NotSpanky
Share NotSpanky's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
NotSpanky's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    27 June 2010
  • Last Review
    03 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    27 June 2010
  • Last Answer
    03 December 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
NotSpanky's Reviews
 
 1/2 Watt Rear Light
1/2 Watt Rear Light
A great little rear safety light that can be mounted either to a belt clip, seat post or seat stay.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent light but watch mounting
Posted03 December 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NotSpanky
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A good light with reasonable brightness - 1/2 Watt should be more than enough for most conditions, and the flashing pattern is perfectly noticeable.
My only issue with the light is that for whatever reason it ships with a mounting that will fit rounded saddle posts only. With an increasing number of aero saddle posts around, my bike naturally included, this seems like an oversight for a light of this level. A simple ratchet and flexible plastic strip would be more than adequate, and cater for most mounting requirements. Cateye have a system along those lines, despite being overrated in just about every other aspect (IMHO).
As it is, I had to put the standard clip through the fabric loop on my saddle bag and lock it in with a decidedly low-tech rubber band."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-LD270 LED Front Light
HL-LD270 LED Front Light
Superceding the former single LED LD-260 light, the great value LD270 uses 3 LEDs to provide a greater light output and better overall visibility, flashing or constant modes.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
It's a light
Posted15 April 2011
NotSpanky
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It does what is says on the packet. Good as a flashing light to be noticed, but I wouldn't want to rely on the light from this unit to see where I was going. Pretty much what you'd expect from a light this size, perhaps a fraction brighter. I use it as a secondary light to a much brighter lamp, and it does its job.
Not sure I love the new mounting bracket - seeming a bit flimsy and awkward - but it does the job, helped by the low weight of the light.
Why cateye insist on using odd battery sizes is beyond me, but everytime I buy a cateye product, I learn about a new battery type. Should last a reasonable while though, so not a deal breaker."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An ultra light sports pack for the fast-footed athlete. Experience virtual weightlessness when mountain running, ski tour racing, cycling marathons, Nordic walking or even when sprinting to catch that bus.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good small bag
Posted15 April 2011
NotSpanky
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A basic and simple small capacity bag. I bought it for cycling when I don't have much to carry, and it does the job fine.
I would like to see a few smaller internal pockets to keep bits like repair gear and tubes etc separate, but Deuter's other bags cover this aspect. The side mesh pockets are very small - you will struggle to fit most drink bottles in here.
The waist strap would be improved if they included the same elastic expansion the chest strap features, and if the strap was thicker, but not a major issue.
There is an internal divider to keep a hydration pack secure if you need it, and the separate water proof compartment is good for phone, wallet etc, and big enough to fit most of your essentials in. The instructions for alpine emergencies printed on this pocket are also amusing.
In short, it's a small, light & simple bag, and the yellow is nice and visible.
"
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
Earnley Cycling Bib Shorts
The Earnley range - quality kit at unbeatable prices
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good value bib shorts
Posted27 June 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NotSpanky
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Certainly better bib shorts out there, but for the money, these are very good value for basic shorts.
Sizing seems pretty accurate. My other bibshorts are slightly small for me (182cm ~80kgs) and tend to pull on the shoulders uncomfortably, so I erred on the side of caution and bought the Large. If I were to buy again, I would probably go for the medium instead, as the large is a little loose, but still quite comfortable.
Even allowing for that, I would prefer the shorts provided a bit more compression on the legs, but some may prefer the looser fit of the stretchier material. I find I notice my legs fatiguing quicker than my other shorts though, even when wearing compression shorts/tights, but it's not a major difference. Other minor gripes include the mesh on the straps not extending down the back, which would be a major improvement, and the fabric on the seat being a bit too slippery (more my tastes anyway).
Probably a bit unfair to call a pair of plain black shorts unattractive, but because of the loose fit, they are not the most attractive shorts, but then, if anyone is riding around wearing just bibs shorts and no jersey, you have bigger issues!
These are quite small issues though, and some may be pros for other people. In short, these are good value if you're in the market for a pair of light loose fitting bib shorts, but the higher models may be better if you're after a firmer more sculted fit."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Now available with three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Reasonably priced and effective
Posted27 June 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NotSpanky
Country : Australia
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Review if for the clear lense version.
Fit will naturally depend on the shape of your face, but overall these seem to fit quite well. I was a little concerned initially, since the fit is very close to the face, with my eyebrows and eyelashes touching the lenses, more so than on other glasses (and I don't have especially bushy eyebrows of luxuriously long eyelashes). That said, I've been using them for a few weeks now, and I barely notice it now. Arms fit firmly without being too tight. Probably not the most comfortable glasse I've owned, but certainly not uncomfortable.
Moving from glasses without ventilation in the lense, these are very effective at avoiding fogging (is that a word?) inside the lenses. It should be noted that obviously this is only effective whilst your moving. When you stop at lights etc, they will still fog up, which can be a problem since this is the time you generally have the most obstacles and awkward surfaces to avoid etc. May be exacerbated by the close fit (see above), but I'm not sure you can get much better without going to special lense coatings etc. Only really an issue when you've been pushing hard in cold weather, and moving the glasses out from the face a few centimeters whilst stationary reduces this significantly, so it's not the end of the world.
Visibility is fine, I haven't had any issue with the frame obstructing vision even when tucked up the road bike.
Overall, a nice basic pair of glasses suitable for varied use, and pretty good value. I'd love to see a pair of these with photochromatic lenses for when summer comes round, which I would happily buy instead of the Rudy Project set currently on my list."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
NotSpanky's Questions
 
NotSpanky has not submitted any questions.
 
NotSpanky's Answers
 
 1/2 Watt Rear Light
1/2 Watt Rear Light
A great little rear safety light that can be mounted either to a belt clip, seat post or seat stay.
 

Will this light attach to an aero seat post on an AR4 Felt /

I doubt it with the standard mounting attachments (rigid plastic mount intended for rounded posts only it seems).

I ended up clipping onto the loop on my saddle bag instead (aero seat post on Diant DEFY 2 adv. ).

Not as firm a mounting, but arguably more visible, so I got over it (still pretty lame for a light these days though).
1 year, 9 months ago
by
NotSpanky
 
 HL-LD270 LED Front Light
HL-LD270 LED Front Light
Superceding the former single LED LD-260 light, the great value LD270 uses 3 LEDs to provide a greater light output and better overall visibility, flashing or constant modes.
 

What sort of batteries are required ?

It takes 2x "N" size batteries.

Look like a AAA cut in half.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
NotSpanky
 
Now available with three lens options, the dhb Ultralite Sunglasses are comfortable, lightweight and versatile.
 

Is there any way to find out before buying, if they'll fit me?

I could measure my head if needed, but I don't want to buy glasses that are too big for me... and I have a problem finding the right size (smaller models are okay).
They are a quite tight fit, so I would think they would be okay if you're after a small fit (I have a decent sized head, but nothing freakish). They seem to have enough flexibility in the frame to suit a quite wide range of heads.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
NotSpanky