TheLastWord
Share TheLastWord's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
TheLastWord's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    17 August 2010
  • Last Review
    05 October 2012
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    13
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Answer
    17 August 2010
  • Last Answer
    05 October 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    3
 
 
TheLastWord's Reviews
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Not perfect - but good pedals
Posted05 October 2012
TheLastWord
fromStaffordshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good, smooth rotation.
When clipped in, the cleats have a little lateral movement in them - but I quite like that.
Despite being quite slim (side on) they still seem a bit on the large side in terms of area and despite this, the non-clipped-in side offers surprisingly little grip for the sole - I find my shoes can slip on the surface and feel unsecure.
But overall they are just what I need (for commuting I clip in, for the odd dash to the shops I may wear normal shoes).
After a year's use I bought another pair for a second bike.."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Bulky
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Surprisingly effective
Posted05 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
TheLastWord
fromStaffordshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Very lightweight stretchy material.
I found the synthetic fiber doesnt hold moisture or get very soggy while you breath out through it, which is good (and you can breathe through it quite easilly - thought it can inhale into the mouth a little when gasping for breath on climbs - so I tend to pull it down when labouring).
Suprisingly good at keeping the face warm considering how thin the fabric is. I have used it to commute below -10c. My face would have froze without it."
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Signal Jacket
Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Nice Jacket, but poor breathability
Posted05 October 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
fromStafforshire
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Immediate observations were that it's a good quality, tactile and well fitting jacket - and reasonably compact. It is also intensly coloured with nice reflective details and I was initially pleased with purchase.
I use it on my a hilly 10 mile commute.
However, on a rainy day, despite the venting, I felt as though I may as well have ridden in a bin bag.
I wear a good merino base layer - which doesn't retain moisture - but the jacket inner surface was ringing wet with perspiration and I had to turn it inside out to towel dry it before I could put it back over my shirt after changing - which negates the whole point of water proofing.
There is no obvious breathability at all. I think breathable jackets MUST bead rain water on it's outer surface in order to breathe - this jacket doesn't."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit, highly visible
Cons: poor breathability
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Gold Lubricant 4oz
Gold Lubricant 4oz
This chain lube moved the 21st. century closer to the 22nd century. Drive-trains look like that just came out of the box.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good performer but a bit light for wet UK winters
Posted18 November 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Chain noise is reduced nicely and gear changes are definitely smoother and slicker - with a satisfying 'snick' from one cog to the next.
Given the state of the rest of my bike I would say it does seem to shed dirt pretty well with no obvious gritty deposits on the rear cassette or build-up on the guide or tensioning pulleys.
The only downside is it seems to wash out in wet conditions quite easily and requires re-application a little more frequently tha I would like.
I think I will try a heavier lube for winter but otherwise I think it's a good product. Works well in the conditions it is designed and recommended for."
Cons: tastes bad ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Commuter Cycling Computer
Commuter Cycling Computer
The first ever cycle computer specifically designed for commuters and those who ride for transportation, errands, and utility.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Designed well for commuting
Posted18 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I agree with all other customer reviews I have read on this product.
But, for me, what really stands out is the practicality and simplicity of use on a daily basis.
This is a result of clever thinking with design whereby the menu-activation \ menu-cycling micro-switch is mounted on the underside of unit rather than using a button on the face of the unit.
When clipped into the bracket, the computer face can be pressed virtually anywhere on the lower half, causing the microswitch on the underside to be depressed by a protrusion on the bracket. This means no fumbing about trying to locate a menu buttons with gloved hands (such as with other models I have used) - great!
Also the night light activation and clear display are very good."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight, well designed practical
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight fully adjustable braking system from the braking masters Kool Stop. Alloy holder allowing the exact positioning of the friction materials. The friction inserts interlock together and are secured on all sides.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The brakes to buy if you want to be heard
Posted18 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Hi,
I go through brake pads very quickly - I was previously using cheap pads on a hilly commute.
I recently replaced the fronts with kool-stop and the rear with some similarly priced alternatives for comparison (Clarkes I think).
The first thing I will say about the kool-stops is that for 4-weeks they !!!SQUEALED!!!. Somehow the written word just doesn't convey how embarrasingly and anti-socially loud they are first thing in the morning on the way to work - to the point where I actually did not want to apply them.
Having riden through this problem, they are reasonably quiet now, I have to say they have the best performance of any pad I have tried so far and are lasting very well.
Furthermore they produce less messy brake dust than of my other pads.
When it comes to stopping in the wet they really do slow you down well compared to others in similar conditions - where you would be better off dragging your feet - in fact I have had to in the very worst conditions and circumstances with cheaper pads.
They performance difference does show itself most in the wet I think - but they are also superb in the dry.
In summary: perfom well - but can sound terrible :)"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, superb wet performance
Cons: very noisey to start with
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Land Cruiser is a Kevlar Guard Puncture Protected trekking tyre, ideal for cruising. The rolling tread is superb on pavements, yet it's diamond textured side lugs afford plenty of grip on light loose terrain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent commuting and recreational tyre
Posted18 November 2010
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have done about 1200 miles on these tyres to and from work so far with very little wear - just scrubbed in really.
My commute is 50% narrow, hilly country roads and 50% urban - 10 miles each way.
In town they really are smooth and quiet - even when running them a little soft for extra comfort.
Also, the nobbly tyre-shoulders have worked very well on the frequent occassions when I have had to ride my bike back out of a muddy\leafy rut at the side of a steep country road after moving over to let a vehicle past.
They have also felt reassuringly secure on moderate loose and\or dirt surfaces when I take the kids out on a trail.
Great, versatile tyres with plenty of longevity in them."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Veleno D MTB Cycling Helmet
Veleno D MTB Cycling Helmet
Veleno D is more than a helmet, it's a way of life. Used by PRO athletes and several XC World Champions, it has become all the rage and continues to reach the top step of the podium.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Money well spent
Posted17 August 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
TheLastWord
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I actually didn't want a helmet initially, being a motorbike rider, push-bike helmets always appeared inadequate to the point of useless.
Having been cajoled, I bought one expecting to really dislike using one.
I hoped this helmet wouldn't annoy me too much and I am pleased to say that expectations were far exceeded. This helmet is very comfortable, light, is adjustable and fits snugly so feels reassuringly secure.
Apart from the chin strap I could forget I was wearing it.
Additionally, ventalation is excellent, even going up prolonged, steep hills on a hot, still day, the helmet didn't add to my discomfort at all. Which is something else I had previously been concerned may be a problem.
Looks nice too - at the very least, not stupid like some.
Not the cheapest helmet you can buy but well worth it and I'm really not sure what spending more money on more expensive helmets would really gain you."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit, good ventallation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
TheLastWord's Questions
 
