TheHillNinja
Share TheHillNinja's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
TheHillNinja's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Review
    02 September 2010
  • Last Review
    07 October 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.1
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    12 February 2011
  • Last Question
    12 February 2011
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    02 September 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
TheHillNinja's Reviews
 
 Castelli Aero Race Overshoes
Castelli Aero Race Overshoes
An essential weapon in the battle against drag, Aero Race Overshoes provide an aerodynamic advantage for Time Trials and road racing. Slice through the air when every watt of energy counts!
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Dont have calf muscle if you want them to fit
Posted07 October 2013
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"XL fits over the shoe (MTB shoe size 46) well, but that's where the fit ends. The leg part is way too tight - causing pain, irritation and the zip to slip down after a while. Maybe if you don't have a calf muscle at all (straight up to the knee like Mr Wiggins) they might fit but anyone with shape to their lower leg is going to be disappointed.
Disappointing no heel cut out, so won't last long if you walk anywhere.
I'm working out if I can convert them from boots to shoes or maybe rig an alternative to the zip, so I can leave them more open at the back to allow for blood to flow into my feet."
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily, Poor Fit
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
 
 Spider Professional Workstand
Spider Professional Workstand
Adjustable height, fully rotating repair stand. Lightweight, made from aluminium components. The tripod legs of the Cycle Spider Professional provide solid support.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Workstand, Once You Can Open It!
Posted04 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This workstand does everything I want, except it is a bit of a pig to get opened - i.e. get the feet spread low. It is getting easier everytime I do it, but still a pain.
In use, it is great - so much adjustability that you can grip what you want, in the position you want and not damage the bike.
Folds away nice and small."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Versatile
Cons: tough to open
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
dhb Pro Triple Lens Sunglasses
Our top of the range triple lens sunglasses provide 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Excellent glasses, tricky to change lenses
Posted29 December 2011
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"The price is excellent, the glasses are very good quality, but I find changing the lenses quite difficult, despite having read up people's reviews on how to change them."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ultimate 5 Classic Handlebar Bag - Large
Ultimate 5 Classic Handlebar Bag - Large
The Ultimate handle bar bag is a must for bike touring with 8.5 litres of waterproof storage, secure fixing and a carry strap. Ideal for storing accessories and valuables etc.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality piece of kit
Posted18 June 2011
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a quality piece of kit fixing well to the handlebars and providing plenty of space in a reasonable size. The materials all look high quality. The bag opens the right way (from you forward), which is not intuitive at first but very practical. The locking mechanism looks to fix the bag to the bike well, so no need to remove it at every stop."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Ortlieb Ultimate Handlebar Bag Mounting Kit
Ortlieb Ultimate Handlebar Bag Mounting Kit
A mounting kit for attaching Ortlieb Ulimate handle bar bags.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Unusual, but effective
Posted18 June 2011
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"The mountain mechanism from Ortlieb is a strange wound metal cable rather than a fixed bracket, but it seems to work very effectively none the less. The only downside is that it looks designed to install on one bike and forget it, never to move. The fixing mechanism is based on tightly screwing onto the cable (sort of like how the wires in a plug are held in place) and it doesn't take a lot of working out to see that the cable would be damaged if you were to keep taking it off and putting it on again. Easy to install and adjust to the right position, then tighten and forget."
Pros: High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Careful with the sizing
Posted16 February 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I won't concentrate too much on performance, as I haven't used mine enough yet, but I will comment on fit. I have 5 other Altura tops and all are size Large and all fit fine (Night Vision, Ergofit and Summit ranges). This one is too tight across the shoulders in Large and a bit too tight in the arms. I think you need to go a size up on normal Altura sizing (despite what the Wiggle person said in answer to my question). XL fits fine and looks really good in black and white (though I'd prefer plain black). My experience of Altura is their sizes are "normal" clothes sizes (unlike many cycling kit manufacturers, where you need to go a size up - or even two for some), the Transformer needs that size up. The fit is sporty and close, which might be the reason you need a size bigger (though my Ergofit kit is a close fit too).
At £80 it is expensive, but you can find a much better deal if you look around. For £50 it is excellent value.
"
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
The Finchdean range - top performance kit which looks good and feels great
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Early Days
Posted02 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheHillNinja
fromSutton, Surrey
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"First pair of bib shorts I have owned, but much more comfortable than I expected. Wore them the first time I rode over 45km in one day. Ended the day at 65km and can honestly say I never thought about my seat to saddle connection all ride. Since wore them about 4 days cycling and found no problems at all.
The seat is definitely quite largely padded, but on the cycle I didn't notice any problem at all with this, though walking around I was conscious of it.
Definitely size by height rather than your usual clothing size. I am 5'10 and heavy 93kg, so I normally take a large or xl in most clothes, but the bib shorts in medium fits me perfectly. Not too tight over my thighs either.
Sadly, the shorts don't look like making me into a quality climber though. I'll stick to hanging around with the sprinters, where my power can be useful. Why don't I live in the Netherlands!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TheHillNinja's Questions
 
 Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
Altura Transformer Convertible Windproof Jacket - 2012
The Altura Transformer Windproof Jacket is a versatile windproof jacket that easily transforms between a long sleeve windproof to a short sleeve jersey to match your riding conditions.
 

I've heard these jackets come up up small. How do they compare with the Night Vision range, where Large fits me perfectly?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
TheHillNinja
Sutton, Surrey
 
TheHillNinja's Answers
 
 Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
The Finchdean range - top performance kit which looks good and feels great
 

Correct sizing

What size would you recommend for someone who is 6ft, but with a 34-35in waist, as I seem to fall between two sizes. Cheers
I'm 5'10 / 93kg and 34" waist. The medium fits me fine with no issues. Normally I'm large to xl in most clothes. Seems the people who advise to go by height and not "size" are right.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
TheHillNinja
Sutton, Surrey
 
 Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
Finchdean Bib Cycling Shorts
The Finchdean range - top performance kit which looks good and feels great
 

Finchdean Bib Shorts Sizing

Hi, I am 5'7" with a 35" waist. Saw you recommendation for someone else to go with the Small size. Are the measurements on the chart non stretched measurements? I haven't bought anything Medium for years, let alone Small, so I am a bit concerned whether the 31" waist on the Small will fit.
I'm 5'10 / 93kg and 34" waist. The medium fits me fine with no issues. Normally I'm large to xl in most clothes. Seems the people who advise to go by height and not "size" are right.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
TheHillNinja
Sutton, Surrey