Dunedin
Top 50 Contributor
Share Dunedin's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Dunedin's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    73
  • Helpfulness Votes
    25
  • First Review
    13 May 2011
  • Last Review
    06 December 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 April 2012
  • Last Question
    12 April 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    42
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    13 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    06 December 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Dunedin's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 >>>
 
 Finish Line Dry Teflon Lubricant 120ml Bottle
Finish Line Dry Teflon Lubricant 120ml Bottle
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best lubricant range...
Posted06 December 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I really rate Finish Line products. This is great for dry conditions, easy to clean off when you clean your bike and chain. Should you get wet or encounter wet road conditions you will need to reapply. I use this in summer and the heavier version for wet weather in winter. I have used Finish Line for years, and have over that time had other lubricants recommended but have never found them as good. The the old days of course it was just 3:1 none of this teflon or carbon stuff but we have moved on....."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Sportful No-Rain Arm Warmers
Sportful No-Rain Arm Warmers
Water repellent arm warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted06 December 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have both legs and arm warmers made by Sportful. They are fantastic and do the job of keeping off the rain and keeping you dry and warm. I was caught in a very heavy downpour of some duration about an hour and my legs were the only dry bit of me other than under my waterproof jacket. My shorts were soaked through as were my feet and socks. The great thing also about leg and arm warmers is that if you are limited for space in your bag they take up very little room and if you start getting warm you can always take them off and stow them. I was so impressed with the legs and how well they worked that I had to get the arms. I find them comfortable, a good length, you should measure the circumference of either your arms and legs and go for the size chart recommendation. I have long arms (about 26" or 66cm) and they are long enough for me coming up to my armpits and no significant gap between shirt sleeve. Bicep is about 11" or 28cm and my arm warmers are large. Perfect."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
dhb Women's Windslam Long Sleeve Jersey
The Windslam Jersey offers effective windchill defence and all the features you need whilst out on the bike, making it the perfect layer for cool, crisp Autumn/Winter road rides. Engineered to a streamlined profile.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Lovely product
Posted06 December 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I had hankered after this jersey for a while, really for the colour, but was waiting until it was on offer. I had read the other reviews about it coming up small and so went for a couple of sizes up. I have a black and white version in my usual size and although a bit of a squeeze is fine. The larger size was fine in the body but the arms were flapping not just in the bicep region but also the lower arm and wrist, with a feeling that the arm was going to travel upwards once on the bike with the wind blowing them up your arm. Overall, well made, a nice jacket but the fit was terrible. It was returned. The other Windslam jacket I have does the job of keeping out the wind at the front. The sleeves and back are not windproof. I was caught in a fairly long but not particularly heavy episode of rain and sleet and remained dry and warm. I did have a few layers on and would probably recommend this in temperatures of 8 and up to be comfortable and only if you are going to have to work a bit on the bike to keep warm."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Morro Short & Removeable Padded Liner
dhb Women's Morro Short & Removeable Padded Liner
A mid-level, baggy, performance short for trail and cross country riding or for the commuter who is looking for an alternative to Lycra cycling shorts. The dhb Morro Short is fitted with a removable padded liner short for added comfort in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice shorts
Posted06 December 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"...but not for me. They were very well made. They came up large; I am usually a 12 but could probably have got away with a 10. They did have adjusters for taking the waist in but ironically these were elasticated and therefore did not do the job. I did not like the material, which is very s-t-r-e-t-c-h-y but in a downward direction so any weight in the pockets would mean they start going south. The liner is a standard pair of lining shorts with generous padding. There is no information given about weight, but the combined shorts and liner would be more than a standard pair of lycra shorts and if you are looking for lightweight stuff for touring these would be fine if you had other shorts that accommodated a liner but I thought they were quite heavy. I was not able to test them out due to it being winter but with a large amount of elastane and nylon I am not sure that they would be particularly cool on long rides in warmer conditions. I do have a jacket in this sort of material and it shows everything in the pockets in outline and lumps and bumps."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Moon Comet Rear Light
Moon Comet Rear Light
The Comet rear features a 1 piece COB LED that generates 30 lumens of light. This innovative light delivers a type of light that is really visible. The rear light comes as standard with seat post and saddle rail bracket.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Blinder!!!
