Kingwazz
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Kingwazz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kingwazz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    17
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    07 November 2010
  • Last Review
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Kingwazz's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with it's Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, roll well, look great!
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Impressed with these wheels. They are very light and they look great on the bike (Colnago CX-1). The free hub sound is relatively quiet which I much prefer over the stock Aksiums which came on the bike.
I upgraded wheels to RS80 on my other bike (10 spd 105) which I really like, but aren't suitable for 11 speed Ultegra. I chose these wheels as they are much cheaper than the RS81 and appeared to be of a siilar weight and quality. Having ridden them for around 1 month now, I would say these are easily on par with the RS80/81, so really it is down to looks if you are picking between the two.
I like the slightly deeper rear wheel rim with the shallower front and would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a significant upgrade from stock wheels."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Do the job well
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Tried a few energy products on and off, though this is the first year I've really committed to them for regular use on rides.
I find the High5 products very easy to take on board during rides and am a particularly big fan of the 4:1 mix which seems to have the best affect on maintaining performance.
Have tried both the berry and citrus versions and would recommend them both. Picking one, I'd go with citrus (most refreshing) but for longer rides I'd recommend taking both flavours to avoid getting bored with one."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great first impressions
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I put these on ahead of riding Stage 1 of this years Tour and I have to say I'm impressed. Stopping was very good in the dry, but they really stood out descending the first big climb of the day. The skies opened, it became very wet, very quickly and the brakes just performed as if it were dry. Great for confidence.
Just keep in mind that your pads are only as good as your tyres - there's no point getting really powerful stopping power if your tyres are just going to skid and leave you in a heap on the floor.
These pads are in Ultegra brakes, used on Campag Zonda wheels, with Conti GP4000s 25s and I am very happy with the set up."
Pros: High Quality, great performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great first impressions
Posted08 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a fantastic looking bike and, at the current offer price (bought for just shy of £2k), is an absolute bargain.
The first thing you'll notice is that the frames come up very big. I've been riding a 56 Cannondale and bought the 54 frame. This bike still feels long and at 5'11, whether I went for the 54 or 52 is down to personal ride preference. For me, the 54 is right as I like the extra bit of height that gives at the front, whilst if your preference is for aggressive riding, you may prefer the 52 with more stem and saddle.
The Ultegra 6800 is really smooth and a surprisingly noticeable upgrade from 105. I didn't expect such a big change to the 'feel', with 6800 being much lighter in the shifting action. The 12-25 cassette on an 11 speed set up makes it easy to find the right gear for your current riding. Really impressed with this so far.
The wheels are awful and after just a few rides I'm getting rubbing under pressure. Disappointing as this is though, it is understandable. A quick search and you'll realise this frameset alone still retails for £2500, so you can't have everything. My Shimano R500 on my CAAD8 lasted for years, so in my opinion there are better choices for entry level wheels. I'm definitely looking to upgrade to RS81 C35 as soon as possible.
The finishing kit is otherwise of great quality. The handlebars and bar tape are very comfortable; having come from a traditional round shape, I find the flattening at the top easy to rest on when riding. The seat is really good too and far better than I expected. It's not a cheap saddle by any means and you appreciate this when riding.
This could be a bike for life (it won't, due to n+1...) and it really does look amazing. The frame is ready for electronic groupets too which is a bonus if you want to go that way in future. Purists will no doubt be appalled at the use of Shimano instead of Campag, though if you look simply at performance, 6800 is perfect for this bike.
As far as ride quality, it is comfortable and seems to take an element of the sting out of lumpy surfaces. I wouldn't say this is a bike designed for comfort though as everything about it encourages power and speed. There's a reason the frame has won stages of grand tours and it's not because it was gentle! The fact I knocked off my longest ride of the year in the first week of getting this bike suggests it's doing something right though to keep you in the saddle longer.
