bikemate
Share bikemate's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
bikemate's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    24
  • First Review
    01 July 2011
  • Last Review
    02 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    2.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    02 July 2011
  • Last Answer
    09 April 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
bikemate's Reviews
 
 Power Thermo Bib Tights - 2012
Power Thermo Bib Tights - 2012
Insulating bib tights for warmth and comfort on cold winter rides with refined Gore styling and performance Thermoregulation fabrics. Featuring the power men's seatpad for cushioning and comfort over long distances.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Pointless
Posted02 December 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Well they look good and the pad is fairly comfortable, but that's about it for the good points.
So much is pointless with these bib tights.
Only the knees and shins are insulated. The rest is made from thin Roubaix fabric, not Super Roubaix. Only my knees were warm at +6C.
The zip is so short as to be useless.
95% of the time the reflectors on the ankles will be covered by overshoes, they should be higher up the leg.
Flatlock stitching here is mainly decorative yet the knee insulation is not flatlock and irritates around the back and side of the knee.
The fabric started showing wear under the pad from just 70km on the saddle.
I have a great Gore jacket and was expecting good things and was so dissappointed. You can do much better than this for half the money. I sent mine back. Look elsewhere.
"
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile Computer.
Posted09 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Probably one of the best bike computers around at the moment, but it could be better.
First the good things.
Initial setup is down to just fitting the bike mount and speed/cad sensor. The mount is easy. I had more difficulty wiht the sensor o a Di2 bike because it fitted right over the battery. No alternative for either. You don't have to pair the ANT+ sensors, or even fit the batteries, thats all done for you.
Battery life is good and recharging is done while you are connected to the PC.
Three customizable screens are great.
GPS accuracy and startup are very good.
The premium quality HR sensor is very comfortable and washable too. I have had the odd glitch in the HR graphs, but works better than any other HR I have used.
The functionality of the Edge 500 is not in question, you can do pretty much everything with it.
There are some negatives.
Its expensive. Wait until they have10% off if you can.
You can't turn it on to see your data etc when its charging/connected to PC.
The display is small, but not used efficiently in some cases. The data and units are sqashed close together when some of the display is empty. It sounds fussy but readability under real world conditions is important.
The thermometer is pretty hopeless, and I'm not talking about when its in the sun. Turn it on and its correct. After a few miutes its up 3 degs at least.
The altimeter is a bit flaky. I'm riding up a 5% grade and it says -2% sometimes.
The software is a bit crude in some areas. The PC software has less functionality than Garmin Connect. (eg. No temperature data on the PC software and bike odometer is only on the PC) Don't try and make a course with either. The maps on the PC software only have trunk roads and you will quickly lose the will to live making a course on Garmin Connect. At least the software is free and you can keep data in two places and share with others.
You cannot find out how much memory is free. There is plenty of it, but you can't tell what you've used.
Overall the Edge 500 is a top product which I hope they will improve with firmware updates over the coming year."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Countdown SO WINDSTOPPER Wind Jacket AW10
Countdown SO WINDSTOPPER Wind Jacket AW10
A windproof soft shell jacket with a insulating thermal lining in a relaxed cycle-specific suitable for a range of cool weather riding conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Best jacket I could find.
Posted17 November 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Spent a long while trying to find a decent windproof jacket. This is the best, by far.
Fit is pretty good. I'm 6'1", 95kg and 44" chest. Large gives the best fit for me. Pulls under the armpits a little at first but sleeves are ideal length. Special extending cuffs that can go under/over your gloves are a great feature. Zips on all the pockets too.
The material is good quality with a bit of insulation too.
Only tried it down to +8C so far but dont expect any problems at lower temps.
Downsides
It could be a bit longer at the back (I don't expect my jacket to be shorter than my jerseys) and a gripper on the hem would be nice and make it a 5 star jacket.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Turbulence Windproof Cycling Jacket AW12
dhb Turbulence Windproof Cycling Jacket AW12
Slim line windproof shell for real riding. dhb’s lightweight jacket, offering fantastic wind protection and packed feature set to put it at the top of your wish list.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Pricey Anorak
Posted17 November 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Not a nice jacket.
Looks much better in the photo.
I guess you don't expect the best jacket at this price, but what you get is a nylon anorak with two vents in the back. Tight across the shoulders, absolutely no stretch or give. Reminded me of the awful things I wore back in the '80s that were like a plastic bag.
I sent it straight back and bought a proper Gore soft shell jacket.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, Poor Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 SL XC Saddle with Mangenese Rail
SL XC Saddle with Mangenese Rail
Glossy finish adds style with little maintenance.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Don't Bother
Posted17 October 2011
User submitted photo
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've had two of these, and both had the same problem. Both got returned, and refunded.
The top covering creases and bubbles up when used. The padding does not properly cover the base of which you can feel the hard edge.
Poorly made, look elsewhere.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
 