Posted02 December 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Wow this light is bright. Perfect for dense fog even I would say on the brightest setting. No driver could say they did not see you. I found it a bit hard getting it into the seat slung bracket at first but has got easier. On two occasions I have switched it off only tobfind hours later and found the battery flat and I am positive I have turned it off so not quite sure what was going on there. I do have several bike lights so it was not a problem just disappointing. The light has three brightness settings (not flashing) and three flashing modes andbvery easy to operate. Two fittings including one for your saddle rails well handy. Overall absolutely delighted with another great Moon light."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Casual Stretch Jacket
dhb Women's Casual Stretch Jacket
The dhb Women's Casual Stretch Jacket is an off-bike lightweight jacket, perfect to keep you warm pre and post race.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
New science...new fabric
Posted11 November 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I was not entirely sure that I liked the amount of s-t-r-e-t-c-h in this, it is very stretchy. However, I did like the look and style. Apparently this sort of gear is cutting edge for weatherproofing, well at least windproofing. I asked for a second opinion and got the thumbs up. I am not sure how fast you would dry off post exercise and have yet to try this out but I am sure that the material manufacturers have tested it and it does what they say it will. Good fit and comes up true to size. Does have lots of pockets to stash things. Perhaps one additional feature, and not many cycling jackets seem to have them, is thumb holes. I did buy this at sale price and it is an absolute bargain."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Women's Active Hi Viz Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
dhb Women's Active Hi Viz Long Sleeve Cycling Jersey
The dhb Active Long Sleeve Jersey has a relaxed fit, low key styling and moisture management features. Suitable for shorter distance leisure rides or commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Highly visible
Posted11 November 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I purchased this along with two short sleeved versions of the same for commuting. I can say that a couple of friends had no problem spotting me recently when we had arranged to meet for a bike ride. Very comfortable, lightweight, good fit, fit to size, good value, wash well and are colourfast. The only downside is that you do get a bit sweaty and they probably are not really suitable for a long, hard ride. However, I did dry off fairly rapidly once I had stopped. As an intro jersey absolutely fine, and for commuting short distances great as you cannot be missed in terms of being highly visible. If a high viz item of clothing can be classed as attractive then this and the tee version are, with nice contrasting zip."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 LifeLine Essential Cantilever Brake Pads - Threaded
LifeLine Essential Cantilever Brake Pads - Threaded
A set of four high quality brake pads for use with cantilever brakes. LifeLine Essential Cantilever brake pads are specially formulated to provide consistent and reliable stopping power on alloy rim.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted11 November 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have just fitted these to the front so cannot attest for longevity but they do the job perfectly of stopping me. No harsh abrasive sound or squealing when applied. Seem to be good quality. You know which way to fit them by the fact that they are longer on one side. I would buy again if for no other reason that they do the job well and come in packs of four at a very reasonable price."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Ladies Chevron Air Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Ladies Chevron Air Short Sleeve Jersey
Chevron Air is aimed at the rider who has the highest aspirations in cycling. The slim, performance form fit jersey with discreet mesh breather panels allows for ventilation and comfort so that you can focus on getting the most out of your ride
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely top
Posted11 November 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Good quality, lightweight top, cool, dries quickly. Great to have a full length zip, lovely design which is flattering and eye catching. Great body length. Fits to size and is very comfortable. I purchased the black and white version whilst in a sale. Marvellous. Worth every penny."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ortlieb Dry Bag - 7 Litres
Ortlieb Dry Bag - 7 Litres
A compact dry bag constructed from sturdy PU coated nylon fabric. It stores, protects and organizes your essential outdoor gear and clothing with a fully waterproof roll top closure. Perfect for trekking tours, cycling and camping.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Waterproof shot!
Posted11 November 2014
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I have an old pannier that still has a lot of life left in it and I am loathe to throw it out but all the waterproofing, which was a rubbery layer sprayed on inside, has come off. This was the ideal solution for it and will keep thing dry inside no matter what the weather chucks at me. I bought two colours to help differentiate between perhaps casual clothes and cycling clothes when packed away. Also it is easier to reduce these in size and pack things tightly away. Many panniers in my experience tend to gather water from road spray if you have covers and these are a vast improvement on lots of poly bags, which have holes in them in any case and will obviously last a lot, lot longer."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dunedin's Questions
 
