Kingwazz
Top 1000 Contributor
Share Kingwazz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kingwazz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    7
  • First Review
    07 November 2010
  • Last Review
    22 March 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    19
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    22 March 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Kingwazz's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing piece of kit
Posted22 March 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As you'd expect, I thought long and hard before making this purchase. It is a massive outlay, even with the platinum discount applied (which made this far cheaper than anywhere else). but it really is a brilliant piece of kit.
Plugging into mains to power isn't a problem for me and it comes with a long cable, which should enable you to position this wherever you usually train. I have yet to use this with the app directly, not because it's bad (I wouldn't know) but because this works seamlessly with third party software and there are great options out there. I use this regularly with:
- Trainerroad
- The Sufferfest
- Zwift (recently joined the Beta).
Ergo mode is the biggest selling point of this trainer and is a fantastic feature. In ergo mode, the third party software controls the trainer fully. So, if you should be putting out 300w, you are forced to put out 300w and, if you are supposed to be going up a 10% incline, you will know about it!
Where is gets more clever, is it's ability to jump between modes. If, for example, you are doing an FTP test, ergo mode will control your power during the warm up, then flick to 'level' mode for the 20 minute test. At this point it adjusts it's levels to match your effort, therefore enabling you to put out as much, or as little, power as you are capable.
There are plenty of reviews out there from more experienced riders than me. What I will say is that if you are considering this purchase, and you have the means, you will not be disappointed. It's easy to set up, easy to put the bike on and it has completely transformed my winter training, to the extent I will likely to continue with the turbo sessions throughout the summer.
One thing to consider - this unit is very heavy. Yes, there is a handle, but the trainer isn't evenly weighted, so shifting the 21kg bulk can be awkward. That said, it therefore creates an very stable platform for training.
Definitely buy an Ant+ dongle for your laptop to make the most of this device. As an android user, apps are slightly behind and I'm really looking forward to 'Wahoo Segments' becoming available so I can re-ride my favourite routes."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This sweat protector stretches between the saddle and handlebars and protects your bike components and paint work from corrosive sweat. Easy to put on for indoor training and take off the bike for regular riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does its job well
Posted22 March 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"5 stars as it does exactly the job it's designed for. Doing a lot of turbo training this winter, I wanted to protect the bike as well as possible and this does the job well, catching all the sweat.
The only thing which would make this better is if there was something in the design to stop the velcro rubbing on your bars. With careful placement you can get this over your bar tape, but there's usually some rubbing. Not a big deal for me, but if you've expensive carbon bars, you may want to put something between the velcro and your bars."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with its Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, roll well, look great!
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Impressed with these wheels. They are very light and they look great on the bike (Colnago CX-1). The free hub sound is relatively quiet which I much prefer over the stock Aksiums which came on the bike.
I upgraded wheels to RS80 on my other bike (10 spd 105) which I really like, but aren't suitable for 11 speed Ultegra. I chose these wheels as they are much cheaper than the RS81 and appeared to be of a siilar weight and quality. Having ridden them for around 1 month now, I would say these are easily on par with the RS80/81, so really it is down to looks if you are picking between the two.
I like the slightly deeper rear wheel rim with the shallower front and would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a significant upgrade from stock wheels."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Do the job well
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Tried a few energy products on and off, though this is the first year I've really committed to them for regular use on rides.
I find the High5 products very easy to take on board during rides and am a particularly big fan of the 4:1 mix which seems to have the best affect on maintaining performance.
Have tried both the berry and citrus versions and would recommend them both. Picking one, I'd go with citrus (most refreshing) but for longer rides I'd recommend taking both flavours to avoid getting bored with one."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great first impressions
