BRecumbent
Top 1000 Contributor
Share BRecumbent's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BRecumbent's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    11
  • First Review
    02 May 2010
  • Last Review
    15 October 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Last Review Comment
    02 July 2012
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    20 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
BRecumbent's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The new Ultegra HyperGlide 10-speed cassette comes with an alloyn carrier. Special sprocket profiles for even smoother, lighter and faster shifting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High quality wide range cassette
Posted15 October 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"We've always specified Ultegra because we see it as the best value in the range for recreational cyclists like ourselves. It shifts crisply and has a long service life. My wife wanted a little bit lower gearing so when it came time to replace her original 12-25 casette, I've chosen this 12-30. She runs a compact chainset."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Visible in full sun at more than one mile
Posted30 September 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Highly visible in all conditions including direct sunlight. We've had drivers comment about how effective these are and one driver claimed to have seen the light at more than a mile (it was > 2 kms in Australia)
Easy to fit and use. It does need charging pretty much before each ride. It will last more than three hours but not six hours (we use the high setting.)
As others have pointed out, the thread on the cap is very fine and can 'rip off' when removing the light, but it seems to do no damage. The light itself is very robust.
I don't think you'll get a more powerful light for the cost."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Latex for a softer ride
Posted25 September 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I ride on rough chipseal roads and vibration is a problem. Latex tubes ride softer than butyl and a bonus is they seem to deflate slower if you get a puncture. They're also very light and when used with tyres like the Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX you're riding about as fast a combination as you can get."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Deore XT 10-speed rear derailleur delivers reliable and precise shifting with a stiff and lightweight design. All-alloy construction leads to lower weight without compromising strength and durability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Crisp action
Posted06 January 2014
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This derailleur operates crisper than the short arm Durace that it replaced. It's installed on a metaphysic high racer recumbent and the long chain has a tendency to flop around with the short arm mechs. I also like the fact that it doesn't protrude a long way out."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, crisp action
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Rainbow Arm Sleeves
Rainbow Arm Sleeves
A pair of eye catching cycling arm sleeves with a lightweight polyester construction. Featuring gripper elastic to keep sleeves securely in place and UPF protection 50+ for protection in hot weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Highly visible matches all colours
Posted09 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Light, silky and warm. Perfect for the intermediate weather between summer and winter."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, high viz
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
The 2013 Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum® aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Stiff and light wheelset with silky bearings
Posted21 August 2013
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Compared to my prior Racing 3 wheels these seem to give me an extra gear when climbing. I've never had a wheel that spun so freely on the stand - they seem to spin forever. Out of the box when you flick them with a finger they ring like a bell. I copped a bad pothole at 40 kph that pinch flatted the tyre and they're still perfectly true."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, silky bearings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Ladies Windproof Ultralight Gilet
dhb Ladies Windproof Ultralight Gilet
The ultralight windproof gilet is a super compact gilet designed to take the chill off your core body in cool spring/summer conditions. A perfect accessory for the back pocket of your jersey.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light and does the job
Posted21 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Just the thing for keeping the cold wind off and works well in combination with arm warmers so depending on temperature and wind, you can swap and change layers."
