Kingwazz
Top 500 Contributor
Share Kingwazz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kingwazz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    30
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    07 November 2010
  • Last Review
    25 May 2016
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Kingwazz's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good value, simple tool
Posted25 May 2016
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is another good, simple tool from LifeLine. I wouldn't want to pay more than I did for this (<£4) but it is very easy to use and will identify when your chain is stretched to the point that it will start damaging other components.
I don't see what a tool costing twice as much can possibly offer over this piece of metal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Perfect for the job
Posted25 May 2016
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"There's not many ways to describe this item. It's a sturdy, metal stand which holds the bike stable. The protection at the top should protect from damage to your frame/paintwork. Pleased so far and seems a far better solution that resting the bike up against a wall. Would definitely recommend."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Bottle cleaner than cleans bottles
Posted13 March 2016
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is one of those items you don't think you need, then use it and think "why did I never get this before?" and then ultimately forget about it for a while.
It does exactly what it promises and it does it well, so definitely a useful product in that sense. Whilst I don't use this every time, it has proven useful to clean out the good bottles which have been filled with energy drinks a few too many times.
Good value for money."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Solid, reliable, waterproof
Posted13 March 2016
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I bought this to replace a very old Garmin strap which came with my Edge 705 and had taken too much abuse. I went for the Tickr as I liked the bluetooth option for multisport, so I could link it straight to my phone when training, as well as Ant+ for on the bike.
So far, it has worked perfectly every time. It's comfortable and the lights make it very clear when it is working.
Whilst I can't comment on longevity (it's only been 3 months), I have high hopes for this, as I accidentally left it in my cycling gear and put this through a full wash cycle at 30 degrees. Came out fine and works absolutely perfectly!
It's a HRM and it does what it promises. Would recommend."
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, does what it says
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good, light taste
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are the only gels I use, as I find many others too thick. Whilst this is a personal preference (I equally know people who prefer SIS over these), if you want a refreshing, light gel which you don't need to wash down, definitely give these a try.
Both summer fruits and citrus have a good flavour - I find citrus flavours particularly good during hard efforts - and they are very light.
Price is competitive, though if you follow the guidelines and consume 3 per hour, costs will soon rack up. I find these work well once an hour, alongside the High 5 4:1 energy drink and the odd SIS energy bar if out for a long ride.
A further bonus of the light gel is that I find the sachets very easy to empty. This means that, once rolled up and put back in my pocket for the rest of the ride, I don't end up with horrible sticky pockets."
Pros: good taste, easy to carry
 
Products related to my review
 
Wiggle Nutrition Recovery Drink Chocolate (1.6kg)
4.4 out of 5(118)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good taste, easy to carry
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having tried the banana fudge and blueberry versions of these bars, I would recommend them both. They are a great size for sticking a few in your pocket and whilst they are easy to consume, they also are solid enough to withstand the heat build up in a jersey pocket.
Good value when on offer and they're close enough to real food when out on a ride, which is a nice change to just consuming gels."
Pros: good taste, easy to carry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Surprise must have
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having failed miserably in my attempts to set up my front derailleur, I discovered the Park Tool version of this device. Bought the LifeLine version and had my derailleur perfectly set up (by my standards) in about 5 minutes, including the time to tweak the tension in the cables.
This is a tool I'd never though about but not wouldn't be without in the tool box. It clamps the cable and allows very fine tension adjustment, so you can set just at the transition point. Then, flick the catch and it stays exactly where you left it whilst you tighten the cable clamp. If you try and tighten a cable by hand, the act of tightening the screw can pull the cable, meaning it doesn't get as tight as required.
A good quality tool which seems well made and should last for many years given how often it will be used. Very pleased."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality bottle
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality bottle. Very similar in function to the Elite SuperCorsa bottles which are great. Simple design looks good on the bike. Recommended."
Pros: High Quality, cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and effective
Posted08 April 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheap and effective. Mixes up the recovery drinks to a much thicker texture than simply shaking in a normal bottle. Also much smoother, with no lumps if you get the mix slightly wrong."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great gloves, probably didn't need 100 of them...
Posted08 April 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Since buying these I have used them regularly and wish I had bought them sooner. They are a good fit, very strong and make all tasks cleaner.
If I'd known how good these were though I'd have bought a smaller pack. In all the jobs I've done I don't think I have thrown out a single glove. Just pull them off inside out, then blow them back to be the right way round and you can re-use over and over again.
The toughness of the material was proven when I cut my hand doing some work recently. The force was enough to damage skin, but the glove is just fine!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Kingwazz's Questions
 
Kingwazz has not submitted any questions.
 
