stephc
Share stephc's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
stephc's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    11 October 2011
  • Last Review
    23 February 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    23 February 2012
  • Last Answer
    23 February 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
stephc's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
Another pedigree product from Zefal. Their heritage shines through on the toe clips and straps (sold seperately).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Does the job well
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"This pair of toe clips saw me through my first triathlon, it's good enough for beginners, enables a fairly smooth pedal stroke. Having tried being properly clipped in with SPD pedals though, I have to say that the toe clips can't compare! But it's a good starter kit if you're not sure about spending a bundle on proper pedals. Easy to assemble but on small bikes, the front of the toe clips often threaten to catch my front wheel when I turn."
Pros: Durable, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Skin Formula is a unique all natural skin lubricant created to stand up to rubbing and moisture, prime causes of skin irritation. It helps stop skin trouble before it starts, and it helps avoid the need for first aid products.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to use, works wonders
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Strongly recommend using this to help get wetsuits off in a hurry. Buy a big tube as you will be using a lot of it. Rub around the ankles and wrists."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Synchro Short Sleeve Jersey - 2011
Ladies Synchro Short Sleeve Jersey - 2011
Re-styled version of the best selling close fit women's summer jersey in soft stretch fabrics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality and value
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Has handy pockets at the back, wicks away moisture well, zip doesn't chafe, lovely colours. Combine with a base layer and it's good enough for cycling in autumn."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zoggs Matrix Hand Paddles are hydro-dynamically designed to improve your swimming stroke technique, as well as to aid training and increase your strength.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
perfect for strengthening arms
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"as a size guide, i have hands that measure 6.5 inches from the wrist to the top of my middle finger, and i have to S (yellow) paddles which are perfect. the straps are adjustable so you can tighten or loosen as appropriate. great for just strengthening arms in a lesser number of laps."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Silky woven belt, lighter weight and softer against the skin than elastic.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, efficient
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Saves time, you can wear this under your wetsuit, turn it around for the bike and turn it back for the run. No fuss, easy to use and adjustable."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome training aid
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"It's excellent value (on sale for £130), quiet, and teaches you how to pedal efficiently as unlike spin bikes/regular bikes, you can't get away with just pushing down. You'll learn how to pull up too. It's a bit tricky to set up - the instructions are rubbish, but if you'll figure it out using common sense and logic. Great for those cold/wet days when it's not safe to go out, you can happily turbo in your living room. The gear change mechanism doesn't quite grip properly onto the handlebar, and you'll need to buy a training tyre to go with the trainer else you'll wear yours out quickly. Folds away neatly."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Elastic Shoelace
Elastic Shoelace
Lock Laces are an all-new, patented 'elastic shoelace and locking system' that feature specially designed elastic laces combined with a spring activated locking device. Lock Laces can be worn with all types of athletic shoes for sports or casual use.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Ok but better to get knotted ones
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Cheap and saves precious time in transition, but without the knots in them, they get really tight and cut off circulation to my feet, resulting in pins and needles / numb feet! I'd suggest paying a bit more and getting the laces with built in knots which you can space out on your shoe."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Ladies Triple Lens Sunglasses have it all - stylish wraparound design, a strong yet lightweight frame and three different lenses to suit all conditions. They have scratch and impact resistant UV400 polycarbonate lenses.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Versatile
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Three lenses including matching nose pads - for the fashion conscious. Easy to change, good fit, wraps around snugly and keeps stuff out out of eyes."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stay warm and fast this season with the lightweight skullcap and gloves for women
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent value
Posted23 February 2012
stephc
"Warm enough for running in even in the recent Big Chill. Has little pockets for putting keys in. Long gloves that keep wrists warm too. Great value."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Running cap featuring breathable stretch mesh, fast wicking, quick drying microfibre with UV resistance, anatomical fit and simple velcro fastening.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great cap
Posted11 October 2011
stephc
"love it. it's lightweight, but you can use the velcro strap to adjust - which is great cos where i run it's quite windy. it has fleecey bits on the inside so it's comfy even when sweaty."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
stephc's Questions
 
stephc has not submitted any questions.
 
stephc's Answers
 
 Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
Sirius Folding Cycle Trainer
The Sirius Cycle Trainer is a striking trainer featuring a "silent" action and a Soft-Gel roller.
 

Help! It is rubbing all the rubber off my back tyre!

Anyone know what might be going on here?
I've just used this 2 or 3 times and loads of tiny shreds of rubber are rubbing off the back tyre.. there is a noticeable bald-line on my back tyre now..
I am definitely still in the amateur/weakling category of cyclists, so this isn't due to some super-hard power-riding.
Any advice is much appreciated.
Best answer
you need to buy a training tyre and swap it when you go on the turbo trainer vs. the road. i got the zaffiro one. they are hard wearing.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
stephc