Initialised
Share Initialised's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Initialised's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    1
  • First Review
    12 September 2010
  • Last Review
    29 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
Questions
  • Question Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    None
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    12 September 2010
  • Last Answer
    12 September 2010
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Initialised's Reviews
 
 Vredestein Fiammante DuoComp Folding Tyre
Vredestein Fiammante DuoComp Folding Tyre
Fiammante DuoComp, An extremly durable folding tyre suitible for training and recreational use and featuring Vredesteins Excellent puncture protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
A solid training tyre.
Posted29 May 2014
Initialised
fromNewcastle upon Tyne
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"A little fiddly to fit compared with other folding tyres I've used.
Lightweight, reasonable rolling and puncture resistance and a decent choice of colours.
I want colour and comfort, when will tyres with vanity stripes come in 28mm and 30mm?"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: limited size options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Supersonic Road Inner Tube
Continental Supersonic Road Inner Tube
Ultra light weight inner tube. The Continental Supersonic road inner tube is a must have cycling essential for 700c bike wheels.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Good for running skinny tyres on an MTB
Posted29 May 2014
Initialised
fromNewcastle upon Tyne
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"I find Continental presta tubes have a tendency to tear at the valve. You can get around this by putting the lock nut inside the wheel."
Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive, Wears Out Easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Cane Creek Seat Post Shim
Cane Creek Seat Post Shim
High quality seat post shim machined from aluminium sleeve
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Does exactly what I wanted it to do.
Posted29 May 2014
Initialised
fromNewcastle upon Tyne
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
"It's a good fit in all my 27.2mm bikes so gives me more options when adapting bikes for different people. There's no slippage even when I hit the trails. It's light and easy to fit and does the job."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Unadjustable, Limited Color Choices
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Wiggle Super Series Wiggle Hell of Hexham Sportive Epic 2014
Wiggle Super Series Wiggle Hell of Hexham Sportive Epic 2014
The Wiggle Hell of Hexham Sportive is one 'Hell' of a challenge! In its second year this sportive starts from the convenient Hexham Racecourse which boasts fantastic views over the Tyne Valley.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Awesome day out!
Posted15 April 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Large
Comes up large
Initialised
fromNewcastle upon Tyne
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"When they say Epic and H311 they mean it!
10000ft and 100 miles over the stunning landscape of the North Pennines.
Only drawback is the choice of route between Epic and Standard (100 miles vs 87 miles)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Nice treads sound great on wet tarmac
Posted12 September 2010
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Initialised
fromNewcastle upon Tyne
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Commuter
Level : Regular
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"Not necessarily the best reason to recommend a tyre but I love the noise these tyres make when you ride through puddles! Hard to describe, a bit like a cross between zipper and a skimming stone. Whether the sound is anything to go by is pretty irrelevant, really you should buy on performance and value.
I like these tyres, they have better wet and loose (dust/gravel) grip than the worn to almost slick Hutchinsons they replaced and appear to have sped me up on my daily commute (6.5 mile each way ~2/3 tarmac, 1/3 mud/gravel). However, they give out and slip when climbing on grass and wet mud so not ideal for heavy duty mud plugging.
I've had a couple of punctures since using them ~1 month. One was a 2" nail, the other was by the valve and there was no sign of foreign body so probably a weakness of the tesco value tube under lateral stress rather than the tyre. I can pull them on and off without tyre levers if necessary so they are quick and easy to change in a tight spot.
I use them on a 23.5" framed bike without suspension and run them at ~55 PSI they are unforgiving on poorly surfaced, ice damaged roads. I paid a £15 per tyre (not the £13 offered here now) so you could easily pay more for worse rubbers.
Overall a good tyre with nice looking and great sounding treads with decent grip and performance for the suburban commuter."
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit, great sound
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Initialised's Questions
 
Initialised has not submitted any questions.
 
Initialised's Answers
 
 Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
Continental Double Fighter II Mountain Bike Tyre
The new Double Fighter II is modeled on the successful concept of its predecessor. The centre, with its light tread rolls smoothly and quietly on tarmac. Off-road, the shoulder's heavy tread provides the necessary grip.
 

Tyre Direction

I have just recieved a pair of Continental Double Fighter tyres and I am really pleased with them!
Just one thing when fitting the tyres I presume the front tyre has the front directional arrow facing to the front of the bike!
With the rear does the front arrow face the front or the rear arrow face the front??
It points in the direction of rotation when travelling forward on both.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Initialised
Newcastle upon Tyne