Beaconintel
Share Beaconintel's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Beaconintel's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    21 April 2010
  • Last Review
    24 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    08 April 2010
  • Last Answer
    24 October 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Beaconintel's Reviews
 
The crosslift™ 335 delivers stability, support and structure in the heel and mid foot through patented EHC and Power-Truss™ technology. The Meta-Flex™ system delivers category leading flexibility and comfort in the forefoot.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
It's a weightlifting boot - sort of!
Posted24 October 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have owned a number of specialist weightlifting boots over the last 40 years, some made by the big European sporting shoe manufacturers and some by Eastern European cobblers. The latter have tended to be better suited to my needs as a lifter than the big-name brands.
Inov8 is neither a big name nor an Eastern European cobbler. They are a specialist British shoe manufacturer trying to build a reputation in minimalist shoe market. Which makes the FastLift 335 a bit of an oddity. It is definitely not a minimalist running shoe, yet it is not really a true weightlifting boot either. It is a hybrid lifting boot and crossfit shoe, but it makes sacrifices to fit into this niche.
The FastLift 335 is very light, which feels a bit odd for someone like me who is used to heavy lifting boots with wooden wedges. It is very rigid in the heel, which is exactly what a lifter of very heavy weights needs. Yet there is heaps of flexibility in the forefoot, something you don't find in conventional lifting boots. The upper is made of synthetics rather than traditional leather. The arch strap is light to the extent of feeling flimsy, yet I am loath to criticise it because I have not had the boots long enough to know whether the strap will withstand the rigours of extended use. Arch straps have traditionally been a point of early failure in weightlifting boots because of the pressures placed on them. Time will tell as to how successful the FastLift 335 is as a traditional weightlifting boot.
As a crossfit shoe, the FastLift also makes sacrifices. The complete absence of any padding in the midsole means that WODs that involve running or other forms of impact exercise are not really catered for. As WODs are activity-against-time, no crossfitter is going to want to be taking time out to change his/her shoes mid-workout. It follows that some of the other Inov8 minimalist shoes may be more effective choices. I am not sure that the FastLift would be suited to plyometrics either, as the total impact of rapid movements will be transferred to the body rather than being dissipated through a padded midsole.
So what does the future hold for the FastLift 335? I'm not sure. Inov8 should be praised for the attempt at innovation. The shoe ticks a lot of the right boxes such as fit, stability and support. It is just caught in no-man's land between two sports - weightlifting and crossfit. New olys will probably opt for one of the Chinese brands for their first weightlifting boot. Dedicated olys who have the kind of money to spend that the FastLift costs will probably go for either a big name or an Eastern European cobbler. Crossfitters will likely opt for a more conventional minimalist shoe. My tip is therefore that the FastLift 335 will not be around in two years time. So if you really want this shoe over all others, buy now to avoid disappointment.
If Inov8 really want to make a dedicated weightlifting shoe and want to charge a big name price, then I am happy to see some competition in the market and to help with suggestions."
Pros: Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, innovative
Cons: Expensive, question mark over durability in the longterm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Upper:Evolved flywire hugs the entire length of foot with customisable lightweight supportHeel clip engages upon footstrike for snug fit and supportOutsole:Natural-motion-engineered flex grooves promote an efficient strideBrs 1000 at heelEnvironmentally preferred rubber everywhere elseMidsole:Lunarl...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A very good shoe, just not quite perfect yet!
Posted15 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have worn LunarGlide 1, 2 and 3 shoes and liked them all. The Lunarglide 4 therefore had a lot to live up to - and it did. It is a very forgiving shoe with a large runner like me who carries a lifetime's worth of injuries. The shoe is very light, spongy yet springy, gives adequate support (I wouldn't recommend it to a significant over-pronator) and is well made. The Lunarlon midsole is certainly well-proved as a shock absorber with a decent life span.
My only complaint is the fit. I just ran by 15th Sydney City2Surf and am now in the process of losing several of my toenails from blood blisters forming underneath. The toe box on the LunarGlide 4 just seems to be a little more pointed and a little shallower and this meant 14.4km of continual pounding that I hadn't noticed on shorter runs while I was wearing the shoes in.
Thankfully, most of my running is over shorter 6-7km courses, so I do not expect to have this problem recur. I just wish the toe box was a little more squared off and deeper as I have a wide foot that needs room to spread out and I don't want to go up in size because that causes other problems.
I am a big fan If Nike shoes, since the days of the Waffle Trainer and the first Tailwinds (I'm 58 years old), but I do wish that Nike would consider all its customers who do not have a standard width foot. If New Balance and ASICS can do it, why can't Nike?
My last minor niggle is the colourway. Come on Nike, black is last year's 'black'. How about some more exciting colours that are easier to spot in poor light when I am out training after work?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, market-leading cushioning
Cons: Unattractive, Poor Fit, Limited Color Choices
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
 
