sdavies41
Share sdavies41's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
sdavies41's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    25 August 2010
  • Last Review
    19 December 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    09 July 2012
  • Last Answer
    19 December 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
sdavies41's Reviews
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Zero pedals.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A very good piece of kit, but treat it nice!
Posted19 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The pedals and clips for the Speedplay zero are of very high quality and I have been able to adjust the amount of float and point of clipping in and out very well considering I am a novice with these things! One immediate problem with these cleats is that they really aren't the best to walk around on, or even put your foot down if there is something grubby or muddy next to you when you need to stop. Mud/grit in the cleats is a bit of a disaster (as opposed to my SPD experience that is robust as you can get). The cleat coffee shop covers are a must and it is a shame that you have to spend more money on getting them separate (I think they should be included at the price point). But hey ho, get them if you get these! The platform is extremely reliable to put power through. These cleats and pedals give you a sense of the ability to handle anything you throw at them power wise and keep you secure, yet clip out at the hint of a problem! More advice - keep them very clean! Keep them free of water, religiously, as the bolts will rust and it becomes a bit of a nightmare to get them out and replace them. Replacement bits can be bought for the cleats, but they aren't cheap. If you run a turbo trainer and sweat a lot - please look after these or they *will* rust, very quickly! (or use another pedal system during training)."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Bulky, high maintenance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
The touchscreen Edge 510 is designed for the competitive cyclist who seeks the most accurate and comprehensive ride data. It's tough, rugged, waterproof, has a 20-hour battery life and uses a touchscreen.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Absolutely perfect for the job.
Posted19 December 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I can't fault the 510 for its base features. I have to admit I haven't tried some of the fancier facets, and my first foray into the bluetooth connectivity and live sharing didn't work too well (I didn't buy it for that, plus I think it was my fault for not reading the instructions properly). Quick to pick up GPS, with the GLONASS option too (Much faster than my old 500). Picks up HRM and speed/cadence sensors rapidly (although it was slightly counter intuitive on how to get the HRM to register initially). Touch screen is actually not bad, even with full fingered gloves on, it is reasonably responsive. Works perfectly on a turbo trainer. I'll get to exercising this some more with the cool comparative functions soon (they do look very cool)."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
dhb Vaeon Roubaix Leg Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Leg Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Exceptionally comfortable, highly recommended
Posted03 December 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Snug fit, and so far these leg warmers have done their job and kept me warm on a couple of -2C to -5C 60+ mile rides. These warmers do a fine job of taking the moisture away from the skin (or base layer) They look the part and seem good quality."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Origami Downtube Front Mudguard
Origami Downtube Front Mudguard
Punch it out, fold it down and snap it on. The Origami front mudguard is super light, easy to install and fits almost any bicycle's seatpost. It even packs down to fit in a backpack when not in use.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Didn't fit well, broke easily
Posted30 November 2012
Quality 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this in an attempt to winter proof my bike. Out of the box this looked like a cool piece of kit. Easily assembled and a neat concept. Mounting it on my bike it interfered with my steering. Attempts to adjust it were hopeless. In the end I tried to relocate it on several occasions only to have one of the straps break, so I gave up. A sad waste of money, thankfully not an expensive item. You live and learn."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
Cons: Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Z6 Tiagra 2012
Z6 Tiagra 2012
The Felt Z6 is designed for the long distance rider looking not just for speed and style but comfort and compliance too. The first rung of the carbon Z series bikes from the brand means getting into some serious road riding is easier than you think.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent bike for the price
Posted18 September 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Apart from this bike being pure eye candy it rides extremely well. Very comfortable. Very lightweight. Gears are responsive, as are the brakes. For my first road bike I couldn't have asked for more. For bang versus buck this has to be one of the better bikes out there and for getting into road cycling with a carbon bike - well, wow, bargain. I can't stop looking at it, it is *that* pretty :-)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Versatile, robust pedals.
Posted09 July 2012
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These pedals were my first venture into having something to clip into. As a casual rider/commuter with a low cost bike and the odd mad weekend run of powering 50-80 miles these seemed the ideal option. Easily used with your normal shoes/trainers, the resin cage isn't as feeble as one may fear either.
Within a few days of usage, these pedals have taken a bit of a beating. I unfortunately came off the bike due to a car emerging from a driveway and not paying attention. Ended up low siding into a wall, but these pedals (and the shoes) came out pretty much unscathed even with the ground contact (Wish I could say the same for myself)."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 M077 SPD Mountain Bike Shoes
M077 SPD Mountain Bike Shoes
A great value introduction to the Shimano mountain bike shoe range. The M077 features a PVC coated synthetic/mesh upper, a simple 3 strap velcro closure and a stiff, reinforced sole for grip and power transfer. Ideal for the ambitious trail rider.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great set of commuter and general/casual shoes.
Posted09 July 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I have been quite impressed by the quality of the shoes themselves, especially for the price. These are great for casual riders/commuters for both style and function. The cleats are recessed enough so you are able to walk about while un-clipped from your pedals without making too many embarrassing click-click-grind noises (they will still grind if you step down heavily or on uneven surfaces of course).
Goes well with most kit and casual wear, solid enough platform to push a bit of power through the pedals too. Not the lightest of shoes, but they are more than fine for me, especially for the price. Perfect for me."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
Cons: Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Bravo Short Finger Cycling Gloves
Bravo Short Finger Cycling Gloves
The Bravo is a nicely padded, comfort-focused glove that delivers Giro's Super Fit ergonomic design an high-quality construction at an affordable price.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple attractive comfortable gloves
Posted25 August 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
sdavies41
fromReading
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These gloves are reasonable for the price. Attractive and comfortable, initially a bit tricky to get off when your hands are a bit wet but that seems to improve over time. I don't cycle for extended periods of time, mostly between 40minutes to an hour or so, so perhaps not the fairest reviewer for testing to destruction."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
sdavies41's Questions
 
