paolo1
Top 250 Contributor
Share paolo1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
paolo1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    50
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    17 July 2010
  • Last Review
    23 July 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.2
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    24 April 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    24 April 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    08 May 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    25 February 2011
  • Last Answer
    16 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
paolo1's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
Essential for longer rides, Assos Chamois Creme is formulated to reduce friction, inflammation and discomfort. Applied to the skin, it gives a soothing, cooling effect and applied to the short it helps maintain suppleness, elasticity and freshness.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
On Every Ride
Posted23 July 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having suffered saddle abrasions. This product has exceptional merit. It does provide the lack of friction required."
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Castelli's Volo 9 Socks are made especially to feel light on the foot and to keep your foot dry. The yarns absorb no moisture, so your foot stays dry for the entire ride. Castelli obsessed over the cuff and midfoot band so they feel just right
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality and Comfort
Posted23 July 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"One thing you need in socks is comfort.
These also look good.
One thing to check and get right is the sizing. You will be bigger than you think.
The colours are not as dense when they stretch on"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The SuperGel is the most shock absorbing glove in the range, featuring high end materials and 6mm DoctorGel padding. These gloves offer maximum protection against hand fatigue and are the perfect choice for riders who suffer from numbness on the bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good Support
Posted01 July 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Like the extra gel support from these. First time from this manufacturer and I am impressed. And a great wiggle price too.
Though did get a bit irritated by the inside thumb seams. Just made me aware how long I was spending on the hoods.
Had others do the same so not a fault necessarily."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Great Value
Cons: seams
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tailored with extreme care to give an amazing race fit, the Assos T.équipe_S7 Bib Shorts are snug and feature a super-anatomic insert. The supremely comfortable fit make these a great choice for non-stop use and races where details make a difference
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Possibly the Best Shorts Ever
Posted22 May 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Look the same as most shorts. Little touches make it different.
But the comfort is the special trick. A well thought out design.
You can spend hours thinking how you would design it any diffrent.
The floating pad is genius"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ASSOS Active Wear Cleanser is delicate on elastic fibres, pH neutral, neutralises odors, enhances textile breathability and maintains sharp colour sublimation. Exactly what you need for washing performance Sportswear.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Not Sure it Made Any diffrence
Posted10 April 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Now washing in cold water immediately finished riding as Assos recommend. Would need chemical analysis but didnt see or smelt any real diffrence."
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
simply dependable
Posted16 March 2015
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"great that wiggle had this cheapest of anywhere. Now I can get the real big rear sprockets to get me up the biggest hills.
And it is now 11 speed too.
"
Pros: Great Value, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 BBB BTL-12 LockOut Lock Ring Removal Tool
BBB BTL-12 LockOut Lock Ring Removal Tool
Removes cassette lock-rings from Shimano/Campagnolo compatible cassettes and centre lock disc brake hub systems.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth the Investment
Posted20 August 2014
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Idea for swapping over and doing maintenance on cassette and free hub.
You cant do it without"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tour de What? Tour de Lazy, that's the real challenge - let everyone know you're the leader of that tour with the Plain Lazy Women's My Other Jersey Is Yellow T-Shirt. Women's Cotton Long-Fit T Shirt With Back Neck Printed Logo.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Not only for Le Grand Depart
Posted16 July 2014
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"My wife loved it. It was a great fit(Thankfully). Nicely understated.
And she has been wearing it since. Glad I didnt go for Va Va Froome
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda Padded Bib Short.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
DHB quality product
Posted24 April 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The shorts were the same as another pair without trade names.
Equally as good.
This time the side wings on the pad wrinkled easy causing a saddle sore.
No real reason why the pad wrinkles-will try and resolve"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Aliante Versus Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2013
Aliante Versus Saddle with K:IUM Rails 2013
Super comfortable Aliante saddle with Versus pressure relieft channel. Aliante Versus Saddles incorporate a pressure relief area into the most popular Spine Concept shapes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Saddle to Date
Posted22 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
paolo1
fromcramlington
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"a beautiful looking saddle too. Very comfortable even after 150k.
Not difficult to keep clean. I have the more basic model on my winter bike and it is similarly comfy. Stopped looking for the holy grail now.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
paolo1's Questions
 
 dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda Padded Bib Short.
 

Are these for male?

The pad details says it is for females
2 years, 3 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
paolo1's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 

Is there a way to tell the difference between a 5800 short cage and a 5800 cage.

I've recently bought a 2015 Pinarello Razha which comes with the Shimano 105 groupset. The bike came with a 11speed 5800 11-28 cassette but I want to fit 5800 11-32 cassette. However, I'm unsure of whether I've got a short cage (SS) or the medium cage (GS) fitted. Is there markings on the cage that tell me which size cage I have?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
the gs is markedly diffrent in size a fair bit longer
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 

SS or GS for 50/34 with 11-28 cassette

I have a compact 50/34 6800 chainset with a 11-25 6800 cassette.
I want a new cassette to offer a bit more gearing for a few tough sportives coming up. Buying a 5800 cassette to keep costs down as only required for occasional use.
Simple question is, will the 6800 SS rear derailleur accomodate an 11-28 cassette on a 50/34 compact - giving a total of 33T capacity, or will i need to buy an additional GS derailleur.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I would go for the GS with large rear cage
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 

hello all. my derailleur is a RD 5701. is it the same as 5700 or 5800. thanks

Shimano 105
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
no it is not 5800 is the new 11 speed
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
The Shimano 105 5800 Rear Dérailleur gives awesome shifting under all conditions. Increase rigidity and reliable long term quality with this 11 speed 105 wide link medium cage rear dérailleur.
 

Will a 5800 rear, front derailler and chain work with a 9 speed 34-50 compact double crankset?

I want to upgrade from 9 to 11 speed but keep the crank set
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The chain will require to be 11 speed to marry with the cassette.
That way you cannot use the old chainrings effectively.

You might get chainrings in 11 speed to fit your cranks. if you know the correct pcd
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
dhb Team Wiggle Honda Bib Short
As the official team kit supplier of the Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling Team, dhb are proud to present the 2014 Wiggle Honda Padded Bib Short.
 

Hi I wonder if the short shorts of team honda mens Wiggle is available under the Elastic Interface chamois Endurance. It is possible? If not possible

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
i am sure this is a one specification item. No specials
1 year ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 

Would these be suitable for Time Trialing 10's or 25 TT?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
they would be okay and roll well. But I wouldn't in favour of a tubular
1 year ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
Energy Bar is race proven, high in energy and low in fat (less than 2%) for fast carbohydrate absorption. Made from real fruit (58%) and wholesome grains (22%).
 

How many of these do you need to eat?

Looking at fuel for a long ride - from 85 to 100 miles.

How many will I need to eat?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You theoretically should have one every 20 minutes. On a long ride-you would be sick of these. So I would supplement it with real food
1 year, 1 month ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
A 10 speed chain that gives enhanced durability with their SP (Stretchproof) treatment. Also the chain is non-directional in design meaning it's independent of direction & allows maximum compatibility, no matter MTB or Race: this chain fits all.
 

Shimano Compatible

Can this replace a Shimano 105 5600 10 Speed Chain?

FYI I have a 105 cassette and Tiagra triple chainset. Will this chain fit ok?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes without doubt
1 year, 5 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 QR Titanium Alloy MTB Skewer Set
QR Titanium Alloy MTB Skewer Set
Quick release skewer set with Titanium spindle and alloy lever.
 

Do these skewer suit also road-bikes, right? The title tells MTB...

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
yes they will but are generally slightly longer at 135mm-so unnecessary surplus thread showing
2 years ago
by
paolo1
cramlington
 
 dhb 12cm Thermo Cycling Sock
dhb 12cm Thermo Cycling Sock
Heavy weight winter cycling sock, with Thermolite polyester fibres aimed to keep your feet as warm as possible, in colder conditions.
 

Are these thicker/warmer than the dhb Winter thermal socks?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The DHB ranges are usually very good. Though I didnt find these particularly warm as a thermo sock should be. Just expected to be warmer than my summer socks with overshoes on.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
paolo1
cramlington