Shabbyhouse
Share Shabbyhouse's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Shabbyhouse's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    29 June 2010
  • Last Review
    19 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.3
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    16 October 2010
  • Last Question
    17 August 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    29 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 January 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Shabbyhouse's Reviews
 
 Feedback Sports Pro Ultralight Workstand
Feedback Sports Pro Ultralight Workstand
The Feedback Sports Pro Ultralight Workstand is great for travel due to having a tool-less easy set-up and being compact as well as lightweight.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect
Posted19 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shabbyhouse
fromRichmond, Yorkshire
"Compact, flexible in use, easy to get your bike attached, smooth operation."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Torq Recovery 1.5kg
Torq Recovery 1.5kg
TORQ recovery is a highly advanced post-exercise nutritional drink formulation that has been designed to repair, recharge and refuel fatigued muscle tissue after heavy exercise.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted06 June 2011
Shabbyhouse
fromRichmond, Yorkshire
"I was suspicious of all this stuff to begin with, preferring good ol' chocolate milk fro the Co-Op, but this is Good Kit. I don't use it on rides of less than a couple of hours, but on bigger rides, suddenly my legs aren't toasted the following day, and I sleep better. Strawberries and cream tastes sort-of like the real thing, and a load better than you might expect! get a shaker bottle to go with it, and you'll reduce the hazard of powder flying everywhere and undissolved lumps."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Polar Universal Bike Mount 2014
Polar Universal Bike Mount 2014
For all wrist-watch style Polar Heart Rate Monitors
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted06 June 2011
Shabbyhouse
fromRichmond, Yorkshire
"Good value, compact and universal. Worth getting one for each of your bikes!"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Science in Sport GO Isotonic Gel - Box Of 30 x 60ml
Science in Sport GO Isotonic Gel - Box Of 30 x 60ml
Concentrated carbohydrate energy in a convenient fast-flow gel, SiS GO Isotonic is the world's first and only isotonic energy gel with a unique patented formulation.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Slop
Posted18 March 2011
Shabbyhouse
fromRichmond, Yorkshire
"I tried the "Tropical" flavour as an SiS freebie, and thank goodness it was free. It may be isotonic (i.e. watered down), but tastes gash and made little appreciable difference. I'm now off back to my tried and tested, thoroughly excellent Black Cherry Yoghurt Torq gel. Needs a drink of water, though..."
Cons: Bulky, tastes horrid, didn't seem to work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Wedge Drybag with Strap - Large
Topeak Wedge Drybag with Strap - Large
Protect your gear while riding in wet conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Deep Dark Hole
Posted22 December 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Shabbyhouse
fromRichmond, Yorkshire
"This is a cavern of a bag; no pockets inside, just a couple of mesh slots for credit cards, phones or other very slim things. Big and (relatively) convenient, as long as you don't like order in your bag... It's quite possible you'll find skeletons of things down in the bottom."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit, big, easily attached/detached
Cons: Limited Color Choices, cavernous
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 RFS Full Zip Cycling Jersey - 2010
RFS Full Zip Cycling Jersey - 2010
All Castelli's race know-how goes into a jersey that's designed to break out of the pack visually.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
I'm An Odd Shape, So...
Posted29 June 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Shabbyhouse
"I don't expect much to fit my vast wingspan, and this jersey only just manages it. That's the trouble with being English and Big (wide, that is), and buying Italian kit. Dead smart though, and performs pretty well. I like the sweat-proof pocket very much. It's pretty slick, so don't rip it taking it on and off. I went for XL with a 42" chest, and it's only just big enough. A bit overpriced, I reckon, though I like the Sheffield Wednesday colours, a sucker for blue-and-white."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight, smart
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, odd sizes if you're odd-shaped
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
High Nuun
Posted29 June 2010
Shabbyhouse
"My physio asked whether, on my last sportive when I tweaked a hamstring, I was dehydrated. Possibly. Taking no risks, and as a Type 1 diabetic, I went for these tabs based on a couple of reviews and recommendations, as a bit of a punt. Absolutely outstanding. Hugely improved performance and recovery, and NO ADDED SUGAR! Fantastic! 1 per 500ml, 500ml per hour, then 500ml after a ride. That's a lot of stuff, but suddenly I started to feel a whole lot better. Diabetics are extra-prone to dry out, so these are life savers. Not just for cycling either: any kind of sweaty business demands nuun! Tasty too: I like the citrus flavour, and so do plenty of others, it seems, as they tend to sell out. They're pretty expensive, working out at nearly 50p/tab, but that's a lot less than a physio might charge!"
Pros: High Quality, tasty, easy, non-sticky
Cons: Expensive, sells out quick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Torq Gel Sachets - 20 x 45g
Torq Gel Sachets - 20 x 45g
Using the same 2:1 ingredient ratio as other Torq products Torq Gels have a blend of Maltodextrin, a long chain complex carbohydrate and Fructose (fruit sugar) this means its absorbed easier and gentle on the stomach.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Torq Talk
Posted29 June 2010
Shabbyhouse
"Tasty, effective, slim. One of the fastest gels I've ever used. I may be just a bit odd, but I really like the Black Cherry Yoghurt flavour. Who on earth dreamt that one up? Decent shelf life too: Bought a box of 20 early 6/10, best before (n.b. not "use by") Jan 2011. I keep 6 on my road bike in a small water bottle."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shabbyhouse's Questions
 
