harrdjc
Share harrdjc's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
harrdjc's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    18
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    30 August 2010
  • Last Review
    24 August 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    24 August 2013
  • Last Question
    14 March 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    30 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    06 January 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
harrdjc's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
A low profile padded undershort suitable for commuters and multisport sessions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great fit, lightweight, cool
Posted24 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these to replace previous product. These are a better fit, appear more breathable and are definitely cooler when worn in hot weather. Usually wear them under north face trekker zip off trousers which are stretchy and they fit comfortably."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Michelin Pro4 Service Course are for cyclists seeking a very high performance tyre whatever the circumstances. Faster and safer due to improved wet grip compared to Pro Race tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
very quick and appear durable
Posted24 August 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought these as a summer tyre for sportives/recreational use. So far had no issues over 500 miles and give a comfortable ride."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Vittoria Zaffiro Rigid Clincher Tyre 2013
Zaffiro is recognised everywhere as the training tyre for the serious rider.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
excellent value and performance
Posted06 January 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've used these tyres over the winter months for the past 3 years and have never had a problem. great grip and low rolling resistance for training and social riding. strongly recommend."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Trail Hybrid/City Mudguard Set
Trail Hybrid/City Mudguard Set
An easy and quick solution, the Trail set provides awesome value for money front and rear mud protection, 45mm wide and suitable for 28" and 700c wheels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Do the job
Posted09 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Great fit, used in heavy rain on mixed trail, kept me and the bike free from splashes"
Pros: Great Value, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
Ladies Pace Roubaix Padded Bib Tight
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new women's specific Tour chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
You don't need anything better for winter and spri
Posted07 May 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these for my wife after I bought the mens version a couple of months ago. Great value and quality, extremely comfortable even in the rain. No need to buy anything more expensive. Sizing is spot on."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Don't like the chill and the feeling of water in your shoes? Waterflex overshoes are designed to offer the best protection against the rain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great performance
Posted05 February 2012
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These overshoes do exactly what they are supposed to. I wear them over Shimano touring shoes and have helped keep my feet comfortable in temparatures down to zero degrees. Not yet tried in heavy rain. Look good and easy to put on. Size 43/44 are a perfect fit for my 44 shoes but are too small for my size 44 trainers."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Supercharged shifting with bulletproof precision. Sacrifice nothing: not durability, dependability, or performance. The SRAM Rival Rear Derailleur matches SRAM's Exact Actuation with tried-and-true competition proven design and construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
super smooth
Posted01 January 2012
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought to replace my extremely reliable short cage Rival mech on my sportive bike as I needed some lower ratios on a compact group set to tackle the big climbs in Colorado. Now I've got a low ratio of 34:32 to get me over the Independence Pass. Performed as expected so far. Great price."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Randonneur Trail City Tyre
Randonneur Trail City Tyre
The Randonneur tyre is for riders who are likely to encounter off-road surfaces whilst cycling to and from work or for the occasional cycle ride.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Choice
Posted01 January 2012
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I wanted tyres to fit on a Scott Sub 25 for use on gravel trail, mud and tarmac during my usual 20 mile off road exercise route. Massive choice available and opted for these due to the spec and price. Turned out to be the perfect choice with confident grip on all surfaces in all weathers over the past 3 months. Bonus of reflective bands on the walls adds to the safety aspect. Will buy again at this price. Fantastic value"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Developed for touring riders looking for full length, integrated bar ends to complement and ergonomic grip design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Expensive
Posted01 January 2012
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Provides good choice of hand positions when touring. Downside is that there is less cushioning than might be expected to be provided at this price."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres are robust 60 TPI nylon casing, have a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great value
Posted01 January 2012
harrdjc
fromColchester
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fast, comfortable and fantastic value. Have ridden over 1000 miles on country roads still going well. Will buy again."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
harrdjc's Questions
 
Women's specific leisure / trail shoe suitable for all your off or on road adventures. With trekking style rubber tread for extra grip when walking this shoe will let you explore off the beaten track whether you're on or off your bike.
 

Do these shoes take SPD cleats?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
 Northwave Artic Commuter Road GTX Boots
Northwave Artic Commuter Road GTX Boots
Winter road cycling boots with a breathable, insulated Koala Gore-Tex® membrane for optimal protection in harsh climates. Featuring a reinforced carbon sole for maximum grip and reflective detailing to help keep you safe and visible on your commutes
 

Are these compatible with SPD cleats?

Are these boots comfortable when walking?
9 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
 Indoor Cycle Holder
Indoor Cycle Holder
Bike carrier for those who want to transport their bike inside the car.
 

how long is the base?

I need to be sure it fits inside my Saab 9-3 sportwagon.
1 year ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
harrdjc's Answers
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

How to get out?

I like the look of these but how do you twist out of them? Although I am getting these for a trip I would plan on using them for my 6 mile commute t work, and I'm worried that these will be too hard t twist out of in emergencies.
The tension is adjustable. Best to set them at the lowest tension to start and practice. I've used them for commuting and short journeys for years after a couple of hours practice in a car park.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
Great value touring SPD pedal with all new lightweight and stylish body.
 

Single direction release?

I currently have a pair of shimano SPd shoes for my Mtb and looking to add pedals to my recently purchased road bike! Are the cleats supplied single direction release or is it the pedal itself?
I read on a review that someone had to turn their foot toward the frame of the bike rather than away from it which I currently do on my mtb, turning towards the frame doesn't fill me with much confidence in the middle of traffic should i need to put a foot down quickly.

Thanks
I have only ever turned either foot away from the frame to release with these and other SPD pedals using the same shoes and cleats.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
 Trail Hybrid/City Mudguard Set
Trail Hybrid/City Mudguard Set
An easy and quick solution, the Trail set provides awesome value for money front and rear mud protection, 45mm wide and suitable for 28" and 700c wheels.
 

Which mudguard would you recommend?

Bike: Felt F75x - cyclocross

Size: 700 x 34C
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Suggest Zefal Swan for the back and Zafal Croozer at the front
1 year, 8 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 

Is this actually made from carbon fibre Or is it just wrapped?

solid carbon fibre, you can tell when you use it. I found the improved comfort level over similar priced alloy posts to be significant.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
Close ratio Mega-9 HG50 cassette, ideal for road/touring use.
 

Can I replace a Shimano Ultegra 9 speed cassette, 11 - 25 with this cassette?

Yes, but if using a road bike group set make sure you have enough clearance between your existing cassette and the jockey wheels.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
 Crono Mag ElastoGel Turbo Trainer
Crono Mag ElastoGel Turbo Trainer
CRONO MAG from Elite is a magnetic-type training roller with five different constant-speed resistance levels.
 

Can the Quick release supplied for use with the turbo trainer be used for normal cycling?

Yes. The only reason you need to use the provided skewer with the trainer is because of the profile of the QR nut fitting into the trainer. I've used it for road riding.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester
 
Recommended for use with SRAM's Force and Rival groupsets. The new PowerGlide™ 1070 cassette offers an innovative approach to 10 speed cassette design.
 

Hi will this SRAM cassette 11/28 fit my bike i have the following Chainset: SRAM S350 compact and Rear Mech: SRAM Rival

Yes, I replaced the original SRAM 12-26 with this one.
4 years ago
by
harrdjc
Colchester