 Ortlieb Classic Large Saddle Bag
Ortlieb Classic Large Saddle Bag
The largest of ORTLIEB's classic seat bags is a true alternative to carrying a backpack, providing room for equipment, snacks, extra shells and tools for longer day rides.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Awkward
Posted18 August 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Really not very happy with this saddle bag.
It's called large but it's pretty small when closed up. It won't take an OS map and it will barely take my food and tools for a day ride. No room for a jacket etc.
The closure is clumsy and insecure. I have to tie up the rolled up end to make sure nothing jumps out.
The seat post clamp is very poor. There is a hard plastic bracket that is strapped to the seat post. This will wear off any graphics on your seat post and maybe damage the carbon weave. I used a small piece of old inner tube to prevent this. The buckle sticks out and started wearing thru the left inner thigh of my new bib shorts. At the same time the free end of the strap took care of my right bib short leg.
Also annoying was feeling my legs hitting the bag while pedalling. Had to make up a spacer to push the bag back about 50mm to give my legs room.
Far too much messing around so cannot recommend this product.
"
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good Enough
Posted18 August 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Well it's not the best of tools, but it is good enough to get an occasional fiddly job done quickly without having to spend >£50.
Construction is fairly robust although the main pivot has a fair amount of play, as mentioned by others. You can work around this. A slightly different design could allow this to be adjusted out without much added cost.
Finish is poor. Maybe just oil blacked. Which comes off everywhere.
The small rod is unmarked so you really need to use it as a gauge rather than for making measurements.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Scalatora Corsa 1000ml Water Bottle
Scalatora Corsa 1000ml Water Bottle
Elite's renowned Corsa cap is now available at a lower price point (same cap and valve design as the market-leading team-issue Hygene model).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NOT 1000ml
Posted26 July 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"You won't get 1000ml in this bottle. Filled to the brim it only takes 950ml. Okay so what's 50ml between friends. Well don't say it's 1000ml when it's not.
It is a nice bottle that is comfortable to drink from and it fits in Elite custom bottle cages very snugly.
Don't like the mountain graphics in grey. White and red is better,
Overall, scrub the grey and make it a litre.
"
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Sporty, super-stiff and yet comfortable. The Izalco has the perfect answer to all that racing cyclists demand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Try and beat this for value.
Posted02 July 2011
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Geometry is race-orientated, but not as much as some pro frames. All the Izalco and Cayo range have the same geometry, even the Team Katusha. The fit is good using the Focus formula. The bike comes with 6x5mm FSA spacers under the stem for those that want to go lower.
The wheelbase is shorter than most giving it responsive, but not twitchy steering. The rigidity of the frame is a godsend for fast cornering. Just think where you want it to go and it does the rest.
A massive bottom bracket section feels totally solid and the FSA SL-K Light chainset (175mm cranks on the XL) looks fantastic and feels great. My ankles are grateful of the extra clearance BB30 gives them.
The ride is really very good for such a rigid frame and capable of ironing out some of the buzz from loose chippings while never feeling crashy over bumps. Something about this bike makes you want to ride it hard, and thus fast. The miles just clock by in no time.
What does it weigh?
The XL weighs in around 7.5kg without pedals or bottle cages.
Is it really red?
No, it’s a matt deep orange. I’m not a fan of matt finishes, as they are harder to keep clean, but at least all the white is gloss and the overall effect is pretty smart.
Is it really all Dura-Ace?
Oh yes, its all 7900, even the chain and cassette. Perhaps the only exceptions are the superior FSA SL-K Light BB30 chainset and the cables, which are Jagwire.
Where have they cut corners?
Nowhere I can see. Certainly not the groupset. Not the wheels or tyres. Ksyrium SL would have looked great in red on this bike, but that’s another £200. The 3T seatpost, stem and bars are good quality alloy and lighter than most. Perhaps a carbon seatpost, say FSA SL-K to match the chainset would have been nice. I think Focus have really spent the money where it counts on this bike.
Problems
Misaligned rear mech (in both planes) straight out of the box didn’t impress me. Three weeks later and I’m still waiting for a replacement mech hanger from Wiggle. So I had to take off the mech hanger and sort it out myself or I wouldn’t get to ride it in the 30 day trial.
A long throw on chainwheel shifter means I can only really shift to big ring from the hoods. Even then it’s an effort, and I only succeed 70% of the time. This must be a Shimano issue, rather than a Focus one.
Compact curve handlebars (44cm wide on the XL) are not comfortable on the drops or hooks. The straight section is too short so your palm ends up resting off the bar end. Move your hand forward, maybe to change gear, and the tight curve traps your thumb. There’s no happy place for my hands except the tops and the hoods. They will have to go.
The Izalco Pro 1.0 is also available as a compact or with Ultegra as the Izalco Pro 3.0. Wiggle won't stock or order either and they are the only UK dealer. What a shame."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: poorly setup
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Complementary Bike Tools
Complementary Bike Tools
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Free, but could be better.
Posted01 July 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
bikemate
fromGreat Dunmow
Country : United Kingdom
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Not sure who this review is for, since I couldn’t find any of the complementary tools on the website. So who gets to see it?
Tool kit consists of a 15mm pedal spanner and a Lifeline 5 in 1 tool.
15mm spanner is of good quality, but about 0.5mm too thick to use on my Shimano R540 pedals. I could not get it onto the flats. It would have been too short to remove the pedals from my old bike in any case. I used a longer spanner and it was still difficult.
Combination tool is also of good quality. It has 4 Allen keys and a cross point screwdriver. Not much leverage, but just about enough to get you out of trouble.
I can’t help thinking 4 ball end Allen keys in a plastic wallet would weigh less, be easier to use in awkward places, and cost less too include in the kit.
"
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
bikemate's Questions
 
