Mavericksghost
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Mavericksghost's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Mavericksghost's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    23 July 2010
  • Last Review
    03 February 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    19 January 2013
  • Last Question
    16 February 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    9
  • First Answer
    23 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    25 November 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Mavericksghost's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Try this for a mixture
Posted03 February 2013
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Cheap as possible
"If you can get it without breaking the bank try mixing these tablets in with a US product called Beyond Tangy Tangerine. BTT in my opinion has a distinctly "rusty" taste, but add a zero berry tablet or two and it's fantastic! I personally took 3 minutes off of my 10 mile time trial time and I put it down to this combo...
I can't stand the taste of just water, unless I'm really dying for a drink, but pop a tablet or two of zero in and it makes it drinkable. So even on their own these tablets are great, I've tried all 4 flavours on offer and I've got to admit I don't think that much of the citrus and grapefruit in terms of taste, my favourite is definitely berry.
Whatever zero do, keep doing it!
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Zaffiro is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Zaffiro Clincher Tyres
Posted25 November 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My primary reason for trying these tyres was cost. I'd been previously riding Continental Gatorshells which are excellent, not had moments problem with them and have only had 1 puncture with them; the puncture though was bad enough that it tore an inch long hole in the sidewall. Well compare Continental gatorshells at £35 to these Zaffiros at £8. I almost though is that a misprint. But I got a pair of Zaffiros and have been very happy with them. I've picked up a couple of punctures recently because they are starting to wear but otherwise they are an excellent tyre, especially for the price."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Moving to and from the bike is part of the ride. Cleatskins Grips provide increased traction, comfort, and ease of movement without heel-walking. It is a perfect cleat protector for you, your shoes and the surface you walk on.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Cleatskin SPD-SL Cleat Covers
Posted07 June 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"When I first saw these cleat covers on Wiggle I was a little dubious. They looked thin and therefore capable of wearing very quickly. Since nowhere else that I tried seemed to have cleat covers for the Shimano SPD-SL cleats in stock I was left with these or nothing.
However having purchased 2 pairs, in view of how thin I thought they looked, I can say I am pleasantly surprised.
The covers fit tightly and neatly over the cleats protecting them from road surface damage wonderfully. And for inside use on polished floors they are a godsend. And with an eye on the thinness they are infact very robust, I've been using them for a little over a week.
All-in-all and excellent product and an excellent buy I would gladly recommend these to anyone considering getting cleat covers.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This water-resistant accessory includes a portable solar charger unit with a lightweight mount, solar panel and connectors. Charge your device whilst on the go.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Garmin External Pack
Posted30 May 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this with and Garmin Edge 800 and it has proved an excellent addition. It might sound a little strange but with the approach of summer I've "strapped" the solar panel to the top of my cycling helmet while the battery pack is strapped to the back of the helmet. That's not to say it doesn't charge without direct sunlight, on even dull days the panel is capable of charging the battery, sunny bright days just have more of an effect.
The battery itself plugs in easily into the base port of the Edge 800, being a mini usb connector. I also use it to keep my mobile phone charged up, though that can take a full battery charge to achieve about 80% on the phone. One long press of the button on the battery turns it on which will charge the device until full at which time the battery switches off. However with 2 short presses while on the battery remains on and thus powers the device. Very convenient for very long rides or extended use.
The only drawback to me is the rubber waterproof cover for the battery, you have to pull and manipulate it to get the battery to sit in it properly; still usable but not a case of pop it in and go! Add to that that once in the cover the charging port for the battery is covered this leaves leaving the battery in the rubber case as not viable.
Otherwise a wonderful addition to the Garmin Edge extending the battery life to approx 35 hours (15 on the edge and 20 on this pack) with solar charging incredibly easy to do."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, ecologically sound
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Crud Roadracer mk2
Posted21 May 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I purchased these because I was tired of using the MTB mudguards I had. The MTBs kept the water away most of the time but left my jersey tail damp from road spray and the fact that the seatpost rearguard "bounced" on rough surfaces.
These crud mudguards are easy to put together, though the plastic screws and "nuts" can be fiddly. You also have to do things in the right order or they are difficult to fit properly.
Otherwise though a good purchase, I've taken to riding time trials recently and having these guards made little or no difference to my time. I was a little worried they might break loose at speed but so far I've had the bike up to 33 or 35 mph and they've stayed rock solid! Adjustment has been my only real gripe, they seem to rub where the guard passes through the fork at the brake caliper, but then the clearance isn't amazing there anyway. The rubbing is also only slight. They certainly have a better covereage of the wheel than the MTB guards I was using and I don't get road spray coating my shoes on a turn now!
