Scarbro
Top 500 Contributor
Share Scarbro's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Scarbro's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    28
  • Helpfulness Votes
    15
  • First Review
    11 July 2010
  • Last Review
    04 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review Comment
    21 July 2013
  • Last Review Comment
    21 July 2013
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    27 April 2011
  • Last Question
    27 April 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    9
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    11 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    21 July 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Scarbro's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 Cadence Road Stem
Cadence Road Stem
The Cadence stem is designed specifically for road riders looking for a lightweight performance stem at a reasonable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bargin at this price
Posted04 October 2013
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great price for this item. Purchased for a roadie that I am building for my son, and it looks great. Seems light enough but a good solid feel. Graphics are good quality. Bolts and fittings are quality."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Designed primarily for comfort, this short prevents fatigue on the longer rides. it's 8 panel anatomic fit and soft touch waistband add to this effect, while great features like Action 210 gram microdenier powerlycra add abrasion resistance.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
The WORST ladies cycle shorts ever!
Posted06 March 2013
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Reviewed by my wife: These Principessa shorts are utterly unwearable, resulting in the most painful ride of my life. Basically, the thinner top layer of the chamois is separate from the padded bottom layer. Not to mince words: the top layer bunches up into your 'v' *This site won't let me write the correct anatomical word*. When you are riding, you cannot pull the material down from the outside of the shorts because all you're pulling on is the separate bottom layer of padding. (Even if you could pull it down, that's no way to ride a bike!!!) In case you're thinking the shorts may have been too big, on the contrary, they were a very snug fit. I own many brands, including other Castelli models, and these are the only shorts where the entire chamois is not securely laminated into a whole. I bought the Principessa shorts because they were portrayed as having a superior pad for longer rides - for me that would be rides over 100km. Thank god I only did a 40km ride the day I wore them! Castelli say they are 'made for women by women'. I say only a flat plastic Barbie doll could ride in these. Just dreadful."
Pros: wide elastic grip band on legs
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit, excruciatingly uncomfortable, badly designed chamois
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
 
 Computer Mount for Garmin Edge
Computer Mount for Garmin Edge
A precision-made secure and adjustable mount for your Garmin Edge which positions the Garmin computer display below the top of the handlebars, centred and in-front of the stem, giving the user an improved ergonomic view and being more air resistant.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Works well but over priced
Posted20 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Works very well. Saves the neck by allowing a better heads up view of the Garmin. The Garmin (800 in my case) fits more snugly then in the Garmin supplied stem mount. The mount is robust and fits my carbon Zipp bars very well. Would give it 5 out of 5 but for the over inflated price."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics, contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface Giro Air chamois.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great fit with a high quality fit.
Posted31 August 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great pad, very suprising!
Just thing thing for long distance rides.
You really can not go wrong."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Third Hand Cable Puller
Third Hand Cable Puller
Lifeline have brought us this cable puller to ease the stress of pulling cables through
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Does not do the job.
Posted31 August 2012
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Sounds like a good idea, however it does not work and will unfortunately strip your cables just when you thought you were in control.
Waste of money and will cost you extra for replacement cables that it will destroy."
Cons: Unadjustable, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium bib short at a brilliant price with a top-level Tour Air CyTech Elastic Interface chamois and moisture management Field Sensor fabric for serious sessions in the saddle.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted15 March 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are better then they look. Sizing is to the chart. At 180cm and 83kgs I fit nicely into a medium. Makes a change from the Italian sizing saga. The pad is probably the best part. Not overly bulky but at the same time very well constructed and firm in the right places. Pad coverage all round is excellent, it is also nicely supported by the surrounding fabric. It would be great to see a colour variation as an excuse to buy another pair."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light and reliable
Posted08 June 2011
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"On the road these patches are the best. Very easy to apply ... if you also flat in your spare and need a fix. Sure the glue on patches may be more durable, but you probably will have problems applying them in the field. These 'glue ons' take up no room in the saddle bag and will definately get you home."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
TL-AU100 BS LED Rear Light
Wide angle lens ensures excellent integral British Standard reflector. Constant or flashing modes. Batteries included.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice and bright
Posted08 June 2011
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Nice and bright and viewable from the side. Purchased this for my Son who now has a job in his 'gap' year, cycling to work in the early morning he really stands out. This light under the seat and a smaller 'frog' hanging off his backpack. All flashing, you can't miss him. May be a little expensive but only time will tell if it goes the distance. Has been through a couple of downpours and still working on the first set of batteries, almost a month now."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Steel Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
Steel Floor Drive Track Pump 2011
Steel foot, barrel and piston with varnished wood handle, 47”/120cm extra-long, premium-grade hose, Nylon Flip-Thread Chuck threads securely to both Presta and Schrader valves, Long travel piston with reduced barrel diameter lowers pumping effort, Oversized, water resistant, 2.5” diameter gauge asse...
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pump
Posted07 June 2011
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Had an existing floor pump with a rather inaccurate gauge. This Lezyne floor pump was a revelation. Smooth action and a very accurate gauge makes pumping the tyres a breeze. I now am able to set tyre pressures within a few PSI, varying pressure for different road surfaces. Pump is very well made and should last for many years. Highly recommended."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very useful
Posted29 April 2011
Scarbro
fromWest Coast
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very good product and will probably fit most bikes. Very useful for long rides when you want to have some comfort items close at hand ie... lip sunscreen, tissues, gels and cookies, mobile phone. Also useful for touring if you want to have a camera ready at hand. I cut out the internal padding as it seemed overkill and was taking up space. Have not had to use the rain hood as yet, but would like to see the inclusion of a small velcro tab to secure it."
Pros: Durable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Scarbro's Questions
 
