Mikey123
Top 250 Contributor
Share Mikey123's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mikey123's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    38
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    11 June 2010
  • Last Review
    19 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    06 April 2011
  • Last Question
    06 April 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    12
  • First Answer
    11 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
Mikey123's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Koolstops New Campy Super Record 2011 replacement insert pad is designed to fit the New Campy Skeleton brake holders and also retrofits Campy holders made in the year 2000 to date.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great stopping power wet or dry
Posted19 September 2014
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have used the Salmon brake pads installed in my Campagnolo brakes. Stopping power in the wet far exceeds that of the standard Campag pads."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 1080v4 offers an luxurious ride with the deluxe fit of a FantomFit upper. Add the stability of T-Beam and an asymmetrical heel counter along with the N2 in the heel and N2 Burst in the forefoot for exceptional response with each toe off.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great comfort without too much padding
Posted19 September 2014
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you like to feel in touch with the ground you're running on then this shoe could be for you. I don't like over cushioned shoes where you feel your running on a mattress.
There is plenty of room in the toe box so no bruising. The remainder of the shoe has plenty of flexibility allowing a quick shoe change in transition.
This is my 3rd pair of 1080 shoes and they've all been great.
Made in the UK as an extra bonus."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Meet your new training partner, the TomTom Multi-Sport GPS Watch built with the Multi-Sport athlete in mind, light weight and with a tough, clear, easy to read screen. One touch button control, vibration alerts and a 10 hour battery life.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
A great yet flawed product
Posted19 September 2014
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I picked this TomTom to replace an old Forerunner 305. I chose this model because it had a separate heart rate strap making it useful when mounted to my bike.
Display is bright and easily readable and isn't compromised when viewing through polarised cycling glasses. However this is at the expense of viewing multiple values simultaneously. You have to scroll through the screens to see distance/time/pace etc. as the two permanently displayed values on the top row are too small to read at a glance.
Unlike Garmin it doesn't have a smart recording mode and instead logs a data point every few seconds. The trace files generated have 10x the data compared with Garmin. This gives huge accuracy you might not require and large files to manage. I often have to run them through GPSbabel to reduce redundant track points.
On the positive side, tracks can be downloaded to your computer and you don't have to do everything online. I want to maintain my data locally in SportsTracks and TCX file exchange works okay.
The watch is permanently on and GPS lock can usually be acquired within 5 seconds. On one occasion it wouldn't lock onto GPS even after 5 minutes. The only way to 'reset' the watch is to momentarily attach it to your computer after which it reboots. Not good if your miles from home."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Single spoke version which fits all cateye computers including cordless.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just works as described
Posted29 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Great to have a magnet on each wheel you own. This is the same as you'd get with a new Cateye so you might have a spare already."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Pool-Mate is the only fully automatic lap and stroke counter for swimmers. It will work with all major strokes, all abilities of swimmer and all sizes of pool over 15m.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Expensive gadget that doesn't always count lengths
Posted29 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not much more than an expensive sports stop-watch as I cannot rely on it to count lengths. It will often under count by 1-2 lengths and I end up having to count in my head as before.
I have read the FAQs and it gives advice on having a longer push-off on each turn to ensure it sees the turn. That's fine until you're tired and your stroke is suffering."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Better than the original strap
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The enhanced strap where you can remove the monitor is better than the old rubber strap and feels more comfortable.
The battery life is claimed to be 4+ years in normal use, but mine had a flat battery upon delivery. Hardly an auspicious start changing the battery before you start."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 DeFeet Woolie Boolie 2 Socks - 4 Inch Cuff
DeFeet Woolie Boolie 2 Socks - 4 Inch Cuff
The Highly Acclaimed Defeet Woolie Boolie sock has been upgraded to the Woolie Boolie 2 for a new level of warmth and comfort. A padded terry loop cuff and sole have been added along with arch compression for greater stability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm and very strong
Posted24 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been a fan of DeFeet products for several years as they're well made and virtually indestructible. The wool in these socks is sourced responsibly so your conscience is eased too.
I have worn these all winter and my feet have stayed pleasantly warm with just a thin over-shoe for rain protection."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Trace and TraceR are super bright USB rechargeable front and rear lights. New to the range its compact design, high power and ultra reliability make this a winning product.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Bee seen as well light the road
Posted14 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Wanted some small lights to clip onto my road bike now the sun is getting lower. Even in daylight you can hide in the shadows without lights.
These are bright and the lens design spreads the light in all directions to ensure you are seen. The bracket to hold the rear light incorporates a kick to angle the light parallel to the road.
Battery life is slightly shortened by cold weather, after 2 hours at 5C the battery charge level was Red. Still going, but for how much longer?
Charging a little fiddly because of the size of the plug.
Otherwise an excellent purchase that exudes quality."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cheaper than new cleats
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"If you know you have a long walk to register at an event then great, these do the job at protecting your cleats from road wear.
Doubt I'll carry them just in case I have a long walk home one day, so of limited use."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Sanremo 2.0 Short Sleeve Speed Suit
Castelli Sanremo 2.0 Short Sleeve Speed Suit
The Sanremo 2.0 Speedsuit integrates the lower portion of Body Paint bibshorts with an Aero Race top for supreme aerodynamic performance a total comfort. Featuring a full zip and an un-stitched front waist for skinsuit advantages with added practicality.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Feel like a professional
Posted18 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mikey123
fromNorthumberland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Not sure how much is psychological, but wearing this outfit makes you try harder.
Wore this on a recent Sportive and had no issues with comfort and it felt part of me. Zip is excellent and can easily be used one-handed if you need more cooling on long climbs.
Like all Castelli the fit is snug, but you wouldn't buy this for that loose baggy look."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Mikey123's Questions
 
