Kingwazz
Top 500 Contributor
Share Kingwazz's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Kingwazz's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    26
  • Helpfulness Votes
    8
  • First Review
    07 November 2010
  • Last Review
    15 June 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    27 June 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    21
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Answer
    07 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    15 June 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    1
 
 
Kingwazz's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
An ultra concentrated sports fuel for instant energy. Race proven in the World's toughest events; it delivers fast energy to endurance athletes. Easy to open, easy to swallow and easy to digest with natural fruit flavours that taste fantastic.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good, light taste
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are the only gels I use, as I find many others too thick. Whilst this is a personal preference (I equally know people who prefer SIS over these), if you want a refreshing, light gel which you don't need to wash down, definitely give these a try.
Both summer fruits and citrus have a good flavour - I find citrus flavours particularly good during hard efforts - and they are very light.
Price is competitive, though if you follow the guidelines and consume 3 per hour, costs will soon rack up. I find these work well once an hour, alongside the High 5 4:1 energy drink and the odd SIS energy bar if out for a long ride.
A further bonus of the light gel is that I find the sachets very easy to empty. This means that, once rolled up and put back in my pocket for the rest of the ride, I don't end up with horrible sticky pockets."
Pros: good taste, easy to carry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Delicious energy bars packed with 26g of Carbs and 4.5g of protein. Low in fat and suitable for vegetarians.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good taste, easy to carry
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having tried the banana fudge and blueberry versions of these bars, I would recommend them both. They are a great size for sticking a few in your pocket and whilst they are easy to consume, they also are solid enough to withstand the heat build up in a jersey pocket.
Good value when on offer and they're close enough to real food when out on a ride, which is a nice change to just consuming gels."
Pros: good taste, easy to carry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Tension your gear and brake cables with ease. The LifeLine Inner cable puller grips the inner cable and allows you to set the tension and lock it in place with just one hand. Essential for gear indexing and brake tuning.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Surprise must have
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Having failed miserably in my attempts to set up my front derailleur, I discovered the Park Tool version of this device. Bought the LifeLine version and had my derailleur perfectly set up (by my standards) in about 5 minutes, including the time to tweak the tension in the cables.
This is a tool I'd never though about but not wouldn't be without in the tool box. It clamps the cable and allows very fine tension adjustment, so you can set just at the transition point. Then, flick the catch and it stays exactly where you left it whilst you tighten the cable clamp. If you try and tighten a cable by hand, the act of tightening the screw can pull the cable, meaning it doesn't get as tight as required.
A good quality tool which seems well made and should last for many years given how often it will be used. Very pleased."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Stay hydrated on endurance road rides. With a soft rubber nozzle, 750ml capacity, a squeezable body for fast fluid delivery and a range of colours to match your kit, the LifeLine SuperCorsa bottle is indispensible out on the tarmac.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality bottle
Posted15 June 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Good quality bottle. Very similar in function to the Elite SuperCorsa bottles which are great. Simple design looks good on the bike. Recommended."
Pros: High Quality, cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Create a smoother energy and recovery shake drink with the Wiggle Nutrition Shaker Bottle. The metal whisk ball enhances mixing to ensure an even consistency throughout. A side measure scale helps you to accurately mix your nutrition drink.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Simple and effective
Posted08 April 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Cheap and effective. Mixes up the recovery drinks to a much thicker texture than simply shaking in a normal bottle. Also much smoother, with no lumps if you get the mix slightly wrong."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The professional mechanics' favourite is now tougher and easier to re-use but just as easy to wear for delicate tasks.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great gloves, probably didn't need 100 of them...
Posted08 April 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Since buying these I have used them regularly and wish I had bought them sooner. They are a good fit, very strong and make all tasks cleaner.
