KiwiPete2
Top 500 Contributor
Share KiwiPete2's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
KiwiPete2's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    29
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    07 June 2010
  • Last Review
    17 April 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    25 February 2011
  • Last Question
    25 February 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    15
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    02 May 2011
  • Last Answer
    19 April 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
KiwiPete2's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
Innovation often comes from places you‘d least expect. In order to make a lighter crankset, SRAM made it bigger. To add stiffness, they used less material.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compatability is fine
Posted17 April 2014
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Am running this with Ulegra 6700 group set (yeah, I know what The Rules say, but Shimano don't make a BB30 chainset). Works fine the Ultegra front mech. No issues shifting up or down :)"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight sleeveless base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not as meshy as it appears
Posted03 February 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been riding in Outwet mesh vests for a couple of years and thought I would try these for a change. While the mesh on the Outwets is like a fishing net (ie, full of holes), there arent really any holes in these vests. Instead, the weave skips a few lines every now and then to create less dense sections of weave. The result is a great looking, very light and reasonably well fitting vest (I bought Large but could probably get into Medium). The vests are great on cooler days and certainly stop the wind chill. They tend to get a little too warm on hot days, especially when climbing or really hitting the hammer. Will def buy some more."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The most noticeable new features are the carbon brake levers and the internal cable routing. reach adjustment and the changed pivot location of the brake lever allow even better control. Great ergonomices in all hand positions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted26 August 2013
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've been riding with different versions of Ultegra for longer than I can remember, but a crash saw off the left (rear) 6700 shifter on my latest bike. Thought long and hard about upgrading to Di2, but that will have to wait for my next bike....
For now, I'll stick with Ultegra. Comes nicely packaged with all inner and outer cables, ferrules and end caps. Cost less for a pair from Wiggle than the price of a single lever in New Zealand. My only gripe is that I wish Shimano would tweak the design so that broken parts can be replaced in the same way they can with Dura Ace or Campag."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A smooth, aerodynamic wheelset with balanced 35mm profile alloy rims, a two-to-one spoke pattern, oversize drive side flange and light alloy hubs. Racing Quattros are an excellent value all round training and sportive wheelset for road and tri use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Sweet wheels
Posted21 January 2013
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been riding on Fulcrum racing 5s for about 18 months, fancied something a little higher spec without breaking the bank. The Quattros are a nice compromise - good looking 35mm alloy areo rims. Not the lightest, but then nor am I. When they arrived, the wheels were well packaged. Fulcrum add some nice finishing touches like the red spoke nipples and individual wheel IDs. Overall, these look good and roll well. I like a loud clicking freewheel, but these were almost silent at first. Only ridden about 300km on these so far, but the rear is starting to develop a decent click so I guess the freewheel was well packed with grease. I'm a big unit (90kg) and had over 8,000km from my 5s before I needed to swap out the bearings. Fully expect these to do the same."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
 
