KiwiAnna
Top 500 Contributor
Share KiwiAnna's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
KiwiAnna's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    37
  • Helpfulness Votes
    6
  • First Review
    23 November 2010
  • Last Review
    14 May 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    03 May 2011
  • Last Question
    31 March 2013
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    28 November 2010
  • Last Answer
    19 March 2012
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
KiwiAnna's Reviews
1 2 3 4 >>>
 
Cool weather padded bib tights suited to Autumn training rides.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Unflattering bibs
Posted14 May 2014
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I'll start by saying I have a few pairs of DHB bibs and love them all - except this pair.
These bibs have absolutely no fit around the mid section. The result is an unattractive looking tummy pouch of flesh and ill fitting lycra, and I'm not particularly large. there is just nothing form fitting about them. At least when you sweat they start to fit/stick a little better but still no more flattering.
They are also too high in the front for my liking.
I'm not put off DHB products but would give this one wide berth if I had known."
Cons: Unattractive, Low Quality, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The meteor features a single Cree XPF LED, but still delivers 210 Lumen of output. The compact and light weight design of this model make it ideal for everyday use.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Moon failure yet again
Posted29 September 2013
Quality 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Value 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Performance 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I rated this light very highly when I first got it however the fittings have failed on yet another Moon product I've owned. Firstly the clasp broke that holds light on to bracket. No problem, I glued it. Then the recharging cover came off. Finally the rubber strap broke rendering a perfectly good light useless. I've owned it for exactly six months and haven't ridden for two of those months.
This is the second Moon light I've owned that's had the same problems.
I'd call that an epic fail.
"
Cons: Wears Out Easily
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
 
Keep your feet warm without the hassle of a full shoecover. Made from super-durable neoprene, Castelli toecovers slip easily over the front of your shoe and are held in place by the cleats.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm n dry
Posted12 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Love these toe covers, easy to pop on and do the trick.
They're slightly large for my shoes, could be a bit tighter but still do the job.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Shield 60 provides up to 60 lumens of light output. The high output rear light is fully rechargeable via USB connection to either Mac or PC.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Very very bright rear light
Posted12 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Highly recommended if riding in the dark or even for daytime use.
A word of caution: this light is too bright for bunch riding."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
Camelbak Podium 710ml Water Bottle
The revolutionary Podium is the squeezable bottle for the 21st century.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great Water Bottle
Posted12 May 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Width
Narrow
Wide
Wide
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Love this bottle, easy to fill with powders and easy to clean thanks to a wide neck.
No drips and easy to drink from."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Aqua Sport Diamond Tek Back SS13
Ladies Aqua Sport Diamond Tek Back SS13
Designed for training, active and fitness swimming, the Diamond Tek offers high specification fabrics without compromising on style, performance and quality. The Diamond Tek provides excellent UV protection.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great swimsuit but very high leg
Posted24 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Love everything about this suit except the high cut of the leg.
Maru state these are medium height but not compared to anything I've ever warn. The fabric is lovely and look great front and back on the upper body but they ride too high on the leg so I'm only wearing these under my wetsuit. Shame as they're rather lovely.
"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable
Cons: Poor Fit, very high leg
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A Swiss product, Swissstop offers the best braking performance in all conditions for all types of bike. High performance compound for carbon wheels. Excellent stopping power wet and dry with superior modulation and low pad wear rates.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Brake Pads for Carbon Wheels
Posted24 February 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I was previously using Shimano carbon specific brake pads and they weren't great. The difference between them and the Swissstop yellow blocks is night and day. These pads really do work well.
I balked at paying the high price but what price knowledge that your bike will stop quickly without squealing?
"
Pros: High Quality, stop well, quiet
Cons: Expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
 Ladies Evolution Light Singlet Base Layer
Ladies Evolution Light Singlet Base Layer
A versatile mid-weight base layer that excels in all conditions. A seamless, 3D construction provides a ultra-comfortable anatomic fit with total freedom of movement for high intensity sporting activities.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best Base Layer - sleeveless
Posted23 January 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I used to love my Underarmour base layer, admittedly it's still good in the warmer weather but this one is the bomb. Odlo make great products hands down. This one fits like a glove, feels like a second skin so you don't notice you're wearing it. Keeps the torso warm, washes well, dries quickly. On the basis of this top I've bought several other Odlo pieces, all superb."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Science in Sport 800ml Narrow Neck Cycling Bottle, with mixing measurements for SIS products.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Best water bottle ever
Posted21 October 2012
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"Good size, easy to squeeze, doesn't leak. The perfect drink bottle."
Pros: High Quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The ladies Aeron Pro premium bib short feature a top-level ‘Tour Air’ Elastic Interface cycling pad for serious sessions in the saddle and ‘Field Sensor’ fabric for great moisture management.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Disappointing
Posted21 October 2012
Quality 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Appearance 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
KiwiAnna
fromAuckland
Country : New Zealand
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Regular
Gender : Female
Budget : Quality first
"I have a 3/4 pair of DHB bibs that I just love. The same cannot be said for these. Despite having 'chunky thighs' the wide leg is still a bit too wide. Due to the cut of the bibs any sort of belly forms a pouch that isn't particularly flattering and I didn't find the single middle bib any better than standard bibs. Not at all what I expected or hoped for given my love of previous DHB bibs. Probably won't even wear them again. Disappointed."
Pros: good chamois
Cons: Unattractive, Poor Fit
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
 