If I'd known how good these were though I'd have bought a smaller pack. In all the jobs I've done I don't think I have thrown out a single glove. Just pull them off inside out, then blow them back to be the right way round and you can re-use over and over again.
The toughness of the material was proven when I cut my hand doing some work recently. The force was enough to damage skin, but the glove is just fine!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Packaged in sets of three, the Park Tool Tire Levers are made of glass-injected nylon to ensure long life and damage-free operation. The unique design of the TL-1 actually lifts the tire away from the rim and keeps the tube from being pinched.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Do their job well
Posted08 April 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Usual Park Tools quality in a simple affordable product. Always managed just fine with the levers attached to the Topeak Helix multi-tool, but wanted something sturdier for tighter tyres when working at home. Having recently used these to put new 23mm Michelin Pro 4 SC's onto new wheels, I'm not sure how I'd have manged without them.
I'll be finding room for these out on the road as they do their job brilliantly. Not an exciting purchase, but one I'm pleased with."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Amazing piece of kit
Posted22 March 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As you'd expect, I thought long and hard before making this purchase. It is a massive outlay, even with the platinum discount applied (which made this far cheaper than anywhere else). but it really is a brilliant piece of kit.
Plugging into mains to power isn't a problem for me and it comes with a long cable, which should enable you to position this wherever you usually train. I have yet to use this with the app directly, not because it's bad (I wouldn't know) but because this works seamlessly with third party software and there are great options out there. I use this regularly with:
- Trainerroad
- The Sufferfest
- Zwift (recently joined the Beta).
Ergo mode is the biggest selling point of this trainer and is a fantastic feature. In ergo mode, the third party software controls the trainer fully. So, if you should be putting out 300w, you are forced to put out 300w and, if you are supposed to be going up a 10% incline, you will know about it!
Where is gets more clever, is it's ability to jump between modes. If, for example, you are doing an FTP test, ergo mode will control your power during the warm up, then flick to 'level' mode for the 20 minute test. At this point it adjusts it's levels to match your effort, therefore enabling you to put out as much, or as little, power as you are capable.
There are plenty of reviews out there from more experienced riders than me. What I will say is that if you are considering this purchase, and you have the means, you will not be disappointed. It's easy to set up, easy to put the bike on and it has completely transformed my winter training, to the extent I will likely to continue with the turbo sessions throughout the summer.
One thing to consider - this unit is very heavy. Yes, there is a handle, but the trainer isn't evenly weighted, so shifting the 21kg bulk can be awkward. That said, it therefore creates an very stable platform for training.
Definitely buy an Ant+ dongle for your laptop to make the most of this device. As an android user, apps are slightly behind and I'm really looking forward to 'Wahoo Segments' becoming available so I can re-ride my favourite routes."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile
Cons: Expensive, Bulky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This sweat protector stretches between the saddle and handlebars and protects your bike components and paint work from corrosive sweat. Easy to put on for indoor training and take off the bike for regular riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does its job well
Posted22 March 2015
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"5 stars as it does exactly the job it's designed for. Doing a lot of turbo training this winter, I wanted to protect the bike as well as possible and this does the job well, catching all the sweat.
The only thing which would make this better is if there was something in the design to stop the velcro rubbing on your bars. With careful placement you can get this over your bar tape, but there's usually some rubbing. Not a big deal for me, but if you've expensive carbon bars, you may want to put something between the velcro and your bars."
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with its Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Light, roll well, look great!
Posted27 June 2014
Kingwazz
fromYork
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Impressed with these wheels. They are very light and they look great on the bike (Colnago CX-1). The free hub sound is relatively quiet which I much prefer over the stock Aksiums which came on the bike.
I upgraded wheels to RS80 on my other bike (10 spd 105) which I really like, but aren't suitable for 11 speed Ultegra. I chose these wheels as they are much cheaper than the RS81 and appeared to be of a siilar weight and quality. Having ridden them for around 1 month now, I would say these are easily on par with the RS80/81, so really it is down to looks if you are picking between the two.
I like the slightly deeper rear wheel rim with the shallower front and would absolutely recommend these to anyone looking for a significant upgrade from stock wheels."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Kingwazz's Questions
 
