BaldOwlGazzer1
Share BaldOwlGazzer1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BaldOwlGazzer1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    28 January 2012
  • Last Review
    16 May 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    10 February 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 January 2012
  • Last Answer
    09 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
BaldOwlGazzer1's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Handmade cycling shoes crammed with performance features for anatomically comfortable fit, the Bont Vaypor Cycle Road Shoe are a no compromise pair of shoes that will deliver incredible power transition for any road ride.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great shoes but lots of guidance i feel
Posted16 May 2015
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Out of the box these shoes are very striking, in appearance and quality.
I have the patent black version and strangely they look cheap but are far from it, I paid the offer price of £123 but they are well worth the full RRP.
The fit out of the shoe bag in which they came is very uncomfortable and feel like they will never suit, so much so I was close to sending them back because of the inability of a refund if heat moulded. I had a standard fit with my feet measuring 284 long and 110 wide, size 45. I decided to take the risk and heat them and boy am I glad, they're like slippers now. I heated them at 70 initially as instructed but this wasn't hot enough so back in at 90 for 20 mins which did the trick.
The Velcro strap is the only let down as it is of little use being diagonal but the ratchet tongue is very comfortable which gives a good fit the carbon sole is excellent very stiff which delivers power both pushing and pulling with no twist whatsoever. The very intricate grid markings for cleat positioning is also excellent as is the heel and toe protectors. The cushioning around the heel on the inside is poor however not being thick enough or high enough which did cause initial soreness around one heel."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: not enough padding around the heel
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
A 45mm wide version of the Swan, the Swan road features the same unique fitting system, but is designed to blend better aesthetically with the narrower tyres on road bikes and sports hybrids.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
keeps yoy clean at low cost
Posted17 March 2015
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well made, easy fitting item with some reflective features on the locking nut."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great functional item
Posted17 March 2015
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a great, well made, cheap functional item for packing and travel purposes as well as cleaning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile neck warmer with a Thermoflex fleece fabric construction for protection against the cold. The Head Thing can be worn in a variety of ways, depending on the coverage you desire during your cold weather rides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic piece of essential winter wear.
Posted29 January 2015
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have had several , (alleged) neck warmers but none as good or versatile as this one. its huge with a fleece lining and also serves as a hat or bandana. I have used it below freezing and it really is warm and comfortable."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Lezyne Zecto Drive Auto is a compact safety light it delivers a highly visible 20 lumen in Daytime Flash Mode. It's Auto Flash system triggers automatic shutoff of light after 3 minutes of inactivity and turns it back on when in motion again.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great little light
Posted09 December 2014
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I am a fan of Lezyne lights as I already use an XL front, this rear light has little to be disappointed about. Compact, lightweight, very bright and takes up very little use fitting on the seat post. There are lots of different lighting modes to choose from to keep you happy also.
If I had any complaints it would be that the model I have whether through error or user error does not auto switch off. My first use I came out of the coffee shop only to find it still flashing away with very little battery life left and 25 miles to go!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable, auto doesn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Khamsin Asymmetric G3 represents the entry level wheelset, that is ideal for training or sportive events, from Campagnolo. With advanced technology such as Mega G3 & Dynamic Balance, it is clear that this wheelset is a step above the rest.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good wheel for the price
Posted08 July 2014
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These wheels exceeded my expectations, I bought them for my winter/commuting bike and didn't expect a great deal so I was surprised by their quality. They are strong, well built with good skewers and aesthetically pleasing. The hubs are of a high standard in running terms smooth, quiet with a long run off, with which I was surprised and they are built to withstand some abuse. The only signs of them being a budget wheel on my set was the finish at the weld point on the rim which was a little rough other than that I would well recommend them."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Sometimes it is a battle of survival when weather conditions are at their very worst. The Survival GoreTex Winter Jacket is built for riders who won't give up even in the face of the most atrocious conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Jacket
Posted23 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Well guys this jacket is superb and exactly as described.
The fit for me is superb and as we all know everyone's shape and size vary as do the products that we wear. This jacket is close fitting on me but not skin tight, my old jacket which I've been wearing is an Altura night vision but this is 2 sizes bigger than the Sportful and they are both XL. Once I have a jersey on under this it will be a perfect fit, if it helps I am quite broad shouldered as well. I think the price is a little steep but I like Assos kit as well and this is up there with Assos and the same sizing."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
NEW Compact performance light, very powerful unit with "infinite light" feature: Ideal for serious MTB and Road cycling.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great light
Posted18 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Brilliant light to see with, excellent options in the light cycle and at it's brightest it's very bright. Only gripe is the recharging times and limited battery at full power, however you do get an amber then red light on the top, the red light lasts approx. ten minutes before black out. The mounting is impressive, when locked tight it still has small increment notches side to side to cast the light exactly where you want it without having to undo the complete mounting to find the optimum position."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
summerSocks Mille, a lightweight mesh sock with antibacterial properties, is the result of the latest research undertaken by ASSOS, to combine the best possible comfort and performance, with an original racing style.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Assos summer socks
Posted08 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can I say? other than you pay good money you get the best!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best shorts ever purchased
Posted16 February 2012
BaldOwlGazzer1
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Where do you start? amazing quality, fit, materials and like all top products it's the little things that make them perfect like the presentation box they come in with the wash net, detergent and chamois cream.
This was my first Assos purchase as I like Castelli but I have been converted I will make more Assos purchases in the future."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, great presentation
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
BaldOwlGazzer1's Questions
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