All-in-all a good guard set and the extra bit that protects the chain from spray is just right.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Jersey Bin Waterproof Pocket
Jersey Bin Waterproof Pocket
The dhb Jersey Bin is a re-sealable, lightweight, waterproof cycling accessory. The ideal solution for storing and securing electronics and small items in your jersey pockets. They will stay safe and sound from rain or perspiration.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
dnb Jersey Bin
Posted21 May 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These clear plastic pouches are cheap and frankly feel it. The plastic feel durable enough to withstand some punishment but the overall feel is a cheap throwaway object.
I will say they've done what they're supposed to so far with wet weather, objects do keep dry but the zip lock system has been a bit tempremental, mine don't appear to seal properly 1st time. Also the one object I would really like to use with it and really want to keep dry, doesn't actually fit into it, that's my Blackberry 9000.
They seem to work well for bank notes, as a plastic wallet, they will fit a £20 just right! The pouches though are larger length wise than a jersey's pocket has depth, thus leaving a part above the rim of the pocket, might as well advertise to pickpockets! Whilst they have to be "folded" to fit in horizontally, the folding then messes up the zip lock. Therefore carrying them in a backpack is the only really viable option I've found, which sort of defeats the aim of them being usable in a jersey.
All-in-all not a very positive impression I'm afraid but I suppose I got what I paid for.
"
Pros: Durable
Cons: Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
dhb Balaclava
Posted11 February 2012
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"An excellent product for cold weather. The big drawback to serious cold is the fact that your face has to be uncovered. This balaclava covers most of the protruding area and breathing through it does help to warm things up. I think personally I would prefer something to cover my nose as well as mouth and chin and this is the only drawback I would offer with this balaclava, try to cover your nose and it will slip back down to resemble the model head. I've also got a dhb skull cap and can happily wear both under my helmet without straining the chin strap.
For what it is designed though, to keep out the cold, it does exactly what you expect of it. Given the recent snow and ice I have really needed it, -8 degrees is no joke to try and ride through; with this balaclava on though I can't say I felt it!
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Anodised Alloy end cover and nut with Cr-Mo threaded rod using an Allen type Hex key fitting
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Security skewers
Posted11 February 2012
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought 2 sets of these skewers for the 2 bikes I have. They were very easy to fit and setup, once sprayed with lithium grease, the instructions are easy to follow and make a point of warning you that tightening the front skewer is important. After all if that front skewer drops out the front wheel will disconnect and pitch the rider onto the road.
In terms of security I don't know if I would say they are that secure but I think they would extend the amount of time reqd to steal the wheel. I admit they remove the QR skewer which is a plus forcing the potential thief to carry a hex key to undo the skewer, but this hex key is a standard size so any cheap bike tool is carrying a suitable key. I work as an IT technician and know that security hex keys exist where the barrel of the key is hollow while the hex recess in the skewer head has a pin in the middle of it preventing the use of a normal hex key.
The tail cap has a 'tongue' that sits in the dropout, so properly in place the use of mole grips wouldn't work as the cap is prevented from turning.
I had 2 sets of the red skwers and they look good on both bikes. In my cases the skewers are the perfect length so didn't require any shortening but where the skewer is too long they need to be cut to prevent a protruding end.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These lights are designed for road bikes with drop bars only. The lights are placed at the end of the handlebars and replaces the Bar Ends. The Lumos light simply slot into the bar including the housing and battery.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tacx drop handlebar lights
Posted11 February 2012
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"They are good lights reliable, easy to fit and very convenient to use.
The turning signals mean removing a hand from the handlebar to operate the button which can be tricky with winter gloves on, the button is little more than a depression in the case.
I wouldn't say that these lights are 'to see by' unless you are in pitch dark and have no other light source. They appear better for twilight than night. As a light 'to be seen by' however they fulfil that role perfectly.
Combining red rear light, white front light and orange turning signal is ingenious and does mean that bar space can be freed for a twilight ride. Night time though I don't feel they have the output reqd, but with a single 1.5V AA battery as the power source I'm not expecting 100s of lumens.
On one note, with the recent weather, I have destroyed one light, when the bike hit a patch of black ice; I was lucky that this was the only ill effect.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Token TK9741-2 Aero Clip On Bars and Pads
Posted25 January 2012
Mavericksghost
fromAshford, Kent
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I honestly bought these bars because they were the cheapest option. But they are really good.
Easy to fit, easy to adjust, reasonable comfortable with the elbow pads held in place by velcro. I know they aren't pro grade but then neither am I. For the money what more could I want...
They do exactly what I want and I can transfer them easily form one bike to another if I need to.
The one drawback I would say there is is the bars themselves could do with some form of cover or grip on them. Riding in the wet, with gloves to keep out the cold the bars can get slippery. However I sorted this easily with handlebar foam grips from my local poundstore that just slip over the end.
Still an excellent product though."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mavericksghost's Questions
 