 Q-Rings Aero (Outer 130mm BCD)
Q-Rings Aero (Outer 130mm BCD)
Rotor Q-Rings help overall endurance and performance by reducing the dead spots while riding. The oval shape allows for your legs to create a smoother and more effective pedaling stroke.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Monster mash
Posted16 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have been riding Q-rings on my roadie for six months or so and decided t o put them on my TT bike. Went for a 54 outer because there weren't any 53s in stock haha. First impressions were that it is a big unit. Might only be one tooth, but it looks HUGE compared to the 53 on my other bike. I kept the round 39 Shimano inner (me and Rotors and hills are not a good mix, whatever you might read). The Dura-Ace front mech rubs when the chain is on the inner chain ring at the front and the smaller three or four cogs on the back. Online forums says to insert a shim at the braze-on to adjust the angle of dangle, but honestly, I never ride that combo in a TT so it can stay as it is.
The main question though, is does this work? Well, I've been riding 23:44 in a weekly 16km TT series for four weeks. Thought that was going to be that. Put this on and smashed it in 23:11 :)"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib shorts with ‘Action 205’ and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics. Contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface ‘Giro Air’cycling pad.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted29 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great bibs, good design, nice finish, fab looking, really excellent value."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Q-Rings (Outer 130mm BCD)
Q-Rings (Outer 130mm BCD)
Rotor Q-Rings help overall endurance and performance by reducing the dead spots while riding. The oval shape allows for your legs to create a smoother and more effective pedaling stroke.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Strength builder
Posted25 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KiwiPete2
fromNZ
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have ridden on regular round chainrings forever, but put Q Rings on my roadie at the start of winter because I wanted to build up strength during the off-season. I fitted them myself without any dramas, although I had to adjust the front mech. Changing up and down between the inner and outer Q Rings didn't turn out to be as lumpy as I had read on other forums.
The Q Rings did take some getting used to (expect achy legs to start with) but after about 1000km they felt feel really good and my legs felt less tired.
I have now ridden the Q Rings for about 6 months. I compared my Garmin/Strava stats over the year on a section of a regular ride. i chose a mid-ride section with 8km of flat followed by a sharp 1.5m climb up to about 330m. Ok, not a terribly scientific test, but it did throw up some interesting results.
With the Q Rings fitted, my performance on the flat section improved: cadence dropped about 5rpm, heart rate dropped about 10bpm and average speed on that section over the year went from 31 to 35kmh.
The Q Rings feel harder to turn on the hill climb. My cadence on the hill section dropped about 10 rpm, heart rate stayed about the same and my average time on the climb went from 7:30 on round rings to 8:15 on Q Rings. That was with the inner Q Ring in Position 3 (as recommended) so I should probably try the inner ring on the other settings.
I recently swapped back to round rings for a flat 40km road race to see if I could notice any difference. I really felt the burn in my legs on the round rings and believe I would have more speed for less cadence with the Rotors.
Bottom line for me: I will definitely keep the big Q Ring on, not so sure about the inner ring for climbing."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Meteor II Time Trial Helmets
Meteor II Time Trial Helmets
Aerodynamics and impact absorption come together on the Bell Meteor time trial helmet. Proven in wind tunnel testing and in real world racing on the Pro Tour, the Meteor II is perfect for road time trials as well as triathlons.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Cost effective time saving
Posted17 November 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KiwiPete2
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As aaero helmets come, this one is basic, but it does the job. Easy enough to fit, snug over the ears, comfortable during the ride and the vents allow enough air in to prevent you melting.
Slight moan about the stickers on mine. The big BELL ones on the ear flaps were rippled, very poorly applied. I lifted one to peel it off and was surprised to see an irregular matt white unpainted patch instead of the gloss black finish I was expecting to find. Not sure why BELL would do that, but it means the stickers (as badly applied as they are) will have to stay.
You could spend a whole lot more than this on an areo helmet, but really, how much extra time would you save?"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Saris Cycle Glide Ceiling Mounted Cycle Rack
Saris Cycle Glide Ceiling Mounted Cycle Rack
Free up floor space in your garage or basement by installing this ceiling mounted cycle rack.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The envy of my friends
Posted16 February 2012
KiwiPete2
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this to free up my floor space. It comes with plenty of screws and fixings. You will need a drill (with a decent screwdriver bit) and a step ladder to fit this, but it is easy enough to fit (once you locate the ceiling studs) provided you read the instructions. Needs quite a big footprint on the ceiling, but you can slide the bikes to one end once they are loaded. This is high tech in a low tech way."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Cateye Strada Wireless Cycle Computer
Packed with functions but free from wires, the Strada Wireless epitomizes power and elegance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than my Edge 800
Posted16 February 2012
KiwiPete2
Country : New Zealand
Age : 35-44
Interest : Ironman
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Yup, I mean it, No moving parts, no software, no glitches, no rubbish after-sales support, no crazy erratic odo readings. This unit is nice and simple, reliable every time. Thumblock strap is dead easy to remove when I leave the bike parked up in town as well."
Pros: Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
KiwiPete2's Questions
 
The Eagle goggles have clear lenses that are interchangeable to suit your eye prescription.
 

Aquaspehere Eagles with tinted and clear lens

Are you still doing the Eagle with the tinted and clear lens sets? I can't find them in the product listings anymore.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
KiwiPete2
 
KiwiPete2's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Innovation often comes from places you‘d least expect. In order to make a lighter crankset, SRAM made it bigger. To add stiffness, they used less material.
 

What else will I need?

Does this come supplied with two crank arms? Currently have a standard Cannondale Synapse Tiagra. Will I need a new bottom bracket? Or does the one that came with the bike sufficient? What else will I need to change? Thanks for your time, bit of a newbie.

Rich
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Hope I can clarify this for the OP.
On bikes fitted with BB30, there is not a traditional bottom bracket. There are two bearing rings - one on each side of the frame. If these bearings are in good condition on your bike, you will not need anything else to fit this chainset. The axle spindle on this product is fixed to the non-drive side crank arm. Push it through the bearings and fix the drive side crank and chain ring. Simple.
BB30 bearings are easy to replace but you will need to bash or pull the old bearings out of the frame. I personally don't bother with ceramic bearings as the cost (for me) outweighs any benefit.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
Innovation often comes from places you‘d least expect. In order to make a lighter crankset, SRAM made it bigger. To add stiffness, they used less material.
 

