stigmiester
Top 500 Contributor
Share stigmiester's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
stigmiester's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    36
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    23 July 2010
  • Last Review
    12 January 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    25 March 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    15 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    12 January 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
stigmiester's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great value general use tyre
Posted12 January 2015
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Great for commuting, training or general riding. quite durable and easy to fit."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A 1/4" drive torque wrench and selection of 7 precision sockets included. For use on performance (high end alloy) and professional (carbon fibre) components that require highly accurate setting.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfecty form the home mechanic
Posted29 July 2014
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Easy to use, makes you a little nervous in the begining due to the available leverage, but works very well. Easy to set.
Found most items a little loose on my Carbon Fibre beast, due to not having the use of an torque wrench and understandably nervous about over tightening, which may have counted for some of the sqeaks and creaks, Most have all now gone away.
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Fully featured road cycling shoes with Shimano Dynalast ergonomic shaping and sole technology for optimum energy transfer. Featuring a micro-adjust buckle closure, a lightweight glass fibre reinforced-polyamide sole & a breathable mesh/synthetic upper.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ideal entry+ level shoe
Posted15 June 2014
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"great value shoe, previous pair lasted about 4 years, expect the samje from these"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Adjustable
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Extends chain life and cleans the chain on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The best chain cleaner
Posted18 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Have tried a few, some similar in design but nothing compares to what this one does for your chain. Other than a brand new chain have never seen it cleaner than after using this product. Cheaper versions work ok but have not proved durable or capable of the clean this unit does. Easy to use although recommend you use a bike stand or have friend hold your bike for you as this makes it much easier."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted21 April 2014
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great value, particularly when ourchased in multi packs."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excelent Tyre
Posted21 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Perfect Bike trail/Road/light dirt tyre. Very versatile escpecially for the price. Smooth on the road or trail with plent of grip in light muddy situations"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: a little heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
ideal pedals
Posted26 November 2012
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Perfect solution for road bikes when touring, plenty of surface area for good power transfer with the convenience of being able to wear mountain bike/touring shoes for walking around"
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The number 1 bottle cage in the pro peloton, a true design classic which is also self-adjusting. These cages were used by over half the starting riders in the Tour De France, including Mark Cavendish, Thor Hushovd, Bradley Wiggins and Cadel Evans.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
is this the best bottle holder on the market
Posted10 November 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Holds bottle securely but is still easy to get them out and back in with little attention. Only minor issue is that if you have a clamp on front derailieur you will need to fit spacers to attach the cage, (I used a couple of those tube valve retainers)."
Pros: High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
HL-EL135 and TL-LD150 Light Set
Another great Cateye light set for commutes through town. Ideal for those dusky days and when the light fades after your hard day at work.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value
Posted30 August 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"great quality bundle, nice and bright as well as compact in the case of the front light"
Pros: Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The EL-340 is the next step in Cateye’s quest for maximum brightness and efficiency.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
OK light
Posted30 August 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
stigmiester
fromThe Basin
Country : Australia
Age : 45-54
Interest : Cross Country MTB
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"No flashing function and not as bright as expected but quite good to be seen by"
Cons: Not Enough Features
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
stigmiester's Questions
 
An easy operational designed lever. The lever has a compact lever bracket hood which is made from soft rubber and anatomically shaped to allow easy braking and shifting regardless of hand position.
 

are these compatable with Tiagra 10 speed rear cassette, triple crank?

Looking to replace old sora levers with these, bike has tiagra long rear deraleur and triple front deraleur. bike currently fitted with a 9 speed rear cassette but wheel can take a 10 speed, which i hope to be able to use thse levers.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
 RS Cycling Bib Shorts - SS2010
RS Cycling Bib Shorts - SS2010
Sugoi Equipment is a full range of cycle-specific clothing, crafted with deep respect and understanding for cyclists. Sugoi provides gear designed with the latest technology to help you push yourself to perform like never before. It's your job to focus on cycling; it's our job to help make your ride incredible. Sugoi provides essential gear for all your rides. Formula FX Chamois V-notch design for added ventilation and flexibility Meryl® Skinlife synthetic knit with 2-way stretch and V-Control high density vibration dampening relief pads Welded centre channel for ventilation and pressure relief 4-way stretch side panels mold to body contours Advanced lamination process for smooth seam-free top surface
 

I am inbetween XL and XXL (98cm waste) is it better to go up in size or down?