Compressport innovates again with the introduction of this cycle sock into our new proracingsocks 3D.DOT range.
 

What does the T1 to T5 mean in difference

Probably a silly question but these socks are rated as sizes and T1 T2 T3 T4 or T5. What does the T rating mean? Is it a thermal thing and T5 is better for winter while T1 is good for summer of does it mean something different
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
Precision Nickel-plated spoke wrenches with coloured vinyl coated handles to indicate size. Three sizes are available to fit the major standards, essential for bike workshops and home mechanics.
 

Mavic Spoke Key

These spoke keys seems to be OK for Shimano type spoke nipples is there one suitable for a Mavic spoke?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
Mavericksghost's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Anodised Alloy end cover and nut with Cr-Mo threaded rod using an Allen type Hex key fitting
 

tightening up

How does the skewer tighten up? Does the allen bolt head rotate inside the end cap, or does the whole end cap rotate against the drop out? Thanks.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The bolt head rotates inside the end cap that it's in. That way someone working with mole grips to try and steal your wheel should have no joy because they'll grip the end cap, which is hard anyway as the whole thing tapered, and they'll just twist the end cap without releasing the bolt. The other end cap unfortunately is fixed and has 2 grooves in it so an open face spanner can be used. Like i said in my review it might give a thief and extra few seconds but not much more than that.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
The balaclava is a serious solution to combat extreme cold on any winter ride.
 

This or the skull cap ?

i was wondering what would be better to keep my ears warm, this or the skull cap ? and is this got a inner fleece ?

thanks
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've got both the skull cap and the balaclava.
Both are excellent and have a fleece like lining.
The only drawback I can say the balaclava has is that it doesn't cover my nose (as per the model) so on really cold days your nose will be exposed.
Otherwise both skull cap and balaclava keep your ears warm. The balaclava definitely keeps your chin and mouth area warm as you are having to breathe through it. So I'd say it's a matter of your personal choice. I tend to wear the balaclava only on the days of deep cold but both fit under a helmet OK.
2 years ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
 PRO 3000 LED Rechargeable Front Light
PRO 3000 LED Rechargeable Front Light
A rechargeable front light that pumps out a whooping 3000 lumens and also gives you the capability of customising the lights settings to your own requirements thanks to the software which is supplied.
 

Battery type

The description for this light has 8x Li-ion battery/cells but I'm curious as to what sort this battery pack is.
Is it a black rubber coated 'block' battery to be secured to the bike somehow or something like a 'bottle' battery that could sit comfortably in a bottle rack?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
going to answer my own question...
Because after a little research I found a picture of the full kit.
The battery is neither a big rubber block nor a bottle type but a flat slimline 8 cell pack that clips into a holder. The holder then straps to the bike frame or is capable of being put in a jersey pocket if the lamp is helmet mounted.
2 years ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
 Garmin Edge 800 GPS Performance & Navigation Bundle
Garmin Edge 800 GPS Performance & Navigation Bundle
Make the most of every ride with Edge 800 - the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring and on the trail.
 

Does this come with any mapping included.