In summary, if you are considering this bike, buy it. It's Colnago, it look stunning, it handles brilliantly and you get finishing kit and a groupset which you really struggle to find at the moment at this price point."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical 105 quality
Posted02 May 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this as a replacement after getting a bit lazy with my maintenance over the winter and ruining my original one.
Assuming you've got your cables sorted properly then this derailleur gives excellent, consistent shifting. Personal preference for the black 105 kit, however there is no difference in quality.
If you have 105 already, or are looking to upgrade from lower groupsets, this is spot on."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, quality, storage.
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"'The Rules' say no saddle bags, but this is far too convenient not to use. The medium is a great size with the extender section available if required.
Without the extender I comfortably carry:
- 2x inner tubes
- tube repair patches
- multi-tool with tyre levers
- inhaler
- keys
- some emergency cash.
There's still loads of space, so could probably take a really lightweight jacket (I'm thinking hotpack) without needing to be extended.
The buckles are great and have held up well so far. The loop on the back is perfect for a attaching your rear light.
I previously used a specialized wedgie for 3 years, which I really liked before finally wearing through the strap. I have to say I prefer the full zip entry into this saddle bag - much easier to pack and access the things you need."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Lunar R2 Rear Light
4.6 out of 5(155)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano's super narrow Hyperglide 105 (5701) 10-speed compatible directional chain is recommended for 105 drivetrains. For use with double chainset only, for triple please use the 5600 10-speed chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality chain
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought a couple of these when they were on offer and really can't fault them. I find that 105 works really well and I get good life out of the chains with a little basic maintenance.
Would be great if these came with a quick release link, but they don't, so I would definitely recommend buying the KMC links to close your chain. Just makes cleaning so much easier."
Pros: High Quality
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Featuring flat seams, fabric with wicking properties, reflective tabs and mesh panels for breathability, the dhb Letho Run Tight has been designed for comfort when training in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good price and quality
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was looking for some running tights to get me out during the winter months. Whilst I've largely failed, these tights were up to the job. Lightweight, good fit and comfortable.
The hidden pocket at the back is perfect for putting your keys in safely, as they are zipped and don't bounce around when you run.
Size seemed pretty spot on per the size chart too which is a bonus."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An indispensable accessory for a perfecting your position on the bike giving you a more natural feel to your training with a Elastogel insert for ensures maximum stability and vibration absorption for the front wheel.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
An essential add on
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is not the most exciting cycling product you'll ever buy, however it is essential if you are a regular turbo trainer user. The block ensures your bike is level, which is comfortable and more importantly the block creates a really stable base for riding.
The ElastoGel (basically rubber) grips floors well and, for me, ensures good contact between the rear wheel and the resistance unit so you get the most out of the session.
I had my first one for years before losing it in a house move, so unless you lose it, there's nothing that can really go wrong with this. Having lost mine and tried using books for a while and there is really no comparison.
It seems expensive and it would be nice if brands included this with their trainers. They don't though, making this an essential buy."
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tyre
Posted27 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This was my second set of Schwalbe Ultremo's over the last 2 and half years and I really can't fault them. I bought my first pair for a trip to the Alps in 2011, and I rode them through summer and winter, right up to summer 2013, when I swapped to a new pair for a return trip to the alps.
These tyres are light and very grippy. The have an almost tacky feel to them and they really do fill you with confidence. Flying down D'Huez, Ventoux, Croix de Fer etc, you need a tyre that is true at 50mph and for me these do the job (wheels brakes and frame obviously play a role too).
I can't compare to other high end tyres as these replaced stock Lugano's, which were also very reliable.
Riding in all conditions, I have not had a single puncture with these which I find amazing. I do keep the pressure high though which is supposed to help.
Would absolutely recommend these tyres and from personal experience I think they are more than just a race tyre."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Kingwazz's Questions
 
