Wishitwasallflat
Top 250 Contributor
Share Wishitwasallflat's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Wishitwasallflat's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    45
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    26 August 2010
  • Last Review
    26 January 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    23 October 2010
  • Last Question
    05 October 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    27
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Answer
    26 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    26 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    5
 
 
Wishitwasallflat's Reviews
1 2 3 4 5 >>>
 
The Thomson Elite seatpost is the standard by which all other seatposts are judged.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Superb
Posted26 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"As others have said this is quality product - I replaces the OEM carbon wrapped alloy post on my Spesh with this. Much nicer ride and feel - very stable and solid but smooths out quite a lot of buzz and takes the sting out of big hits. I'm too heavy for carbon but don't feel I am missing out on anything with this post.
Some posts about angle of clamp being fixed are correct I think if you had a lot of exposed post and drop to bars it could be a problem. I have about 13-14cm exposed and only 2-3 cm drop to bars and can set saddle 1degree nose down with this post easy. It looks like there is scope to drop another 5 degrees or so but if your saddle was really high I guess it could be problematic - but - if that's the case are you sure you don't need a bigger frame??"
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
ZERO is the new electrolyte drink from High5; it's virtually calorie free (1.4 cal per 100ml) and has a light refreshing taste.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good
Posted26 January 2014
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I like these don't get cramp anymore - only get the neutral though but mix in a little fruit juice to get it taste of what I like."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Smart Lunar 10 Lux Front Light
Smart Lunar 10 Lux Front Light
Ideal front light for your daily commutes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
To be seen by only
Posted26 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Fien cheap lights to be seen by but if you want lights too see with get 501b type torches with 18650 batteries - way cheaper and way better"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The new 10 Speed Apex Shifter, featuring the proprietary DoubleTap technology, offers significant new features and benefits such as independent "reach adjust" for both shift and brake levers.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good
Posted26 January 2014
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Bought these to replace the OEM set that were damaged in a SMIDSY - I like SRAM double tap and these are good value. I am sure RED is nicer but these are sound and on an all weather bike good value."
Pros: Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Chain Link Pliers
Chain Link Pliers
Workshop pliers for quick removal of joining-links in chains.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Worth it
Posted26 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Spent a few years debating whether to get a set of these or not - you can get them off with hands alone but some sets I find are easier than others. With these they are all dead easy and no messing with these slippy little buggers!"
Pros: not doing it with youre hands!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good
Posted26 November 2013
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"What can one say - its an inner tube for a kids bike and it fits and works.
Will this review win me a prize?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Nice bibs
Posted26 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have had many DHB tights and shorts and this is as good as they always are. This is my first with the Tour pad and it is better than the lower models - not much bulkier but more comfy. I bought the red ones thinking it would be a nice change but then got a red jacket (no hi-viz options available) and now I look like the worlds fatest power ranger! Apart from that - my own mistake - these are well worth the money. Assos may be more comfortable for sure but are they twice as good - I don't think so."
Pros: Great Value, Good Fit
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 The Red Planet 5 LED Rear Light
The Red Planet 5 LED Rear Light
The red planet rear light is a blazing beacon in the night. Five of its' red LED's, three shoot straight back and two blast sideways to ward off vehicles on a collision course.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good light
Posted26 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a good looking light bigger than most and as bright as these AAA rears ever get. Build quality seems good and its nice to get bot seat post and chain stay mounts. Nice big light."
Pros: Good Fit, dual fitting included post and seat stay
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Work well
Posted12 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I fitted these to my Specialized Sectuer with initially GP4000s 25mms and then Michelin Pro4 Endurance 25mms and they work fine with both tyres. If you have the 5mm clearance under brakes these will fit. Check the fitting video guide on the Crud website before fitting (better still have it running while you fit) as the written instructions are rubbish but with the video its fine. Fit them indoors or on a still day in good light and take your time - its fiddly but perfectly do-able for anyone with basic manual skills and a little patience. Took me about an hour to fit and the front needed a very minor tweak the next day (I had done the cable tie on the front one too tight and the front was rubbing a bit - loosened it off so it was tight enough to just stop any rattle added one of the little soft pads and it was fine). I think if it comes time to remove and refit (dry summers are possible??) I reckon I could do it in 10-15 minutes.
I've had them on for over a month now and they work really well. Only time I hear them is if a little stone gets flipped round and rubs on it's way out. Otherwise quick and effective. Really nice to not get a wet bum and not have filthy stripe up my back after wet ride. Bike is very very much cleaner with these - the bit that protects front mech works brilliantly so it must be good for that.
I don't understand reviews and stories which say these are fragile - I take my bike up to work in the lift when I commute and I have bumped them a few times and they haven't broken. The plastic seems quite flexible. I also haven't noticed any loosening of the little bolts but it takes a few seconds to check them if you are worried about those internet tales.
I prevaricated for years over whether or not to try these or maybe Race Blade Longs - I never tried the Race Blades cause I plumped for these and if they did break I think I would just replace them as they work really well. I wouldn't ever go back to no mudguards now as it really nice to have them."
Pros: Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Race quality lubricant suitable for all types of bikes. Ideal for chains, cables, shifters, derailleurs, pedals & cleats.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good lube
Posted12 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Wishitwasallflat
fromKu Ku Penthouse
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I've tried one or two others but haven't really bothered looking much as this stuff is good and I like the smell. Works well chain runs quite and sticks around pretty well in the wet - very well in the dry. You get a gunky black mess on the chain but you get that with any wet lube don't you ??"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Wishitwasallflat's Questions
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

How much difference in leg circumference between XL and L?

