Chimchimeney
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Chimchimeney's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Chimchimeney's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    31
  • Helpfulness Votes
    5
  • First Review
    25 July 2010
  • Last Review
    29 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Answer
    18 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    27 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Chimchimeney's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
 High5 Energy Source - 12 x 47g Powder Sachets
High5 Energy Source - 12 x 47g Powder Sachets
A high carbohydrate drink mix for maximum energy. EnergySource is rapidly absorbed and highly stable in the stomach even during intense race effort. This formula is Suitable for beginner to pro athlete.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tasty goodness
Posted29 September 2014
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Tastes nice, the price is reasonable and it dissolves well. Could be a little cheaper."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
High5 Energy Gel Sachets - Buy 1 Box Get 1 Box Free
Buy one box and get one box FREE. An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tasty liquid sugar
Posted27 March 2014
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"First time of trying this product, they are runnier than the ones I normally use, which makes them easier to drink while riding. Also more in a satchet. Taste is okay to suprisingly nice, depending on flavour. (Mojito? really?) Overall, I'm pleased, especially with the buy onr get one free offer."
Pros: Great Value, tasty
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice and smooth, soothes my 'parts'
Posted27 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've been using this cream for a couple of years now and it makes a big difference to riding comfort. I use it on short and long distance rides. Nice and thick. I recieved a free trial of another brand of cream with a recent purchase and wasn't impressed, so I'll be sticking with this brand for the forseable future."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, thick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra
The Shock Absorber Run Sports Bra is soft with seamless inners which reduces repetitive friction injury. It has wide, padded, non slip straps with advanced technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent support
Posted11 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought for my wife. (I'm not quite that fat!) She loves it, says it's very supportive and keeps everything in place. Without being uncomfortable."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent glasses but prone to dazzling
Posted11 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought these for my wife, she loves them. Very easy to swap the lenses. She is 5 foot 4 and doesn't have an abnormally large head, so they may come up small on a large mans head. She suffers from bad dazzle effects with the low sun, but otherwise very goo, she would definitely recommend them"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: dazzle with low sun
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
nice shoes
Posted15 August 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I had the last version of these shoes and was pleased with them. These are even better. I couldn't comment on them compared to more expensive shoes, but they are comfortable and fit well."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Aero Wedge (Clip On) Medium Saddle Bag
Topeak Aero Wedge (Clip On) Medium Saddle Bag
A sleek, lightweight aero shaped wedge pack with the easy to use Topeak quick-release mounting system.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice bag, secure fit
Posted16 July 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The bag is of high quality and fits securely to the bike. The extending pouch is good and the shape keeps it nicely out of the way under the saddle so it doesn't rub against my chubby thighs when I'm pedaling. I bought the medium and it fits 2 inner tubes, bike tools, puncture repair kit and keys. Can't quite fit my phone and wallet in there, but I could if I removed one inner tube. Also, it looks like a medieval cod piece when the expansion zip is closed, which is amusing if that's where your level of humour lies :)"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Active Bike Loose Fit Jersey
Active Bike Loose Fit Jersey
Elasticated, lightweight fabric makes this ergonomic jersey fit snugly and comfortably. The fabric also allows for active cooling and moves moisture away from the body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice loose cycling top
Posted24 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Being on the portly side, I don't wear normal cycling tops as they always look like they've been painted on. This is a nice loose fitting top with a small zip pocket on the side. Comfortable and goes well with my trace bib shorts."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Luggit Slice 15L Rucksack
dhb Luggit Slice 15L Rucksack
The smallest member of the dhb SLICE pack range. This compact, 15L pack is suited for riding the trails or commuting with a modest amount of gear.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Decent little backpack
Posted16 June 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Works well, comfortable enough, not quite as comfortable as a much more expensive backpack my Dad has, but still very good."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Sammy Slick Folding MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Sammy Slick Folding MTB Tyre
The classic semi-slick. This tread concept is as popular as ever and it is understandable.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice tyre but prone to punctures
Posted07 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Chimchimeney
fromSunderland
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Really like the tyres, light, low rolling resistence. Suprisingly good grip on cycle paths and dry earth farm roads. ZERO grip in mud, but I expected that.
However, I've had 4 punctures in two and a half weeks of using them; either I'm incredibly unlucky, or they are puncture prone tyres. I've even started using my slime inner tubes, which I have a whole different set of issues with, but that's for another review.
"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: puncture prone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Chimchimeney's Questions
 
Chimchimeney has not submitted any questions.
 
Chimchimeney's Answers
 
 Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
Udderly Smooth Chamois Cream
A thick moisturising solution for comfort and reduced friction on endurance road rides. Apply to your seatpad on shorter rides or apply to both your skin and seatpad on epic sportives and stage races.
 

Any good for preventing nipple rash?!

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No idea, I would recommend plasters, it's what I use.
8 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
dhb M1.0 Mountain Bike Cycling Shoe
Get off road with the very sturdy mountain bike shoe from dhb. The M1.0 features a Simple 3-strap closure and a rubber outsole with internal glass reinforced Nylon structure for excellent traction and great power delivery.
 

What size if I'm an 11 shoe and is the sole stiff

Just wondering what size i will need if I'm 11 shoe would i need to get 46 and is the sole stiff as ive been told to get a stiff sole because its better. Thanks for helping
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
yes, the sole is stiff. I'm an 11 and I got a size 46
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 Slime Self Healing MTB Inner Tube
Slime Self Healing MTB Inner Tube
Fixes punctures before you even know you have one! These tubes are filled with Slime which can repeatedly seal punctures up to 3mm. The high tech, environmentally friendly formula inside the tube, keeps working to prevent further punctures.
 

do the slime inner tubes mtb fit a tyre size of 26*2.10?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, they fit mine and I've got panaracer xcpro 2.1 tyres
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
Schwalbe Land Cruiser MTB Tyre
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

I'm having problems fitting my new schwalbe 26 x 1.9/2.0 land cruiser tyres. They don't sit on my rims properly as if they are slightly too small.

The old tyres were kenda 26 x 2.0 so these should fit! Any suggestions?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I found these to be a very tight fit, but they do go on. Use tyre levers and persevere!
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 dhb Trace Bib Short
dhb Trace Bib Short
Complement the Trace Jersey with these matching Trace sublimated Bibshorts to complete your outfit.
 

Comparison to Aeron Pro?

Could you tell me what the differences are between these shorts and the aeron pro shorts please
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Very little diference, the trace shorts have a narrower gripper band at the bottom of the legs and, in my opinion, very slightly better padding. If I had to choose between the two I'd choose the Trace shorts, but they are very similair.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 Corefit Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer AW11
Corefit Long Sleeve Zip Neck Base Layer AW11
Unbeatable, synthetic base layer engineered with moisture wicking and antibacterial properties.
 

can the sleeves be rolled up easily?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's a bit too tight fitting on me to roll my sleeves up comfortably, but I have quite big arms. I'd say probably not
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland
 
 Mini Rear Light
Mini Rear Light
It may look like other lights out there, but it doesn't cost as much and does the same thing so why would you choose another? The ultimate solution to emergency lighting!
 

Is the elastic strap long enough to stretch around a tear drop shaped seatpost on a TT bike ?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Hard to say without seeing the seatpost, but possibly not. It's a good budget light though, and you'll probably be able to think of some way to get it to fit
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Chimchimeney
Sunderland