 Signal Zip Waterproof Trousers
Signal Zip Waterproof Trousers
Competitively priced, full length zip-off trouser. Waterproof, breathable and Teflon coated polyester fabric. 2.5 layer construction creates a compact solution.
 

How long are these in the leg?

I have a 35.5" inside leg with a 32" waist, would these be long enough in a large? Why is it that clothing manufacturers who make trousers do not specify leg length for them?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Dunedin's Answers
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
 dhb Extreme Weather Neoprene Overshoe
dhb Extreme Weather Neoprene Overshoe
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Size for 44 Shimano wide fit road shoe

I have a suze 44 Shimano wide fit (R088) road shoe and according to the sizing chart I sit on the cusp of M and L. What size would you recommend in this case as there is no clear cut sizing choice.
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Go for the large. They are a tight fit and you will have a fight to get them on the first time, it does get easier I assure you but there is a knack which you will work out....but they are a tight fit.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 dhb Extreme Weather Neoprene Overshoe
dhb Extreme Weather Neoprene Overshoe
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

What is the recommended temperature range for this Overshoe!

I will like to know which will be the lowest temperature I can wear this overshoes please
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Depending on how cold your feet get...I only wear these in winter and in temperatures of less than 5 degrees C and only if I am going out for a long(er) ride.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 dhb Ladies Chevron Air Short Sleeve Jersey
dhb Ladies Chevron Air Short Sleeve Jersey
Chevron Air is aimed at the rider who has the highest aspirations in cycling. The slim, performance form fit jersey with discreet mesh breather panels allows for ventilation and comfort so that you can focus on getting the most out of your ride
 

How long is this jersey?

Can you tell me the measurement from shoulder to bottom hem, front and back? I'm long in the torso and have a hard time finding a long enough jersey.
Thank you
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
In old money 241/2 inches, and in new money 62 cm
1 week, 5 days ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
The X-POWER 330 front light emits up to 330 lumens of light output ideal for those dark rides to and from work. Also, the integarted Li-ion battery pack is fully rechargeable via mains or a USB connection.
 

How long for 1st charge

I opened my new Moon X300 light last night and set to charge for the 1st time. It's now been charging (directly from 240v mains for nearly 13hrs and I'm still getting the flashing blue light.

I thought it was meant to stay on constantly once fully charged and whilst `i expected a longer initial charge time, this is ridiculous.

Any ideas?
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Try unplugging it and testing if you have a light. If it does light up you could try it out and see how long it lasts. If it fails rapidly return as faulty. It is an usb charger and if you have other appliances that use the same type of fitting try one of them to see if it is the cable that is faulty. If all attempts fail...return. It is a really great light so worth exchanging if faulty.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
The X-POWER 330 front light emits up to 330 lumens of light output ideal for those dark rides to and from work. Also, the integarted Li-ion battery pack is fully rechargeable via mains or a USB connection.
 

Does this light swivel on its mount?

Am interested in mounting this upside down on my aerobars. It would need to swivel 90 degrees though on the mount to work. Does the mount on this product allow this? Or is it fixed
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Yes it does. It will rotate 360°.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
Moon X-Power 330 Rechargeable Front Light
The X-POWER 330 front light emits up to 330 lumens of light output ideal for those dark rides to and from work. Also, the integarted Li-ion battery pack is fully rechargeable via mains or a USB connection.
 

Can the handlebar mount fit an aero shaped flat handlebar like the Pinarello Most Talon integrated handlebar?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Might not fit the bars but should fit the integrated round bit if you have it fitted at the front. Does come with rubber inserts to fit different sized bars. Also has flange type of mechanism for tightening for different thickness of bars. The actual clasp is circular.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 

I am about 185cm tall and weigh in at about 65kg (so i'm thin). Is small the best fit?

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have 48 cm quadriceps and went for a large, which are a perfect fit. They are very long though, I am 183 cm tall, weigh 76 kg, and have a 90 cm inside leg and these are long enough for me. If you have a shorter inside leg perhaps a medium would be better for you.
7 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 

Size of Sportful gear

Sportful sizing

183x95kg with 44" chest, normally wear a xxl jersey, would a xxxl be best in sportful?

Also, what size leg warmers? have a 32" leg
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
I have 48 cm quadriceps and went for a large, which are a perfect fit. They are very long though, I am 183 cm tall and have a 90 cm inside leg and these are long enough for me. If you have a shorter inside leg perhaps a medium would be better for you.
7 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 

What need I measure size and weight 1.80mts 73 kg

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Tengo 48cm cuádriceps y me fui para un gran, que son un ajuste perfecto. Son muy largo sin embargo, estoy 183 cm de altura y tiene una pierna en el interior de 90 cm y son lo suficientemente largo para mí. Si usted tiene una pierna en el interior mucho más corto tal vez un medio sería mejor para usted.
7 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Sportful No-Rain Leg Warmers
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 

Estoi interesado en las perneras sportful no rain ! pero no se que talla escoger mi medida de quadriceps es 50 cm!

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
Tengo 48cm cuádriceps y me fui para un gran, que son un ajuste perfecto. Son muy largo sin embargo, estoy 183cm de altura y tener una pierna en el interior de 90 cm y son lo suficientemente largo para mí. Si usted tiene una pierna en el interior mucho más corto tal vez un medio sería mejor para usted.
7 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh