NewlyHookedonTri
Share NewlyHookedonTri's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
NewlyHookedonTri's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    3
  • First Review
    02 October 2010
  • Last Review
    19 June 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 October 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 June 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
NewlyHookedonTri's Reviews
 
 Tour Bibshorts
Tour Bibshorts
Anatomic 8 panel bib shorts with mesh bibs and a Bodyfit Pro seatpad for dependable performance on club rides, training rides and sportives.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Mr Toad!
Posted19 June 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
fromNorthwood
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Ok, the limited reviews available when I bought these tell a very small part of the story that is these very comfortable, well made, stylish bibshorts.
There was some chat about sizing...which was spot on. You will need to go at least a size bigger than you normally wear. I'm 185cm tall and 82kg and I usually wear Large sizes but am very much XL for these shorts, and the Sportful shirt and gloves I bought as well.
The quality is fantastic (5 star) but definatey a summer short with some additional clothing required if the weather is a bit dodgy.
One reviewer wrote about the padding and its position when you ride. I have to say that I did notice on my test ride but I know that my bike is still not set up properly and my ride position is a little too far back (and i'm not conviced his was right either). On a spinning bike, sat in the corrrect position, they are epically comfy and the big pad sits just right.
For the price, the look and the quality these shorts (in fact the whole Sportful range) is great. Buy with confidence...but one size higher.
"
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Entry level
Posted19 June 2012
NewlyHookedonTri
fromNorthwood
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These pedals feel heavy but are adjustable and durable.
Good entry level pedal but you may soon want to upgrade if cost allows.
"
Pros: Durable, Adjustable
Cons: Bulky
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Protects carpet or hardwood floor from bike grime.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Turbo Mat
Posted12 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
fromPlymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This mat is in the bizarre situation of being quite useful, or seen from another perspective, completely redundant. I'm really not sure which way to right this review!
The mat is well made, well sized and serves the purpose of saving your floors (redundant as in an old towel would probably do this). However, it is too thin to stop vibrations and, in my humble opinion, the best part of £50 for a grime catcher/scratch preventer made of plastic (albeit very good quality plastic) is a bit rich!
"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Bulky, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Allows you to adjust resistance without getting off your bike.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Useful extra
Posted12 February 2011
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
fromPlymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"This is a really useful bit of kit and I would say a necessity for a turbo trainer. However, this begs the question of why it isn't supplied in the first place?!"
Pros: Great Value, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: should be standard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A riser block for use with CycleOps cycle Trainers to simulate hill climbs. The unique 3-level design lets you adjust the height of your front wheel to match the gradient of your hill climb workout.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Odd
Posted26 December 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
fromPlymouth
Country : United Kingdom
Interest : Triathlete
"This riser is much bigger than the product description and photos suggested. Not really sure of the real benefit of the size but it does what it needs to, which is to hold and protect the front tire."
Pros: Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Turn your bike into more than a fair-weather friend with the help of a Mag trainer. The perfect solution to getting in a ride when it's too cold, wet or dark to go outside, the Mag sets up quickly and easily for on-the-spot spins.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Solid
Posted26 December 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
"This is my first turbo trainer and it does provide a reasonable resistance workout. This trainer does not come with a remote resistance shifter and it is something I will have to buy to get the best out of this.
Good entry level product.
"
Pros: Adjustable, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Tri Fly II Triathlon Shoes
Tri Fly II Triathlon Shoes
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Superb for a pro
Posted02 October 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
"These worked like a charm for my first Tri a couple of weeks ago, however they are not very versatile which is a problem for a beginner, i'll have to buy a second pair of cycling shoes for training.
Apart from that one gripe, excellent.
"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Park Tools puncture kit includes glueless patch kit and 3 plastic tyre levers.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Adequate
Posted02 October 2010
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
NewlyHookedonTri
"Not had to use it yet but its all there and looks like it should do the job."
Pros: Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
NewlyHookedonTri's Questions
 
NewlyHookedonTri has not submitted any questions.
 
NewlyHookedonTri's Answers
 
 CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
CycleOps Classic Mag Turbo Trainer
Best value magnetic trainer on the market.
 

is it adjustable to tyre size, can it fit 26"

I imagine so. The turbo wheel moves up and down quite far.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
NewlyHookedonTri
Northwood
 
Allows you to adjust resistance without getting off your bike.
 

classic mag turbo trainer

Hi, is the mag shifter conversant with the above trainer and is it easy to fit please.
Yes. Just read over the instructions quickly and you should be fine (I had to redo mine after getting it slightly wrong first time). Have a go, you won't break it!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
NewlyHookedonTri
Plymouth
 
 Tri Fly II Triathlon Shoes
Tri Fly II Triathlon Shoes
 

Shoes size.

Hi, can you tell me if Pearl Izumi fit is a size smaller than normal shoes or slim fitting? I'm a 10uk with a wide foot.

Thanks
I have what i would consider wide feet, usually take a 10 for shoes but with cycling shoes have generally found a size bigger than usual works.
Bought size 45Euro and they are comfortable, not rubbing etc and certainly get the job done. These aren't a very versatile shoe though, so just so you're aware if you want a racing shoe - this is it. If you want something to train in (is warmer/to protect your feet), especially as winter is approaching, you may need something else.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
NewlyHookedonTri