paolo1
Top 500 Contributor
Share paolo1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
paolo1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    41
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    17 July 2010
  • Last Review
    22 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    08 May 2013
  • Last Question
    08 May 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    25 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
paolo1's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Super comfortable Aliante saddle with Versus pressure relieft channel. Aliante Versus Saddles incorporate a pressure relief area into the most popular Spine Concept shapes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Saddle to Date
Posted22 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"a beautiful looking saddle too. Very comfortable even after 150k.
Not difficult to keep clean. I have the more basic model on my winter bike and it is similarly comfy. Stopped looking for the holy grail now.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The KMC X-bridge configuration guarantees faster shifting and smoother riding.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Flash Chain
Posted22 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Looks great when brand new. But you need to be ***** to keep it that good. Wet lube has you cleaning every trip. Whole season now and it is still good but not nearly as sparkly"
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: cleaning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A Definite Improvement
Posted02 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These looked the business when on. And certainly felt a noticeable feel. I did really struggle to get them on. With a blister on my thumb.
Now have to keep the whitewalls clean. Looks like after every ride as the collect road grime easily. Price for looking flash.
No cuts or punctures and running at 8 bar pressure. Already done 250miles with them."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Quick release skewer set with Titanium spindle and alloy lever.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
little Touches
Posted14 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"remember to buy for road or mtb.
mtb is a little longer.
Little flash of contrasting colour too."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An advanced sports nutrition bundle with a mix of energy, hydration and recovery products - everything you need to perform at your best on endurance events.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Tester Pack
Posted14 August 2013
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have bought this a couple of times.
The products are excellent and a great cross section.
Good free bottle if you need another one
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new Smootape represents a further evolution in handlebar tape, it ensures perfect grip and shock absorption. This exceptionally light tape works perfectly with all types of handlebars and is extremely easy to apply.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Chunky Stuff
Posted21 May 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"when on you will realise it is twice as thick as the standard. tat 5mm more all round
It looks like your arm in plaster. Though really comfortable.
Difficult to start it off in the bar ends as it is so chunky. You dont have enough to put behind the levers. So you need to go in pretty tight. But you will bulk out the hood covers!!.
Doesnt stay white past 2 rides
Good idea but go for the standard"
Pros: Comfortable, Rugged
Cons: Expensive, Unadjustable, Unattractive, Bulky, Wears Out Easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Highly durable, strong and breathable. Foam padded Microtex tape that provides excellent levels of comfort but with add grip.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Big Disappointment
Posted29 April 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"First of all I love all Fizik products. And have used the other bar tapes which live upto strong use. The white version of this tape looked good. Then I went out with it. It started to be a dirty grey. My gloves are over 3 seasons old so no dye coming out. Rode a 60 miles event without gloves. Then the drops were dark grey.
Thoughts are how do I get it clean again. I fear any bleaches or alcohol will destroy the fabric make up"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, absorbs dirt
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The MuleBar Energy Pack contains a mix of products to introduce you to the wonderful flavours and benefits of the range. The pack is the perfect gift for cyclists, runners, climbers, hill walkers...the list is endless.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
an acquired taste
Posted07 March 2013
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"with being natural products you have to bend with the flavours. think cardboard would have been better flavour. Just didnt like them at all"
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive, flavour, hard going
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Breakthrough Fluid+Mag technology offers higher resistance at a set speed - especially at low speed to replicate climbs and headwinds.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy and little noise
Posted30 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Very easy to set-up. Soon had the bike in place. Little adjustment to get wheel running central. Should really give you a DVD to get you used to it.
First hour done watching the television. Need a high level bar stool or table for remote and towels etc.
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
 
The Versus model is for riders who wants a fi’zi:k Bull saddle with a relief zone. It has a solid-base with an ergonomic 5mm-deep central relief channel spanning the length of the saddle. The increased curvature (support) is ideally suited to Bulls.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Mind over Matter
Posted24 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is my first experience with the Versus. I have a Aliante on my winter bike and love it. This is to replace an Arione CX on my road bike. I am sold on the idea the Versus has. Not any real mileage as yet. But cant wait to get on board. Though do notice some marked diffrences in the construction and rigidity in differing places from the other saddles. Cut outs didnt work with me on other saddles causing high points in the danger areas"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, great colour match to white and silver bike
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
 
paolo1's Questions
 
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Women's Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2013 Team Wiggle Honda replica bib short.
 

Are these for male?

The pad details says it is for females
11 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
paolo1's Answers
 
The KMC X-bridge configuration guarantees faster shifting and smoother riding.
 

Shimano Compatible

Can this replace a Shimano 105 5600 10 Speed Chain?

FYI I have a 105 cassette and Tiagra triple chainset. Will this chain fit ok?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes without doubt
1 month ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
Quick release skewer set with Titanium spindle and alloy lever.
 

Do these skewer suit also road-bikes, right? The title tells MTB...

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
yes they will but are generally slightly longer at 135mm-so unnecessary surplus thread showing
8 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 

Are these thicker/warmer than the dhb Winter thermal socks?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
The DHB ranges are usually very good. Though I didnt find these particularly warm as a thermo sock should be. Just expected to be warmer than my summer socks with overshoes on.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The dhb Merino cycling sock has a slim and lightweight feel but offers exceptional warmth to weight ratio.
 

Warmer than the thermo-sock?

I already have a pair of the dhb thermo-socks. Are these merino socks any warmer?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I didnt find these warm at all
1 year, 4 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The CX design built on a Nylon Carbon base with lightweight K:ium rails. The Arione CX features a new lightweight foam yielding a 70 grams weight reduction from the standard Arione.
 

Is the white/red option, mostly white with a red line down the middle?

IS the white/red version of this saddle mostly white with a red line down the middle?

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/fizik-arione-cx-saddle-with-kium-rails/
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I bought the white with the black stripe.
You have got the colourways right.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 BodyFit Pro Team Cycling Jersey - 2011
BodyFit Pro Team Cycling Jersey - 2011
SPORTFUL are technical partners to the Pro Tour Team, Saxo Bank. The BODYFIT PRO TEAM JERSEY, used by the pro’s when the mercury’s rising and keeping cool is the difference between winning and loosing. Finishing or quitting.
 

Find my size plz.....

I'm 41" in chest and 31" in waist and like racing fit jersey. What is the best size for me?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
These are close fitting. I would go for XL-but check out the sizing guide. My friend similar sizes to your self, settled for L.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 Elite Team Workstand
Elite Team Workstand
Another wiggle exclusive!
 

WIll the clamp fit an ovalised Madone carbon top tube?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I cant say for certain. Though my Orbea top tube is angular. I dont overclamp but it does fit.
3 years ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

Can I add these to a CamelBak water bladder without any issues?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I use these in the Camelbak for longer rides. Cant think of any potential hazards other than they do omit a slight aeration-which is release on drinking. You will need a few tablets for full capacity-but leave space for the air expansion.
3 years ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The CX design built on a Nylon Carbon base with lightweight K:ium rails. The Arione CX features a new lightweight foam yielding a 70 grams weight reduction from the standard Arione.
 

Fizik arione cx kium saddle measurements

Is the Fizik Arione cx kium saddles measurements 300x132mm as listed on Fiziks web site or 300x128mm as listed on your website which was the answer you gave to a question regarding the saddles measurements?

May you clarify the measurements as i would like t place an order for two saddles.

With Regards
james
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Sorry James-I check it out as 130mm.
Yes I did buy one. And it is really comfortable for me. Like me you will double check your research.
The more standard Arione has a heavier padding which might account for the difference.
3 years ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 Elite Team Workstand
Elite Team Workstand
Another wiggle exclusive!
 

The height adjustment locking mechanism on my Spin Doctor Team workstand has broken. Can I get a replacement part?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
With Elite products I contacted direct by email in italy. They sent the replacement by return mail. You cant get better service than that.
Send pictures though-if your Italian isnt that good-their English is much better.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
paolo1
cramlington