KiwiAnna's Questions
 
The Knog Blinders pack into a very small and bright package. Over 7 years of research, design and plain hard work make a deceptively simple light that packs a heavy technical punch.
 

Will this light fit a helmet?

I have a Giro helmet, wondering if the fitting is flexible enough to fit back of helmet.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
The Slipstream shoe cover was developed for two purposes: to shield your feet from chilling cold and to create an aerodynamic advantage. Wear directly over your cycling shoes to feel greater comfort on cool days and to slice through the wind.
 

Is there supposed to be a cut out for cleats?

I recently purchased these as an overshoe but there is no cleat cutout under the foot!!

They're great as a wind resistant inner sock but I'd really wanted an oversock that had cleat cutouts.

Please advise.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
 RS Short Finger Cycling Glove
RS Short Finger Cycling Glove
Performance gloves with Vcontrol padding for vibration dampening and comfort. A new addition to the Sugoi RS line.
 

Ladies size L =?

Looking at your sizing chart, would a ladies size L be a mens size XS?
3 years, 4 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
KiwiAnna's Answers
 
Made of aluminium and weighing 1.5g, it extends a high pressure valve by 31mm. Suitable for valves with replaceable valve inserts.
 

Is it compatible with inner tubes with no removable core?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
No, I tried but it didn't work.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
 Ultremo R.1 Evolution Black Folding Tyre
Ultremo R.1 Evolution Black Folding Tyre
Created using new construction principles and with new high tech materials. Rolling resistance and weight have been radically reduced! Improve your personal best by a factor of R.
 

Are these tyres for racing for training on general AC roads ?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I got 4,500kms out of my last pair of Ultremos, that was mostly riding in and around cities.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
 Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
Schwalbe Ultremo ZX Evo V-Guard Folding Road Tyre 2013
As tyre designers, Schwalbe say the Ultremo is the pinnacle of their ambition. ZX - The best ULTREMO ever!
 

Is the Shwalbe Ultremo ZX tyre a clincher or a tubular?

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I just bought these tyres as a clincher.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland
 
 Envy Fototec Lens
Envy Fototec Lens
EVS polycarbonate lens, Grilamid TR-90, Glare Guard, 100% UVA & UVB protection, Ventilated lens, Hydrophilic nose and temples, Single lens model, Weight: 21 grams, Fits: small to medium faces, One option available, Metallic Silver - Light Night Lens(85% TO 27% Light Transmission)
 

are these sunnies good for mountain biking?

I like to purchase a pair to be used for mountainbiking. since light conditions can changes from sun to shade how good/quick do the lenses change its brightness?
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
I find the lenses stay fairly dark once the sun is up and don't tend to change much from full sunlight to lower light conditions.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
KiwiAnna
Auckland