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, wind proof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The 2014 Racing 3 2-way fit wheelset comes with a new mega-drive hub flange on the rear improving stiffness and power transfer, also seen on the Racing 1 and Zero. They also have a great graphics makeover including a new white painted hub.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
faster and puncture proof fitted with tubeless
Posted05 February 2013
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"That got your attention then - they're obviously not 'puncture proof' but in twelve months and four glass penetrations, I haven't had to change a tyre or tube.
But back to the wheels. They roll very smoothly presumably due to the high quality bearings. They've stayed true. Fitting Hutchinson tubeless tyres is hard work but worth it. On my final puncture, I rode the short distance home with the rear tyre flat. No drama - kept the speed down to no more than 18 kph.
I initially fitted them to a twin 700c high racer recumbent. With no direct comparison I couldn't say if the wheels were better or worse than wheels of similar price but based on my PBs they were slightly faster than the stock wheels.
A few days ago I put them on my Trek Madone 5.2 and now I can say they're noticeably superior to the Bontrager Race Lite stock wheels. It seems they're 'one gear' faster up hills. There's a 'rigid' feel to the bike and it responds quicker.
The two way fit can free you from the annoyance of punctures. With Atom tyres and 30 grams of sealant there's no weight penalty compared to most tyre tube combinations.
The bearings are particularly easy to adjust.
These are great wheels - they're so good I've upgraded to the Zeros!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile, speed improvement
Cons: tubeless tight to fit
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Ultra light tubeless tyre which features a unique tread reinforced with thermoplastic compound for lightness and performance, carbon beads and slick profile
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice but hard to fit
Posted20 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've been running the Fusions and liked them well enough to upgrade to the Atoms. The Atoms with 30 grams of Stans sealant are lighter than a light tyre and butyl tube and the same as the light tyre with a latex tube.
So you get the same weight with freedom from punctures.
and freedom from latex fast pressure drop.
The ride is very good even at 100 psi. It reminds me of the best light 240 tpi tyre, having a more subdued rattle on rough chipseal. I may run them at lower pressure depending on how they roll. The Fusion 3's didn't seem to lose speed even at 75 psi. so I'd expect a similar performance from the Atoms.
But!!!!
Getting them on and off my Fulcrum two way fit rims is insanely difficult. Maybe it's just this particular rim/tyre combination, but there is absolutely NO WAY that I could remove the tyre out on the road. I know the tricks. I strapped the tyre into the rim well. I lubricated it. I pulled around the slack oh how I laughed... what slack...? I have a tyre 'jack' and the Atom laughed at it.
3 steel lined tyre levers, barked knuckles, profanity, sweat.... 30 minutes There HAS to be a better way!
Time will tell about the durability. My Fusions developed fine longitudinal cracks quite quickly and they worried me but some tyres do this and at least one manufacturer says not to worry.
The Fusions also took glass and sealed it and when the sealant dried (my fault) I rode them slowly home flat.. Yes they are 'ride flat.'
So I do love tubeless and i think they can only improve.... if you can mount them :)"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, fast, ride them flat, virtually puncture proof
Cons: hard to mount
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
I'm not Speed Playing any more
Posted18 March 2012
BRecumbent
fromPortland,Victoria
Country : Australia
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The Speedplay pedals are very light, secure and easy to unclip ; usually.
However, after using the pedals for some time I've found they are not practical for recreational riders.
I lubricate the pedals before each ride but they have become increasingly hard to clip in. The problem is that dirt gets in behind the retaining 'bow' or circlip and prevents it opening. The circlip is enclosed under an aluminium plate.
Dismantling the cleat for cleaning is fiddly and the small plate retaining screws quickly become worn and difficult to undo even though I try not to walk on hard surfaces. The alternative is to walk on the verge and that introduces dirt. It's a no win situation.
For riders that rarely dismount during a ride all this probably doesn't matter, but as a recreational rider, I always stop for coffee and often for our little band of riders to regroup.
Conclusion - Brilliant design with a fatal flaw."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, very sensitive to dirt, expensive cleat replacement, high maintenance
 