 Gel Kinsei 4 Shoes SS12
Gel Kinsei 4 Shoes SS12
Impact Guidance System (I.G.S.) - ASICS design philosophy in which the individual components of the shoe work together resulting in a more comfortable step and an improved gaitFull Length Guidance Line - Vertical flex groove runs from heel to toe which encourages a more efficient running styleRearfo...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good but not great
Posted16 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I purchased the Kinsei 4 because it was advertised as Asics' most cushioned shoe - the top of the line. My previous experience of Asic cushioned shoes was the Nimbus 12, which I liked very much. If a shoe was better than the Nimbus, I believed it must be a great shoe.
Well, I was wrong. The Kinsei 4 is not remarkably better that the Nimbus. Indeed, I don't think it is quite as good as the Nimbus. It is not as cushioned, especially in the heel. This is something I found surprising, given the amount of Gel on show. In the forefoot, they are about the same. The only thing that the Kinsei 4 has over the Nimbus 12 is its bright orange 'Neon' colourway. It is about time that Asics realised that there are lots of us out there who want brightly coloured shoes so that we are more noticeable to traffic and hence a little safer.
So is the Kinsei 4 rubbish? No, it is a good shoe, just not a great shoe. The ultimate test for me is - if my Kinsei 4s were stolen, would I buy another pair? Answer - No, I would buy a pair of Nimbus 13s and put the substantial savings I would pocket into buying a couple of new pairs of Thorlo socks. Sorry Asics, if you reduced the price, you might have got a better rating in the value department."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit, highly visible
Cons: Expensive, no as cushioned as advertising claims
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 MR1080BW Shoes AW11
MR1080BW Shoes AW11
Premium neutral cushioned shoe.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Recommended with reservations
Posted09 March 2011
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The NB 1080 is a high quality, well made shoe that may well meet your needs for a stable, cushioned shoe. The 1080 just doesn't completely meet mine. I am a heavy weight runner with a neutral gait. In the past, I have mainly run in Nike shoes - usually Shox and air shoes.
I tried the 1080s because my wife recommended NB shoes for their range of widths. The 1080s fit my wide feet really well and are very comfortable. My only disappointment is in the level of cushioning. I prefer my running shoes to give me a spring in my step. The 1080s just don't do it for me.
But don't let my situation put you off as I am a big guy and I place unique demands on my shoes. If you fit more into the mainstream, size wise, they just might work for you."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices, not as well cushioned as it could be
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Plus SportBand 2 AW10
Plus SportBand 2 AW10
The new, positive display enhance readability and durability.Enhanced water resistance allows you to run in the rain and rinse off without worry.( Like all watches, NIKE+ Sportband should be kept out of the hot tub, steam room and sauna!)Tracks distance, pace, time, and calories burned. Connect with...
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
It looks good, but does it really work?
Posted18 February 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I may well be doing Nike a disservice, but I had high expectations of the Sportband that have yet to be met. I am not a luddite, but I have found some difficulty in getting the Sportband to actually work the way it says in the advertising and the instructions. Unlike mlost digital watches and heart monitors, it is not easy to pick up or obvious in what needs to be done. Perhaps if Nike spent a bit more space in the instructions to provide a bit more detail rather than using the space to print the limited instructions in five more languages, I might be in a better position to say glowing things. At the moment, I simply cannot recommend the Sportband to anyone as I cannot get the maximum benefit from it myself.
The other things is that it is actually somewhat uncomfortable to wear on the wrist. While this is often a personal thing, make sure you try one on before investing as you may be disappointed by the stiffness of the band."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit, Limited Color Choices, poor instructions, uncomfortable wrist band, limited info on lcd
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sport Respiratory Trainer
Sport Respiratory Trainer
Especially good for runners, swimmers as well sports such as free divers where breath control is also essential.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
It won't take your breath away
Posted18 February 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The Powerlung is an excellent investment in enhancing your breathing efficiency. My son, who is a triathlete, first put me on to this concept. I thought that after 56 years of breathing, I had a pretty good idea of how to do it. It seems that I could have been doing it better over the years and did not know it.
Powerlung does not take much of your time - about 5 minutes twice a day. But that 5 minutes has already shown improvements in my efficiency and therefore my level of perceived fitness. You need to choose carefully, however, as there are a number of models and each is preset to deal with different users. While I am using the 'Sport' model, I am only using it on setting 2 because otherwise it would be too difficult. I may have been better to select the 'Training' model, but the extra difficulty is an incentive to continue to use it and improve. If you are not sure where you should start, then visit the Powerlung website or email them for advice.
The Powerlung reminds me a bit of a SCUBA regulator with its mouthpiece and valves. It is extremely durable and well made, and it looks like it will still be breathing long after I am gone:). Do yourself a favour and at least explore the possible benefits. Who knows, like me you might find that there is actually a more efficient way to breathe."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: make sure you select the model that is right for u
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar Eclipse Plus Shoes SS11.
Lunar Eclipse Plus Shoes SS11.
UPPER: Seamless upper with partial bootie construction. Dynamic flywire saddle for great midfoot lockdown; perfed neoprene collar foam for custom heel fit. , MIDSOLE: Lunarlite system with “bottomless” carrier construction for cushioning. Premium 3-layer sockliner for great step-in feel and added su...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
More motion control and less bounce
Posted17 February 2011
