MartyMcTri
Share MartyMcTri's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
MartyMcTri's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    13 December 2010
  • Last Review
    16 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.9
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    26 April 2011
  • Last Answer
    28 January 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
MartyMcTri's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
The brake levers were carried over from the proved Deore M596. They also have reach adjustment and great ergonomics now also Ice-Tech compatible.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted16 September 2014
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Excellent replacements or upgrades. Easy to fit and work straight out of the box. But you may need to cut the hose as they are quite long but you don't have too. Youtube has many videos on how to shorten the hose easily."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The terrific Tour Ultralite rear rack features a completely new design and an amazingly low weight of only 560 grams.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Works well
Posted16 September 2014
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It works well and is secure. Fits a Giant defy 3 with no issues, easy to put on and take off, and it is quite light. Using Ortlieb panniers with no issues."
Pros: Great Value, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Replacement cleats for Shimano SPD SL pedals. Lifeline cleats provide precise engagement for a secure, efficient interface with your pedals and 4.5 deg. of float for a natural pedalling motion.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
As good as Shimano original
Posted16 September 2014
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Have been using these for a few months now with no issues. I will be buying again when needed."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Top level racing clincher with exceptional winter and wet condition performance with a Duraskin® cut-resistant layer from bead to bead and 2 extra Vectran breakers help increase puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted28 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"These are my tyre of choice, a jack of all trade's. There are faster, lighter tyres out there, but not as robust. There are tyres that claim tobe more robust but are so slow and heavy. This is a good winter tye.
However, nothing will stop a determined piece of glass or hawthorn. Its quite a snug fit too.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
An excellent value 6 pack of high quality innertubes to fit 700c road bike rims with 18c to 25c wide tyres. LifeLine essential innertubes are made of the highest quality butyl rubber and tested extensively to ensure reliability.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 January 2014
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"Best value tubes I've found. I've had no valve issues in the 12 (yes 12, I've been unlucky at times) tubes that I've used."
Pros: Great Value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
SealSkinz All Weather Cycling Gloves
Wind and Waterproof cycling gloves with a light, breathable construction. Featuring a 3-layer membrane fabric assembly, 3D pre-curved fingers and silicone contact points for protection, feel and dexterity on the roads and trails - whatever the weather.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Posted28 January 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Nice comfortable well made glove, not too bulky for a winter glove. Unfortunately its let down by not being waterproof, I would class it as vwater resistant. It stands up to showers well, but the relentless rain recently has been to much for it."
Pros: Attractive, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not waterproof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Posted28 January 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"This is a very nicely made jacket. It's not lightweight but it is ideal for wet cooler rides and makes a comfortable commute jacket. But be warned, buy the next size up from normal for a comfortable fit."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Positioned for minimum wind resistance and easy access these bags are ideal for triathletes or other riders wanting to keep energy food or other small items close at hand.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fantastic
Posted26 April 2011
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I use this for easy access to my wallet and keys. Been using it for a few months and it looks like it will last the test of time. The build quality is top notch."
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Schwalbe Lugano wired tyre offers good grip in both wet and dry conditions thanks to it's diamond profile. The tyre also features their K-Guard protection belt, which contains natural rubber and reinforced with Kevlar. Great all-round tyre.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Good Value
Posted26 April 2011
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Bought these as replacements for tires that just kept on getting flats. As I commute every day reliability is not just a virtue but essential. After 1000Km I have only had 1 pitch puncture which was not the fault of the tire but of major debris on the road. The claim that these are puncture resistant is well founded, the cuts in the rubber from glass is proof of this. They may not be the lightest but they are one of the cheapest and best value. The rear is starting to show some wear after 1000Km but it has plenty of life left in it and will swap to the front soon. When the time comes I will be buying some more."
Pros: Durable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Excellent value SPD-SL compatible road bike pedals for a secure interface with your cycling shoes. Supplied with 6° float cleats and sporting a wide profile, Shimano PD-R540 are the perfect introduction to performance road cycling pedals.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Durable
Posted26 April 2011
MartyMcTri
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Triathlete
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"These are very easy to install and use. I was a little sceptical about using SDP SL pedals fearing not being able to become unclipped in a hurry or an accident, but this was unfounded. A recent encounter with a car has proved to me that they would unclip in an accident without additional injury and that they are very robust and able to take a few knocks.
I’m impressed with the build quality and have already recommended them to friends.
"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Rugged, High Quality, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
MartyMcTri's Questions
 
MartyMcTri has not submitted any questions.
 
MartyMcTri's Answers
 
2.5 layer waterproof jacket, with Teflon coating, and fully taped seams. ‘Medium-fitted’ cut designed to be ridden in cold wet winter conditions.
 

size: 6'1" 78kg 33" waist

Hi,

I'm 6'1" tall, 78kg and 33" waist 40' chest. What size should I get? Chest and waist says medium, but height says Large. I don't want a jacket that's too big on the chest, but I want one that's long enough.

Thanks
Go for the large, I had to return the medium and exchange for the large. 5"11, 75kg. The medium was a bit tight for comfort, especially in a tucked position.
9 months ago
by
MartyMcTri
 
The Schwalbe Lugano wired tyre offers good grip in both wet and dry conditions thanks to it's diamond profile. The tyre also features their K-Guard protection belt, which contains natural rubber and reinforced with Kevlar. Great all-round tyre.
 

PLEASE CAN ANYONE TELL ME ARE THESE TYRES GOOD FOR THE WINTER AS THEY ARE BUDGET TYRES AND DO THEY GRIP WELL

I have had no problems with them in the rain or frezzing conditions. No lack of grip on normal roads.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
MartyMcTri