I currently wear size Extra Large in these but I have lost a fair bit of weight and they are too loose round waist and abdomen. They may have lost a bit of elasticity though as I have had them since last year. They are still tight enough on thighs and calves though. How much difference is there in thigh and calf circumference between XL and L in these?
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Premium cycling tights for the highest levels of insulation and comfort in cold winter conditions. With a fleecy, elastic Lombardia Fabric construction and a Tour Seatpad, Vaeon Pro Tights are essential for dedicated year-round road cyclists.
 

Differences in leg widht between sizes

I currently wear size Extra Large Vaeon but I have lost a fair bit of weight and they are too loose round waist and abdomen. They are still tight enough on thighs and calves though. How much difference is there in thigh and calf circumference between XL and L in these?
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
 dhb Ladies Padded Undershort
dhb Ladies Padded Undershort
A low profile, padded undershort suitable for commuters and multisport sessions.
 

When will you have sizes 14 and 16 in stock?

10 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

When will the Vaeon Zero bib tights be available?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
 
 CX235C Road Cycling Shoes
CX235C Road Cycling Shoes
Two fit options availble: Standard and Wide Fit, Upper: LAKE Skins™ perforated full-grain leather with TeKtile™ synthetic toe , Sole: Carbon fibre race outsole , Drilling: 3-hole , Closure: Three hook and loop straps , Weight: 300 grams , Colours: Black, Red, White
 

Replacement heel pad for Lake CX235C road shoes?

Does anyone know where I can get a replacement for the little black heel pad on my Lake CX235C road shoes?
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
 
Wishitwasallflat's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
The new 10 Speed Apex Shifter, featuring the proprietary DoubleTap technology, offers significant new features and benefits such as independent "reach adjust" for both shift and brake levers.
 

Are cables supplied with this set?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Yes I got cables with my set but word has it they are cheap cables so I used Jagwire instead
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
The new 10 Speed Apex Shifter, featuring the proprietary DoubleTap technology, offers significant new features and benefits such as independent "reach adjust" for both shift and brake levers.
 

sram double tap apex

When I change down on the front derailleur I get a very loud cracking noise from the shifter, How can I cure this.
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I find it's setting the cable tension too high that causes that - try backing ot off a little. Its a question of having it tight enough for crisp shifting but if its too high you get that alarming crack noise!!!
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

Will these mudguards fit a Felt Z6 2012 model with 25mm tyres? Thanks.

Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
I don't know myself but there is a great thread on what these do and do not fit on Bike Radar Road Forum - I think its on Road Buying but it may be Road General. There are a few threads on Cruds on there so someone will know
7 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Pack of 5 high quality inner tubes. The Continental quality road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 

What size should I get for Fulcrum Racing 3 wheels with Gommitalia Idea tyres

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
Depends on how wide the tyres are - its the second number written on the side wall of the tyre that tells you width e.g. 700 x 23 are 23mm wide 700 x 25 are 25mm. Then get the tubes that show that second number in their range e.g. 20-25 tubes will fit any tyres from 20mm to 25mm wide 25-28 will do up to 28mm tyres..
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

mudguards for trek 3.5 madone

will these crud mudguards for my trek madone 3.5?
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
If you can fit a 5mm Allen key at the tightest clearance spot between tyre and frame (usually under brakes) they should fit.

In the Crud video he fits them to a Trek with pretty tight clearance
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

will these fit on a 2012 Felt AR4?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
If you can fit a 5mm Allen key at the tightest clearance spot between tyre and frame (usually under brakes) they should fit.
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
Mudguards designed for road bikes with little clearance between bottom of brake calipers (arch) and top of the tyres.
 

Will these fit on my Cube Cross Race cyclocross.

Hi
i use my Cube Cross Race with 28 in tyres to commute. I'm getting rather wet without guards on! Will these fit this bike or do you recommend another set of mud guards?

Thanks all.
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
If you can fit a 5mm Allen key at the tightest clearance spot between tyre and frame (usually under brakes) they should fit.
9 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
Ku Ku Penthouse
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 

Would this work with Sram Rival shifters?

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
No I tried it with APEX (and they have the same pull) and it didn't work - searching the web since then it seems Shimano changed the pull ratio with the 5700 series so while older Shimano front mechs worked with SRAM shifters these don't.
11 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 

Size Options?

Not sure what these relate to - is it the length of the arm, or the movement/space between front gears

It will be working with a 105 double chain-set, so not sure which size I need...

Thanks,
Jamie
Best answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
The size refers to the the two seat tube diameters the band will fit - this will work with 10 speed double chainset but may not work with older Shimano shifters as I understand they changed the pull ratio with this series.
11 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 

No Tail Screw?

This mech seems to have a rivet where the tail screw should be. Does it prise apart, or do you have to break the chain to fit? Many thanks!
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
You have to break the chain to fit - don't prize it apart whatever you do!!!!
11 months ago
by
Wishitwasallflat