I am 100kg and 5"8, what size?

3 years, 6 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
BaldOwlGazzer1's Answers
 
The Khamsin Asymmetric G3 represents the entry level wheelset, that is ideal for training or sportive events, from Campagnolo. With advanced technology such as Mega G3 & Dynamic Balance, it is clear that this wheelset is a step above the rest.
 

Spokes

Are the spokes round or flat?
Round
8 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
The Khamsin Asymmetric G3 represents the entry level wheelset, that is ideal for training or sportive events, from Campagnolo. With advanced technology such as Mega G3 & Dynamic Balance, it is clear that this wheelset is a step above the rest.
 

how loud is the rear hub when coasting?

is it a silent or loud type freewheel?

and what are the hubs? many thanks!
Silent
8 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
The Khamsin Asymmetric G3 represents the entry level wheelset, that is ideal for training or sportive events, from Campagnolo. With advanced technology such as Mega G3 & Dynamic Balance, it is clear that this wheelset is a step above the rest.
 

Compatable with 10 speed Veloce cassestte?

Received new set of Khamsin wheels to replace an old set of Khamsin wheels but my existing campagnolo veloce 10 speed cassette does not fit on the free hub? Do I need to buy a different cassette to fit the new wheels?
I fitted an old 10 speed mirage cassette to mine as I use them for winter and I had no problems?
8 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
Sometimes it is a battle of survival when weather conditions are at their very worst. The Survival GoreTex Winter Jacket is built for riders who won't give up even in the face of the most atrocious conditions.
 

Size

I have just returned a castrelli alpha jacket XXXL,it fits every my shape except for the length,I'm 6ft 4
I've already sent back 2 jerseys for this reason already
Would the XXl fit?if not can anyone recommend a quality waterproof jacket that will fit me....hopefully before summer
This is the best jacket I have ever seen/owned, the rear mud flap is press stud adjustable so as to hide inside when not required. I would say I am an average torso length and this fits me perfect at 5'9" 42" chest in an XL. This jacket truly is outstanding
8 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Can you use a 700c wheel with this trainer?

Yes
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
 Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
NEW Compact performance light, very powerful unit with "infinite light" feature: Ideal for serious MTB and Road cycling.
 

Does the Super Drive XL come with a helmet mount as standard?

No you have to buy the complete package
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
 Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light 2012
NEW Compact performance light, very powerful unit with "infinite light" feature: Ideal for serious MTB and Road cycling.
 

Does it come with a spare battery ??

Not this one
1 year, 10 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Setting resistance

Hi
I seem to be having problem setting the resistance on the trainer correctly. I'm using continental ultra gatorskin tyres 700x23c 100psi (as it was worse with 120psi)

I know something isn't right as when I stop pedalling wheel stops instantly absolutely no flywheel movement. The resistance is set to 10 via the cable which I assume is the lowest setting?

I've tried turning the knob on the underside but it doesn't allow enough adjustment.

I assume I didn't need to use the enclosed adapter's with a 700c wheel
I've had no problem running at 120, the easiest setting is 1 as normal gearing but I did find the assembly instructions very poor and had to work parts of it out myself check the flywheel is correctly positioned.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1
 
The Zaffiro Pro Home Trainer tyre features a special compound and tread pattern for better heat dispersion and noise reduction whilst on the turbo or rollers. A must for the year round rider when outdoor conditions are unfavourable.
 

Will these tyres fit on clincher wheels?

I have mine on a Fulcrum racing Zero
3 years, 7 months ago
by
BaldOwlGazzer1