Monty1975
Share Monty1975's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Monty1975's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    28 April 2012
  • Last Review
    10 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 April 2012
  • Last Answer
    14 August 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Monty1975's Reviews
 
With graduated compression to promote maximum blood flow, the 2XU Compression Tights use PWX Flex fabric to support the major muscle groups, whilst promoting increased circulation to reduce fatigue and increase power.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good but always check the sizing
Posted10 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monty1975
fromWantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These are great, and I really do feel they make a difference. They are my first pair of compression tights so I don't have much comparison but I do like these
My only recommendation is that people read the labels on sizing. If you are borderline, go a size smaller. You will fit them! I'm 14.5 stone, 5.10 tall so on the chunky monkey size, but still a medium."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great! but small...
Posted30 July 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Monty1975
fromWantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Pretty much all has been said in the other reviews, and these were very accurate. In summary, they come up small, buy a size or two bigger and the scorpion labels aren't great and will peel off at washed at temperature. That said, the padding is very comfy - I've used DHB's previously, and these wipe the floor with those. Way better for longer rides - longest so far has been 75 miles and no chaffing or pains.
Size wise, and I know this is most peoples concerns, I am slightly chubbier than the average Castelli wearer - 5'10" tall and c.90kg, 35inch waist. I went for a XL, and it is fairly tight, but in my opinion, in a good way. I am sure that helps stop the chaffing as well.
One thing I would say about the sizing though, is that XL seems well designed for longer peoples legs, however the shoulder straps are OK for me, but I wouldn't want to be too much tighter?
That said, they feel great on longer rides but for larger riders, I believe there are better products out there (Sugoi's for example)."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great product
Posted26 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monty1975
fromWantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great glasses- do exactly what you ask of them. Fit perfectly, not a massive amount of misting when i'm hit and down hill there isn't too much wind getting in round the sides, a problem I've had previously.
Good product overall and great value. Get what you pay for ultimately so if I had the money it would be polarised oakleys but for the money, they're great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Forerunner Bicycle Mount Kit, generic for Forerunner 50, 405 and 310XT
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Does the job but expensive for what it is...
Posted28 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monty1975
fromWantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There is not a lot you can say about a small bit of plastic, other than it does what it says it will do.
I had a now defunct forerunner 305, and this served as my running gps and seemed pointless when I got into cycling to buy another gps straight away. This served as a great option we it allowed me to have everything I wanted on my bike.
That said £10 for a piece of rubber that probably cost 10p to make feels incredibly excessive.
"
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great bib shorts!
Posted28 April 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Monty1975
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great bib shorts. For the value whilst they were on sale, they are excellent. I'm slightly heavier than most, and was worried that the size wouldn't fit that well as I'm not overly tall, but I needn't have worried.
Anyone unsure on the sizing, read the chart. You may think it appears you're smaller than you would normally buy, but it worked for me. I'm 14 stone and 5'10" tall and whilst I thought I'd need a large, the medium worked fine as I was worried about the size of the braces being meant for people taller.
Most importantly, the padding is really great.
"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Monty1975's Questions
 
Monty1975 has not submitted any questions.
 
Monty1975's Answers
 
 Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 

DHB size comparison

The medium size in DHB fits me relatively well, what size would you suggest in castelli, medium or large?
There is probably a little room for them to be a little tighter than the DHB.
I have dhb shorts and I have a pair that I would consider tight, which are medium, and a loser, but still comfortable large.

I sent for XL, but by the sounds of things, I would suggest Large for you, I am 5'10", 89kg approx....

Hope that helps.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Monty1975
Wantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

DUATHLON

Would these shorts be ok to do a duathlon in? (run,bike,run)
You can run in them, I have, but I wouldn't now I have invested in a reasonable pair of tri shorts. Generally I would say the padding is too big, and the design of it coming over your stomach and the straps isn't great to run in.

Try the 2xu tri shorts, they're great padding for the cycle, but designed to allow you to run and barely notice them. I have found these very good.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Monty1975
Wantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
 
 Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
Castelli Free Aero Race Bib Short
The award winning Aero Race short has been developed and refined over 5 years of Pro Tour testing.
 

Size comparison

Hi, cycle clothing sizes drive me nuts. I currently wear Gore Bike Wear Ozon Bib Shorts in USA M size, they fit well and I wish to try the Castelli's as a second pair. What size do you suggest. Thansk in advance.
Gore are fairly standard, I have these Castelli shorts, and I went from a 'tight' medium or baggier large in DHB, and XL in Castelli. DHB and Gore fairly similar in sizing I think.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Monty1975
Wantage, Oxfordshire OX12, UK
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

Sizing question

Hi - would need some guidance on the sizing for me:

Height: 6'1"
Chest: 42"
Waist: 36"
Thighs: 23"

Thanks
It sounds surprising, but a medium would work, but a large probably more comfortable. I'm 5.10, 42 chest, 36 waist and went for a medium. I was put off the Large because of the length of the straps. Actually thats the part where there is the most give, but they fit fine.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Monty1975
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 

what size?????

hi,im 6"2 male with a 32"waist and a 39"chest what size would be best for me
I wasn't sure on the sizing - I'm 14 stone, 36" waist and only 5'10" tall, I didn't believe I'd be a M but it fits great. I'd say the straps would stretch on a M enough to fit you fine, and it would be fine round the waist as well.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Monty1975