BRecumbent
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BRecumbent's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BRecumbent's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    17
  • First Review
    02 May 2010
  • Last Review
    14 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BRecumbent's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Latex inner tubes: Used in all high end tubular thanks to their low rolling resistance. Thinner and more flexible than butyl tubes. The use in open tubulars increases comfort and lowers rolling resistance. Latex is also more resistant to punctures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
I like latex - and it's faster
Posted14 March 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There's no doubt in my mind that latex tubes are slightly faster. I recommended them to a friend and he said he was surprised that he noted faster times for his regular rides.
There's also no doubt that having to pump them every day feels a bit onerous - but I check my tyre pressures before every ride anyway, so they're really not any extra work.
The ride is better. I think Vittoria Open Corsa or Schwalbe One with latex are a better ride than tubulars and I've tried both.
Finally, they 'puncture slower.' You're less likely to have a catastrophic blowout - just like tubulars."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, faster
Cons: Expensive, require dailt pressure check
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye NIMA 2 Light Set
Cateye NIMA 2 Light Set
The Nima 2 has a wide light beam and four modes: Constant, Flashing, Rapid and Pulse. The heavy-duty rubber band is integrated with the light and can be attached to a handlebar, helmet, or bag.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Neat light set to keep you legal
Posted31 January 2015
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a light set for folding bikes. because we're travelling I wanted batteries not rechargeable. These take two flat watch batteries each with an estimated life of 80 hours.
The lights are tiny with a convenient rubber strap for attaching to handlebars and seatposts. They fit unobtrusively to our Bromptons to keep us legal if we get caught after lighting up time..
They are ideal for low light and night time use. The front light won't light up the road for you, it just serves as a warning, but the rear light is plenty bright for traffic behind.
My only reservation about these lights is that they are switched on and controlled by pressing the front 'glass.' It's easy to do this accidentally, so be aware of placement when fitting."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: easy to switch on accidentally
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed for race day, the Tangente Speed is optimised for aerodynamics, rolling resistance and road feel with clincher convenience. Very light, this tyre will glide over the tarmac giving you that effortless road feel you want.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fast tyre but somewhat harsh riding
Posted19 November 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to pair with Zipp 404 wheels. It was very tight to mount and although fast, transmits road vibration more than the tyre it replaced which is a Schwalbe Ultremo ZX 28mm. To me the surprising thing is that the much wider Schwalbe is just as fast on roll down and I haven't seen any speed gains using the Tangente. So I'm a little disappointed and will fit these to my wifes bike ;) *
* Not as cruel as it sounds. I ride a recumbent with a very low angle seat ( 20 degrees) and vibration into my back is a very specific problem. It's less of a concern on a conventional road bike and these are still very fast tyres."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, uncomfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wide range and slick shifting
Posted19 November 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This replaced a 12-25 (it's 11-28) and extends the range nicely. A riding friend commented on how quiet the bike is and I've noticed changing is very quick. I'm running with the absolute minimum of lubricant (actually none!) and the drive chain has never been quieter (KMC chain.)"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Pack of 5 inner tubes. The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Problem free tubes
Posted29 October 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A tube is a tube is a tube. But these tubes are consistently high quality. The best thing you can say about tubes is that you fit them and forget them. When the worst happens, theses patch up easily with a thin patch."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Professional cement for glueing tubulars onto either carbon or alloy tubular rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High quality tubular glue
Posted29 October 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This stuff is tenaciously sticky and very smooth. It tacks up quickly and grips powerfully when set. It's so strong that you need to leave a gap so that you can get a tyre lever under the tub to start breaking it free. You may not be able to remove the tub with your bare hands if you don't do this.
It may be 'just glue' but I haven't seen better."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High quality wide range cassette
Posted15 October 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"We've always specified Ultegra because we see it as the best value in the range for recreational cyclists like ourselves. It shifts crisply and has a long service life. My wife wanted a little bit lower gearing so when it came time to replace her original 12-25 casette, I've chosen this 12-30. She runs a compact chainset."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Visible in full sun at more than one mile
Posted30 September 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Highly visible in all conditions including direct sunlight. We've had drivers comment about how effective these are and one driver claimed to have seen the light at more than a mile (it was > 2 kms in Australia)
Easy to fit and use. It does need charging pretty much before each ride. It will last more than three hours but not six hours (we use the high setting.)
As others have pointed out, the thread on the cap is very fine and can 'rip off' when removing the light, but it seems to do no damage. The light itself is very robust.
I don't think you'll get a more powerful light for the cost."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Latex for a softer ride
Posted25 September 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ride on rough chipseal roads and vibration is a problem. Latex tubes ride softer than butyl and a bonus is they seem to deflate slower if you get a puncture. They're also very light and when used with tyres like the Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX you're riding about as fast a combination as you can get."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Deore XT 10-speed rear derailleur delivers reliable and precise shifting with a stiff and lightweight design. All-alloy construction leads to lower weight without compromising strength and durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Crisp action
Posted06 January 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This derailleur operates crisper than the short arm Durace that it replaced. It's installed on a metaphysic high racer recumbent and the long chain has a tendency to flop around with the short arm mechs. I also like the fact that it doesn't protrude a long way out."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, crisp action
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BRecumbent's Questions
 
