Shearwatermissile
Share Shearwatermissile's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Shearwatermissile's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    23 October 2011
  • Last Review
    26 March 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    04 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    18 February 2016
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Shearwatermissile's Reviews
 
The AL 6061 T6 alloy and hi-tech forging provide an excellent weight-performance ratio. The front plate is personalised with a logo "crystal flex".
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good stem for the price
Posted26 March 2016
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this to match my Cinelli Vai seat post and I am very pleased with it. The weight for 100mm came in at 125g which was half the weight of my original unbranded stem."
Pros: Attractive, Good Fit, Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tom Ritcheys original 4-Axis stem changed stem design forever. From the stress-managing forged faceplate, bolt spacing and angled steer tube slot to the 3D net forging process, the 4-Axis is still the standard in lightweight, stiff and strong stems.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good quality replacement
Posted18 February 2016
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I bought this in 100mm guise to replace the stock one on my bike which was 110mm. It was easy to fit and has a good grip on the handlebars so no movement, unlike my stock stem. It looks good with a fairly simple reversible logo. For the money I am pleased."
Pros: Good Fit, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does what it is supposed to do
Posted12 December 2014
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Can`t fault the inner tube, fitted ok, Can`t say fairer than that. Oh, and I would buy again"
Pros: Durable, Rugged, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This small chain tool from Park Tools goes anywhere and performs like a shop quality tool.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple to use
Posted14 October 2014
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Used once to remove links out of a new chain and what a doddle to use. Glad i have it for the next time."
Pros: High Quality, Adjustable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable summer socks
Posted14 October 2014
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good fit and comfortable, ok for summer usage. Certainly glad I bought two pairs."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
SRAM PG950 9 Speed Cassette with Power Glide II Technology.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smooth shifting
Posted14 October 2014
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I purchased this as a direct replacement. The original one did 6800 miles so hoping this will do the same. Very smooth."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A 9 speed chain that is compatible withShimano, SRAM and Campagnolo 9 speed systems. Features include their XSP treatment, X-Bridge and the Bulls-Eye pin - a unique KMC riveting system that provides unsurpassed side plate retention.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Easy to fit
Posted10 September 2014
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Bought this chain as my old chain was a KMC and did over 6800 miles so I thought why change makes ?
Fitted with no problem just had to remove 3 links with the Park tools chain link remover also purchased. If this chain does 6800 miles I`ll be well pleased.
"
Pros: Versatile, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 Easton Cork Bar Tape
Easton Cork Bar Tape
The finishing touch, comfortable padded tape with Easton logos on the surface and on end plugs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Better than expected
Posted13 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Shearwatermissile
fromStowmarket
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Replaced my 3 year old bar tape last weekend after putting the job off. I need not have worried. The Easton tape went on fairly easily,
I just took my time and afterwards admired it. There was plenty of length to play with. On the road the tape cushions the bumps of the road a lot better and feels comfortable. Certainly would buy again
"
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Tight fit but a good tyre nevertheless
Posted04 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Shearwatermissile
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 55-64
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have had these tyres on for nearly 2 years now and with over 3000 miles on them, they are still looking good for wear. They are tight to fit as I was reminded today after having to change an innertube. Not a puncture but over inflated by me and the valve blew out ! I would certainly buy the same again"
Pros: Durable, Attractive
Cons: Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Light weight mini pump with alloy barrel for roadies. Efficient design pumps upto 160 psi
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Just Brilliant
Posted23 October 2011
Shearwatermissile
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Having looked around for age and reading all reviews on different pumps opted for this one. Great little well made pump to carry in my rucksack. My old pump used to stick out like an aerial ! but being 30 odd years old is still good. Just needed something smaller.
This pump does not appear to leak and certainly gets my 700 x 23 tryes up nice and hard in no time. Well worth the money.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Shearwatermissile's Questions
 
Shearwatermissile has not submitted any questions.
 
Shearwatermissile's Answers
 
Tom Ritcheys original 4-Axis stem changed stem design forever. From the stress-managing forged faceplate, bolt spacing and angled steer tube slot to the 3D net forging process, the 4-Axis is still the standard in lightweight, stiff and strong stems.
 

Blatte or Wet Black finish ? Thanks !

Matt black, I`d call it a satin finish which is common on most bars and stems. No shiny.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Shearwatermissile
Stowmarket
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 

Giant S-R2 wheels

What presta valve size should I buy for my Giant S-R2 wheels? Many thanks.
I don`t know the depth of your rims but suggest you measure them and buy the tube with a larger valve stem by at least 20mm.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Shearwatermissile
Stowmarket
 
The Vittoria road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels. Medium weight road inner tube with 2 valve length choices, 42mm or 51mm for deeper section rims.
 

Can I use Vittoria Road Inner Tube 700x19-23 on a 700x23 wheel?

Do you mean a 700c x 23 tyre ? Yes you can, that is what I use.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Shearwatermissile
Stowmarket
 
The popular all-rounder Rubino (wire bead) has the perfect mix of features for most amateurs, with the endurance for the toughest challenges. These tyres feature a 60 TPI nylon casing, has a technical tread pattern and long life tread compound.
 

Vittoria Rubino clincher tyre

Is this folding tyre?
No, but there is a folding version available.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Shearwatermissile
Stowmarket