Dunedin
Top 100 Contributor
Share Dunedin's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Dunedin's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    54
  • Helpfulness Votes
    22
  • First Review
    13 May 2011
  • Last Review
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 April 2012
  • Last Question
    12 April 2012
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    13 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    24 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Dunedin's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
 
A helmet band is highly recommended as a safety aid as the band is positioned high above both bike and body, making it visible from all directions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High Viz addition
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I bought two of these for friends, who assure me that they fitted their helmets with little or no problem, and they were able to leave or refit their visors with little or no problem either. They both like them, and recommend them as an additional reflective feature to your cycling ensemble when cycling in the dark or low light evenings in winter. They intend to leave them on and not take them off so I cannot comment on how they would fare with being refitted after removal. I personally love the trouser bands that this company make, reversible, with green on one side and reflective on the other, for low light and night time riding respectively. They are not cheap but are good quality and last and last."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Water repellent leg warmers with a soft, flexible feel for protection and warmth in all cool weather conditions. The advanced NoRain Nanotech finish simply sheds water before it can soak in.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Handy and do the job
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"These are rather thicker than other leg warmers I have had and they do keep off the rain. The best thing about leg warmers is that if you get four seasons in the one day, you can take them off and put them back on easily to keep your legs warm or cool off as necessary. They also do not take up much room in your bag or pannier and are a god alternative to trousers."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Meet HeatGear® Sonic: UA’s newest and greatest baselayer innovation.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great sports top
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I bought this for my son who goes running and does circuit training He loves it. It is a good fit, looks good, keeps him warm whilst out. He is very pleased with it and would like more of the same."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
With 10% Urea - developed for those with more serious skin conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it says on the pot
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Prevents chafe, keeps you shorts from rubbing when you are hot and sweaty on the bike,making it a far more comfortable ride. Fairly odour free. It is recommended by dermatologists and those with skin conditions and it does the job, whether you are a cyclist or not, it would seem."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Performance baselayer with relaxed fit. This breathable and odour resistant garment is a staple part of the active sportspersons wardrobe.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great tee shirt style
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Great shirts these are, I have two of each colour, and they are just the ticket for a days on the bike or even touring. I wear one to spinning classes too and they are very comfortable. They are true to size and fit well. Would definitely buy again. They wash well, dry quickly, and would therefore be ideal for days away, and so far do not seem to smell sweaty after a few minutes on, which some synthetic materials do."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A versatile mid-weight base layer that excels in all conditions. A seamless, 3D construction provides a ultra-comfortable anatomic fit with total freedom of movement for high intensity sporting activities.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Lovely top
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Odlo clothing is great in my estimation. Love the feel and quality of the material. This top is so handy, packs small, wicks well and is very, very comfortable. Love it. The only downside is that this clothing line in fairly expensive but you get what you pay for."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Wet Ride excels over long distances and in the most extreme weather. It is a thicker, heavier bodied lubricant that is totally waterproof and is made using only premium synthetic oils and water repelling polymers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Far too claggy
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I'll stick to Finish Line thank you. This was far too thick, claggy, and actually really rather disgusting and difficult to clean off. It did, however, do what it was supposed to do keep the chain lubricated in the wet. It attracted and collected all the road detritus making it very dirty, and actually although I want a well lubricated chain I want it to be fairly clean and easy to clean so that I can, after cleaning the transmission parts, simply re-oil."
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfort addition
Posted15 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"I would recommend using this if you are intending to cover some distance on your bike, it just makes the whole experience more comfortable, no chafe, and therefore less painful. Prevents your shorts chafing when you are sweating and keeps the sweat off your skin by causing a barrier."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dust cap for the MTE range of pedals and the Sylvan range of pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great to know you can buy replacements...
Posted15 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"....and not have to replace the whole pedal. I bought two because I keep losing the left pedal dust cap, and sadly I have lost both of them. I am not entirely sure why it is only the left pedal, and will need to get some more, might add a touch of glue!! These keep the road muck out of your bearings and innards of your pedals, keeping them clean and rolling smoothly."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra fine merino base layer for effective insulation with a soft next-to-skin feel. The dhb Merino short sleeve is a warm, comfortable and versatile layering piece for cycling and aerobic activity in low temperatures.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fabulous
Posted15 February 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
True fit
Comes up large
Dunedin
fromEdinburgh
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
"Cracking tee-shirt style merino top. Lovely and soft, keeps you warm and cosy. Cannot recommend enough, bought two one fuschia and one charcoal when they were on special offer, great bargain and value for money. Natural fibre, superior performance, better - imho - than synthetic poly/nylon materials for wicking, keeping you warm. Why settle for less?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Dunedin's Questions
 
 Signal Zip Waterproof Trousers
Signal Zip Waterproof Trousers
Competitively priced, full length zip-off trouser. Waterproof, breathable and Teflon coated polyester fabric. 2.5 layer construction creates a compact solution.
 

How long are these in the leg?

