BRecumbent
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BRecumbent's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BRecumbent's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    33
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Review
    02 May 2010
  • Last Review
    14 December 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BRecumbent's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
These are a lightweight summer sock in Coolmax® mesh, ideal for cycling in hot weather. The open mesh zones give high breathability and also make the sock ideal for indoor cycling down at the gym. Low-cut profile for minimal coverage of the ankle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superbly comfortable sock
Posted14 December 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife loves these socks. She says they are the most comfortable she's worn."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Light Action pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
My preferred pedal
Posted24 October 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've tried SPD, Look and Crank pedals. Because I ride a high racer recumbent it's vital that the cleat releases smoothly every time. The Speedplays have never let me down (literally) and I get more than twelve months from the cleat.
Originally I used Zeros but found the entry pressure too high for the recumbent..
These cleats have the most adjustable fitting of all cleats. They are a bit more technical to fit and are not compatible with all shoes. With 'Keep On' covers I can walk normally and the covers prevent the cleat from sliding out on the bitumen. The covers also prevent wearing off the cleat screw heads.
The only disadvantage to these cleats is their dislike of sand and mud. If you step into wet sand or mud you will have to wash the cleat out because it won't clip in."
Pros: Adjustable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: don't like mud and sand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Light Weight Cycling Sock 14cm
dhb Light Weight Cycling Sock 14cm
Get fully kitted out with the new summer dhb unisex cycling socks. Available in 4 colours and 2 height options these lightweight COOLMAX socks are incredibly comfortable and functional.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
DHB good value
Posted24 October 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"They are soft and comfortable. They didn't fall down and you can't ask much more from a sock. I like DHB because it's an 'honest' product, giving good value."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These screw-on end caps provide a secure hold to all tapes when tightened up.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solve the problem of caps dropping out
Posted01 October 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like them. I'd like them better if they were metal, but they do the job. I've always had problems with the press in caps working their way out or not seating properly."
Pros: Attractive, Great Value, Lightweight
Cons: Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
RollerBoys (jockey Wheels) equipped with low friction ceramic bearings for ultra-smooth glide and exceptional durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Efficient replacement for standard pulleys
Posted01 October 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I fitted them. They spin freely. They haven't been noticed - that's the sign of a good product. Fit and forget. You may as well fit ceramics when you replace the standard pulleys because they don't cost a lot more and they reduce transmission drag."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit, less drag
Cons: Limited Color Choices, Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The natural elasticity of latex actually reduces rolling resistance, and the Air Comp Latex weighs just 75 grams, making it one of the lightest inner tubes available.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
You go faster and ride smoother
Posted25 September 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have converted a few local riders to latex tubes. They add a little speed and they're softer to ride on. A latex tube at 100 psi feels like butyl at 85 psi. They also puncture 'slower.' A puncture doesn't cause an instant flat, it takes a minute or so which is a lot safer.
They are light so you need to be gentle when fitting but so far they've been as durable as butyl. As fas as I'm concerned the only disadvantage is the need to pump them before every ride. They're quite 'lossy.' But I check my tyres before I go out anyway and for me the Velvety ride and extra kph makes that well worth it.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, require daily pumping
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This 105 Hollowtech II compact 10 speed chainset offers a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of lightweightness & stiffness. The chainset also allows for easier installation, adjustment, and maintenance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
reliable compact chainset
Posted05 June 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I consider this to be a good value, reliable chainset that I know will be compatible with Shimano levers and mechs."
Pros: Attractive, Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Latex inner tubes: Used in all high end tubular thanks to their low rolling resistance. Thinner and more flexible than butyl tubes. The use in open tubulars increases comfort and lowers rolling resistance. Latex is also more resistant to punctures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I like latex - and it's faster
Posted14 March 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There's no doubt in my mind that latex tubes are slightly faster. I recommended them to a friend and he said he was surprised that he noted faster times for his regular rides.
There's also no doubt that having to pump them every day feels a bit onerous - but I check my tyre pressures before every ride anyway, so they're really not any extra work.
The ride is better. I think Vittoria Open Corsa or Schwalbe One with latex are a better ride than tubulars and I've tried both.
Finally, they 'puncture slower.' You're less likely to have a catastrophic blowout - just like tubulars."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, faster
Cons: Expensive, require dailt pressure check
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye NIMA 2 Light Set
Cateye NIMA 2 Light Set
The Nima 2 has a wide light beam and four modes: Constant, Flashing, Rapid and Pulse. The heavy-duty rubber band is integrated with the light and can be attached to a handlebar, helmet, or bag.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Neat light set to keep you legal
Posted31 January 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a light set for folding bikes. because we're travelling I wanted batteries not rechargeable. These take two flat watch batteries each with an estimated life of 80 hours.
The lights are tiny with a convenient rubber strap for attaching to handlebars and seatposts. They fit unobtrusively to our Bromptons to keep us legal if we get caught after lighting up time..
They are ideal for low light and night time use. The front light won't light up the road for you, it just serves as a warning, but the rear light is plenty bright for traffic behind.
My only reservation about these lights is that they are switched on and controlled by pressing the front 'glass.' It's easy to do this accidentally, so be aware of placement when fitting."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: easy to switch on accidentally
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for race day, the Tangente Speed is optimised for aerodynamics, rolling resistance and road feel with clincher convenience. Very light, this tyre will glide over the tarmac giving you that effortless road feel you want.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fast tyre but somewhat harsh riding
Posted19 November 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to pair with Zipp 404 wheels. It was very tight to mount and although fast, transmits road vibration more than the tyre it replaced which is a Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 28mm. To me the surprising thing is that the much wider Schwalbe is just as fast on roll down and I haven't seen any speed gains using the Tangente. So I'm a little disappointed and will fit these to my wifes bike ;) *
* Not as cruel as it sounds. I ride a recumbent with a very low angle seat ( 20 degrees) and vibration into my back is a very specific problem. It's less of a concern on a conventional road bike and these are still very fast tyres."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, uncomfortable
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
 
BRecumbent's Questions
 
BRecumbent has not submitted any questions.
 
BRecumbent's Answers
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 

Could this be fitted to a rear fork?

Not much room on my seatpost, wondered if this could be used to fit to a fork, happy to use rubber bands if necessary!!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You can fit it anywhere by using 5 minute epoxy putty. Put glad wrap (kitchen wrap film) around the fork to protect it and press the soft putty against the fork. Use the bracket to press a flat surface onto the rear. Shape the putty around the fork but don't 'enclose' the folk or you won't be able to remove the 'adapter.' If you did accidentally do this, the putty isn't so hard that you can't clip bits off until you can pull it free. Make the adapter nice and 'meaty' being the full width of the light bracket. The weight (!) shouldn't bother you :)
.
Take the adapter off when it's set in ten minutes and remove the cling film from your fork. You can shape and tidy the adapter with a coarse file and paint it black with a rattle can if you want.

Some road bikes have an aero seat post that is effectively vee shaped. You can use the putty to make an adapter for them.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

What is the weight per tube?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
85 grams one tube with approx. 50mm valve extension
1 year, 4 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

weight limt

is there if any a weight limit on this pedals
im 83 kg
thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No! The crank will break before the titanium axle.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
The 2013 Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum® aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd.
 

Is there a non tubular version?

Just wondering if there a non tubular version of these you can use with regular tyres and innertube?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes there is but I'd recommend the two way fit with Hutchinson Atoms or Fusions if you want a slightly more robust tyre. With 30 mils of sealant you pretty much don't get punctures and you can ride the tyres flat (carefully) up to about 15 kph because the sealant glues the tyre to the rim. Stans sealant has sealed a 4mm slit for me with minimal air loss.

I've tried Open Corsa, Contis and Michelins and I prefer the ride of the tubeless and the security of no sudden blow outs. I have a set of tubular Zeros and I prefer the tubeless over them. The Vittoria Open Corsa is very fast and gives a good ride too, but it's a delicate tyre IMO.

PS I'm talking Trek Madone here not my highracer 'bent.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay zero pedals come with all the hardware to attach to the sidi ergo 2 shoes

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Speedplay provide a list of compatible shoes on their web site here;
http://www.speedplay.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=shoeguide.searchstart

The cleats have to be installed with wedges (provided with the pedals) that provide a flat surface. Not all shoes are suitable but most road shoes can be fitted.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay titanium pedals come with the cleats?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
With no Index positions the Dia-Compe Bar End Gear Shifter Set works with all systems it also has power ratchet friction control.
 

Are the "pods" pictured included with the shifters?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
What you see in the picture is the complete integrated unit. The levers are not separate from the assembly. These are 'bar end' levers and the internal diameter of the handlebar must match the expanding boss.
 
Products from my answer
 
4 years ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No they're not wrapped. I suggest a twist of aluminium foil to carry a couple of spares.
4 years, 6 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Presta Removable Valve Core
Presta Removable Valve Core
This Core is needed for our rim strips with PRESTA removable valve cores.
 

Can I use this valve for tubular tyres?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, a tubular tyre has its own valve. It's tubeless tyres that have separate valves. Tubular tyres need special rims. For tubeless tyres you can buy a conversion kit or use a wheel like the Fulcrum Two Way fit.
 
Products from my answer
Racing Zero 2-Way Fit Tubeless Wheelset 2012
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 7 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / mobile phone / key security pocketNeoprene pocketAdjustable hook & loop armband to fit allPower Mesh vented armbandIncludes Vizion L.E.D
 

What are the dimensions of the pocket?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
10 cms deep, 6 cms wide. It is elastic so it can expand a little width ways.
5 years, 8 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria