Flare
Share Flare's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Flare's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    8
  • Helpfulness Votes
    20
  • First Review
    17 January 2011
  • Last Review
    13 June 2013
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    30 June 2014
  • Last Question
    30 June 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    12
  • Helpfulness Votes
    4
  • First Answer
    17 January 2011
  • Last Answer
    13 June 2013
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    2
 
 
Flare's Reviews
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Outstanding fast commuter tyre
Posted13 June 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchased a pair of these tyres for my commuting bike about 20 months ago. The bike is used for suburban commuting in Melbourne, Aus, and so far the tyres would have covered more than 5,000km.
First impressions were close to amazement, the performance lift was like having a new bike. The Durano Performance Folding is the full package for fast road commuting. The weight is incredibly low, in the vicinity of 250g per tyre, which allows the wheels to spin up noticeably quickly. The bike is light already, these tyres made it approach the performance of a road racer.
Grip in corners in dry weather is just superb. Corners can be attacked aggressively at speed. Wet weather grip is also good but I lack the intestinal fortitude to push the bike as hard in the wet as I do in the dry - another reviewer can test those limits.
Puncture resistance for such a supple, low rolling resistance tyre is better than I would have imagined. I've effectively had two punctures in all that time. One from a carpet tack, the other from a fine filament of wire embedded in the carcass that kept pricking the tube until I found it.. The RaceGuard barrier is solidly effective against glass shards.
The road feel of the tyre is all good. The tyre's section has a diameter of 28mm which gives a nice comfortable ride at speed. I usually inflate them to 110psi which suits going fast without the ride being harsh. As the pressure drops off to 90psi or a little lower over time the increase in rolling resistance is only slight and handling remains good. Recommended pressure range is 85-115psi.
The grippy rubber compound is susceptible to cuts from glass in road debris. Although quite a few of these cuts are 3 - 4mm long and extend all the way down to the RaceGuard barrier the performance of the tyres has not been noticeably affected, nor the puncture resistance. With 5,000+km of use a flat patch has not developed in the wear zone, the surface of the tyre just looks a little rougher. So yes, they are durable.
Fitting the tyres when new was achieved without tools but it was hard work for my thumbs. You get that with kevlar beads on folding tyres. Subsequent fittings were easy. My rims are Mavic 717 and Mavic 519 - fit on both is normal.
I've tried quite a few slick and semi-slick tyres on the same bike over the years but the Durano Performance Folding is the best by a wide margin. I didn't know bike tyres could be that good. I'm a Schwalbe convert now. Until I found the wire filament that had tormented me I questioned the puncture resistance of the Durano and was contemplating a change to Schwalbe Marathon Supremes. I'll shelve that idea as long as I can keep riding fast reliably. For fast riding the Durano is a terrific tyre."
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, high performance
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
 
The U-Mini is a lightweight and small courier lock that is ideal for customers who like to have a secure lock which is easy to transport, to lock and to store.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Secure & compact lock
Posted16 October 2012
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This mini U-lock is compact and secure with a gold Sold Secure rating. That's all good but the price of that security is lots of weight - approx 1022g. 4 keys are supplied so it's unlikely extras will need to be cut. A minor quibble is that the shackle rattles a little bit inside the locking bar when riding along, although this isn't a bother if it's carried inside a bag.
Shackle O.D. is 17mm including rubberised coating, 14mm without. A _big_ set of bolt cutters would be needed to get around that, not sure if they exist that big. It'd be a good amount of work for a cordless grinder too.
Shackle internal dimensions: 142 x 78mm
Overall outside dimensions: 200 x 112mm (shackle width). Locking bar is 145 x dia 40mm.
To make it quick and easy for me to lock and leave the bike I fitted Pinhead lockable QR skewer replacements to my wheels, also available from Wiggle.
Re: cable locks. Victoria Police bike theft crew were set up to engrave Driver's Licence numbers on bike frames at St Kilda Pier when I passed last weekend. They told me a cheap tool is available that will cut any size cable when wound around and around the cable. The cops therefore do not recommend cable locks. They do recommend U-locks."
Pros: Rugged, High Quality
Cons: heavy
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
 
Vulcanising Solution for vulcanisation of tube patches, valve patches and rubber base valve repairs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good glue, spreads easily, long lasting
Posted16 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"There are dodgy brands of vulcanising solution but Rema's offering is not one of them. The glue is reliable, spreads easily and dries fast. Pack size is big enough to last a long time.
Product size is 10g. I find small tubes of vulcanising solution usually dry out before the glue is needed a second time so I like to buy larger tubes. The supplied Rema tube is about half the size I wanted but it's still big enough to last for good number of repairs. With modern tyres being so puncture resistant flat tyres are thankfully now few and far between but it's good to have a big tube of patch glue on hand so as to be confident there'll be at least a little bit of usable glue remaining to get an inner tube fixed."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Dual layer and feather-edged patches for maximum adhesion strength and repair security.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Won't let you down
Posted16 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I recently tried some peel and stick glueless patches. The result was less than satisfactory. Let's just say that they're OK to get you up and running quickly from the roadside but they are not good enough for a permanent repair. In my experience they did not cope at all well with high tyre pressure, 110 psi.
Over the years I've had good results with Rema patches and vulcanising solution. Repairs are fast, permanent and reliable. Repaired tubes hold air to high pressure without any problems. For most small punctures a patch cut in half with scissors will do the job."
Pros: Durable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Zip City Medium Courier/Messenger Bag
Zip City Medium Courier/Messenger Bag
Pack, zip, sling on, bye bye. The compact courier style, large volume and wide choice of strong colours reflects the individual and versatile character of Zip-City owners. Perfect for school and university, shopping mall or gym, night life and job. The Zip-City is also a favourite among DJs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Robust, versatile and totally waterproof.
Posted31 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Have been using an Ortlieb Zip City bag for 8 or so years. My first was the small size and bought this medium one on the strength of my experiences with the small bag which were all good.
This bag is tough and has enough room to lug around plenty of stuff; easily enough for change of clothes and computer. Really appreciate the internal organiser pocket fitted as standard - it's great to be able to drop my phone, wallet and keys in it and find them again quickly without having to rummage through the body of the sack.
The TIZIP can be a little stiff but applying the supplied lubricant has it sliding pretty freely. If the zip won't seal when you're in a pinch saliva is a workable temporary substitute.
With the zip securely closed the bag is totally waterproof. I've given my Zip City bags extensive use when sailing. I used to collect the valuables of crew mates in the bag and put it down below where it would slosh around in the bilge of a 25' sports boat - I never had to give back water damaged phones after racing. When delivering boats I've used the bag to swim my gear ashore without any worries at all, floats real good!. Only downside from this use is that the screws on the bag are not stainless steel. When extensive exposure to salt water made them rust I had them nickel plated to help them last last longer and look nice 'n' silvery bright. Might look for SS replacements one day.
Of course it's also a great bag for wet weather bike riding. And as my friends have told me, it looks cool too!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Rugged, High Quality, Versatile, 100% waterproof
Cons: wish screws were stainless steel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Flite Gel Flow Saddle with Oval Rails
Flite Gel Flow Saddle with Oval Rails
Legends are left untouched at most they are refined. The first of the 'lightweights', and among the most appreciated worldwide, it is now offered in its renewed guise, while preserving its comfort, seating and unmistakable shape.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great saddle
Posted17 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Purchased my first Selle Italia Flite saddle in 1993. They were comfortable then and with each generation of the saddle I've bought they keep getting better. Gel is a real plus for comfort and this is a really comfy saddle.
Only drag is that it's very flash in the looks department. There's a small carbon fibre window in the top at the rear and metal rimmed windows at the back and at both sides of the front. On the leather seat there's fancy decals and some panels have silver metallic thread running through. It all looks very smart but I'm wary about it turning my old clunker into a theft risk. I think I'll get used to it pretty quickly though! ;)
Great price compared to what I'd have to shell out for it here in Aus. Thanks Wiggle!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Smarthead Upgrade well worth it
Posted17 January 2011
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've owned a Silca track pump for about 10 years. In all that time it's always been a pain to put air in my bikes' tyres because I was never able to get Silca's friction actuated Presta adapter to work. As a work-around I used to fit a Presta to Schrader adapter to the Prest valve and then screw the Schrader end of the Silca pump hose to the adapter. This led to quite a few valve stems being torn from tubes and not a little cursing and swearing.
The Topeak Smartjhead Upgrade has given me instant bliss. The no-text cartoon-type instructions were easy to follow and I had it fitted in about 15 minutes. Unfortunately none of the supplied threaded adapters would screw into the pump base so I had to snip the Silca tubing and fit the barbed adaptor and hose clamp instead.
The cam-locking action of the pump fits easily and securely to Presta valves and does not leak. This means pressure readings from the gauge at the foot of the pump barrel are giving their most accurate and reliable readings in years. Hooray!! It's made putting air in the tyres simple and straightforward.
When the head is released from the valve after the desired pressure has been reached the handle snaps back sharply into the Smarthead housing. It's not hard to keep your fingers clear.
Haven't tried the Smarthead on Schrader valves and don't really intend to unless a friend pops around on a bike with those valves fitted. Occasionally when fitting head to valve stem the head causes a bit of air to be released from the valve. It's not a bother when the cam-lock seals so well and the tyres can be inflated to the desired pressure so easily.
If you're having issues with the existing head of your track pump then the Topeak Smarthead Upgrade kit will send your blues away. Highly recommended and used in bike shop workshops all over Melbourne!"
Pros: Great Value, locks securely to valve stem, no air leaks
Cons: no threaded adaptors to suit silca pump base
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
Fortezza TriComp Folding Tyre
The best selling tyre from the Vredestein range. The Fortezza TriComp is Vredestein most popular competition tyre and is suitable for mixed weather conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fortezza TriComps do the trick
Posted17 January 2011
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Flare
fromMelbourne
Country : Australia
Age : 35-44
Interest : Commuter
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Following the recommendation of a friend I've been using these tyres on my road bike for years.
Biggest thing in their favour is puncture resistance. I've commuted in all weather along North Road from Brighton all the way up to Mulgrave (past Monash Uni) over all sorts of roadside debris and only suffered a couple flats over two or three winters of day in, day out riding. That's an impressive record.
I get good wear out of them but run them longer than others might dare to squeeze extra value from each purchase -- estimate as long a chain lasts, probably about 2,500 km. Obviously, when nearing (or having exceeded) the end of their normal working life puncture resistance decreases -- that's the signal to replace 'em.
These tyres are rated to 175 psi which is insane for a clincher. I wouldn't risk inflating them that much but regularly run them at 130 psi at which they are very fast. They're a good racing tyre.
In the Cons section I've ticked the expensive box. In Aus recommended retail is AUD $70 a tyre. At Wiggle I paid $42.40. Still dear, but I'll live with that. ;)"
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, excellent puncture resistance, good colour range
Cons: Expensive
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
Flare's Questions
 
Lightweight, high quality aluminium replacement chainring bolts.
 

9 speed triple chainrings?

Are these TA chainring bolts suitable for mounting the outer chainring and the middle chainring to a Shimano 5 arm 9 speed triple chainring crank spider?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
Chromed steel chainring bolts to fit double chainsets
 

9 speed triple chainrings?

Are these TA chainring bolts suitable for mounting the outer chainring and the middle chainring to a 5 arm 9 speed triple chainring crank spider?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
Flare's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
For mile eaters. Durano is the right choice for high mileage purposes, because no other racing tyre lasts longer.
 

Will this tyre fit on a rim size 559X17, I currently have 26X1.95 slicks and wish to go to a more narrow tyre to cut down resistance

Best answer
I run two rim sizes on my bike: 559 x 17 up front and 559 x 19 at rear, Mavic 717 and Mavic 519 respectively. The Schwalbe Durano 26 x 1.1 (28-559) is a normal fit for both rims. Bead fits tightly first time around because it is kevlar to permit folding and reduce weight. Even so, the tyre can still be fitted without levers but it does take some effort. Subsequent fittings were easy after the tyres had notched up a few miles.

Contrary to the other answer, I recommend this tyre. The Durano Folding has low rolling resistance, great grip on asphalt in dry as well as wet conditions (insane cornering in dry), high puncture resistance to glass shards (wire and tacks get through) and it is very light so spins up noticeably quickly. It is an excellent fast commuting tyre. After riding 26 x 2.0 slicks you will be amazed.

Although the tyre is remarkably puncture resistant the grippy compound does suffer from cuts. My tyres have many that are 3-4 mm long and extend through the rubber and down to the puncture resistant RaceGuard layer of the carcass but this doesn't seem to affect their performance. I commute in suburban Melbourne, Aus, where the puncture challenge is not insubstantial. However, if you ride through areas routinely strewn with glass it may be worth considering something like a Schwalbe Marathon Supreme Folding 26 x 1.6 (42-559) - still very fast, not quite so light, but another step up in terms of durability and puncture resistance.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
The U-Mini is a lightweight and small courier lock that is ideal for customers who like to have a secure lock which is easy to transport, to lock and to store.
 

How heavy is this lock?

Mine is 1022g without keys.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
Dual layer and feather-edged patches for maximum adhesion strength and repair security.
 

are these patches 'ultra-thin'?

are these patches "extra thin patches for narrow road tyres" as found in the 'Rema Tip Top TT04 Sport Puncture Repair Kit'? Or are they of regular thickness as found in the 'TT02 Touring Puncture Repair Outfit'?
The pack is labelled thus:

Flickensteifen TT 02 SB
ART. NR. 506 411 3

So I suppose they are from the Touring Puncture Repair Outfit you describe. However, I have used them with the usual good success on 700 x 23 tubes on my road racer. I inflate my road bike tyres to 130 psi and I can't feel bumps caused by patches, nor do these touring patches make it difficult to fit my clincher tyres over the tubes. Touring patches will do a perfectly adequate job in your sport tyres.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
Dual layer and feather-edged patches for maximum adhesion strength and repair security.
 

How many Patches are there in a package??

6 off circular (24mm diameter)

1 off oval (25 x 50mm)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
Dual layer and feather-edged patches for maximum adhesion strength and repair security.
 

What is the diameter of the circular patches please.

24mm
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
 Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
One key that locks up all major removable components (front wheel and rear wheel.
 

If I get 3 sets of these for 3 different bicycles, how do I get 3 same interchangeable keys?

Given that there are so many combinations.
That's not a question for Wiggle. Better put that one directly to manufacturer Pinhead via their website.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
 Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
One key that locks up all major removable components (front wheel and rear wheel.
 

What size is the rear skewer - 135mm (MTB) or 130mm (road), cheers

The supplied rear skewer easily fitted my MTB rear wheel. If you need it for a 130mm road bike hub then just trim off excess thread. Easy.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
 Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
Duo Pack Locking Skewer Set
One key that locks up all major removable components (front wheel and rear wheel.
 

do they fit 15mm axle?

The Pinhead skewers are the same diameter as a standard QR skewer. Their diameter is approx 4mm. Sorry, I don't have a vernier.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
 Zip City Medium Courier/Messenger Bag
Zip City Medium Courier/Messenger Bag
Pack, zip, sling on, bye bye. The compact courier style, large volume and wide choice of strong colours reflects the individual and versatile character of Zip-City owners. Perfect for school and university, shopping mall or gym, night life and job. The Zip-City is also a favourite among DJs.
 

Does the bag come with the retention strap or is it an extra accessory?

One of your reviews mentions: "Fitting is great and the retention strap means that drop bar riding is just fine even braking hard downhill, dodging dodgy drivers and so on"

the orlieb website says: "An additional strap holds the bag in place during e.g. cycling, motorcycling,
skating and running (accessory)"

Does this strap come with the bag?

Thanks very much!
Yes, accessory strap ships with bag.

I have no problem using bag without strap but YMMV.

Medium size also fitted with useful internal organiser pocket. Good for phone, wallet, keys, pens.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne
 
An upgrade/replacement pump head and hose featuring Topeak's unique SmartHead connector and long length hose.
 

Is the hose connector on the Topeak Smarthead1/4 inch BSP?

Here's the User's Guide supplied with the SmartHead Upgrade Kit.
User submitted photo
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Flare
Melbourne