I have a 35.5" inside leg with a 32" waist, would these be long enough in a large? Why is it that clothing manufacturers who make trousers do not specify leg length for them?
2 years ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Dunedin's Answers
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
With 10% Urea - developed for those with more serious skin conditions.
 

Is this the same as chamoix cream?

This supplier appears to have two similar products - is this the same thing with some added anti-septic, or for biking (non-medical) use would I be better off buying the chamoix cream?
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Yes it is a chamoix cream. It is for those with sensitive skin also.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

size: 6'1" 78kg 33" waist

Hi,

I'm 6'1" tall, 78kg and 33" waist 40' chest. What size should I get? Chest and waist says medium, but height says Large. I don't want a jacket that's too big on the chest, but I want one that's long enough.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
If you read the other reviews the jacket is thought to come up small according to others, so I would go with the large. You can always return it if you think it is too large.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Blackburn FLEA Front & Rear Light set. Blackburn's philosophy is all about the spirit of adventure, about getting out there. Your ability to do this shouldn't be limited buy heavy cumbersome lights. The FLEA lights are powerful, light & reliable.
 

visabiley of front lights

visibility of front lights
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Not a headlight to see your way along a dark road with no lighting, although I have not tried this tbh. The front light is very bright and highly visible, for built-up areas to aid you being seen. Although I suspect you may see more than I think because it is bright.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Blackburn FLEA Front & Rear Light set. Blackburn's philosophy is all about the spirit of adventure, about getting out there. Your ability to do this shouldn't be limited buy heavy cumbersome lights. The FLEA lights are powerful, light & reliable.
 

est-ce la version Flea 2.0 USB ?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Oui, c'est la meme.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Blackburn FLEA Front & Rear Light set. Blackburn's philosophy is all about the spirit of adventure, about getting out there. Your ability to do this shouldn't be limited buy heavy cumbersome lights. The FLEA lights are powerful, light & reliable.
 

visabiley of front lights

visibility of front lights
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Not a headlight for seeing your way along dark roads with no lighting, but for built-up areas, making you more visible. They are very bright for their size, and may be more effective than I think.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
 Ladies Merino Tights M_150
Ladies Merino Tights M_150
dhb Merino Tights M_150Ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin. Outstanding all round thermal management helps to keep you comfortable. Use them as a layering garment during exercise or a comfort product - apres sport!
 

Ladies Merino Tights M_150

Do you have other sizes besides size 16, it appears that this is the only size available online.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
You will have to wait until more stock comes in, which will probably be next winter. I would recommend them, and buy them early because they are good value.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
This ultra fine merino wool is comfortable and smooth next to the skin.
 

Fällt das dhb Merino M-190 Langarm-Funktionsshirt mit Reißverschluss für Damen etwas kleiner aus?

Ich trage normal Gr. S, bin 173 cm groß und habe die Maße 83 cm (Brust) - 67 cm (Taille) - 94 cm (Hüfte). Bin mir aufgrund der Größentabelle und der Kundenbewertungen nicht ganz sicher, welche Größe ich bestellen soll.
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
dhb Produkte haben auf der kleinen Seite irren und Ihre Größen würde vorschlagen, dass eine kleine (10) passen sollte, da es einige in das Gewebe in diesem Trikot geben. Das heißt vielleicht sollten Sie gehen bis one size zu einem Medium (12), da einige der Messungen zwischen den beiden sind. Ich hoffe, das hilft.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Heavyweight, neoprene, overshoe for deep Winter use. Tough TPU skin means rain won’t penetrate and thick neoprene gives the best level of insulation against the cold.
 

Sizing

i am an 8.5 road sohe. Would i better going for the small or medium fit in the extreme weather DHB overshoes.

Thanks
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
Neither...you would need a large in any case, 8.5 shoe size being 43 in european sizing.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
Developed by physios for NZ cycling, a must have - ingredients include Arnica, Hypericum and Calendula - provides fast and effective relief from sports injuries including strained muscles, joints and bruising.
 

Can you use this while pregnant?

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
All of the ingredients in themselves would not be a problem. Calendular is used extensively in body creams for pregnant women. Hypericum (St John's Wort) is an antidepressant and should be avoided in pregnancy but this is taking it orally, however, it can cause skin sensitivity, as can peppermint oil. Your body does all sorts of weird things during pregnancy and although you may not be allergic or sensitive to some things normally you might become so during pregnancy. I would say, if in doubt, don't use it. If you do use it, then washing you hands after application would probably be a good idea.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh
 
The introduction of the Ladies Gel Flow saddle marked the end of men's saddles 'adapted' to suit female requirments.
 

Is it waterproof?

I am planning on using this saddle on a triathlon bike so am worried the leather might get soggy when I am sitting in my wet tri-suit
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
It is leather and will absorb water. I would not recommend using it with a wet suit unless you purchase a waterproof cover or use a plastic bag to protect it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Dunedin
Edinburgh