bikemate has not submitted any questions.
 
bikemate's Answers
 
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Can this model display GB Ordnance Survey grid references?

Best answer
Yes, but not in one of the main data fields. Your position is shown within the GPS menu.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
bikemate
Great Dunmow, UK
 
 Countdown SO WINDSTOPPER Wind Jacket AW10
Countdown SO WINDSTOPPER Wind Jacket AW10
A windproof soft shell jacket with a insulating thermal lining in a relaxed cycle-specific suitable for a range of cool weather riding conditions.
 

Does this jacket have inside fleece lining?

Is this jacket internally lined with fleece like Gore Bike Wear Countdown AS WINDSTOPPER Insulated Jacket AW10?
There is some insulation built-in, but not a fleece lining. The neck does have a fleece lining though. My guess is that below say +6C you may need a mid layer as well as a base under this jacket.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
bikemate
Great Dunmow, UK
 
 Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Sporty, super-stiff and yet comfortable. The Izalco has the perfect answer to all that racing cyclists demand.
 

What is the frame weight for the Izalco Pro 1.0 - size 58? Alternatively, what is the total bike weight in the same size?

Total bike weight, without pedals or cages about 7.5kg for the XL (58cm)
3 years, 1 month ago
by
bikemate
Great Dunmow
 
 Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011
Sporty, super-stiff and yet comfortable. The Izalco has the perfect answer to all that racing cyclists demand.
 

could you provide details of stem length, handlebar width and crank length for the XXL/60 (Focus Izalco Pro 1.0 Dura-Ace 2011) ? Thanks

I reckon you will get 44cm bars and 175mm cranks because thats what I have on an XL and they are the biggest available. Your stem will be 110mm or longer.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
bikemate
Great Dunmow