From reviews understand they re quite a snug fit.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
stigmiester's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 

Tyre suitability

I'm looking to fit some road tyres to my Specialized Crux Elite for road riding in the summer - just casual rides around 100m, not racing. How narrow could I go with these tyres - could I get away with 23?

Also changing the outer chainring - is there anything else I should be thinking about?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The 25 usually refers to the rim depth not the width.
The 23 will give a harder ride than the 25 or 28 as it is a lower profile tyre. As to the chain ring you need to confirm the derailier can be adjusted to suit the new ring size
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
The new training tyre benchmark with fewer flats, secure grip thanks to the Aqua-Flow rain tread and long tread life. Low rolling resistance makes longer rides in the saddle more of a pleasure rather than a chore.
 

Which will be a better fit for Mavic CXP-22S?

Hi,

Since 700 x 25 is out of stock, could you please advise between 700x23 and 700x28, which is better fit for Mavic CXP-22S on my Boardman Road comp bike?

I currently have Zaffiro 25c on.

Regards,

Boris
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I'd go the 23. In saying that would also consider the Rubino Pro over the Zaffiro. Much tougher tyre
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
Fully featured road cycling shoes with Shimano Dynalast ergonomic shaping and sole technology for optimum energy transfer. Featuring a micro-adjust buckle closure, a lightweight glass fibre reinforced-polyamide sole & a breathable mesh/synthetic upper.
 

Pins & needles in my toes

Hi, after about an hour i get pins and needles in my toes, im happy with my cleat position but think i might need the wide fit version as i do have wide-ish feet.
These shoes don't feel too tight when on but like i say after an hour maybe my feet are just too small for them, would i benefit from the wider version and is the numbness caused by my toes being squashed a little?

Any help appreciated before i splash out another £60 on the wide version.
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I had similar issues and invested in a pair of Specialized Orthotic inserts (Made for Specialized shoes but fit Shimano OK). This helped but also had the cleat position checked proffessionally and this sorted it out completely. Found as one foot was longer than the other, one shoe needed the cleat futher back than the other as I was putting too much pressure through the toes, (my issue was worse on one side than the other).
Also suggest you start your ride with the toe and mid section straps a little loose and tighten them after you have warmed up and feet have swelled a little.
You will also find with time your shoes will strecth a little as well.
11 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
Fully featured road cycling shoes with Shimano Dynalast ergonomic shaping and sole technology for optimum energy transfer. Featuring a micro-adjust buckle closure, a lightweight glass fibre reinforced-polyamide sole & a breathable mesh/synthetic upper.
 

Can the Shimano R088W shoes be fitted with cleats for spin?

If so, what type of cleats need to be fitted?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes, suits both 2 bolt and 3 bolt cleats
1 year ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

When buying tyres are they pairs or just a single tyre ?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Single unless stated otherwise.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 

Fitting the Schwalbe land cruiser tyres

I' m new to this subject, but I'm kinda lost with the directional tread on these tyres. The tyre has a marking showing front/rear- is this for fitting the tyres??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes it is, the difference is for maximising traction on the back wheel when the surface is a little muddy.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
 Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 

Are these suitable for lady cyclists?

Are these suitable for lady cyclists or are they men specific?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
There is a female specific version would recommend you use those.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
 Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Super lightweight SPD-SL road pedal for high performance road racing. Designed to match the 105 10-speed groupset.
 

Are these compatible with Shimano R087 bike shoe?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes as long as you use the correct cleats, 3 bolt SPD-SL
2 years, 7 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
 Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Shimano 105 PD-5700 SPD SL Road Pedals
Super lightweight SPD-SL road pedal for high performance road racing. Designed to match the 105 10-speed groupset.
 

Are these pedals (and the cleats provided) compatible with the Shimano RT82 Touring Shoes?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
If your shoes have the 3 bolt pattern then most likely, however I believe the touring shoe only has provision for the 2 bolt SPD cleat which is not compatible with these pedals.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

do i get cleats with this pedal

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I did so I assume they are standard with these, the Wiggle description also indicates this is the case
2 years, 7 months ago
by
stigmiester
The Basin