Castrol
Share Castrol's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Castrol's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    21 May 2010
  • Last Review
    05 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    22 July 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    22 July 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    21 May 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Castrol's Reviews
 
An ultra light base layer with a sleeveless tubular micro-fibre construction for an abrasion free fit in the cycling position. With targeted thickness and Push Pull effect fabric, the NS.skinFoil is the ideal first layer in extreme hot weather.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted05 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"fits close to body
compliments cycling jerseys
very comfortable to wear
does not impede performance in any way
wicks the moisture off the skin so there is no chill effect from sweating"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Moon Mask 5 LED Rechargeable Front Light
Moon Mask 5 LED Rechargeable Front Light
This 5 LED front light comes with 5 Nichia LED's that provide fantastic light output from a compact unit. The Mask 5.0 is fully rechargeable via USB connection to to PC or Mac.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"using mask 5 as a signal rather than a light as we have half light by 5.30 am at present with summer approaching. flashing mode is brilliant , LED is definitely the way to go . switch is easy to reach and use whilst riding ."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
High performance, 5 ply, all conditions road race Tubular equivalent of the popular GP4000 clincher, which works well on all road surfaces.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Conti GP4000 Tubular Tyre
Posted20 July 2011
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good fast racing tyre with little rolling resistance and great for cornering . Do not puncture easily and have a good wear factor ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Zero pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Speedplay cleats
Posted19 July 2011
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Clip in and stay in . Dont have to think or worry about which side of the pedal is up as double sided so very easy to clip in ."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Element Zero Gilet
Element Zero Gilet
Ideally suited for early-morning rides and those chilly days.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted01 June 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I ride in on the south coast in western australia and we are currently riding 4 - 9 o Celsius on our early morning ( 5.30am ) training rides . My new Assos Gilet is proving to be an excellend addition to my cycling wardrobe . Keeping my chest area, neck and shoulders warm is my main aim and the Assos Gilet is doing a fantastic job , Whilst I only have the zip pulled up to its maximum travel generally after a hard ride it is great keeping for keeping the body heat in and the heavier material in the collar insulating the neck area ... five out of five for this garment ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted21 May 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Castrol
fromAlbany
Country : Australia
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I currently race / ride in Assos and the F1 Uno perform as expected for training ride's . Light to wear , good fitting that do not creep up the leg after a hard ride with or without leg warmers being worn . Hand washed , spun dried in the bag provided and dried out of direct sunlight I expect to get a reasonable life out of the garment as I do from the F1 13 that I now use purely for racing to those longer training rides ."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Castrol's Questions
 
Castrol has not submitted any questions.
 
Castrol's Answers
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Zero pedals.
 

will these ZERO Pedal Cleats fit/attach to DHB R1.0 road shoes

Apologies , I am not familiar with your brand of road shoes but I would assume the manufacturers/ distributors might be able to advise you . I do know that the Zero cleats fit all or most Sidi roadshoes.
9 months ago
by
Castrol
Albany
 
 Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
Continental Grand Prix 4000 Tubular Tyre
High performance, 5 ply, all conditions road race Tubular equivalent of the popular GP4000 clincher, which works well on all road surfaces.
 

What length is the valve on these?

I would like to fit these to some 50mm deep carbon rims so just want to check if they will fit straight on or I will need an extender.
On 50 mm rims you will be require valve extentions . i fit this tubular tyre to 46 mm Reynolds carbon rims . length of valve is
30 mm .
9 months ago
by
Castrol
Albany
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Zero pedals.
 

Can I just buy the sole plate that screws to my shoes.

I managed to get my foot stuck and I couldnt release it - I somehow then managed to tear the cleat off the sole plate, so I have the cleat which is fine, but the carbon sole plate is shredded - I ride speedplay zero's
perhaps you had some dirt or stone stuck in your cleat . I also lubicate my cleats on a regular basis . Never a problem and al three of my racing bikes are fitted with Speedplay .
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Castrol
Albany
 
 Element Zero Gilet
Element Zero Gilet
Ideally suited for early-morning rides and those chilly days.
 

Weight? Packable?

Whats it weigh, and does it pack to a jersey pocket?
weight is negligible

packs beautifully into my racing top pocket .
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Castrol
Albany
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

What size for 179cm height and 89 kg weight?

Looks like somewhere between L and XL - can you recommend? Thanks
I train in Uno and race and do longer training rides F1.13 .I am approx the same height as yourself but 10 kgs lighter so I think the XL might be the better choice for yourself as L fits myself snugly but comfortably .
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Castrol
Albany
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

Are they not just measured by height? and not chest size?

Im confused why shorts would be measured by chest size? The Assos website suggests its measured by height alone.
I have worn Assos bib knicks for the passed 6 years and ride in both the F1. Uno and F1. 13 . I used the Assos website intitially and can vouch for their recommended sizing procedure .
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Castrol
Albany