Would I have to add UK 1:50 000 mapping?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It has a base map built in but detail level on that map is horrendous. It's OK if you're on main roads but the minor roads can simply not show up.
I got the UK Navigator map with a previous 705 and transferred it to the 800 without any problem.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
This water-resistant accessory includes a portable solar charger unit with a lightweight mount, solar panel and connectors. Charge your device whilst on the go.
 

Is the Garmen external battery compatible with both the Edge 500 and Egge 800? If so how long will it extend the battery life?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I've got the edge 800 and this battery pack works perfectly well with it. The battery has a mini usb connector on it. In terms of battery life I've read it can give you an extra 20 hours on a full charge. So that's about 35 total, 15 on the edge and 20 on the battery pod. Charging is easy with either the mains charger or the solar panel. Unfortunately in the UK the solar panels needs a good few hours to charge the battery fully, it's about 8 hours on the mains.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Wiggle can you look at stocking the cleat covers for these. They are great for protection when walking and extend the cleat life considerably.

Kool Kovers are the brand I use
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
They're stocking Cleatskins and they are actually very good. I looked for Kool Kovers but they were out of stock.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD-SL Pedals. Available in three options, Red which offer a fixed foot position with no float, Yellow which allows 6° of float, or Blue which allows 2 degrees of float.
 

Fixed or Float

Cheats, What is the different between Fixed or Float?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Float cleats can twist in a 6 degree arc before they disengage from the pedal, fixed have a much smaller arc. It's a little easier for the novice rider to use floats because of the greater leeway you have in movement. There's also less risk of disengagement if you pedal action isn't exactly right with floats. Also they are a little easier on the knees in terms of stress during riding!
I've also been told, though have no practical experience of it since I've only used floats, that the fixed ones can only be disengaged by twisting your foot towards the bike, while the floats can disengage by twisting in either direction.
I might consider trying fixed but everyone with SPD-SL cleats at the cycle club I'm in uses floats.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
 Ti MTB Quick Release Skewers - Pair
Ti MTB Quick Release Skewers - Pair
Anodised Quick Release skewers with Titanium Axle.
 

Skewer length

Will these skewers be long enough for a mtb rear wheel using Shimano hub and a 9 speed XT cassette?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Not sure if you'll consider this an answer or not.
I don't ride or like MTB I prefer road bikes and I was worried about whether the rear skewer would be long enough when I saw them. My bike(s) are a Scott CR1 with a 10 speed shimano ultegra cassette and a Carrera Vanquish with a 9 speed Shimano Tiagra cassette. Both bikes the rear skewer has fitted perfectly. The end of the skewer doesn't protrude so I didn't need to shorten them at all. I'm not sure if I'd describe these as 100% secure skewers as the hex head is a standard size with nothing special about it, I used a cheap bike multitool to do it up. So a thief could undo your wheels with a cheap tool and a bit of time, the important bit is the extra time reqd rather than just flipping a QR paddle. but for the money they are good skewers.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
 Genius Multiplayer VR Trainer
Genius Multiplayer VR Trainer
The Genius Multiplayer, Tacx's new top model, is unique. The combination of the sturdy frame and the advanced Tacx Trainer software 3.0 makes riding through the virtual worlds a lifelike experience.
 

What are the software specifications for operating system etc?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I don't know if you'd count this as an answer since you're asking software reqs but I saw on the tacx forum that The Tacx Fortius, and therefore the Genius, require min 2Gb of RAM if running under windows XP and 4Gb if you're using Windows 7 (so that's 64-bit windows to start).
To run the VR parts you are also going to need a decent graphics card, not a built in one which will struggle to keep up. Some just aren't compatible at all.

I don't know if it will run on a mac at all, the only software on the Tacx site is windows based.

The new v3 software also uses a google earth plugin so you are going to need a PC capable of running google earth and a good internet connection.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent
 
 Workshop Tool Kit
Workshop Tool Kit
A 30 piece bike tool kit for your workshop needs.
 

Suitable for shimano cassette

Is the cassette lockring remover suitable for shimano, or do I need to buy a separate cassette lockring remover?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
the casette lockring removal tool certainly worked with my tiagra setup OK.
I had to replace the rear wheel and opted for fitting a new cassettem myself but the tool worked well.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Mavericksghost
Ashford, Kent