BlackpoolChip
Top 250 Contributor
Share BlackpoolChip's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
BlackpoolChip's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    32
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    21 May 2010
  • Last Review
    24 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    1
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    21 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    30 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
BlackpoolChip's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Elite ElastoGel Front Wheel Riser Block
Elite ElastoGel Front Wheel Riser Block
An indispensable accessory for a perfecting your position on the bike giving you a more natural feel to your training with a Elastogel insert for ensures maximum stability and vibration absorption for the front wheel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ElastoGel Travel Front Wheel Riser Block
Posted24 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
BlackpoolChip
fromChester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent high quality product, perfect for the job"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Selle Italia Man Gel Flow Saddle
Selle Italia Man Gel Flow Saddle
The rear suspension bridge offers a flexible and comfortable shell in addition to the saddles perfect anatomic profile
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Man Gel Flow Saddle
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The slot in the middle of the saddle does do its job in offering relief where it is supposed to. However, the edges of the slot are very hard and actually do cause discomfort after a long day in the saddle. I did LEJoG recently and set off with this saddle on the bike. After 2 days I swapped it for a conventional saddle to provide relief from the ridges, 2 days later swapped back and so on. Obviously this is an extreme ride and I had no problems at all whilst doing the odd full day training running up to the ride."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 For Goodness Shakes Procovery Kit
For Goodness Shakes Procovery Kit
Experience For Goodness Shakes Recovery with this complete Sports Recovery Kit. This kit is the pefect way to sample all four flavours, Includes 8 sachets in mixed flavours and a 750ml Water Bottle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
For Goodness Shakes
Posted15 July 2012
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As always the service was excellent. I have used the product for a number of years now and still maintain that it is excellent. One of the easily mixed, very nice tasting shakes after a session on the bike or in the gym and no aches and pains afterwards.
The bottle design has been changed and is much easier to clean than the old one.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 For Goodness Shakes Procovery Powder Sachets 12 x 72g
For Goodness Shakes Procovery Powder Sachets 12 x 72g
Ready for 2012, For Goodness Shakes has been re-engineered to provide Gold Standard Sports Recovery nutrition to athletes after the toughest race or training session. The new PROCOVERY formula delivers world class performance as well as world class taste
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
For Goodness Shakes buy these
Posted02 February 2012
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have been using these for a year now and never looked back. Easy to mix with water, convenient to carry, very tasty in all flavours and work very well. Limited aches and pains even after the toughest training sessions or rides. Highly recommended."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, taste great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Lunar R2 Rear Light
Lunar R2 Rear Light
Visible from up to 1 mile with it's 2 x 1/2W LEDs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smart Lunar R2 Rear Light
Posted02 February 2012
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is one bright light. Can be seen for miles from the rear or from the sides. Has some very interesting light sequences and guaranteed to get you noticed. Highly Recommended."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, extremely visible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Large Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Large Saddle Bag
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 1.6 litres to 2 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Topeak Aero Wedge (Buckle) Large Saddle Bag
Posted09 August 2011
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I use this bag on a road bike when on longer runs and it holds everything I need for a 5-6 hour ride. Including 2 tubes, tools, 1st Aid Kit etc. plus also energy bars and a light weight waterproof and mobile phone. This is without opening the extension! It really is a "large". Extended there is room for arm and leg warmers and a little more food if required. I find it is a good compromise between a smaller, short ride pack and a fully blown saddle bag for full day rides. As it is fairly large its not the most subtle of bags but does mostly fit under the saddle and is a reasonable shape. It seems very water proof and the reflective strips and light holder are very useful. It is good value for money and has the usually Top Peak quality.
I have no hesitation in recommending this product.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos Chamois Cream
Assos Chamois Cream
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
assos chamois cream
Posted26 June 2011
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A butts best friend. I have used for a few years now and never had a saddle sore since first discovering it despite many miles in the saddle including London to Paris and other 3 day rides. Will give it the ultimate test next week when I set off on the infamous LEJoG!
Worth every penny.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Machine Kit
Chain Machine Kit
Chain Machine includes 104 rotating and fixed brushes to ensure a super clean chain. Counter-rotating top and bottom scrubbing brushes ensure that the rollers of the chain are cleaned.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Pedros Chain Machine Kit
Posted03 June 2011
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"A good little kit with everything you need to ensure long life of components and clean gear changes. Takes seconds to clean and lube your chain after every ride to eliminate problems later. Very simple and easy to use."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
Recovery Powder - 12 x 72g
The UK's No.1 Recovery brand now in powders. The first to combine world class performance with world class taste. Fast & Slow Protein and Carbohydrate Formula.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
For Goodness Shakes buy these
Posted04 May 2011
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent, tasty - whichever flavour, easily mixed with water, convenient, reasonably priced, and fantastic recovery drink. Even after an unexpected 110 miler I felt great afterwards and I can only put it down to one of these straight away and another within 2 hours.
I will never try another recovery drink.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, taste great, mix very easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fusione Windproof Vest
Fusione Windproof Vest
Fusione is the ultimate lightweight shell that's breathable and can keep the wind and rain out. It's extremely packable, thanks to the light Windstopper® Helium fabric.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Castelli Fusione Windproof Vest
Posted20 April 2011
BlackpoolChip
fromBlackpool
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This item was probably more expensive than I would normally pay for something I am not likely to wear very often, however I have found myself wearing it most of the time ( when on the bike)
It looks great and keeps the heat in the torso very impressively. I have found wearing this and a normal cycle jersey is sufficient for most days above 10 degree's.
I thought the zipped vents were a bit of a gimmick at first but they are actually quite brilliant for regulating the temperature instead of opening the main zip and having it flapping around and catching wind.
The collar is comfortable and tall to stop the wind going down it, the fit is excellent, tight and non flapping on the front with slightly more room around the lower back so it fits over bulging pockets without becoming too tight. There are also access zips to get to your jersey pockets instead of having pockets in the vest itself.
It also folds up extremely small to fit in a jersey pocket, I however, tend to keep it on and open the vents to prevent overheating as required.
Highly recommended, it looks expensive but looks great, is very versatile and should last a lifetime.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, folds up extremely small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
BlackpoolChip's Questions
 