 TourRide City MTB Tyre
TourRide City MTB Tyre
The TourRide offers everything a real all-round tyre needs.
 

Is this a folding type tyre?

3 years, 5 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
Scarbro's Answers
 
 Red Wind 50 XLR (CULT) Clincher Wheelset 2012
Red Wind 50 XLR (CULT) Clincher Wheelset 2012
These wheels use aerodynamic carbon fibre 50mm profile rims with an aluminium braking surface. This provides optimised performance in all weather conditions so no need of specific pads.
 

CULT v USB What Is The Difference?

I've been reading on the Fulcrum site about CULT and USB bearings but I really can't see much difference. Can anyone explain in simple terms please?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The CULT and USB versions are fairly well identical. They both have the same hubs, spokes, rims, quick release etc., and the exact same main ceramic bearing sets in a bearing race. The only difference is that with the CULT version, the ceramic bearing set also runs on a outer ceramic race bearing, whilst the USB runs on a steel race.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 Water Bottle Cage
Water Bottle Cage
Lightweight alloy cage with superior bottle retention.
 

Is the blue exactly the same as pictured?

I bought a similar Raleigh bottle cage from Wiggle about a year ago and it was navy blue. Is the one you're selling now navy blue or the lighter (brighter) blue as pictured? Thanks!
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Not as dark as Navy Blue, closer to Royal Blue! It is a little darker then the photo.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I add Zero to my sports drink (usually Torq)? Will doing this help to reduce cramp?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Just add it to your water, and for me it definately does reduce cramps. Have your carbs in the other bottle.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 ladies Irresistible Cycling Shorts
ladies Irresistible Cycling Shorts
The Irresistible shorts from Castelli are an excellent example of style, comfort and versatility.
 

Do these shorts have leg grippers?

I note from the customer reviews that the 2009 shorts did not have leg grippers. Does the 2010 model?

thanks
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I bought these for my wife at the end of 2010 and they did not have leg grippers. She prefers gripper-free.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
Cyclus tools are used by professional mechanics and good bike shops the world over.
 

cyclus drop out alignment tool. the picture shows th tool beeing used against the the seat tube rather than the rear wheel rim,

as it seems as though there are no instructions with the tool, is this how this particular tool is used or does it use the rear wheel rim like the park tool version?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It works just like the Park tool, off the rear wheel. There is a small 2.5mm hex bolt to take the slack out of the axle, it is easily missed without the instructions.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 V3 Triple Wireless Cycle Computer
V3 Triple Wireless Cycle Computer
Redefining elegance and power. The latest 2.4GHz digital data transmission virtually eliminates interference and cross-talk, while the large screen simultaneously displays speed, cadence, heart rate and time information.
 

Cateye V3 Triple Wireless Cycle Computer

Is there Japanese explanation to a manual?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the manual is in English, French, German, Japanese, Dutch, Spanish and Italian!
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 Merston Padded Bib Tights
Merston Padded Bib Tights
The Merston range - breathable and affordable - the ideal choice for riding in cooler conditions
 

6'2" tall, 34" waist, 34" inside leg - which size?

I find many other cycle clothing products are far too short in the leg. I'm keen to avoid this with bib tights, which I haven't purchased before.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
These are fairly 'long' in the leg. I don't think you will have any problem with the large size.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 Ladies Sleek Splice Powerback SS10
Ladies Sleek Splice Powerback SS10
Composition: 50% PL 50% PBT PL, Features: Logo panel contrast splice, style replaces Frame suit, 100& chlorine resistant, medium leg.
 

Does this swimsuit have bust support?

It would help if the information about whether a swimsuit has added bust support or not was added to all the descriptions. I keep having to ask and then waiting for the information to be added before I buy.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It has not bust support. It has no linning so be careful with this product:)
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast
 
 V3 Triple Wireless Cycle Computer
V3 Triple Wireless Cycle Computer
Redefining elegance and power. The latest 2.4GHz digital data transmission virtually eliminates interference and cross-talk, while the large screen simultaneously displays speed, cadence, heart rate and time information.
 

Does the Cateye V3 Computer bring the heart rate sensor if not wich one do I need to buy?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes the unit comes complete, ie: computer, cadence/speed sensor and heart rate strap monitor. Also all attachments. Suggest you also get electrode cream.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Scarbro
West Coast