Kingwazz
Share Kingwazz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kingwazz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    07 November 2010
  • Last Review
    27 November 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    6
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    27 November 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Kingwazz's Reviews
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent tyre
Posted27 November 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This was my second set of Schwalbe Ultremo's over the last 2 and half years and I really can't fault them. I bought my first pair for a trip to the Alps in 2011, and I rode them through summer and winter, right up to summer 2013, when I swapped to a new pair for a return trip to the alps.
These tyres are light and very grippy. The have an almost tacky feel to them and they really do fill you with confidence. Flying down D'Huez, Ventoux, Croix de Fer etc, you need a tyre that is true at 50mph and for me these do the job (wheels brakes and frame obviously play a role too).
I can't compare to other high end tyres as these replaced stock Lugano's, which were also very reliable.
Riding in all conditions, I have not had a single puncture with these which I find amazing. I do keep the pressure high though which is supposed to help.
Would absolutely recommend these tyres and from personal experience I think they are more than just a race tyre."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Punch it out, fold it down and snap it on. The Origami front mudguard is super light, easy to install and fits almost any bicycle's seatpost. It even packs down to fit in a backpack when not in use.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Clever idea - does a job
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I was looking for a fairly cheap mud guard for my MTB, which is mostly now used for short distance commuting. These fit the bill for price and, having survived a pretty nasty winter, are evidently great value.
I have the front and rear mudguards and whilst I doubt this would be the number one choice for serious mountain biking, these do keep out most of the spray and are a good size. Also, considering its a single piece of relatively thin plastic that you crease and clip into a mount, they are very durable. I was worried about cracking/tearing, however there is no sign of this so far.
Clever product, easy to fit and works well."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Craft Cool Mesh Superlight base layer provides a superior cooling effect with a 3-dimensional ergonomic fit for freedom of movement during workouts in hot conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Versatile base layer
Posted03 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I have 4 of these and honestly never ride without one. I was dubious when first reading about the idea of an extra layer to help keep you cool, however I am 100% converted.
The top is incredibly light and has two noticeable layers, the idea being that one picks up the moisture, passing into the 2nd layer and out onto your jersey. I find that this helps regulate temperature and is a very comfortable way to ride.
These tops aren't pretty; they're functional and sit very smooth as your first layer. Mine have washed up very well and have lasted a long time. I've worn them in the heat of the Alps following Le Tour and as a bottom layer during the wet, cold, winter rides too and I can't recommend them enough."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Visible from up to 1 mile with it's 2 x 1/2W LEDs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very Bright and Versatile
Posted19 March 2013
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this after losing the 1/2 watt version (which itself was very good) and I couldn't be more pleased. The 2 LEDs give out a huge amount of light and has 5 different settings, which is helpful for different conditions. Easy to attach to your bike or clip onto a bag/jacket etc. Attachment is clever as you don't need to remove the clip fitting to attach it to the bike fixture.
A huge improvement over a fairly basic Cateye and I have since bought 2 more (one for road bike and one for a friend).
Having used this light, I wouldn't be disappointed spending £20 on it, however I got it for half this price which was an absolute bargain. Best rear light I have used and haven't seen brighter lights on other commuters."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, very bright
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
It's simple, it's effective, it's versatile and it's waterproof: a waterproof cover for your rucsac or pannier in bright and reflective materials which is highly visible from the side and the rear.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great visibility and waterproof
Posted16 March 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"If you're a commuter (or regularly ride with a back pack), this is a great purchase. It packs up small when not in use and is very easy to fit over your backpack.
The edges are elasticated which allows it to fit bags of different sizes and it is very reflective. I feel a lot safer riding early in the morning and late at night, in any weather, with this. I do pair it with a light (Smart Lunar R2) which clips onto the mesh pocket and then have lights on the bike too, so there is no way I'm going to be missed.
It's not cheap, but it is great value. It's a high quality item too and is completely waterproof, getting me through all of the rain and snow we've had since November. It still looks brand new.
The packaging it come in actually doubles as a secure document wallet for extra waterproof and easy access to key items. Cannot recommend this product enough."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit, very visible
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Be King of the Mountain with the polka dot'original air-flow design' Aireators, the sock that kicked off the air-flow rage years ago.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfortable, great looking socks
Posted02 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Firstly, and most importantly, these socks are very comfortable and clearly high quality. They fit well and keep your feet nice and cool when out for long rides.
They also look brilliant and have washed up very well, remaining bright long after first wear. I love these for bragging rights when cycling with friends in the hills as they actually make you climb faster too..."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 No Rain Bootie
No Rain Bootie
Waterproof overshoes for dryness and comfort in the worst conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great performance - essential kit.
Posted23 April 2011
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I never really "got" the overshoe thing, but training once the snow had gone in January/February I soon realised I needed them. I've worn these in some extreme downpours and my feet have remained dry, I've also worn them on some very chilly days and my feet have been very warm.
It's not a negative, but they keep your feet so warm, that you can get a bit sweaty in them, but nothing ridiculous. This is also far more preferable than painfully numb toes.
Would absolutely recommend these to a friend, and would also strongly recommend sticking with the size chart. It seems odd getting such a large size, but they do exactly what you need them too.
Great product, reasonable price (especially if you can get them at the current clearance price), and absolutely an essential piece of cycling kit to keep you on the roads in bad conditions."
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit, reflective, sealed sole (except cleat hole...)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent product at a great price
Posted07 November 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"These are my first bib tights, and subsequently can't recommend these over anything else. That doesn't mean I can't highly recommend these bib tights, and I really do!
I realised the need for bib tights after an evening ride in shorts which led to freezing cold legs and painful knees as a result. The fit of these tights are excellent all round. The sizing is spot on - Medium perfect for me at 5'11. The cut of the panels on the legs works well too so you benefit from the compression at the key points as well as the warmth.
The roubaix lining is very comfortable and effective. I've not been caught in the rain so can't comment on warmth in wet, but in some very strong and chilling winds these have been brilliantly warm. Another bonus is I've sometimes found thermal materials irritating, but these have been fine.
My only concern pre-purchase was the zips, but it's really not a big deal. The fit is good enough that the zip doesn't push up far, maybe 1/4 the length. They are snug anyway, so you don't get flapping material or anything that would interupt your riding.
For £45 these shorts are unbeatable and having used them a few times I wouldn't think twice about re-buying. Thanks Wiggle/dHb!"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Kingwazz's Questions
 
