Gwash
Share Gwash's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Gwash's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    27 February 2011
  • Last Review
    30 May 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    27 February 2011
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Gwash's Reviews
 
 SealSkinz Thin Ankle Length Socks AW13
SealSkinz Thin Ankle Length Socks AW13
A thin, lightweight ankle length waterproof sock with an improved design and better fit. A fine merino wool lining gives the socks a soft feel and great moisture wicking with a breathable waterproof membrane for protection and dryness.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Keeps your feet warm & dry
Posted30 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Gwash
fromNottingham
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I wanted something for an early season triathlon, so I could go into T2 and still feel my feet.
Due to the weather I'd previously been wearing waterproof overshoes for cycling.
I was doubtful this would do the job but very pleased to say I was wrong.
Feet were fine on a frosty morning.
They feel a bit strange and be careful on the sizing.
"
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great tyres
Posted27 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Gwash
"Wanted some semi slicks for commuting. These were the best vlaue and from a well known name. Easy to fit, very fast on the tarmac and very quiet. I couldnt believe the difference between these and the knobblies. Also seem OK on trails, canal paths and river banks.
No complaints and do a great job.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Gwash's Questions
 
Gwash has not submitted any questions.
 
Gwash's Answers
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

What would be a suitable inner tube?

I'm new to mountain biking and have had these tyres recommended to me as a good road tyre which will also suit some light off roading.

Could anyone recommend a suitable inner tube for this tyre or does it not matter that much?

Cheers!
I changed to these from my knobblies and left the original inner tubes in. No problems. Dont see any point in spending any more money.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Gwash
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Tyre Direction

I have just recieved a pair of Continental Double Fighter tyres and I am really pleased with them!
Just one thing when fitting the tyres I presume the front tyre has the front directional arrow facing to the front of the bike!
With the rear does the front arrow face the front or the rear arrow face the front??
I just got some of these tyres and looking at the tread I cant see as it will make any difference.
I assumed the arrow was for the direction of travel.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Gwash