Splather
Share Splather's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Splather's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    29 July 2010
  • Last Review
    29 July 2010
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    11
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Answer
    29 July 2010
  • Last Answer
    29 July 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Splather's Reviews
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Quality waterproof pannier
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Splather
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"OK, I treated myself. £80-90 seemed a lot for panniers but I'm glad I got them.
They're big, holding 20l each (making a pair hold 40), and the fitting I found incredibly easy. Getting them on and off the bike once you have adjusted them is very quick and easy. I moved to these from some much smaller Halfords panniers that simply weren't waterproof and were a pain to fit. The fitting system on the Ortliebs is a dream. You slide the hook at the bottom to engage the pannier rack, and them lower the bag.
Once the hooks are over the top of the rack, let go of the handles and you're done. It's that easy. Getting them off is just as simple because the carrying handle controls the closing mechanism of the hooks. Pick the bag up, and by the time you've picked up the weight of the bag, it's already free. Not had any problems with these popping off the rack, and they're totally waterproof too.
There are nice big reflective panels on the side of the bag (so pointing at the front and rear of the bike) which help you to stay seen. They don't have external pockets, but it's not really a hassle getting them open, and inside you have 2 internal pockets. Both are in mesh so you can see what's in there, one of them zippable so you don't bounce any valuables out of the pocket and into the main bag.
To close these panniers, you just roll the top down (which seals them) then pop a clip on to hold the roll down. Finally, you hook the shoulder strap through a guide on the front and you're good to go. They're strong, waterproof, reflective where it counts, and easy to fit and remove. What's not to like?
Oh, I tell you what's not to like. The instructions. These bags are QL1 fitting. For some reason Ortlieb included the instructions for QL2 fittings. Not a major problem as it's fairly self explanatory and the correct ones are online, but if you're paying around £90 for the pair, you would expect the right instructions to be in the box. But other than that, they're great."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, waterproof
Cons: wrong instructions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Amberley Waterproof Cycling Jacket
Amberley Waterproof Cycling Jacket
The Amberley range - keeping you warm, dry and safe
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The joys of staying dry
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Splather
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought this as I'd only used kagoules for commuting and riding, and in those you create your own ecosystem very quickly. So far, it's great.
I got the black one as I don't like hi-viz stuff. It's got plenty of reflective panels and strips, to help you stay seen without the jacket being garish. I found the drop cut at the back to cover my posterior was perfect and kept me dry. It's got pit zips for ventilation and a double zip (i.e. one at the top and one at the bottom) on the main jacket so you can adjust it to suit your temperature/manoevrability.
No pockets on the front so you're not tempted to put keys or other things that would be nasty when you come off in there, nice spacious pocket at the back though.
The drawstring at the bottom can be adjusted one handed, and there's a nice bit of fleecy stuff at the neck for comfort and warmth.
Can't fault it - excellent and very waterproof jacket."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very, very bright
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Splather
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Unbelievably bright for only 1 LED. Battery life on main beam is 10hrs and then another 80hrs at a dimmed rate. There is no option to select the lower rate manually, unfortunately.
Made the typical mistake of looking straight into it to see how bright it was (brighter than me, evidently). The answer is very.
Well built, feels like it could take a drop. Takes 4 AA batteries, so I've invested in some rechargeables for when the nights draw in. It's waterproof thanks to the switch being magnetic, and doesn't weigh a ton.
Good spot of light, little bit of spill you can see bad potholes. Another nice bit of kit from CatEye, but perhaps the inclusion of a flashing mode, or being able to manually select the lower light setting to conserve battery when there's some ambient light would make it perfect."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Rubino Wire Bead Clincher Tyre
Vittoria Rubino Wire Bead Clincher Tyre
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Tight tight tight!
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Splather
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these tyres to replace the stocks on my Kona JTS as I do most of my riding on the road.
Very inexpensive, and also in black/blue to match the frame! They look great, seem to grip pretty well, and I've had no pinch flats or anything from them. However, they're VERY tight to get on. It took me an hour, a lot of swearing, nearly 2 broken thumbs and 1 broken tyre lever to try and get one of them on. Then I had to wait while I bought new levers to fit them.
Once they're on, they're great. But getting them on is really rather difficult. If you have decent levers (I found 2 at the same time to split the load helped) then you should be OK, but set plenty of time aside and don't plan on a quick change before a ride."
Pros: Durable, Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Kryptonite KryptoFlex 7 Foot Cable Bike Lock
Kryptonite KryptoFlex 7 Foot Cable Bike Lock
Double-looped cable for use with all Kryptonite U-locks, disc locks and padlocks. Braided steel cable has greater core density than twisted cable, increasing cut resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An excellent partner to a good quality D lock
Posted29 July 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Splather
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"The Kryptoflex cable is great! Some have said it's a bit weighty, and as the dearly departed Sheldon Brown pointed out - the weight of decent locks is the difference between a middle of the road bike and an expensive one. But the other argument is - it's better to lug a bit of extra weight to keep your nice bike in the first place!
Anyway - the cable is of good quality, it's braided cable so it's harder for your average bike thief to cut through quickly. The loops are solid and don't seem like they'd be particularly easy to attack, and one fits through the other so you can create a sort of noose. It's long enough to secure your front wheel and saddle to the frame. I've been using it in conjunction with a New York lock through the back wheel and so far the bike hasn't been touched. It also has a velcro strap on it so that you can keep the cable bundled up - which is really useful - I suppose you could coil it around your frame or seatpost and carry it that way. Great product."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Splather's Questions
 
Splather has not submitted any questions.
 
Splather's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

are the ortlieb panniers the 2009 model?

and the price is still for a set of two?
Don't know about the model, but mine came as a pair
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

ortlieb panniers; do they come as a pair for the advertised price?

Yep, mine came as a pair
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Do you have to use both of these panniers together, or can you use just one?

You can fit one pannier at a time with no problems
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Is the capacity 40L per pannier, or 40L between the pair combined?

40L for the pair
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

This may be a silly question but could i attach one of these to a racer?

As long as it has fittings for a rack (and you then get a rack to attach them to)!
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Do i need to buy a rack to fit these panniers, or does the rack come with the product. Can someone tell me which rack i will need for the panniers

I am new to panniers!!!
They don't come with a rack - you'll need to get one separately. Racks come with different diameters of rails, but these come with adapters to take care of most sizes. As always, check with manufacturers or the spec before you buy!
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

are the ortlieb panniers sold in pairs?

Mine came as a pair
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Will these fit on a Bontrager back rack I?

They come with adapters to account for different diameter of racks, and the fittings are adjustable in pretty much every way. You can adjust the angle of the hook bar, the positioning of the bottom clip, and the diameter of the hooks. Should fit pretty much anything but I'd recommend checking with the manufacturer if you're really not sure.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
Ortlieb Back Roller Classic Panniers
A no-compromise waterproof rear pannier with an air-tight roll top closure system and the simple and secure QL1 mounting system. Ideal for long distance bike tours and excursions.
 

Is the price shown for a single or pair of pannier

Mine came as a pair
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather
 
 HL-EL530 LED Front Light
HL-EL530 LED Front Light
The EL-500 was the brightest normal battery front LED by a mile, but harnessing the very latest LED technology, Cateye's new EL-530 surpasses this by 50% with no price increase!!!
 

I've just dropped my EL530 and looks like I've trashed the bulb. Is the bulb replaceable? Can't see the part on your www site...

Best answer
It isn't a bulb, it's an LED. Not sure how you'd go about replacing it - have you tried contacting CatEye?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Splather