sydney