Kingwazz has not submitted any questions.
 
Kingwazz's Answers
1 2 3 >>>
 
Stay hydrated on endurance road rides. With a soft rubber nozzle, 750ml capacity, a squeezable body for fast fluid delivery and a range of colours to match your kit, the LifeLine SuperCorsa bottle is indispensible out on the tarmac.
 

This bottle has a cap?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, it is a valve which you pull up to drink from and press down to close. Downtube protects it from most of the road muck.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Is this Zwift Compatible?

Is this model of trainer Zwift Compatible?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I believe the Crono trainers were recently added for zPower, yes. Only the top end direct drive Elite model has been classed as 'never compatible".

It's not a smart trainer though so can't be controlled by Zwift.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

does the garmin cadence/speed sensor and HR strap work with Kickr. If so, how?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It does and it doesn't. The unit itself broadcasts certain information, such as speed and power, which you can therefore pick up on a device like a Garmin. So your cadence will be picked up by your own device, with no input from the Kickr itself.

The apps can pick up information sent via Ant+ and Bluetooth 4.0, but you will need an Ant+ usb dongle for your laptop, or phone if that's your preferred option.

The kickr can also receive information, from third party software to control resistance etc. but that is slightly different.
5 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
The Wahoo KICKR, winner of the 2014 Eurobike Gold Award for Best Accessory, is the ultimate Smartphone/Tablet powered trainer. Take the back wheel off your bike and wirelessly pair to the KICKR for accurate power measurement and controlled resistance.
 

10/11 speed

This says it is a 10 speed drivetrain and that you need to buy a new cassette for 11 speed. My bike is 11 speed...if I replace the provided 10 speed cassette with an 11 speed one will I be good to go? Also, does it matter that it's 11-28 and not 11-25?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, the unit comes with a 10speed cassette and a spacer, so it's an 11 speed compatible hub. Just remove the cassette and put the new one on, as you would on a wheel.

As for cassette ratio, it makes no difference to the trainer at all and most standard derailleurs will handle the 11-28 without any adjustments required.
5 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Replacing the rear wheel quick release

i recieved this on friday & have now put my bike onto it & used it for the 1st time. to do this i had to replace my rear wheel's spindle & quick release lever to one that was supplied with the product. My question is when i take the bike of the trainer do i have to swap the spindle & rear wheel release back to the 1 that came with the bike? or is it perfectly safe to ride the bike with spindle & lever that came with the trainer??
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I personally swap it back to my normal QR when I go back onto the roads. You don't 'need' to, but I don't feel the closure is as good. Just a personal preference though.
9 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Do I need to buy special tyres to use this trainer or will my normal cycling tyres be OK?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Normal tyres are fine, but they will wear a lot quicker than on roads, due to the heat and friction generated.

If you have a spare wheel, a turbo tyre is a good buy as it will last longer and should be quieter. If you don't have a spare wheel, then swapping tyres is more hassle than it's worth in my opinion.
9 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
Elite Crono Mag Speed is a superb trainer at a highly competitive price that offers superb value for those looking for an easily portable lightweight trainer that's ideal for getting started or for pre-race warm-ups.
 

Would you recommend this unit for interval training?

Hi - I was looking for an indoor trainer that I could use during the winter months to keep up my fitness. Not looking to increase power at all just to keep fit during the winter months. Ideally I would like a unit that I could use to do some interval training on to get a good sweat going and get the heart pumping over 30 minutes. Would you recommend this trainer as appropriate / any good for interval training?

If it helps, my idea of interval training is a 5 minute warm up followed by 10 x 30 second sprints each separated by 1 minute medium pace active recovery, finishing off with a 10 minute medium pace warm down.

Thanks!
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Assuming your power output doesn't exceed the units limitations, it's perfectly fine for intervals. I use mine multiple times per week doing Sufferfest sessions. I actually think this is better than a fluid trainer where the resistance would increase as your speed increases, but makes matching cadence to resistance difficult.

There is a big swing from level 1 to 5 (in my opinion) so in my experience you get a cleaner jump by flicking from, say, level 2 to level 4, as the resistance change is immediate. Likewise, you get the immediate drop off at the end of your interval and can still adjust your gears too.

Mine is going strong after 4 years and, whilst I'm always tempted by new, fancy tech (e.g Elite Quobo with power and programmes), there's not really anything I can't do with this.
9 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
The Zonda clincher wheelset, with its Mega G3 technology, offers excellent torsional & lateral stiffness making it ideal for racing or training rides on hard roads. A versatile & strong set of wheels with a rock-solid track record in performance.
 

Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette

I have a Shimano Tiagra 10 speed cassette, will I need any spacers to use this with the wheelset?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Yes, you will need the spacer which comes with the wheels.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
High5 EnergySource 4:1 & EnergyGel Bundle Deal!
This High5 Bundle Pack consists of a 600g box of EnergySource 4:1 and 20 x 38g EnergyGel Sachets. Two of the best energy products on the market, in a great value deal!
 

The box of 20 * 38g Energy gels - is that mixed flavours or just citrus burst (if I choose that option??)

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's just one flavour in the box and you'll get the same flavour for the sachets and the gels (i.e. you can't have citrus sachets and berry gels).
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York
 
 Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
Colnago CX-1 Ultegra (11 Speed) Wiggle Exclusive
CX-1 is a true modern classic. Already a winner of multiple stages at the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Paris-Nice, CX-1 has a brand-new look for the 2014 season and comes supplied with Shimano's Ultegra 11 speed components and Vittoria tyres.
 

Pricing and Ultegra version

Will this offer price be available at least to the end of April, and would a further 12% Gold account discount be applied on this bike? Which version of Ultegra is used?

Thanks in advance
Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
It's Ultegra 6800, so the new 11-speed version.

I didn't get any additional loyalty discount when I bought this bike as I believe you only get that off RRP and/or when there is not other discount applied.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Kingwazz
York