 Willin SL 2010 Ltd
Willin SL 2010 Ltd
The horizontal tube is a bit longer and guarantees greater aero dynamicity to the athlete. Now Willin SL is available in the new size XS so that female athletes too can race at the highest levels. A new Willin? Super is born: it will be painted Bianca and Carbo and will be equipped with the lighter Straight Tusk fork.
 

Sizing again

What size would you recommend for a 5'10" rider, 33" inseam, slightly less upper body flexibility than some?

Thanks, Mike.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
Mikey123's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Meet your new training partner, the TomTom Multi-Sport GPS Watch built with the Multi-Sport athlete in mind, light weight and with a tough, clear, easy to read screen. One touch button control, vibration alerts and a 10 hour battery life.
 

Runkeeper

Does this sync with Runkeeper, either manually (gpx or tcx upload) or automatically?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
It can certainly produce TCX files which you can do what you like with.

There is an option on the download software to automatically upload to Runkeeper but I've not tried that.
1 month ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
The original DuPont Teflon based lubricant made specifically for use on bicycles. Teflon is used to reduce the coefficient of friction and reduce mechanical wear, and is suspended in a solvent carrier.
 

How much do I apply and how often?? What is best way to apply as well??

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A small drip direct on each chain link is my level of application. If you squeeze the bottle too hard you can always wipe off excess.

This is a thin lubricant, so a little too much will get spun off first time you ride.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
Garmin ANT+ Sport Heart rate monitor chest strap for Forenunner 50 and 405.
 

Is this compatible with a forerunner 220?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
According to Garmin it should be:

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/shop-by-accessories/fitness-sensors/soft-strap-premium-heart-rate-monitor/prod15490.html
7 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
Train more effectively with the Garmin premium heart rate monitor strap. When worn around your chest during an activity, it wirelessly transmits your heart rate to your compatible device for instant feedback on how hard you’re working.
 

Is this compatible with my forerunner 305?

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes I have a Forerunner 305.

Check: https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/shop-by-accessories/fitness-sensors/soft-strap-premium-heart-rate-monitor/prod15490.html
7 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
The Kéo Covers protect your cleats and improve walking in cleated shoes. They are compatible with all Kéo cleats.
 

Do these fit the LOOK KEO Easy Pedals Cromo Axle w/ KEO Cleat

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They should fit, as a Keo cleat is the same irrespective of what pedal you use.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
 Castelli Fuga Short Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Fuga Short Sleeve Jersey
A performance Summer Jersey with a focus on fit and comfort. The Fuga offers an escape from racing specific apparel for when you just want get out and enjoy the roads.
 

should be Large or Medium?

I am 178 cm (5ft10inch) and 73kg (161lb) and 38inch chest size.
Looking at sizing sheet I see my size is Med, but reading reviews for Castelli most of them are saying Castelli goes smaller side.

Should I go to Med or Large?
Please let me know.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Your similar size to me and I went for a medium.

This is designed to be a snug fit top that reduces drag. If you prefer loose clothing then go large or find something else.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

Do these tablets contain artificial sweeteners ?

I don't like artificial sweeteners, they are not good for you.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Looking at a tube of Orange flavour Nuun, I can confirm they have Sorbitol in them.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 

What means folding tyre?

Hi! I'm interested in buying these tyres, but I don't understand the difference between folding tyre and "not folding"- tyre? Is there any difference, or is "folding" the same as the standard TriComp, and simply means that you can "fold it" together?

Same as on the picture?
User submitted photo
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A non folding tyre holds its shape when not on a rim, usually has a metal bead in the tyre.

Folding just means it comes folded in a packet - usually has something like a kevlar bead. Slightly harder to fit first time around until it takes shape.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

Do these fizz

Do these fizz like High5 Zero's do?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
They do fizz. Nuun were early to market and High5 zero appears to be very similar.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland
 
 Giro D Italia Fashion Jersey - 2013
Giro D Italia Fashion Jersey - 2013
A Short Sleeve road cycling jersey with 3 rear pockets and a race cut for optimum performance. Featuring the Giro D'Italia 2013 logo.
 

no size fit shown ? would medium be 38/40 inch chest ?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Santini sizing is odd.

I don't have this jersey but have others from Santini. The E2 cut is more relaxed than E1 but I'd still recommend XL for a 38" chest unless you like it too tight.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Mikey123
Northumberland