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I put these on ahead of riding Stage 1 of this years Tour and I have to say I'm impressed. Stopping was very good in the dry, but they really stood out descending the first big climb of the day. The skies opened, it became very wet, very quickly and the brakes just performed as if it were dry. Great for confidence.
Just keep in mind that your pads are only as good as your tyres - there's no point getting really powerful stopping power if your tyres are just going to skid and leave you in a heap on the floor.
These pads are in Ultegra brakes, used on Campag Zonda wheels, with Conti GP4000s 25s and I am very happy with the set up."
Pros: High Quality, great performance
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great first impressions
Posted08 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This is a fantastic looking bike and, at the current offer price (bought for just shy of £2k), is an absolute bargain.
The first thing you'll notice is that the frames come up very big. I've been riding a 56 Cannondale and bought the 54 frame. This bike still feels long and at 5'11, whether I went for the 54 or 52 is down to personal ride preference. For me, the 54 is right as I like the extra bit of height that gives at the front, whilst if your preference is for aggressive riding, you may prefer the 52 with more stem and saddle.
The Ultegra 6800 is really smooth and a surprisingly noticeable upgrade from 105. I didn't expect such a big change to the 'feel', with 6800 being much lighter in the shifting action. The 12-25 cassette on an 11 speed set up makes it easy to find the right gear for your current riding. Really impressed with this so far.
The wheels are awful and after just a few rides I'm getting rubbing under pressure. Disappointing as this is though, it is understandable. A quick search and you'll realise this frameset alone still retails for £2500, so you can't have everything. My Shimano R500 on my CAAD8 lasted for years, so in my opinion there are better choices for entry level wheels. I'm definitely looking to upgrade to RS81 C35 as soon as possible.
The finishing kit is otherwise of great quality. The handlebars and bar tape are very comfortable; having come from a traditional round shape, I find the flattening at the top easy to rest on when riding. The seat is really good too and far better than I expected. It's not a cheap saddle by any means and you appreciate this when riding.
This could be a bike for life (it won't, due to n+1...) and it really does look amazing. The frame is ready for electronic groupets too which is a bonus if you want to go that way in future. Purists will no doubt be appalled at the use of Shimano instead of Campag, though if you look simply at performance, 6800 is perfect for this bike.
As far as ride quality, it is comfortable and seems to take an element of the sting out of lumpy surfaces. I wouldn't say this is a bike designed for comfort though as everything about it encourages power and speed. There's a reason the frame has won stages of grand tours and it's not because it was gentle! The fact I knocked off my longest ride of the year in the first week of getting this bike suggests it's doing something right though to keep you in the saddle longer.
In summary, if you are considering this bike, buy it. It's Colnago, it look stunning, it handles brilliantly and you get finishing kit and a groupset which you really struggle to find at the moment at this price point."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, High Quality, Lightweight
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
105 double front derailleurs provide smoother shifting performance and smooth shifting under heavy load at each rear position gives a perfect shift every time.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Typical 105 quality
Posted02 May 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought this as a replacement after getting a bit lazy with my maintenance over the winter and ruining my original one.
Assuming you've got your cables sorted properly then this derailleur gives excellent, consistent shifting. Personal preference for the black 105 kit, however there is no difference in quality.
If you have 105 already, or are looking to upgrade from lower groupsets, this is spot on."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Sleek, aero shape wedge pack with positive locking QR buckle and high strength straps. Expands from 0.98 litres to 1.31 litres quickly and simply to provide plenty of storage for those ride essentials.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple, quality, storage.
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"'The Rules' say no saddle bags, but this is far too convenient not to use. The medium is a great size with the extender section available if required.
Without the extender I comfortably carry:
- 2x inner tubes
- tube repair patches
- multi-tool with tyre levers
- inhaler
- keys
- some emergency cash.
There's still loads of space, so could probably take a really lightweight jacket (I'm thinking hotpack) without needing to be extended.
The buckles are great and have held up well so far. The loop on the back is perfect for a attaching your rear light.
I previously used a specialized wedgie for 3 years, which I really liked before finally wearing through the strap. I have to say I prefer the full zip entry into this saddle bag - much easier to pack and access the things you need."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
 