TheLastWord has not submitted any questions.
 
TheLastWord's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

How difficult are these to install to a bike with standard pedals?

Does it come with instructions for installing the pedals and with the right tools, can I be confident of doing this myself?
Yes - fairly straight forward fitting. Pedal threading is standardised.

There are detailed instructions in the packaging for bike fitting and cleat adjustment. There are also plenty of youtube videos on pedal fitting. Each pedal is specific for the left and right side and will only screw into the correct side because the left pedal is reverse threaded (if I remember correctly, i.e the right pedal tightens clockwise but the left pedal tightens anticlockwise).

I recommend a pedal spanner for the job - you wont use it often but saves any inconvenience. The pedals need to be firmly tightened but not overtightened (you dont want to seize them on) - just need to apply a little common sense.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Hi , can you tell me how much the pedals weigh ?

383g
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

Do these pedals allow you to unclip your shoe in either direction? Would you recommend these as a good first spd pedal?

Yes, you can rotate your heel towards or away from the bike.

I find rotating the heel away offer less resistance though
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

would these pedal be suitable for a hybrid bike?

Best answer
Yes.

It's simply a pedal which allows you to choose whether to wear normal shoes or cleated shoes.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
Ideal pedal for recreational riders wanting to commute or tour. Combines SPD mechanism on one side and a concave stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 

1 piece of 1 pair

the price i paying is for 1 piece or 1 pair?
The price is for the pair
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
 Signal Jacket
Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Am I better of buying by height or chest size?

5'8" and 42" I'm after a close fit but want a dry back.
Best answer
I am 5'11", 44 inch chest, bought the medium, nice close (ish) fit - but I think the jacket proportion is marginally short
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
 Signal Jacket
Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

Which size should I get? I'm 5'11" with a 104cm chest but a 34" waist- will a large be too baggy on me? Thx.

Maybe.

I'm 5' 11 and 111 chest. Medium fits very nice (close but not tight) - though its just a little on the short side in my opinion
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
 Signal Jacket
Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

size help

i am 47/48 inch chest - will the xxl fit me(it says 47-49 on size chart) - are these jackets tighter fit or a more relaxing fit
I would say these jackets are a comformtable close-ish fit, rather than a tight fit.

I am 5 ft 11 44inch chest and bought medium. I also found the jacket a little short and good qualoty but not very breathable.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
 Signal Jacket
Signal Jacket
The black SIGNAL jacket is the ultimate in 'discreet high visibility'.
 

is the men's version longer than the ladies?

A number of people comment that these jackets are quite short in the body. Is the men's version longer than the women's?
I found the male jacket to be a nice fit but slightly short also. The bottom of my T-shirt gets wet unless I tuck it into my waterproof bottoms.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
TheLastWord
Staffordshire, UK
 
 Commuter Cycling Computer
Commuter Cycling Computer
The first ever cycle computer specifically designed for commuters and those who ride for transportation, errands, and utility.
 

Will this work for a 20" wheel?

Best answer
Yes.

The wheel circumference can be programmed into the computer.

The physical limitations are only with respect to the distance between the sensor mounted on the fork and the rotating magnet mounted on the spoke - you must be able to get the two items to pass within around 5mm of each other as the wheel rotates.

Secondly, the computer must be mounted no further than 70cm from the sensor sue to signal range.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
TheLastWord