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The Nike Eclipse might be described as the motion control sibling of the Nike Lunar Glide 2. The Eclipse has less bounce that the LG2, but the Eclipse's midsole has a progressive varus wedge that means that your foot encounters a denser foam as it starts to pronate inwards after initial foot strike with the ground. This added density tends to inhibit excessive pronation, hence the motion control description.
This should not me interpreted as meaning that the LG 2 has no stability, but rather that if you pronate more than normal and you 'must have' a lunar foam midsole, then opt for the Eclipse as it should afford you more protection.
I have expressed qualified concern about the durability because the midsole of the Eclipse makes direct contact with the pavement in the forfoot. This seems to be Nike's way of saving weight by leaving off a heavy-duty outsole up front. It concerns me that the midsole material is not designed to deal with this level of abasion, especially if you are a forfoot striker or a heavy athlete like me. Because of this, it would be wise to look the shoe over carefully at a retail outlet before you decide to buy. Just don't get too carried away and forget to visit Wiggle where you will get the best price and great service."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: not sure about the durability
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Gel Nimbus 12 Shoes SS11
Gel Nimbus 12 Shoes SS11
The latest model of this flagship cushioning shoe provides excellent comfort and stability for both neutral and under-pronators. The GEL-NIMBUS 12 features a new Guidance Line which encourages the foot to follow the most efficient line of progression. The shoes Asymmetrical Lacing Design and Persona...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great all-round shoe for a big fella
Posted21 January 2011
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I was a bit hesitant to give ASICS a try as they have a reputation as being a shoe for people who over-pronate and therefore need stability . I am not an over-pronator and have previously found such stability shoes too rigid for comfort. The ASICS Nimbus 12 is something else. It might look like a stability shoe, but it is designed to provide just the right amount of blissful cushioning that I need to get me through my longer runs. I am a 'big fella' (115kg) and that extra EVA and Gel is really welcome.
I was also concerned that the last might be too curved as, in years gone by, ASICS shoes were very minimalist in construction and made for fore-foot strikers. The fit was just right for my basically straight foot and the ASICS lacing system actually provided excellent support without any binding over the arch. The other real plus was the mesh that ASICS uses, which really helps air to flow through the toe box keeping my feet cool during those hot Australian summer runs.
My only gripe is the lack of colour choice. While not unattractive, the Nimbus 12 looks, well, boring! Sorry ASICS. But you could earn a perfect score by giving us a choice of dayglow colours to brighten up things. I could just see myself wearing the new 'Nimbus 13' in cobalt blue mesh with dayglow red trim, EVA and Gel. What do you say, ASICS? It's time to make a statement!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile, Good Fit, well-cushioned, lacing system, mesh promotes air circulation
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunarglide Plus 2 Shoes
Lunarglide Plus 2 Shoes
UPPER: Flywire saddle provides lightweight lockdown; seamless construction with partial bootie construction for comfort and fit; external heel counter., MIDSOLE: Wedged carrier construction runner-specific support. Dynamic support. , OUTSOLE: Original Nike waffle pattern. , PROFILE: Tried & tested qd-15 last combined with soft, no-sew materials for great fit and feel. Nike flywire midfoot for fit and weight reduction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great shoe for the neutral runner
Posted22 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am a heavyweight runner (115kg) and so was doubtful that such a light show could handle my running. Boy was I wrong. The Lunarglide is very deceptive. It has a nice deep and wide toebox, great ventilation and the midsole has the cushioning to help my poor old knees go the distance - all in a lightweight shoe that feels more like a racing flat. Nice one Nike!
I wore a pair for 14.4km in my 13th Sydney City2Surf this year and actually got through feeling better than previous years and with no blisters or knee pain. To me, that is the supreme test of a shoe as a third of a marathon is as far as I am ever going to run!
I am not a person who has motion control problems so the medial reinforcement was not put under any real strain. Having said that, I am not so sure that it would be able to handle a heavy pronator all that well. Therefore, if you are in need of s stable shoe, you might need to look elsewhere until Nike comes up with a Lunar shoe for you (why not call it the "LunarGravity"?).
The Lunarglide really is an innovative shoe that significantly exceeded my expectations. If Nike wishes them to be more widely adopted, the next step would be a medial post to appeal to all those runners in need of more stability."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: gaps in sole allow debris to collect in midsole
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Mobile Phone/Gel Carrier
Mobile Phone/Gel Carrier
Soft, supple neoprene construction, 2 elasticated loops to carry gels, Anti-bounce zip with zip garage, Separate pocket for key/coins, Towelling back for additional comfort, Rubber headphone outlet for MP3 or phone wire, Reflective trim to enhance night-time visibility, Identity/medical tag, One Siz...
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
My arms are too big!
Posted21 April 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Beaconintel
fromCanberra
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The quality of the Hilly phone carrier is everything I expected - except that it is clearly made for people with far thinner arms than mine. I admit to lifting more than my share of weight over the years, but I never regarded myself as having big upper arms - certainly not 'Arnie-arms'!
But my arms are way too large for this carrier. It was a huge disappointment as it fits my HTC phone very comfortably and would have been great otherwise. Yes, I would recommend it to a friend. Indeed I went further and actually gave it to a friend - well I gave it to my wife so you know what I mean. Thankfully, she has somewhat thinner arms than mine."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile, fits the phone comfortably
Cons: Poor Fit, check you arm size before you order
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Beaconintel's Questions
 