 Etxeondo Feather 3/4 Length Bib Tight
Etxeondo Feather 3/4 Length Bib Tight
The Feather 3/4 bib tights are a very lightweight garment made from the Etxeondo Ketaren Light fabric, perfect for when you need to push hard on the bike in cooler conditions but don't need full leg protection.
 

Size advice.

I'm 5' 11", waist 33", chest 39", inside leg 34". Large or medium?
4 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 Campagnolo Veloce 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Campagnolo Veloce 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Thanks to the new design of the parallelogram, the rear derailleur is now lighter and more rigid, with the most effective and fastest shifting.
 

Is Veloce compatible with Centaur Ergos and a 13-29 cassette?

1 year, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 ZV0 Electrolyte Tablets - 20 x 4.5g
ZV0 Electrolyte Tablets - 20 x 4.5g
A unique sports drink that increases fat burning and maintains the immune system during training. ZV0 replaces 7 key electrolytes and provides 1.6g of immune boosting glutamine per serving
 

If this contains maltodextrin & sucralose, what's its CHO content?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

How good is the Edge 500 in cloudy conditions?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 Science in Sport 800ml Water Bottle
Science in Sport 800ml Water Bottle
Science in Sport 800ml Narrow Neck Cycling Bottle, with mixing measurements for SIS products.
 

Dishwasher proof?

Is the SiS bottle dishwasher proof?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 Energizer L/S Compression Base Layer
Energizer L/S Compression Base Layer
The human body functions optimally at its preferred temperature of 37°C. It consumes the least energy, and is effective and durable.
 

What's the difference between Energiser & Accumulator? Is Accumulator for colder conditions?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
Shabbyhouse's Answers
 
 Nuun 4 Tube Variety Pack
Nuun 4 Tube Variety Pack
nuun revolutionised hydration in 2002 by providing active people electrolyte hydration on-the-go, without all the calories. These variety packs are a neat way to get four flavours in one box.
 

Question about quantity

Sorry if I'm asking the absolute obvious, but the website doesn't make very clear how many tablets in a tube and therefore each of the two boxes. Can someone confirm the quantity of tablets please.
You're right, it doesn't!

The answer is 12, which makes it a pretty costly business. I've started using the variety pack (tri-berry is grim, but hey...) which is a saving of 88p/tube.

Wouldn't be without it, though.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
Richmond, Yorkshire
 
 RFS Full Zip Cycling Jersey - 2010
RFS Full Zip Cycling Jersey - 2010
All Castelli's race know-how goes into a jersey that's designed to break out of the pack visually.
 

Sizing

Does one have to err on the larger size as with most other cycle jerseys? ie as I normally buy tops 42/44" would I need extra large or extra extra large?
I'm a skinny 42 with very broad shoulders, and I went for XL, which only just fits. If you're at all bigger than 42, you might want to chance XXL (!).
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

How many tablets per tube?

12
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

How long do they stay active for?

If I chuck one in a bottle, ride for a few hours and then drink are they still effective or should I add one and drink straight away?
Stays good for hours, in my experience.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

Do they contain sweeteners?

Sweeteners make me feel ill.
Sorbitol. Watch out for the trots if you overdose....
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse
 
 Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Nuun Active Hydration Tablets (Tube)
Pronounced 'noon' this handy little tube is a revelation in hydration. Whether you're biking, running, swimming or generally building up a sweat, it's important to stay properly hydrated.
 

I may be missing something, but how many tubes are in a box?

Eight
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Shabbyhouse