sdavies41 has not submitted any questions.
 
sdavies41's Answers
 
The touchscreen Edge 510 is designed for the competitive cyclist who seeks the most accurate and comprehensive ride data. It's tough, rugged, waterproof, has a 20-hour battery life and uses a touchscreen.
 

ANT Cadence sensor compatibility

Will this be compatible with an inbuilt Bontrager Cadence sensor?
I believe the 510 will work with any ANT(+) compatible sensor. It's pretty good at picking them up too. I used to have the odd problems with the older Garmin units, but these are pretty good.
8 months ago
by
sdavies41
Reading
 
Replacement cleats for all Speedplay Zero pedals.
 

There are four screws in the image. Will it fit a shoe with a three bolt system?

Yes, the four screws are part of the cleat itself and not what attaches to your shoes. These cleats are quite adjustable and have many shim options to suit various styles of shoe and various curves.
8 months ago
by
sdavies41
Reading
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 

Do these come with reflectors?

The shimano website specifies the SM-PD40 reflector set, which does not appear to be available separately?... http://www.shimano.com.au/media/techdocs/content/cycle/SI/Pedals/SM-PD40/SI-PD40C-ENG_v1_m56577569830606548.pdf
These pedals don't come with any reflectors as standard. Usually the shoes that you buy to go with such pedals; e.g. Shimano M077 SPD MTB Shoes, are adorned with reflective detailing. I understand you are after explicit reflector sets though and it seems there are suppliers out there in Europe if you can find them (look up Shimano 520 SPD reflectors, they *may* be compatible, Germany seems to be a key place to purchase these items from). Good luck and happy trails!
2 years, 1 month ago
by
sdavies41
Reading
 
Amazing low priced SPD pedal for all round use including tough freeride and off-road use
 

Are these double sided??

Just wondering whether its possible to clip in on either side of the pedal??
Yes, you can clip in on either side of the pedal.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
sdavies41
Reading