BRecumbent has not submitted any questions.
 
BRecumbent's Answers
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 

Could this be fitted to a rear fork?

Not much room on my seatpost, wondered if this could be used to fit to a fork, happy to use rubber bands if necessary!!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You can fit it anywhere by using 5 minute epoxy putty. Put glad wrap (kitchen wrap film) around the fork to protect it and press the soft putty against the fork. Use the bracket to press a flat surface onto the rear. Shape the putty around the fork but don't 'enclose' the folk or you won't be able to remove the 'adapter.' If you did accidentally do this, the putty isn't so hard that you can't clip bits off until you can pull it free. Make the adapter nice and 'meaty' being the full width of the light bracket. The weight (!) shouldn't bother you :)
.
Take the adapter off when it's set in ten minutes and remove the cling film from your fork. You can shape and tidy the adapter with a coarse file and paint it black with a rattle can if you want.

Some road bikes have an aero seat post that is effectively vee shaped. You can use the putty to make an adapter for them.
6 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

What is the weight per tube?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
85 grams one tube with approx. 50mm valve extension
7 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

weight limt

is there if any a weight limit on this pedals
im 83 kg
thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No! The crank will break before the titanium axle.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
The 2013 Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum® aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd.
 

Is there a non tubular version?

Just wondering if there a non tubular version of these you can use with regular tyres and innertube?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes there is but I'd recommend the two way fit with Hutchinson Atoms or Fusions if you want a slightly more robust tyre. With 30 mils of sealant you pretty much don't get punctures and you can ride the tyres flat (carefully) up to about 15 kph because the sealant glues the tyre to the rim. Stans sealant has sealed a 4mm slit for me with minimal air loss.

I've tried Open Corsa, Contis and Michelins and I prefer the ride of the tubeless and the security of no sudden blow outs. I have a set of tubular Zeros and I prefer the tubeless over them. The Vittoria Open Corsa is very fast and gives a good ride too, but it's a delicate tyre IMO.

PS I'm talking Trek Madone here not my highracer 'bent.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay zero pedals come with all the hardware to attach to the sidi ergo 2 shoes

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Speedplay provide a list of compatible shoes on their web site here;
http://www.speedplay.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=shoeguide.searchstart

The cleats have to be installed with wedges (provided with the pedals) that provide a flat surface. Not all shoes are suitable but most road shoes can be fitted.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay titanium pedals come with the cleats?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
With no Index positions the Dia-Compe Bar End Gear Shifter Set works with all systems it also has power ratchet friction control.
 

Are the "pods" pictured included with the shifters?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
What you see in the picture is the complete integrated unit. The levers are not separate from the assembly. These are 'bar end' levers and the internal diameter of the handlebar must match the expanding boss.
 
Products from my answer
 
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No they're not wrapped. I suggest a twist of aluminium foil to carry a couple of spares.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Presta Removable Valve Core
Presta Removable Valve Core
This Core is needed for our rim strips with PRESTA removable valve cores.
 

Can I use this valve for tubular tyres?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, a tubular tyre has its own valve. It's tubeless tyres that have separate valves. Tubular tyres need special rims. For tubeless tyres you can buy a conversion kit or use a wheel like the Fulcrum Two Way fit.
 
Products from my answer
Racing Zero 2-Way Fit Tubeless Wheelset 2012
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / mobile phone / key security pocketNeoprene pocketAdjustable hook & loop armband to fit allPower Mesh vented armbandIncludes Vizion L.E.D
 

What are the dimensions of the pocket?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
10 cms deep, 6 cms wide. It is elastic so it can expand a little width ways.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria