IronTuty
Share IronTuty's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
IronTuty's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    26 July 2010
  • Last Review
    04 February 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    26 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 July 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
IronTuty's Reviews
 
The Compressport ForQuad thigh guard is the only compression product sized to your upper leg muscles, not your waist, enabling optimal compression levels to your quadriceps and hamstrings while also supporting the ITB.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great product but sizing hard to get right
Posted04 February 2012
IronTuty
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Runner
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these as I have been using the calf compressport items for 9 months or so and they have been fantastic and saw some Ultra runners with both the calf and the quad compression gear on. So I gave it a go and used their comprehensive sizing chart to get the right ones for me but they came in way too tight even though walking around the house and up and down the stairs my quads felt great with them on. As others have also commented that they come quite high up into the crotch area and not sure how much this would annoy on a long run or ride. Will be getting one size up but not sure then how much higher they will encroach upwards!"
Pros: Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High Compression Calf Guard & Stirrup SS11
High Compression Calf Guard & Stirrup SS11
Offering graduated compression technology utilising 2XU's exclusive circular knit technology for guarding against leg fatigue, muscle soreness and injury prevention.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Really cuts into upper calf
Posted22 April 2011
IronTuty
fromTunbridge Wells
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having tried out the 2XU Calf Guards and 2XU Compression socks I was keen to see what the stirrup version could do for me on a day to day basis. However, even though I ordered a size larger than they recommend, the upper silicone strip material 'bites' into my upper calf after just an hour and as soon as 2 to 3 hours have passed it becomes unbearable to wear and I have to take them off. This is the same case for if I am out training or sitting at work - no difference.
I talked to them about this at the 2011 London Marathon Expo and they looked blankly at me as if I was the first person that had ever encountered this. Other stands confirmed it is a common issue so not all that impressed with 2XU now.
If it weren't for this aspect then I would rate them higher as otherwise they do a great job of speeding up recovery and keeping the muscles in place when out and about.
I think I will try Chrissie Wellington's CompressSport next as they have softer materials at top and bottom of each piece."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High Performance Compression Calf Guard SS11
High Performance Compression Calf Guard SS11
Offering graduated compression technology utilising 2XU's exclusive circular knit technology for guarding against leg fatigue, muscle soreness and injury prevention.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great but too tight
Posted24 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
IronTuty
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Toyed with getting these for a while but persistent knee pain made me go for it. No problem getting them on over the heel as others have suggested but even though I measured my calf and got the suggested size they 'eat' into my upper calf after an hour. Even though I have worn them a lot and been able to go out for short runs for which they have been superb they just can't be worn for long lengths of time. I've tried to wear them all night and on some days all day and it's just too much. So I have just received the sock version and went for the large ones this time and they too feel too tight. I know it is supposed to be compression wear but not to the point where it feels as if it is crushing the tissue! Having said all of that the knee pain has been significantly reduced when wearing them so for that I am truly grateful. I think I might try the calf guards again in a larger size."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value electrolyte
Posted26 July 2010
IronTuty
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I've tried a few electrolyte tablets and all had great effect on my body but the Zero's are just as good and have twice as many tablets in each tube. The Zero's have 20 tablets per tube where as the others have 10 and the size of each is almost the same. Just pop a tablet into a 500ml litre bottle of water and within a couple of minutes it has fizzed and effervesced?! and is ready to drink. It really helps with hydration either with sports or at work as all that mental work at the computer stressing over deadlines still uses up valuable minerals in your body and I certainly find I'm more alert and on top of my game when drinking water with one of these in it. When out and about shopping or actually doing some sweaty sport I seem to be able to keep going for longer when others are struggling. As there is no carbs in it you can't substitute it for actual energy food but I feel it really assists the whole body and gives it a helping hand to keep up in today's fast paced society. Nice one Zero!"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, can be added to water in windy conditions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
IronTuty's Questions
 
IronTuty has not submitted any questions.
 
IronTuty's Answers
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 

how many tubes come in the package

You get 20 solid, disc shaped tablets in a tube and you order as many individual tubes as you like. I went for 2 to try out different flavours and I have to say they are great - Citrus and the Berry one. Give them a go I would say.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
IronTuty
London