Kingwazz's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
 

This bottle has a cap?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, it is a valve which you pull up to drink from and press down to close. Downtube protects it from most of the road muck.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

Is this Zwift Compatible?

Is this model of trainer Zwift Compatible?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I believe the Crono trainers were recently added for zPower, yes. Only the top end direct drive Elite model has been classed as 'never compatible".

It's not a smart trainer though so can't be controlled by Zwift.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

does the garmin cadence/speed sensor and HR strap work with Kickr. If so, how?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It does and it doesn't. The unit itself broadcasts certain information, such as speed and power, which you can therefore pick up on a device like a Garmin. So your cadence will be picked up by your own device, with no input from the Kickr itself.

The apps can pick up information sent via Ant+ and Bluetooth 4.0, but you will need an Ant+ usb dongle for your laptop, or phone if that's your preferred option.

The kickr can also receive information, from third party software to control resistance etc. but that is slightly different.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

10/11 speed

This says it is a 10 speed drivetrain and that you need to buy a new cassette for 11 speed. My bike is 11 speed...if I replace the provided 10 speed cassette with an 11 speed one will I be good to go? Also, does it matter that it's 11-28 and not 11-25?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the unit comes with a 10speed cassette and a spacer, so it's an 11 speed compatible hub. Just remove the cassette and put the new one on, as you would on a wheel.

As for cassette ratio, it makes no difference to the trainer at all and most standard derailleurs will handle the 11-28 without any adjustments required.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

Replacing the rear wheel quick release

i recieved this on friday & have now put my bike onto it & used it for the 1st time. to do this i had to replace my rear wheel's spindle & quick release lever to one that was supplied with the product. My question is when i take the bike of the trainer do i have to swap the spindle & rear wheel release back to the 1 that came with the bike? or is it perfectly safe to ride the bike with spindle & lever that came with the trainer??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I personally swap it back to my normal QR when I go back onto the roads. You don't 'need' to, but I don't feel the closure is as good. Just a personal preference though.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

Do I need to buy special tyres to use this trainer or will my normal cycling tyres be OK?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Normal tyres are fine, but they will wear a lot quicker than on roads, due to the heat and friction generated.

If you have a spare wheel, a turbo tyre is a good buy as it will last longer and should be quieter. If you don't have a spare wheel, then swapping tyres is more hassle than it's worth in my opinion.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

Would you recommend this unit for interval training?

Hi - I was looking for an indoor trainer that I could use during the winter months to keep up my fitness. Not looking to increase power at all just to keep fit during the winter months. Ideally I would like a unit that I could use to do some interval training on to get a good sweat going and get the heart pumping over 30 minutes. Would you recommend this trainer as appropriate / any good for interval training?

If it helps, my idea of interval training is a 5 minute warm up followed by 10 x 30 second sprints each separated by 1 minute medium pace active recovery, finishing off with a 10 minute medium pace warm down.

Thanks!
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Assuming your power output doesn't exceed the units limitations, it's perfectly fine for intervals. I use mine multiple times per week doing Sufferfest sessions. I actually think this is better than a fluid trainer where the resistance would increase as your speed increases, but makes matching cadence to resistance difficult.

There is a big swing from level 1 to 5 (in my opinion) so in my experience you get a cleaner jump by flicking from, say, level 2 to level 4, as the resistance change is immediate. Likewise, you get the immediate drop off at the end of your interval and can still adjust your gears too.

Mine is going strong after 4 years and, whilst I'm always tempted by new, fancy tech (e.g Elite Quobo with power and programmes), there's not really anything I can't do with this.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 

Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette

I have a Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette, will I need any spacers to use this with the wheelset?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, you will need the spacer which comes with the wheels.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 &amp; EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 

The box of 20 * 38g Energy gels - is that mixed flavours or just citrus burst (if I choose that option??)

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's just one flavour in the box and you'll get the same flavour for the sachets and the gels (i.e. you can't have citrus sachets and berry gels).
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Pricing and Ultegra version

Will this offer price be available at least to the end of April, and would a further 12% Gold account discount be applied on this bike? Which version of Ultegra is used?

Thanks in advance
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's Ultegra 6800, so the new 11-speed version.

I didn't get any additional loyalty discount when I bought this bike as I believe you only get that off RRP and/or when there is not other discount applied.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York