Beerman
Share Beerman's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Beerman's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    04 November 2010
  • Last Review
    18 December 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    04 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    17 July 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Beerman's Reviews
 
 Team Sky T-Shirt - 2012
Team Sky T-Shirt - 2012
A high quality t-shirt with a technical blended fabric for moisture wicking comfort in hot weather. With printed team graphics, the Sky T-shirt is the perfect leisurewear for Sky Pro Cycling Partners and supporters.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Good design but not good quality
Posted18 December 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Beerman
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Shirt is thin and is of a low quality for the money."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good gps useful features
Posted17 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Beerman
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Haven't used in the rain yet but it functions well on the bike in the dry. I usually have problems with my phone in Dorset at times but the Garmin seems to keep the satellites tracked. When it loses the satellite connection it has been very quick to reset 10-20 secs. The heart rate monitor and cadence were easy to set up and work well. Web site is good, virtual rider, training and course settings are useful features. Easy Strava upload.
I have fitted the cadence to a carbon frame (on the rear chainstay opposite drive) but I am not able to use the speed sensor on the back wheel spokes as there is no clearance! No big deal as speed by gps but not good if you want to set up on a turbo trainer. Other small niggle is that I sometimes have a problem deleting activities and have to repeat it several times before the unit finally responds hence 4 not 5 stars.
"
Pros: Lightweight, use on 3 bikes, garmin web site, ant add ons, strava, bike mount
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 TL-LD270 LED Rear Light
TL-LD270 LED Rear Light
Favoured by riders for its space-efficient design, the TL-LD270 squeezes 3 LEDs into its compact body, offering a greater light output and improved visibility over the previous LD260. Flashing or constant modes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Compact and bijou
Posted30 August 2011
Beerman
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Title says it all. Good for secondary light as it is quite small. Ideal for racers that don't have much space."
Pros: Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: small lr1 batteries
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Topeak Joe Blow Sport II Track Pump
Topeak Joe Blow Sport II Track Pump
Topeak quality at a great price! Padded elastomer grip and TwinHead connector make this efficient pump comfortable and easy to use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good pump
Posted09 August 2011
Beerman
fromGillingham, Dorset
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Good quality pump for the money. Haven't used a lot so can't comment on the valve attachment longevity. It pumps up race tyre to 80-100psi with ease and has a metal cylinder. I have seen more expensive pumps that don't look as well made."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Continental Hometrainer tyre
Posted04 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Beerman
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Runs a lot cooler then a standard road tyre (On a cronos fluid turbo trainer) and so there is a lot less wear.
Tyre seems to have more grip and so turbo trainer functions more realistically.
"
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Beerman's Questions
 
Beerman has not submitted any questions.
 
Beerman's Answers
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

Will the cadence sensor fit on the rear stay of a 2012 Specialized Roubaix compact?

I have fitted one to Specialized 2012 Tarmac Comp. (carbon frame) and FSA S-LK crank but there isn't a great deal of clearance from the wheel spokes. I can't fit the speed magnet to the spokes as there is not enough clearance. Speed is also done by GPS so no big deal unless you want to use speed on turbo trainer.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Beerman
Gillingham, Dorset
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

What is the difference between the 'premium' heart rate monitor and the standard HR monitor?

Best answer
As far as I am aware it is the strap only. Premium has a nice soft strap.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Beerman
Gillingham, Dorset
 
 Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Garmin Edge 500 Red with Premium Heart Rate and Cadence
Designed for performance cyclists, Edge 500 is small and lightweight. It tracks speed, distance, GPS position and elevation, so you can get the most from your training and racing. Bundle includes Premium HRM, Speed and Cadence sensors.
 

can i download routes and navigate on rides?

You can download routes. I wouldn't like to navigate from them as they are fairly basic instructions. I used one on a route I know and it told me I had gone off route. About a hundred yards in to my turn it found my route again. It does give you basic info but no maps etc.
Hope this helps.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Beerman
Gillingham, Dorset
 
 Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Hometrainer Folding Tyre
Got a turbo trainer? Get one of these!
 

trainer tyres i have 700x25 on my specialized bike can i fit the continental 700x 23 as i am having trouble finding 700x25 turbo training tyres

Yes as I have done this on Specialised bike with 700X25 wheels. Bike secteur.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Beerman