Kingwazz has not submitted any questions.
 
Kingwazz's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with it's Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 

Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette

I have a Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette, will I need any spacers to use this with the wheelset?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, you will need the spacer which comes with the wheels.
4 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 

The box of 20 * 38g Energy gels - is that mixed flavours or just citrus burst (if I choose that option??)

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's just one flavour in the box and you'll get the same flavour for the sachets and the gels (i.e. you can't have citrus sachets and berry gels).
4 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Pricing and Ultegra version

Will this offer price be available at least to the end of April, and would a further 12% Gold account discount be applied on this bike? Which version of Ultegra is used?

Thanks in advance
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's Ultegra 6800, so the new 11-speed version.

I didn't get any additional loyalty discount when I bought this bike as I believe you only get that off RRP and/or when there is not other discount applied.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

I am 178 cm tall with 81 cm inseam. Would a size 52 cm fit the best?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11 with an 81cm inseam. I went for the 54 and it's probably a coin toss between choosing the 54 or 52.

With that in mind you're probably right to look at the 52 as you get a lot of seat post and it comes with a long stem too.

Again, for reference, I don't have masses of seat post showing and I shortened the stem to an 85 because the 54 is so long.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Cassette

what rear mech does it have? Can I fit an 11-32 11spd Ultegra cassette? Or would it require a different Mech?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's the short mech, which can only go as big as the 11-28 cassette. You need to get the long cage derailleur if you want to put the 32 on.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Bike Size?

Hi,
I am 5ft 11 inches and my inside leg is 30 inches. I'm thinking that 54cm is good for me?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11 and have recently received a 54 which I am loving. My inside leg is longer than yours at 32.5 inches and I don't have a huge amount of saddle showing, relative to where the size marking start on the seat post.

You may be better off with the 52 to be honest.

I was really surprised by just how big the frame are. My 54 is comfortably bigger than my 56 Cannondale. The standover height is considerably higher too. It's just a big frame.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
A must-have accessory to go with every home trainer. Creates a level training position by raising the front wheel in line with the rear wheel and adds stability at the front end.
 

Can I stack one on top of the other to mimic a gradient?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
No.

Technically you could, but it wouldn't be very stable. The base of the riser is leveled off with structural support, whilst the top is curved front to back and in from the sides. The base also has a shape build in so that it can be attached to the Elite turbo trainer handles for storage.

Whilst I've never tried it, I'm not sure staking or rising the front will really do anything to mimic true gradient, as this is the purpose of increasing the turbo trainer resistance levels.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
A must-have accessory to go with every home trainer. Creates a level training position by raising the front wheel in line with the rear wheel and adds stability at the front end.
 

How high of the ground does the riser make the front wheel?

looking to use the riser with a turbo trainer in a shed with a height limit of just over 2m...just trying to work out if there will be sufficient clearance/headroom...
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's about an inch off the floor. Whilst it is called a 'riser', it doesn't really rise your front wheel up, it just levels off the drop as a result of your back wheel being higher to connect to the trainer.

One way to look at it is that it's probably the same height off the ground, as your helmet would typically add to the top of your head. On the basis you won't be wearing a helmet, your effective height is probably exactly the same.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

size

If I got 23mm would they fit on Fulcrum racing 7 rims which i think are 24mm. Everyone I ride with has narrower tyres - currently I have michaelin 25mm (?) which look v big. What do you think about thickness of tyre?

ta

Andy
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
These should fit on the Fulcrum 7's with no problems.

As far as thickness of tyres, it depends what you mean. If by thickness you mean puncture protection, the tyre isn't especially thick, though I have found the protection to be very reliable.

If by thickness you mean tyre width, there is a lot of debate about what is 'best'. I have always ridden on 23's, though you will find that pro riders are increasingly using 25's and the famous Continental GP4000s 23s are actually 23.8mm. The logic/debate is over the fact that a wider tyre actually has less rolling resistance due to a better contact area, meaning it's actually faster. It also absorbs more road impact, so you're not taking as much abuse for the reward.
11 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 No Rain Bootie
No Rain Bootie
Waterproof overshoes for dryness and comfort in the worst conditions.
 

Cleats?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but how do these work with your cleats? Is there a cutout for the cleat to fit through or something. I use mountain bike shoes.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The bottom of the "bootie" is sealed, but there is a hole for the cleat to come through. I wear these with my mtb shoes on a road bike and have no problems.

The hole is very generous (designed for a road cleat), and it has extra material lining it which stops it from ripping.

They are quite tight at first when putting on over a mtb shoe, but worth it for the performance.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York