Jllee
Share Jllee's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Jllee's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    23 October 2011
  • Last Review
    06 March 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    23 October 2011
  • Last Answer
    16 May 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Jllee's Reviews
 
Campagnolo Centaur square taper bottom bracket with three sealed cartridge style bearings; two on the chain ring side and one on the non-drive side.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Campag quality?
Posted06 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I bought this bottom bracket to use with Sugino 75 track cranks b/c They require an ISO B/b around 109 -111 mm. I didn't want a Sugino bb because they are loose ball and this bike sees some weather - I wanted set and forget. I also didn't want to pay for Record pista (and had concerns about weather as they are allegedly 'unsealed') or for Phil Wood.
It seems to mate nicely with the cranks and had no issues with chainline even though this bb is 111mm and Sugino bbb is 109.5. I tried the bb in two dif frames and it seems to bind when the non drive side is torqued up. The other bb used in these frames didn't bind but also didn't have a flange like this one as it is a miche bb. I have had to back off the torque and use thread locker to keep it from coming loose. Hopefully that continues to hold it.
Apart from that issue (which may be a frame/thread alignment issue) the Chorus bb feels and looks like quality kit and seems to run smoothly. Only time will tell with a bb, however. If I don't get at least 2-3 good years out of it will be looking to up the ante to something more expensive."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, campag
Cons: limited axle sizes
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Vaeon Roubaix Arm Warmers
Vaeon Roubaix Arm Warmers
A pre-contoured construction offering a superior fit made from super stretch, brushed Italian Fabric. (This product was formerly the dhb Pace Roubaix Arm Warmers.)
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Well made and quite warm
Posted12 December 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"These look good out of the packet and are clearly well made. I find them a little on the warm side for all but the coldest of morning rides in Brisbane and don't use them much for that reason. Possibly a touch bulkier than needed too."
Pros: Attractive, High Quality
Cons: too warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
dhb aeron pro knicks and dhb arm warmers
Posted16 May 2012
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"these look good and are comfortable. I have only done about 300kms + in them so cannot comment on durability etc.
I am around 178-179cm and about 74kg and I got the mediums. don't go on Italian sizing (I am XL in Campag) for these. they are a snug fit and lengthwise are more Tom Boonen than Lance (but that's a good thing right?!). the white leg gripper seems a touch loose and maybe a bit fragile but time will tell. that said they feel ok when on. there is a bit of creep there but nothing to worry about.
I would say good value for money. there is no doubt that dhb pay attention to the detail ( that goes for the dhb arm warmers I got as well) and the quality seems very high.
some people have had an issue with scratch from the tag at the back. hasn't been an issue for me although I have noticed it a couple of times early in a ride."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The dhb Triple Lens Sunglasses are one of our best-selling products - and it's not hard to see why. They offer 100 per cent UVA and UVB protection and have a Hydrophobic lens coating to help repel sweat and water.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
dhb sunnies
Posted25 April 2012
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These are good value and look pretty good.
they are a bit on the small side so if you have a big noggin might not be for you.
they seem to sit very close to the face and that can cause them to fog up a bit in hot or humid conditions. I wouldn't say they are super comfortable either - just average."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Falcon Road Helmet 2011
Falcon Road Helmet 2011
A road helmet tailored specifically to the needs of the racing cyclist. 23 Vents provide airflow to keep you cool even at the highest intensity while Carbon and Aluminium reinforcements provide the optimum combination of safety and light weight.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BBB Falcon Helmet
Posted23 October 2011
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I needed a new helmet because I broke my daily use helmet (Met Ipogriffo) in a fall. While I ride a lot and like quality gear I don't see the value in spending many hundreds of dollars on top level helmets just to save a few grams etc. this BBB seemed to fit the bill and I liked the look of it on Cofidis, Quickstep etc
I got the silver in medium and it only just fits my head. I don't have a big head and have always fit easily into Met and Bell medium. so watch out for that.
So far it seems reasonably comfortable and I like the streamlined look (as opposed to the acorn head Met look). that said, the overall quality does not appear to be as good as my Bell Sweep R and the strap and adjustment mechanisms look a little bit cheaper (although I have never been able to get the strap on the Bell to adjust properly/comfortably under ears and chin). not sure the adjustment mech is the easiest to use either but it is good enough.
I can't see it lasting as long as the Met or Bell I have had but time will tell. It seems to produce a bit of wind noise around the ears but not near as much as the Bell which can be deafening on a descent!
at the moment I would say the no longer available Met Ipogriffo is still the best all around helmet I have owned.
happy riding..."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: quality not as high as some
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Deda Zero1 Road Stem - White
Deda Zero1 Road Stem - White
Deda design for great performance at an affordable price. Made from 6061 light alloy (3D forged) and features embossed D logo and flip-flop graphics.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
new Deda stem
Posted23 October 2011
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"this stems seems to be amazing value for money. I got the white one in 100mm as the black was not available at the time.
the finish and graphics appear to be very good and I have not noticed any other issues which you might sometimes expect when you go to the cheaper end of the spectrum.
to me this stem looks as good as some stems which cost up to 6 times or more. at the moment I see no down side - so if you need to experiment with stem length..."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Open Pave Evo CG Clincher Tyre
Especially for those who cycle all year round, in every kind of road and weather conditions, including pavé and heavy rain, Vittoria decided to improve one of its most traditional models, the "CG", and raise it to the EVO level.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Very good so far...
Posted23 October 2011
Jllee
fromBrisbane
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I have been wanting to try these tyres for a while because I wanted a strong tyre for my fixed gear bike that was comfortable but also a lively ride.
Now about 300 + kms in so maybe a bit too early to review. What I can tell so far is that they seem to corner and roll well and there is definitely a comfort benefit over standard 23mm clinchers (these are 24 mm).
Currently there is no sign of wear on the rear tyre and no cuts despite having ridden through some serious patches of glass and on poor road surfaces. No punctures to date.
these may be the tyres you are after if you want quality, comfort and few punctures but without sacrificing road feel? they are expensive though, even on discount, and there are no colour choices (green only)! the side wall does not look all that robust, however, it's usually just bad luck if you get something spearing through there.
At the moment I would say they are a better ride than Rubino Pro (Vittoria) and more robust than Open Corsa. they feel similar to Veloflex Paves which are great tyres IMO. not easy to get on but not tyre lever snappers like Conti Gatorskins either (yuk!).
happy riding..."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Limited Color Choices
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Jllee's Questions
 
Jllee has not submitted any questions.
 
Jllee's Answers
 
Premium cycling bib shorts from dhb at an astonishing price. Top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad from CyTech for serious sessions in the saddle. Moisture management ‘Field Sensor’ fabric deals with perspiration fast.
 

Your size guidelines aren't really helping me much. I am looking for some DHB Aeron pro bib shorts but am unsure on sizing.

5 ft 11 tall
32 waist
25 inch thighs.

What size do you recommend?
not sure how big/small a 25 inch thigh is but I reckon medium
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Jllee
Brisbane
 
 Falcon Cofidis Team Helmet
Falcon Cofidis Team Helmet
A road helmet tailored specifically to the needs of the Cofidis pro Tour Team. 23 Vents provide airflow to keep you cool even at the highest intensity while Carbon and Aluminium reinforcements provide the optimum combination of safety and light weight.
 

What size of head is a small BBB helmet suitable for?

a pretty small head BobbyG. I don't have a large noggin at all and I only just get into the BBB (Falcon) medium.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Jllee
Brisbane