BlackpoolChip has not submitted any questions.
 
BlackpoolChip's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

The description doesn't mention whether the trainer folds, does it?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, folds flat, very easy to store
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Fit with Boardman Hybrid Comp?

Hello,

Will this trainer fit the Boardman Hybrid Comp bike? Tyres are 700x28.

Thanks!
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes it will, no problem
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Can you use this turbo trainer using a fixed wheel bike?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, will react just like on the road though, so don't suddenly stop peddling!!!!!!!!!
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Is anything else required?

Do you need to buy anything else or can indoor training be done with this alone?
Thanks
Daniel
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You will want to get a riser block for the front wheel. A yellow pages will do but a proper block will hold the wheel properly when putting in some efforts.
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Do I have to use the supplied skewer?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You can use your wheel skewers but as these are probably light weight it would be too easy to bend them when tightening the clamp so I wouldn't recommend it.
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Can I use the provided skewer for normal road use?

I'd like to know if I can use the provided skewer for normal road cycling or if it is to be used only on the trainer.

Thanks
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, I do sometimes if I can't be bothered changing it.
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Is it safe to use carbon frame bikes on this turbo trainer?

I have bought a Cube carbon road bike and the instruction booklet says it shouldn't be used on "so called fixed rollers(Tacx, Elite etc.)", which I take to mean any turbo trainers. It says it can lead to damage in the vicinity of the dropouts/rear assemby of the frame. Don't know if they are being over-cautious but don't want to risk it if there is any chance of damaging the frame.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Although I use a carbon Cube on my trainer I only do so when doing gentle training sessions, just in case. I use my aluminium Cube Attempt when doing hard sessions.
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

what does this weigh in the box please ? Is 10.5kg correct ?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes its quite solid but this gives great stability. It does fold up reasonably small though and is easy to store.
Brilliant bit of kit!
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Will my bike fit on an Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel trainer

I have an old Claude Butler road bike with with 700c wheels on large flange Campag Record hubs with a 5 speed block and Campag Record gears. Q/R skewer 150 mm long 5 mm diameter. Inside rear forks measure 120 mm. Outside measure including gear attachment 136 mm
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, the clamp has a lot of adjustment
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool
 
 Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
Elite Crono Fluid ElastoGel Trainer
CRONO FLUID from Elite is a sealed hydrodynamic system that regulates the effort of the pedalling through a rotor submerged in oil with special characteristics of viscosity and high temperature resistance.
 

Can you tell me if this model can be used on a bike with disc brakes?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes, no problem at all
2 years ago
by
BlackpoolChip
Blackpool