Products related to my review
Vittoria Open Corsa Evo CX Clincher Tyre
4.3 out of 5(176)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
 
BRecumbent's Questions
 
BRecumbent has not submitted any questions.
 
BRecumbent's Answers
 
The Micro Drive rear light is a purposeful every day and night safety light. All the very best safety features within reach of every cyclist.
 

Could this be fitted to a rear fork?

Not much room on my seatpost, wondered if this could be used to fit to a fork, happy to use rubber bands if necessary!!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
You can fit it anywhere by using 5 minute epoxy putty. Put glad wrap (kitchen wrap film) around the fork to protect it and press the soft putty against the fork. Use the bracket to press a flat surface onto the rear. Shape the putty around the fork but don't 'enclose' the folk or you won't be able to remove the 'adapter.' If you did accidentally do this, the putty isn't so hard that you can't clip bits off until you can pull it free. Make the adapter nice and 'meaty' being the full width of the light bracket. The weight (!) shouldn't bother you :)
.
Take the adapter off when it's set in ten minutes and remove the cling film from your fork. You can shape and tidy the adapter with a coarse file and paint it black with a rattle can if you want.

Some road bikes have an aero seat post that is effectively vee shaped. You can use the putty to make an adapter for them.
2 weeks, 6 days ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
The Vittoria Latex road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels if you like watching your bike weight. Latex tubes will require pumping up more often as due to the material used in construction, air seeps out slowly over time.
 

What is the weight per tube?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
85 grams one tube with approx. 50mm valve extension
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

weight limt

is there if any a weight limit on this pedals
im 83 kg
thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No! The crank will break before the titanium axle.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
Fulcrum Racing Zero Tubular Wheelset
The 2013 Racing Zero is the top wheelset of the Fulcrum® aluminium range. Its extraordinary performance features and high impact aesthetics make it stand out from the crowd.
 

Is there a non tubular version?

Just wondering if there a non tubular version of these you can use with regular tyres and innertube?

Thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes there is but I'd recommend the two way fit with Hutchinson Atoms or Fusions if you want a slightly more robust tyre. With 30 mils of sealant you pretty much don't get punctures and you can ride the tyres flat (carefully) up to about 15 kph because the sealant glues the tyre to the rim. Stans sealant has sealed a 4mm slit for me with minimal air loss.

I've tried Open Corsa, Contis and Michelins and I prefer the ride of the tubeless and the security of no sudden blow outs. I have a set of tubular Zeros and I prefer the tubeless over them. The Vittoria Open Corsa is very fast and gives a good ride too, but it's a delicate tyre IMO.

PS I'm talking Trek Madone here not my highracer 'bent.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay zero pedals come with all the hardware to attach to the sidi ergo 2 shoes

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Speedplay provide a list of compatible shoes on their web site here;
http://www.speedplay.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=shoeguide.searchstart

The cleats have to be installed with wedges (provided with the pedals) that provide a flat surface. Not all shoes are suitable but most road shoes can be fitted.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 

Do the speedplay titanium pedals come with the cleats?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
With no Index positions the Dia-Compe Bar End Gear Shifter Set works with all systems it also has power ratchet friction control.
 

Are the "pods" pictured included with the shifters?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
What you see in the picture is the complete integrated unit. The levers are not separate from the assembly. These are 'bar end' levers and the internal diameter of the handlebar must match the expanding boss.
 
Products from my answer
 
2 years, 8 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Individually wrapped?

I've had free samples of these where the tablets were individually wrapped - is that the case when they're in a tube? It would be nice to take a few out with me in the event I drain my bidons...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No they're not wrapped. I suggest a twist of aluminium foil to carry a couple of spares.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 Presta Removable Valve Core
Presta Removable Valve Core
This Core is needed for our rim strips with PRESTA removable valve cores.
 

Can I use this valve for tubular tyres?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No, a tubular tyre has its own valve. It's tubeless tyres that have separate valves. Tubular tyres need special rims. For tubeless tyres you can buy a conversion kit or use a wheel like the Fulcrum Two Way fit.
 
Products from my answer
Racing Zero 2-Way Fit Tubeless Wheelset 2012
4.9 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
Stan's Rim Tape
4.5 out of 5(40)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria
 
 MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / L.E.D. Armband SS12
MP3 / mobile phone / key security pocketNeoprene pocketAdjustable hook & loop armband to fit allPower Mesh vented armbandIncludes Vizion L.E.D
 

What are the dimensions of the pocket?

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
10 cms deep, 6 cms wide. It is elastic so it can expand a little width ways.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
BRecumbent
Portland,Victoria