Beaconintel has not submitted any questions.
 
Beaconintel's Answers
 
The original functional fitness shoe of choice, the 230 offers a stable base for lifting while offering a lightweight, fast feel for sprint workouts, particularly for those new to minimalist running.
 

Is this shoe good for Crossfit?

I'm looking for some Crossfit shoes, and I find Inov8s shoes proper. And I'm looking at this and the F-Lite 195
See my review posted today for comments about crossfit. You might be better served going for one of the other Inov8 minimlist shoes, especially if your WODs involve running or plyometrics.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Beaconintel
Canberra
 
The crosslift™ 335 delivers stability, support and structure in the heel and mid foot through patented EHC and Power-Truss™ technology. The Meta-Flex™ system delivers category leading flexibility and comfort in the forefoot.
 

Does this come in womens size as well?

If you are seeking the woman's version, then you need to look at the Fastlift 315. They are named for the weight in grams of the shoe.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Beaconintel
Canberra
 
 Lunarglide Plus 2 Shoes
Lunarglide Plus 2 Shoes
UPPER: Flywire saddle provides lightweight lockdown; seamless construction with partial bootie construction for comfort and fit; external heel counter., MIDSOLE: Wedged carrier construction runner-specific support. Dynamic support. , OUTSOLE: Original Nike waffle pattern. , PROFILE: Tried & tested qd-15 last combined with soft, no-sew materials for great fit and feel. Nike flywire midfoot for fit and weight reduction.
 

I want to know if this Lunarglide 2´s footprint is neutral or pronator. The model is: Lunarglide Plus 2 OI10. Thanks

The LunarGlide 2 really is a shoe for someone with a neutral foot or, at worst a very mild pronation. If you pronate more, then you should possibly look at the new Nike Eclipse, as it still provides the lunar foam comfort but has a wedge of more dense EVA on the medial side. I hope that helps.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Beaconintel
Canberra
 
 Thermal Compression Tights SS11
Thermal Compression Tights SS11
Using the same building blocks as our other high performance tights, 2XU Thermal Compression Tights combine high performance with a softer and warmer feel. Developed for greater regulation of your core body temperature to enhance comfort and warmth during the colder months, this tight also promises ...
 

The Difference

I wonder what the differences are between the 2XU Mens Elite Compression Tights and the 2XU Compression Tights? I can't really find them.

Thx in advance.
From personal experience, the Elite tights are slightly sturdier, if that makes sense. I believe that are supposed to give you more support. But when you are running it is almost impossible to tell the difference from the way they feel.

I think this is because we are all different shapes, but the tights are made to a standard cut so what may feel loose on me may feel tight on you or vice versa. My advice would be not to buy either unless you have had the opportunity to actually try them on.
4 years ago
by
Beaconintel
Canberra