Suitable for Cannondale and Shimano 105?

Will this crank be suitable for my 2012 Cannondale Supersix with a BB30 bottom bracket? Currently using a FSA Gossamer Pro compact crank. 50/34. Straight swap?

Is it compatible with a Shimano 105 front mech and Shimano 105 shifters?

Does the crank come with a bottom bracket?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I put the same chainset on my 2012 SuperSix without any dramas. BB30 is BB30. The non-drive crank arm is fixed to the axle on this, whereas I think the drive-side crank arm is fixed to the axle on the FSAs. Doesnt cause any issues, but there is a micro-adjuster on the non-drive side to take up the slack in place of the wavy washer.

These rings work just fine with Ultegra levers and front mech. I don't see why 105 wouldnt work, despite what SRAM would have you believe.....
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
A smooth, aerodynamic wheelset with balanced 35mm profile alloy rims, a two-to-one spoke pattern, oversize drive side flange and light alloy hubs. Racing Quattros are an excellent value all round training and sportive wheelset for road and tri use.
 

Can these be used with disc brakes?

Im looking for new wheels to go with disc brakes. Are these compatible? Would I need to buy a dis hub for them? Thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Not designed for disc brakes. You would have to rehub them, but why would you bother? Would be cheaper to buy disc brake-ready wheels surely?
1 year ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
The most noticeable new features are the carbon brake levers and the internal cable routing. reach adjustment and the changed pivot location of the brake lever allow even better control. Great ergonomices in all hand positions.
 

One of the reviews mentions that cables and housings were included - is this still the case?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Supplied with all inner and outer cables in August 2013
1 year ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
The most noticeable new features are the carbon brake levers and the internal cable routing. reach adjustment and the changed pivot location of the brake lever allow even better control. Great ergonomices in all hand positions.
 

Will these work with an FSA Chianset if using Shimano Mechs??

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
1 year ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
A smooth, aerodynamic wheelset with balanced 35mm profile alloy rims, a two-to-one spoke pattern, oversize drive side flange and light alloy hubs. Racing Quattros are an excellent value all round training and sportive wheelset for road and tri use.
 

will these 11 speed wheels fit a 10 speed shimano cassette?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. The rear wheel is supplied with a spacer that allows a 10 speed cassette to fit. I'm guessing that Shimano will start to introduce the 11 speed hub as standard from here on. .
1 year, 7 months ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
 Q-Rings (Outer 130mm BCD)
Q-Rings (Outer 130mm BCD)
Rotor Q-Rings help overall endurance and performance by reducing the dead spots while riding. The oval shape allows for your legs to create a smoother and more effective pedaling stroke.
 

Will the Rotor Q-Ring (Outer 130mm BCD) 52 or 54 Tooth fit the Shimano Dura-Ace 7900 / Ultegra 6700 standard chainset ?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes. 42, 53 and 54 outers are all BCD130. Compacts are BCD110. I put 130s on to SRAM Black cranks, then swapped them to my other bike which has Ultegra cranks. No problems with either.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
KiwiPete2
NZ
 
 Cycle Glide 2 Bike Add-On Kit
Cycle Glide 2 Bike Add-On Kit
This 2-Bike Add-On Kit for Saris Cycle Glide increases bike storage capacity of 4-Bike Cycle Glide rack to accommodate 6 bikes.
 

Saris Cycle Glide 2 Bike Add-On Kit

I recently brought the Saris Cycle Glide Ceiling Mounted Cycle Rack which I have fitted but I now need the add on kit above , do theses just fit on the exsisting guide rails

Cheers
Paul
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, just unscrew the end caps on one end of the ceiling rails, slide the rollers in and refit the end caps. All screws and new caps provided in this kit. Took me about 5 minutes.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
KiwiPete2
 
The 90-degree bend in CamelBak's Ergo HydroLock puts the Big Bite Valve into an ergonomic position for drinking. With a simple flip, the on/off mechanism can be activated or shut off to turn off water flow for transport.
 

Big Bite Valve included?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, it comes exactly as shown in the picture
2 years, 6 months ago
by
KiwiPete2
 
The Zoggs Cottesloe Hip Racer features a solid allover colour print. Manufactured from resistant, yet flexible Aqualast fabric.
 

do they have a waist drawstring

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes
2 years, 6 months ago
by
KiwiPete2