Kingwazz has not submitted any questions.
 
Kingwazz's Answers
 
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

size

If I got 23mm would they fit on Fulcrum racing 7 rims which i think are 24mm. Everyone I ride with has narrower tyres - currently I have michaelin 25mm (?) which look v big. What do you think about thickness of tyre?

ta

Andy
These should fit on the Fulcrum 7's with no problems.

As far as thickness of tyres, it depends what you mean. If by thickness you mean puncture protection, the tyre isn't especially thick, though I have found the protection to be very reliable.

If by thickness you mean tyre width, there is a lot of debate about what is 'best'. I have always ridden on 23's, though you will find that pro riders are increasingly using 25's and the famous Continental GP4000s 23s are actually 23.8mm. The logic/debate is over the fact that a wider tyre actually has less rolling resistance due to a better contact area, meaning it's actually faster. It also absorbs more road impact, so you're not taking as much abuse for the reward.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 No Rain Bootie
No Rain Bootie
Waterproof overshoes for dryness and comfort in the worst conditions.
 

Cleats?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, but how do these work with your cleats? Is there a cutout for the cleat to fit through or something. I use mountain bike shoes.
The bottom of the "bootie" is sealed, but there is a hole for the cleat to come through. I wear these with my mtb shoes on a road bike and have no problems.

The hole is very generous (designed for a road cleat), and it has extra material lining it which stops it from ripping.

They are quite tight at first when putting on over a mtb shoe, but worth it for the performance.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

Do cleats come included with the shoes?

Don't know about these specific shoes, but as a general rule, no. Cleats are specific to pedals, rather than shoes, so they will always come with pedals.

e.g. buy SPD pedals and you'll get SPD cleats. Look pedals come with look cleats etc.

Reason for this is you can wear either cleat/pedal combination on a road shoe.

Hope that helps
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Kingwazz
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

Where can I get new screws, one of mine came off

Have previously picked these up at a local bike shop, or in an emergency got hold of one in a general outdoor supplies (skiing etc). Easiest thing to do is buy new cleats. Then you have a spare set (or one) plus plenty of screws. Happens more than you think, so worth carrying spare cleats when possible.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Kingwazz
 
 R1 Road Cycling Shoe
R1 Road Cycling Shoe
A stylish looking shoe which is ideal for road, time trial or track use.
 

do pedals come with these shoes?

No - you'll just get the shoe. Appropriate cleats also come with the pedals you buy, not the shoe, as the reliance is on cleat matching pedal, regardless of shoe (most road shoes will happily take 2 or 3 point cleats).
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Kingwazz
 
These Roubaix Bib Tights are your winter saviours providing warmth, and most importantly the comfort level afforded by the new Giro chamois.
 

"Comfort" zip

Do these tights have the "comfort" zip (so delicately put!) in the front of the bib like the Merstons had? So useful for long rides.
The bibs come up maybe 1/3 of your torso, so higher than summer bib shorts, but there is a zip which is a good length and will allow you to...be comfortable.

A useful feature and as a bonus, the zip doesn't dig in when riding.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Kingwazz