Products related to my review
Lunar R2 Rear Light
4.6 out of 5(155)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano 105 5701 10 Speed Chain
Shimano's super narrow Hyperglide 105 (5701) 10-speed compatible directional chain is recommended for 105 drivetrains. For use with double chainset only, for triple please use the 5600 10-speed chain.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great quality chain
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Bought a couple of these when they were on offer and really can't fault them. I find that 105 works really well and I get good life out of the chains with a little basic maintenance.
Would be great if these came with a quick release link, but they don't, so I would definitely recommend buying the KMC links to close your chain. Just makes cleaning so much easier."
Pros: High Quality
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Featuring flat seams, fabric with wicking properties, reflective tabs and mesh panels for breathability, the dhb Letho Run Tight has been designed for comfort when training in all weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good price and quality
Posted02 May 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"I was looking for some running tights to get me out during the winter months. Whilst I've largely failed, these tights were up to the job. Lightweight, good fit and comfortable.
The hidden pocket at the back is perfect for putting your keys in safely, as they are zipped and don't bounce around when you run.
Size seemed pretty spot on per the size chart too which is a bonus."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Kingwazz's Questions
 
Kingwazz has not submitted any questions.
 
Kingwazz's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

does the garmin cadence/speed sensor and HR strap work with Kickr. If so, how?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It does and it doesn't. The unit itself broadcasts certain information, such as speed and power, which you can therefore pick up on a device like a Garmin. So your cadence will be picked up by your own device, with no input from the Kickr itself.

The apps can pick up information sent via Ant+ and Bluetooth 4.0, but you will need an Ant+ usb dongle for your laptop, or phone if that's your preferred option.

The kickr can also receive information, from third party software to control resistance etc. but that is slightly different.
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

10/11 speed

This says it is a 10 speed drivetrain and that you need to buy a new cassette for 11 speed. My bike is 11 speed...if I replace the provided 10 speed cassette with an 11 speed one will I be good to go? Also, does it matter that it's 11-28 and not 11-25?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, the unit comes with a 10speed cassette and a spacer, so it's an 11 speed compatible hub. Just remove the cassette and put the new one on, as you would on a wheel.

As for cassette ratio, it makes no difference to the trainer at all and most standard derailleurs will handle the 11-28 without any adjustments required.
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Replacing the rear wheel quick release

i recieved this on friday & have now put my bike onto it & used it for the 1st time. to do this i had to replace my rear wheel's spindle & quick release lever to one that was supplied with the product. My question is when i take the bike of the trainer do i have to swap the spindle & rear wheel release back to the 1 that came with the bike? or is it perfectly safe to ride the bike with spindle & lever that came with the trainer??
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I personally swap it back to my normal QR when I go back onto the roads. You don't 'need' to, but I don't feel the closure is as good. Just a personal preference though.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Do I need to buy special tyres to use this trainer or will my normal cycling tyres be OK?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Normal tyres are fine, but they will wear a lot quicker than on roads, due to the heat and friction generated.

If you have a spare wheel, a turbo tyre is a good buy as it will last longer and should be quieter. If you don't have a spare wheel, then swapping tyres is more hassle than it's worth in my opinion.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Would you recommend this unit for interval training?

Hi - I was looking for an indoor trainer that I could use during the winter months to keep up my fitness. Not looking to increase power at all just to keep fit during the winter months. Ideally I would like a unit that I could use to do some interval training on to get a good sweat going and get the heart pumping over 30 minutes. Would you recommend this trainer as appropriate / any good for interval training?

If it helps, my idea of interval training is a 5 minute warm up followed by 10 x 30 second sprints each separated by 1 minute medium pace active recovery, finishing off with a 10 minute medium pace warm down.

Thanks!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Assuming your power output doesn't exceed the units limitations, it's perfectly fine for intervals. I use mine multiple times per week doing Sufferfest sessions. I actually think this is better than a fluid trainer where the resistance would increase as your speed increases, but makes matching cadence to resistance difficult.

There is a big swing from level 1 to 5 (in my opinion) so in my experience you get a cleaner jump by flicking from, say, level 2 to level 4, as the resistance change is immediate. Likewise, you get the immediate drop off at the end of your interval and can still adjust your gears too.

Mine is going strong after 4 years and, whilst I'm always tempted by new, fancy tech (e.g Elite Quobo with power and programmes), there's not really anything I can't do with this.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with its Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 

Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette

I have a Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette, will I need any spacers to use this with the wheelset?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes, you will need the spacer which comes with the wheels.
9 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 

The box of 20 * 38g Energy gels - is that mixed flavours or just citrus burst (if I choose that option??)

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's just one flavour in the box and you'll get the same flavour for the sachets and the gels (i.e. you can't have citrus sachets and berry gels).
9 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Pricing and Ultegra version

Will this offer price be available at least to the end of April, and would a further 12% Gold account discount be applied on this bike? Which version of Ultegra is used?

Thanks in advance
Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's Ultegra 6800, so the new 11-speed version.

I didn't get any additional loyalty discount when I bought this bike as I believe you only get that off RRP and/or when there is not other discount applied.
10 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

I am 178 cm tall with 81 cm inseam. Would a size 52 cm fit the best?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I'm 5'11 with an 81cm inseam. I went for the 54 and it's probably a coin toss between choosing the 54 or 52.

With that in mind you're probably right to look at the 52 as you get a lot of seat post and it comes with a long stem too.

Again, for reference, I don't have masses of seat post showing and I shortened the stem to an 85 because the 54 is so long.
10 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Cassette

what rear mech does it have? Can I fit an 11-32 11spd Ultegra cassette? Or would it require a different Mech?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
It's the short mech, which can only go as big as the 11-28 cassette. You need to get the long cage derailleur if you want to put the 32 on.
10 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York